Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Trump= bad is all they see, he has no redeeming factors

He is a racist sexual predator who assaulted women, called white supremasists "Fine people", spun lies about a stolen election and praised the people who stormed Capitol building because of his lies (Which he continues).

What would you consider a redeeming factor given the PROVEN FACTS above

This despite the fact that Trump was a Democrat for most of his life and alot of his policies were similar to those of the Democrats.

And immediately abandoned this to pursue racists, homophobes and weak minded conspiracy-theorists in order to win an election. When he lost he turned on his allies and his own party.

Post edited by TheIrishGrover on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Trump has shown himself to be such a terrible human being that the default, for any rational person, is to not like him. He is a liar, didn't stand up for his country, wouldn't take a stand against neo-nazis, racist (is that the right term for religion?) against muslims, hid the effect of his drone strikes, praised dictators, gave massive tax rebates to the wealthy etc etc.

What positive did he do and do you thin that outweighs the clear negatives he did. What is better is the US after his 4 years than before? Did he sort out healthcare, education, the wealth gap. Are opportunities for minorities better. Did he strengthen the democratic process? Infrastructure? Access to internet? Reduce dependency of fossil fuels? Create US a leader in some technology?

What positives that could outweigh the massive negatives that he brings?

So the future of Trump depends on whether he can convince enough people that despite his massive flaws, shortcomings and beliefs that given another shot at POtUS he will actually do something positive. His latest 'policy' announcement at CPAC, that he wants POTUS to have the power to fire any and all federal employees, would suggest that is he is not looking to make anything positive only to run things more to his liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

To be fair he made things easier at the start of the pandemic for drug companies to get the vaccines through, now he lost interest in it after a short time when he realised it wasn’t going to be about him. He’s bound to have got some things right over four years, some by design as they benefited him anyway and some by accident. What he wasn’t was competent, he floundered around lurching from one thing to another as the whim took him. There are bound to be a few things that he got right but that doesn’t take away from all the other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Did you just copy and paste the same post as the one from last night?

You could have saved yourself the bother because I didn't buy it then and I'm not buying it now. I've already pointed out the false narrative you are adopting. One thing I left out from my response that others have pointed out is the incredible scenes of Trump meeting Putin on his own and hiding details of that meeting from his administration. But you expect us to believe that no one else was harder on Putin than Trump. I'm not buying it.

You're absolutely correct that I hate Trump and can see no redeeming features in him. He is a lying, cheating, selfish man with only his own personal interests motivating him above even that of some of his own children. When he sought the nomination in 2015, I said that it would be a disaster if someone like him were to become President because aside from the self-interest he would bring to the office, he would negatively impact what constitutes diplomacy in todays world and embolden others who thought a loud voice was enough to warrant having such power.

And that's exactly what has happened.

This is a thread about Trump. There's no law that people have to post positive stuff about him, this isn't a social media platform he has released.

Trump is and was only focused on what works for Donald J Trump.

And before you think some of us will just hate him because he is a Republican. That's not the case, I live in a state with a Republican Governor who I have a lot of respect for, I live with some Republican people including one who was on the staff of a prominent Republican senator for a period. Just last week I had dinner with a friend and his wife who would probably fall in to the category of staunch conservative Christians. I can respect a lot of the positions and views of these people and still abhor what Trump is and what he has done to diplomacy and political discourse. And I have similar disdain for those who continue to enable him or support him because they are trying to achieve their own agenda.

The world has and is literally suffering as a consequence of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭arthursway

I must say it's great to see more and more trump supporters posting in the thread to balance things out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,291 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

careful! Some people get offended when you call them that....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Really? I don't see them posting anything constructive, and none ever seem to want to talk about what the future holds for Donald Trump.

Do you think he'll run for POTUS again, and do you think he'll win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,903 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

You arent buying it thats why you completely ignored the factual points I made, as the answers dont fit your narrative.

Instead you went off on some rant about Qanon and the MyPillow guy because thats what you do best, you deflect and you argue a tangential issue ad nauseum until you have exhausted the opponent.

But you expect us to believe that no one else was harder on Putin than Trump. I'm not buying it

I never said that.

And before you think some of us will just hate him because he is a Republican. That's not the case, I live in a state with a Republican Governor who I have a lot of respect for, I live with some Republican people including one who was on the staff of a prominent Republican senator for a period. Just last week I had dinner with a friend and his wife who would probably fall in to the category of staunch conservative Christians. I can respect a lot of the positions and views of these people and still abhor what Trump is and what he has done to diplomacy and political discourse. And I have similar disdain for those who continue to enable him or support him because they are trying to achieve their own agenda.

Wow arent you great, you actually talk to Republicans, very open minded and non prejudiced. Bualadh bos.

If Trump was being in any way hard on Putin, he'd have tried to turn their meetings in to a reality TV show so he could focus on ratings.

But he kept even cameras and administration officials out of the room. They are the factual points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,019 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

I was expecting a rebuttal, detailing former posts where you actually did post emperical evidence, or answered a question directly. But instead we got 'wah wah wah butthurt', thank you for proving my point

There was a place for devils adovcate, in 2015 and 2016.

But since then we have seen 30,000 lies, the downplaying of a pandemic, the pulling out of an international climate agreement, the withdrawal from an Iranian Nuclear pact, the acceptance of bounties placed on US solidiers by Russia, the targeting of the media, the turning a blind eye to a US citizen being murdered by the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, the kowtowing to two dictators, the undermining of the US electoral system, two impeachments, 1 insurrection and the empowerment of like minded individuals in other countries around the world.

The real TDS is wanting to ignore all that in order to own the libs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

You actually believe there is a Devils advocate position to take on Trump? I can't see any. I find it hard to think of another person less qualified for the job of POTUS. He has no care for others, everything must be about him (except strangely when it comes to Putin when all of a sudden he feels compelled to give Putin 1st place).

It isn't TDS, it is looking at the myriad facts available and drawing a pretty simple conclusion. Trump started off his bid for POTUS as a PR exercise, he never expected to win. He was completely overawed by the job and came into completely unprepared and with little to no agenda about what to actually do.

He had no replacement for Obamacare, his initial Muslim ban fell foul of the constitution, his big tax reform failed to delivery the 8% GDP growth promised (and needed to make it pay for itself). His solution to getting jobs back to the country (which I agree with him on) was to give companies handouts and when then pocketed them and went to move anyway to threaten to cancel them (funny given his aversion to cancel culture).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Not to mention retrieving them from the jacks after lard arse took a dump on them and blocked up the plumbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I am so glad I have already digested my lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,332 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Speaking of insight, I ask again, where's the evidence that some of his businesses are "highly profitable" like you claimed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I wonder this is going for him

i4kwqqyz4rk81.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,047 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

@Tell me how

He is a lying, cheating, selfish man with only his own personal interests motivating him

That's mostly why his supporters like him. He's, literally, the gombeen man writ large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I feel that sufferers of TDS are the Trump fanboy and fanboy girls. A big lump of lard viewed as strong masculinity = Derangement, to me. A big dope of a man who thinks he had come up with the cure for covid by injection of disinfectant into the body, viewed by some as an intelligent man = Derangement. A man who stoked up division seen as a great politican = Derangement. A man who cannot put together a coherent sentence without a big load of nonsensical word salad, seen as a great orator = Deragement,

TDS is real alright. You are deranged if you think there is anything redeeming about this man. Special place in hell for him the day he dies as far as I am concerned.

John Bolton saying Trump did feck all to deter the Russians....

Your buddies must have reported all the posts attempting to define woke because they all have been deleted. They don’t want that conversation to happen. I guess it has nothing to done with the future of Donald trump.

Dumps sh*t and leaves, that's the Trump posters on this thread. They are entertaining and determined with their willingness to create new accounts, though. I'll give them that.

There it is ‘cancel’ that’s the full house of buzz words that mean **** all.

Then they have to gall to ask you to define it again. The most ridiculous behaviour I’ve ever seen.

Do you think it’s possible that whoever asked the question is not the same person that reported it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,806 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I honestly never saw the original posts. Is it different from what I take it to mean: "Overly politically correct"?

I have seriously considered that before, it is a good point, but because of the way pile ones happen and the way this sort of thing happens again and again in these threads I can only come to the conclusion that it is collusion, even if it may be implicit and not explicit, everyone knows the drill at this stage. I never see the more serious posters reprimand the crazier ones for their bad behaviour like they would reprimand someone who has been deemed an ‘other’.

I would love to have this discussion, I really would but these posts will just get reported and deleted again, that’s my point. Maybe we should start a thread about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,806 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Would the book-burning in Tennessee recently be woke then?