Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

I really wish some of you lot actually had to live in a police state for a while

North Korea are auditioning clap happy seals, go forth now and snap up that one-way ticket.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I don’t think he will, we will have been in some sort of restricted living for a year at that stage. I’d like to think most people would say **** off at that point but this situation has shown we have quite a few spineless simps in this country who will happily bend over for the government and cheerlead their lives and freedoms passing them by :rolleyes:

That is what worries me.

WE know that using fear has been a tool the government has used to keep us all on our toes.

Now, how do you manage all that fear...they've created a monster they can't control...you can see which posters spend most time gorging on covid porn every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

I really wish some of you lot actually had to live in a police state for a while

I don`t think that was a serious post. Mind you there are some here who truly delude themselves into believeing it to be true in this country..

arctictree wrote: »
    Remember that many sites (e.g. Nursing homes) are being tested weekly or even more often. So the same cases are being counted over and over.

You are not being serious I hope?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I don`t think that was a serious post. Mind you there are some here who truly delude themselves into believeing it to be true in this country..

There are also people on here who called for the army to be deployed in the streets and for the use of water cannons but they weren’t the people you’re talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I don’t think he will, we will have been in some sort of restricted living for a year at that stage. I’d like to think most people would say **** off at that point but this situation has shown we have quite a few spineless simps in this country who will happily bend over for the government and cheerlead their lives and freedoms passing them by :rolleyes:

It'll be businesses, tradesmen and the self-employed that lead the way forward. Every day I see more and more economic activity behind closed doors. Lots of hairdressers, barbers, and beauticians are working from home. Many are willing to do business on the quiet. Basically, there's a lot of people doing a bit to keep going without wanting to attract the attention of the wailing curtain twitchers.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Qwertyminger

https://mobile.twitter.com/NextIrishGE/status/1351126794993336320?s=20

Democracy in action watching the shower of useless pieces of manure socially distance from everyone and not listen to what NPHET, people or business wants and indeed NEEDS

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Redouble your efforts lads, you are not trying hard enough!

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1351229511896096771

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

It's not happening. The only people still properly listening to him are the converted.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I was joking/being sarcastic. You obviously aren't up to speed on me trying to correct Fintan every time he says it...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i find it extreamly disturbing that in the week we had the whole mother and baby home pallaver, that if you stop and look around and actually listen to people the way we dont question anything the government or Tony says . Its not very hard to see very little has changed since the 1950s, very few people/journalists that should ask the hard questions are doing anything of the sort and we wonder how ordinary people and media didnt have the balls to do anything or question church and state in 50s/60s/70s/80s? i find it very easy to believe we would all do the exact same as people did back then judging by current events.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i find it extreamly disturbing that in the week we had the whole mother and baby home pallaver, that if you stop and look around and actually listen to people the way we dont question anything the government or Tony says . Its not very hard to see very little has changed since the 1950s, very few people/journalists that should ask the hard questions are doing anything of the sort and we wonder how ordinary people and media didnt have the balls to do anything or question church and state in 50s/60s/70s/80s? i find it very easy to believe we would all do the exact same as people did back then judging by current events.

Absolutely, thought exactly the same this week.
    One thing pretty constant about history is that we never seem to learn from it.

And in Ireland we seem to be particularly slow learners.
    No doubt a bunch of lawyers will make millions out of the Covid tribunal in 15 years time though.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Brutal honesty, and it is applicable to a great number of the posters in this thread, the Catholic ethos has a lot to answer for.

What do I mean?

Simple, for years, it's been the mantra that you go to confession, and after a few Hail Marys, and maybe a few decades of the Rosary, you're good to go with no ongoing consequences. See it in so many aspects of life here.

Only one major fundamental problem with that. For a great number of actions, there ARE consequences that remain long after confession, and those consequences can and do affect a great number of people, sometimes for a very long time.

Maybe what's needed is for a large number of people to actually cop on to the concept of personal responsibility, and realise that there is no magic sponge to wipe away the hurt.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Brutal honesty, and it is applicable to a great number of the posters in this thread, the Catholic ethos has a lot to answer for.

What do I mean?

Simple, for years, it's been the mantra that you go to confession, and after a few Hail Marys, and maybe a few decades of the Rosary, you're good to go with no ongoing consequences. See it in so many aspects of life here.

Only one major fundamental problem with that. For a great number of actions, there ARE consequences that remain long after confession, and those consequences can and do affect a great number of people, sometimes for a very long time.

Maybe what's needed is for a large number of people to actually cop on to the concept of personal responsibility, and realise that there is no magic sponge to wipe away the hurt.

How are you managing in the current Lockdown Steve? What's been your experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,670 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

He's right.

And just to say nowhere did he say people were not trying hard enough.

What's the issue?

How are you managing in the current Lockdown Steve? What's been your experience?

Until this last couple of weeks, we've been OK, by being very careful about our contacts, and who we meet, and where we go, so it's been a very different and restricted 12 months.

Right now it's VERY hard, because we really want to go and see a close family member (Nearly 91) in the UK who's just been diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer, but Covid is making that almost impossible, between visiting restrictions over there, and things like PCR tests coming home, and 2 weeks self isolation, with the risk that depending on how advanced the cancer is, we might have to go back again very soon to provide additional support to my 96 year old mother.

Many of the things I've been expecting to do this year are not happening, which is not nice, there are special days that don't repeat, like special birthdays and anniversaries, and there's not a hope of being able to do some of the things that I had been sort of planning for several years, and I am less than happy to be seeing some of the crass moves that are being made by people in power who really should not be there, but that's a story for another day and place.

Until this last couple of weeks, we've been OK, by being very careful about our contacts, and who we meet, and where we go, so it's been a very different and restricted 12 months.

Right now it's VERY hard, because we really want to go and see a close family member (Nearly 91) in the UK who's just been diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer, but Covid is making that almost impossible, between visiting restrictions over there, and things like PCR tests coming home, and 2 weeks self isolation, with the risk that depending on how advanced the cancer is, we might have to go back again very soon to provide additional support to my 96 year old mother.

Many of the things I've been expecting to do this year are not happening, which is not nice, there are special days that don't repeat, like special birthdays and anniversaries, and there's not a hope of being able to do some of the things that I had been sort of planning for several years, and I am less than happy to be seeing some of the crass moves that are being made by people in power who really should not be there, but that's a story for another day and place.

That is very hard. There's no easy way through this. It isn't just our freedoms that are curtailed but our ability to be with those we love when they need us. I'm sorry.

I realised something recently. Every day I spend wishing for all of this to end, for it to be summer or Autumn or 2022, means I'm wishing my life away. In 2022 I'll be a year older and who knows what will go before it and after it.

That is very hard. There's no easy way through this. It isn't just our freedoms that are curtailed but our ability to be with those we love when they need us. I'm sorry.

I realised something recently. Every day I spend wishing for all of this to end, for it to be summer or Autumn or 2022, means I'm wishing my life away. In 2022 I'll be a year older and who knows what will go before it and after it.

The relentless passage of time, more grey hairs now than I could care for. This existence isn't sustainable beyond spring for most of us, a year chucked away is cost enough. We cannot turn back the clock and I have compromised plenty. Life must go on, it certainly isn't a rehearsal and the price is too high to drag this misery out further. If the government cannot marshal high-risk arrivals into Ireland adequately then I don't give a damn come April. I've done my bit like many others, they must perform their duties to the fullest extent because they're getting paid amply to do so. Efficient delivery of the vaccine, let's get the nation on its feet and never look back.

Hospital numbers drop by 112 and RTÉ call it a “slight” drop!!!

Pity it’s not the same when the numbers increase by the same amount.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭showpony1

I don't see the daily cases plastered on RTE anymore, so i assume that means they are dropping?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Hospital numbers drop by 112 and RTÉ call it a “slight” drop!!!

Pity it’s not the same when the numbers increase by the same amount.

Gloom, death and misery. It’s been RTEs bread and butter for years. It’s in their DNA.

I remember watching Kenny Live years ago and the studio lights would dim signalling a good 30 minutes of misery porn.

We seem to love it in this country. Joe Duffy had made millions by pandering to the most miserable bastards in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

At this point in time, is it now fair to say that hospitals getting overwhelmed is a load of tosh?
    We were constantly hearing before how the hospitals would fill up and doctors would be playing God...

Even with thousands of cases a day, an outbreak that nobody modelled and over 2000 in hospital, we still haven’t reached that point.

And apparently that is the whole point of lockdown. Right?

It begs the question, should we not be attempting to live with Covid and keep hospitals close to capacity?

What were we thinking not easing restrictions last year with less than 20 in hospital?

what part of this aren't you getting? cases get out of control, we lock down and that reduces cases and pressure on the hospitals.

it's not hard to understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

froog wrote: »
    what part of this aren't you getting? cases get out of control, we lock down and that reduces cases and pressure on the hospitals.

Community lockdown can help lower 50% of the hospital cases.

When are we going to have an adult discussion about the other 50% of hospital cases

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Gloom, death and misery. It’s been RTEs bread and butter for years. It’s in their DNA.

I remember watching Kenny Live years ago and the studio lights would dim signalling a good 30 minutes of misery porn.

We seem to love it in this country. Joe Duffy had made millions by pandering to the most miserable bastards in the country.

And they wonder why people don't want to pay the license fee anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

what part of this aren't you getting?

Thread is likely harmful to IQ. Ironically those most vocal in their calls for people to start thinking for themselves seem incapable of even basic comprehension.

The intransigence is very interesting to observe. Come what may, the same steaming dung is wheeled out as ‘alternative narrative’ or something.

Or perhaps, cases just died down all over Europe last summer including Sweden who didn’t lockdown. And countries like Ireland who weren’t even wearing masks...

Have you looked at the testing figures before? You’ll notice as well that we test more every time restrictions are eased. And we test less when lockdown is imposed.

Would be easy to look at things now and say lockdown is working. But is it really???

We aren’t bothered testing close contacts anymore. We’ve told people with symptoms to just assume they have it. January is typically the quietest month of the year. And flu season comes to an end.

If you open your eyes and stop listening religiously to RTÉ/NPHET, you might see things for yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭boetstark

Hello boardsies. Hope everybody is keeping safe and healthy.
    Just looking for views and opinions from members.
    Do you think holidays abroad will return this year. Holidays with some degree of normality. Mask wearing not required in public, restaurants operating normally etc.
    Our family have not had a holiday since 2018. We were away for 2 weeks in 2018 but returned home after 1 day due to a family bereavement..
    I feel I am missing sunshine so so much having previously lived in sunnier warmer climate.
    I totally understand that this is trivial in the greater scheme of things and obviously we would not travel under present conditions.
    Should we hold out hope or just resign to no foreign travel until early 2022.

There will be a significant cohort on here that will not be happy to see the message, but it's clear that the present wave is not going away any time soon, in the last few days, and keeping track of individual days is becoming harder, the Netherlands have extended their lockdown, and there is discussion today of Germany extending the duration and severity of their lockdown, which is already fairly severe. France has nationwide overnight curfews, which hasn't happened here yet, so the chances of NPHET changing their tune any time soon are looking pretty forlorn.

As for the hospital situation, the numbers occupying beds as a result of Covid issues are close to 2000, with over 200 in actual ICU care, and another 200 in effectively ICU light, in a lot of cases, the hospitals have converted theatre High dependency units into a "pre ICU" facility, where patients who are in need of significant extra oxygen therapy can be treated without being intubated. So, sorry to burst your bubble, it's NOT just a mild Flu, the numbers affected, and ill, are significantly higher.

For personal family reasons, relaxing restrictions can not come too soon, we have an elderly family member in the UK who's been diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer, so we really do want to go and see him while he's still able to see us, but the restrictions in place both here and there are going to make that very complex, between tests before coming home, and restrictions when we get back here, a few days visiting could write off over 3 weeks, and cost a LOT more than a trip over would normally cost, and the actual logisitics of getting a PCR test in the UK within 72 hrs of travelling is seriously complex, and there are issues with bubble and the like for other family members.

So, the next couple of months are not looking good, I will be very surprised to see any reduction in restrictions before the end of March, and even that's looking a bit optimistic, given that Easter is very early in April, there is a pretty strong indication that the restrictions will run until after that bank holiday period, it's altogether too clear that lifting the restrictions for Christmas may have been popular with some of the public, but it didn't do us any favours with the numbers affected by Covid as a result of a significant number of people choosing to be selective in their respect of the guidance they were given.

I don't like it, but if I look at where things are at right now, there doesn't seem to be much of an alternative, between the HSE not being able to get vaccines out in the numbers needed, and a general lack of engagement from Government at the moment, there seems to be very little in the way of a plan for managing the new variants, which seem to be causing a lot of concern to a number of governments.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

boetstark wrote: »
    Hello boardsies. Hope everybody is keeping safe and healthy.
    Just looking for views and opinions from members.
    Do you think holidays abroad will return this year. Holidays with some degree of normality. Mask wearing not required in public, restaurants operating normally etc.
    Our family have not had a holiday since 2018. We were away for 2 weeks in 2018 but returned home after 1 day due to a family bereavement..
    I feel I am missing sunshine so so much having previously lived in sunnier warmer climate.
    I totally understand that this is trivial in the greater scheme of things and obviously we would not travel under present conditions.
    Should we hold out hope or just resign to no foreign travel until early 2022.

Foreign travel will be available but the restrictions will depend on the country that you are planning on visiting. There are a few locations in Europe that have mandatory mask wearing outdoors at the moment...but who knows come holiday season.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

There will be foreign travel this year for sure. From April on things will be near normal IMO. Once the vulnerable are vaccinated that’s game over.

I cannot wait to see the back of Holohan, McConkey and all the other doom peddlers. Back to obscurity they go.

Patience is key now. I’m saving like crazy and going to enjoy myself for a while. A year of our lives has been taken from us so it’s deserved.