Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭timmyntc

gozunda wrote: »
    I think you really need to read that again:D

The pattern is:
    - govt goes too heavy with restrictions
    - people are locked down for ages, demand for socialising goes way up
    - govt relaxes restrictions, people socialise far more than normal because of pent up demand
    - cases rise, govt goes too heavy with restrictions

Which is the governments fault for mismanaging situation with overly heavy restrictions - not people demanding "the right to party"

As for your post it can be read both ways

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Boggles wrote: »
    Sure if ye haven't left yer houses in months and they only live 10km, why wouldn't ye bubble up with them?

The restrictions are not for people like ye, self imposed level 6'rs.

Ye are not the worry.

Frankly I'm surprised it's taken you this long.

Enjoy.

True. But it’s still outside the “restrictions” to be visiting elderly relatives

It’s not only me in this though. I’ve had to push and motivate the O.H , my parents and I’m ashamed to admit my kids too that it’s safe to travel beyond the 5kms.
    I’m left to DE-program the family what with the constant 24/7 media nonsense.
    I’ve finally convinced everyone though so off we go.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Sure if ye haven't left yer houses in months and they only live 10km, why wouldn't ye bubble up with them?

Ye are not the worry.

Enjoy.

2 families can't bubble. It's 2 single poeple.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

The reason that the UK variant got such a hold here was because of our government's closing of the door after the horse had bolted approach which they were brilliant at.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

copeyhagen wrote: »
    folks are in Spain and the rumour is their part of Andalucia will have lockdowns lifted tomorrow.

meanwhile in Ireland, we find out about another 9 weeks of level 5 lockdowns from a fooking article in the mirror at 9pm on a Thursday..

folks were right, everything opened back up in Andalucia, not sure if its back to 6pm close or 10pm.

cant travel outside your area though I THINK.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ironically this super covid 2.0 UK style has the UK's current R number between 0.6 to 0.9. The lowest the R number here has ever been estimated to be. All these mutated variants are a load of nonsense.

Would the current lockdown in the UK have anything to do with that perhaps?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Ye are not the worry.

Enjoy.

"You can form a support bubble with another household if you:

are living alone with children under the age of 18
    live alone
    share parenting or custody arrangements
    live with an adult you provide care for (for example a dependent adult relation or a partner with dementia)
    live by yourself and have a carer or carers who support you, including a live-in carer"

Boggles. Are.... you saying you don't agree with Level 5 restrictions? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

But yes all because of the pressure from people demanding a break for Christmas when rules around household mixing were eased, and limits on travel between counties were lifted - we're now shafted with rising numbers of people infected with Covid. And add to this a new more infectious strain of the virus, first detected in the UK, spreading here and the current case numbers now being difficult to get back down.

But fuk that we need another break. What could possibly go wrong again?

Pressure from people demanding a break?
    Micheal Martin was the one waving the "meaningful Christmas" carrot around within a week of the level 5 restrictions being (needlessly) imposed. He's the one who, unprompted, was promising people a break if they stuck to restrictions for 6 weeks. "The people" weren't the one crowing as we reopened about how we were the best in Europe.

We've a new highly infectious strain circulating because the government failed to take teh blindingly obvious step that many people were calling for for months of imposing some form of inbound travel restrictions. Not locking people up at gunpoint in hotels, even just mandatory quarantine at home with regular checks and hefty fines. And we still don't even have that.

For some bizarre reason, it seems to be easier to try to police what people do outside the country, and threaten people with jail for leaving.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

timmyntc wrote: »
    The pattern is:
    - govt goes too heavy with restrictions
    - people are locked down for ages, demand for socialising goes way up
    - govt relaxes restrictions, people socialise far more than normal because of pent up demand
    - cases rise, govt goes too heavy with restrictions

Which is the governments fault for mismanaging situation with overly heavy restrictions - not people demanding "the right to party"

As for your post it can be read both ways

a workaround would be to meet in the middle, let cafes and retail open from Monday. then after 2 weeks phase it in to pubs with food, then see how that goes and eventually everything.

its not rocket science. they need to give the fooking people something, i think the VAST majority of us have had enough.

This is common sense and the restrictions aren't there for "sensible people" because you can use your own judgement and do whats safe for your family.
    I sacrificed a number of "allowed" nights out pre Christmas so that I could safely visit family at Christmas without putting them at risk .

And yet "sensible people" 5+km from home or crossing county lines are just as liable to be fined or turned around.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭batman_oh

a workaround would be to meet in the middle, let cafes and retail open from Monday. then after 2 weeks phase it in to pubs with food, then see how that goes and eventually everything.

its not rocket science. they need to give the fooking people something, i think the VAST majority of us have had enough.

Or remove the utterly ridiculous 5km nonsense that Martin himself said does nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Boggles. Are.... you saying you don't agree with Level 5 restrictions? :eek:

The OP is on level 6, he has taken the letter of the restrictions and went up a notch.

If only there were more like him.

The OP is on level 6, he has taken the letter of the restrictions and went up a notch.

If only there were more like him.

Nope. Level five permits "bubbles" only in very specific circumstances, none of which apply to the lad you're telling to go right ahead. So you're encouraging him to break level 5.

Strongly suggests that your steadfast support of level 5 is more based in ignorance of what level 5 actually entails than any belief that the level 5 restrictions are necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭acequion

dalyboy wrote: »
    True. But it’s still outside the “restrictions” to be visiting elderly relatives

It’s not only me in this though. I’ve had to push and motivate the O.H , my parents and I’m ashamed to admit my kids too that it’s safe to travel beyond the 5kms.
    I’m left to DE-program the family what with the constant 24/7 media nonsense.
    I’ve finally convinced everyone though so off we go.

Good for you. More people need to wake up to doing their own risk assessments and making their own judgements. Anyone waiting for efficiency and sound judgement from this joke of a Govt will be waiting forever.

Common sense says they should do that

But common sense isnt actually all that common

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The straw has broken the camels back in my family following the reptilian like tactic of a 10pm announcement of further 9 weeks on a tabloid toilet paper rag.

Following a conversation with my parents this morning I’m packing my kids into the car tomorrow and travelling a 10km distance to their house for a few nights.

It’s as simple as this . If I’m to continue isolating my kids , myself & O.H , & my parents we will be mentally end up unhinged by 9 weeks.

I was originally going to await my parents vaccinations (early 70’s) but that’ll take till about July at this point.
    NO WAY HOSEY am I waiting any longer now

As mature and responsible adults we have tallied up the risk (Zero risk since nobody has left their respective houses since end of December, save for daily walks in parks and accepting supermarket food delivery at the front doors) and reward.

When I read that article last night I almost got sick with that smiling face and pompous pose on Martin staring out at me.
    Something had to give , and it did.

I’ve a responsibility as a parent , a partner, an off spring and business owner to ensure that sense and balance is applied to operate my families lives in a liveable fashion so thank you Mr Martin for motivating me with your expose on the mirror paper. I feel so much better today for committing to changing things to the better our way NOT YOUR WAY

"Reptilian" :pac:

You can stop the rubbish for a start. From the very start you've made it quite clear you have no respect for any of the existing restrictions to date and reckon that Covid is a joke or wtte

You've variously claimed to be travelling regularly. That you've already booked flights to Spain and couldn’t care less about restrictions whilst repeatedly complaining about them amongst other things

Whatever about the mature and responsible adult - I don't believe a word of it ..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Good people obey the government.

Nope. Level five permits "bubbles" only in very specific circumstances, none of which apply to the lad you're telling to go right ahead. So you're encouraging him to break level 5.

Strongly suggests that your steadfast support of level 5 is more based in ignorance of what level 5 actually entails than any belief that the level 5 restrictions are necessary.

You do know "stories" on the internet are not always legit?

You're off waffling nonsense again then lad?

Carry on so.

You can stop the spoofing for a start. From the very start you've made it quite clear you have no respect for any of the existing restrictions to date and reckon that Covid is a joke or wtte

You've variously claimed to be travelling regularly. That you've already booked flights to Spain and couldn’t care less about restrictions whilst repeatedly bringing the kids to the beach amongst other things

Whatever about the mature and responsible adult - I don't believe a word of it ..

The distance from the parents house seems to grow and shrink too.

Maybe they live on a boat. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Most people are apathetic. They arent abiding by restrictions because they just dont care. They dont care enough to protest or anything - but we can see it in the compliance numbers

Are the compliance numbers published anywhere?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Penfailed wrote: »
    Would the current lockdown in the UK have anything to do with that perhaps?

I'd imagine its far more to do with immunity, vaccination levels and an overblown reaction to a variant thats been circling since last September.

The vast majority of people here moved on from COVID rules last summer. Compliance dropped a tonne after the Cummings debacle.

MOH wrote: »
    Pressure from people demanding a break?
    Micheal Martin was the one waving the "meaningful Christmas" carrot around within a week of the level 5 restrictions being (needlessly) imposed. He's the one who, unprompted, was promising people a break if they stuck to restrictions for 6 weeks. "The people" weren't the one crowing as we reopened about how we were the best in Europe.

We've a new highly infectious strain circulating because the government failed to take teh blindingly obvious step that many people were calling for for months of imposing some form of inbound travel restrictions. Not locking people up at gunpoint in hotels, even just mandatory quarantine at home with regular checks and hefty fines. And we still don't even have that.

For some bizarre reason, it seems to be easier to try to police what people do outside the country, and threaten people with jail for leaving.

Yeah just go back on boards for example and listen to the demands from some for their rights to meet up and get around the country at Christmas. Many of the same who are on e again calling for being allowed to meet up with friends, travel etc.

Yeah and MM allowed it's true the the new strain brought in over Christmas has completely fuked up infection rates to this point. And looks like with those eejits who are feking off abroad are quite happy to introduce another strain and sure fuk it ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

You must have missed this bit

And how do you think that strain got into houses other than people mixing and flying in and out?

Maybe it was Santa Clause who brought it?

and who was flying people in? the government were chartering flights from the uk before Christmas. how is that the public's fault? it is okay to criticize the government gozunda they won't shoot you for it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

The straw has broken the camels back in my family following the reptilian like tactic of a 10pm announcement of further 9 weeks on a tabloid toilet paper rag.

Following a conversation with my parents this morning I’m packing my kids into the car tomorrow and travelling a 10km distance to their house for a few nights.

It’s as simple as this . If I’m to continue isolating my kids , myself & O.H , & my parents we will be mentally end up unhinged by 9 weeks.

I was originally going to await my parents vaccinations (early 70’s) but that’ll take till about July at this point.

As mature and responsible adults we have tallied up the risk (Zero risk since nobody has left their respective houses since end of December, save for daily walks in parks and accepting supermarket food delivery at the front doors) and reward.

When I read that article last night I almost got sick with that smiling face and pompous pose on Martin staring out at me.

I’ve a responsibility as a parent , a partner, an off spring and business owner to ensure that sense and balance is applied to operate my families lives in a liveable fashion so thank you Mr Martin for motivating me with your expose on the mirror paper. I feel so much better today for committing to changing things to the better our way NOT YOUR WAY

''The mature and responsible adult'' claim may be undercut somewhat by your previous claim that there is no pandemic.

Yeah just go back on boards for example and listen to the demands from some for their rights to meet up and get around the country at Christmas. Many of the same who are on e again calling for being allowed to meet up with friends, travel etc.

Yeah and MM allowed it's true the the new strain brought in over Christmas has completely fuked up infection rates to this point. And looks like with those eejits who are feking off abroad are quite happy to introduce another strain and sure fuk it ..

Ah yes, those infamous Boardsies strongarmed the Irish Government into opening up for Christmas, those bastards

paw patrol wrote: »
    How many do you know in this industry?

my mate's gf is a hairdresser and the PUP is 50% of her pay . then throw in tips she isn't getting.
    Another kicker is my mate (her partner) is in construction and he down over 1k a week cos of the closures. You can imagine the pain of that household.
    mortgage arrears stacking up and all that.
    Both happy to take the any covid risk but their life decisions are decided for by an unelected technocracy,

where is their bailout? we all know the answer to that.:rolleyes:

I've a mate a barman of year experience PUP doesn't come close.

I suggest you mightn't know the real story or taking young people in their 20s as your sample size.

Your sample size is 2 seemingly?

PUP is €350 for folk with average weekly earnings of €400 or over ............ your mate's gf must have been a wonderful hairdresser if the PUP is 50% of her pay.

Unless she was partime of course.

Your other mate the barman must have been on a great wedge also if €350/week isn't a fair chunk of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Fair play. My wife is down the country at her parents at the moment.
    Will visit mine in Tipp in two weeks, get it done before Cheltenham.

ypres5 wrote: »
    and who was flying people in? the government were chartering flights from the uk before Christmas. how is that the public's fault? it is okay to criticize the government gozunda they won't shoot you for it

Well I was responding to a poster insisting on their rights to do what they want and that there's been no breakl in a year yada yada .

So yeah we're talking about the 'public'. Have government variously fuked up? Sure they have - but that's a valid but different leg of the argument

Ah yes, those infamous Boardsies strongarmed the Irish Government into opening up for Christmas, those bastards

Haha see what you did there :pac:

Yeah as for a little flavour of the type of demands being made ' I said "go back on boards for example.

That MM and friends did allow the bs it is no less reprehensible tbf.