Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joe Biden Presidency thread *Please read OP - Threadbanned Users Added 4/5/21*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Igotadose wrote: »
    This Miranda Devine? https://www.theguardian.com/media/commentisfree/2020/oct/09/devine-intervention-news-corp-columnist-forced-to-say-she-doesnt-want-grandma-to-die

Posting sh1te from known liars Ian Cheong and Andy Ngo? As they say, pull the other one.

Follow the story on the Danielson murder and see if it what this Devine posts is in fact true. There was tons of coverage.

If it's not CNN it's not true is it?
    Next thing you will be saying the poor man wasnt killed at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,918 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

If it's not CNN it's not true is it?
    Next thing you will be saying the poor man wasnt killed at all.

Andy Ngo is a multiple-times-proven liar. Here's just one incident: https://www.vice.com/en/article/d3apyv/super-awkward-for-right-wing-blogger-andy-ngo-to-make-a-cameo-in-video-of-plot-against-antifa

How interesting he has the video he claims he has, eh?

And, no, you're bringing up CNN.

Jen "I will circle back to you" to avoid answering your question psaki

Tom Elliott (@tomselliott) Tweeted:
    SUPERCUT!

Jen Psaki (@jrpsaki) is going to “circle back” https://t.co/uf5yAWmcYy https://twitter.com/tomselliott/status/1354188490985107456?s=20

SUPERCUT!

Jen Psaki (@jrpsaki) is going to “circle back” https://t.co/uf5yAWmcYy https://twitter.com/tomselliott/status/1354188490985107456?s=20
    Man, the scandals you guys are finding are weak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

SUPERCUT!

Yeah it'd be so much better if she just made shït up like her predecessor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

SUPERCUT!

In what ****ing world is it better for someone to lie their face off than come back to a question at a later time?

The desperation for a scandal or insult is truly embarrassing. Give over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

SUPERCUT!

Weak Sauce, that's honestly the best you can do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,670 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

SUPERCUT!

Almost up there with "Alternative facts" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,918 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Yeah it'd be so much better if she just made shït up like her predecessor.

Or would get back to them like lazy-eyed SHS (now Gubernatorial candidate for Arkansas.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Frankly, a small part of me wanted for the press Secretary to come out and tell bald faced lies, gaslight the **** out of trump supporters for about 2 weeks.

Really have their head spinning. Outrageous lies. Biden invented the vaccine. Biden ran a marathon this morning before breakfast.

Fox appalled and outraged!

And then after 2 weeks, walk out and explain that the previous 2 were a demonstration of what it was like under trump and only then start dealing in the truth.

But nope, they started to treat the press corp the way they have always been treated by all bar the Trump administration - normally.

Frankly, it's more than Trump supporters deserve.

CeNs��rEd COLT���� (@ar15m4mid) Tweeted:
    Biden before the election: Trump dosen't have a plan

Biden after the election: There's nothing we can do https://t.co/ZvTQVCEsm7 https://twitter.com/ar15m4mid/status/1352745661763092480?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

trumpist annoyed that non-trumper doesn't just make up lies to every question.

Although it must be strange for you watching someone competent doing a job, newsflash!, this is what normal looks like.

Biden after the election: There's nothing we can do https://t.co/ZvTQVCEsm7 https://twitter.com/ar15m4mid/status/1352745661763092480?s=20

Why not use the full quote?

"There's nothing we can do to change the trajectory of the pandemic in the next several months"

So you understand why he said that? Or do you just read half a quote and go HuRr DUrr HUrr I got me a gotchaaaaa :rolleyes:

Biden after the election: There's nothing we can do

That tweet actually means this:

"trump was so sh!t at his job that it will take a number of months to undo all the sh!t work he did, but we have a plan to do so."

How could you read that tweet and come to that conclusion? Could you explain how your mind works to get from point A to point ridiculous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,417 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

astrofool wrote: »
    trumpist annoyed that non-trumper doesn't just make up lies to every question.

Although it must be strange for you watching someone competent doing a job, newsflash!, this is what normal looks like.

He’s moved on to nonsense tweets now

Keep scouring Twitter, you might actually find a legitimate criticism at some stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Very low energy stuff this frown.png

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Very low energy stuff this frown.png

Just goes to show what a good job the Biden administration is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,304 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I don't remember him promising to defeat the virus in 30 days or anything. Another non-scandal. I have adopting a cat up next on my bingo card, come on guys.

How could you read that tweet and come to that conclusion? Could you explain how your mind works to get from point A to point ridiculous?

Excellent question I'm gonna circle back to you on that one for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I presume Psaki does as she says and gets back to the journalist with a reply. If she did not they'd be chasing her very quickly and not accepting that as a reply.

Water John wrote: »
    I presume Psaki does as she says and gets back to the journalist with a reply. If she did not they'd be chasing her very quickly and not accepting that as a reply.

Yeah but that's not what she is supposed to do!

She is supposed to tell lies, make things up, consult her binder and throw out false facts/stats and call the media "fake news"

This is what the Trump zealots want, there is no room for truth and sensibility in their world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,992 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The attempts to put a bad spin on Biden are truly pathetic.

Water John wrote: »

She does but that doesn't suit the narrative that particular poster is trying to spin.

Excellent question I'm gonna circle back to you on that one for sure.

Don't make yourself too dizzy, you need all the grey matter you have left!

But, seriously, you need to add some debate, opinion, not just presenting others tweets in some sort of Murdoch style "Gotcha!" headline, especially when what you post and what it means are usually opposites, it makes you look dimwitted, which hopefully you are not.

Don't make yourself too dizzy, you need all the grey matter you have left!

But, seriously, you need to add some debate, opinion, not just presenting others tweets in some sort of Murdoch style "Gotcha!" headline, especially when what you post and what it means are usually opposites, it makes you look dimwitted, which hopefully you are not.

Points taken on board.
    Politics and political debate is a relatively new arena for me so I'm very much learning on the job in this thread.
    I realise that I'm considerably inept compared to many here in debating and getting points across with well researched links and sources etc.
    It makes it even more of a challenge that I'm the only trump supporter in a Biden presidency thread but I'm willing to try and improve and you are all going to need someone to keep you in check for the next 4 years aren't you. 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,994 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Points taken on board.
    Politics and political debate is a relatively new arena for me so I'm very much learning on the job in this thread.
    I realise that I'm considerably inept compared to many here in debating and getting points across with well researched links and sources etc.
    It makes it even more of a challenge that I'm the only trump supporter in a Biden presidency thread but I'm willing to try and improve and you are all going to need someone to keep you in check for the next 4 years aren't you. 🙂

Why do you support Trump?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

eagle eye wrote: »
    The attempts to put a bad spin on Biden are truly expected.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,994 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

eagle eye wrote: »
    The attempts to put a bad spin on Biden are truly pathetic.

It's not only more of the same, but I think we are going to see it ramped up even more over the coming years.

BBC

'They're coming for us' - right-wing media on Biden's week
    The percentage of conservatives who felt they could trust traditional media dropped from 25% in 2015 to 13% in 2020, according to Oxford University's Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism.

Conservatives began to turn increasingly to right-wing outlets to hear news in line with their world view, and are relying on them now as their guide to Biden's Washington.

With the emergence if Newsmax and OAN in the last couple of years, it looks like Fox are going to go even harder right in an attempt to hold on to their viewing numbers.

And it is not just the US. Andrew Neil, formerly of the BBC and of the Spectator is heading a new UK News outlet called GB News which just today announced the signing of Dan Wooton of The Sun as one of their on air talents. I wouldn't at all be surprised if a certain former MEP who lost his job at a talk radio station also finds himself in front of the cameras there. Worryingly, they have specifically said that they are going to focus on Right Wing viewpoints which they feel is missing from the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,992 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well the news thing is a huge problem.
    When I grew up, in Ireland we had Charles Mitchell on the 9pm news who read out the facts of what happened and/or what was said by those involved. There was no agenda, there was no opinion given just the facts. This lead to conversations between people about the events and on occasion heated arguments but everybody made up their own mind about who was right or wrong and everything else.
    Now all news networks seem opinionated and even agenda driven. It's not surprising people don't trust them. The big problem then is you get drawn into something you find more favourable which of course is agenda driven.
    This is why I avoid social media, it's why I'm very picky about where I get my news from. I love reuters, bare facts given with no opinion on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭newhouse87

It's not only more of the same, but I think we are going to see it ramped up even more over the coming years.

BBC

'They're coming for us' - right-wing media on Biden's week

With the emergence if Newsmax and OAN in the last couple of years, it looks like Fox are going to go even harder right in an attempt to hold on to their viewing numbers.

And it is not just the US. Andrew Neil, formerly of the BBC and of the Spectator is heading a new UK News outlet called GB News which just today announced the signing of Dan Wooton of The Sun as one of their on air talents. I wouldn't at all be surprised if a certain former MEP who lost his job at a talk radio station also finds himself in front of the cameras there. Worryingly, they have specifically said that they are going to focus on Right Wing viewpoints which they feel is missing from the BBC.

Its worrying to you that right wing viewpoints are going to be focussed on in GB news, that says all i already knew about you, you just want an echo chamber of your views, enjoy dumb and dumber, lemon and cuomo on cnn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭listermint

newhouse87 wrote: »
    Its worrying to you that right wing viewpoints are going to be focussed on in GB news, that says all i already knew about you, you just want an echo chamber of your views, enjoy dumb and dumber, lemon and cuomo on cnn.

Right wing isn't a good thing lad. You can hold conservative views (good) but when they drift into right wing they're not good.

Understand the difference.

The middle ground is lost and that seems to make folks giddy. Does it make you giddy...

listermint wrote: »
    Right wing isn't a good thing lad. You can hold conservative views (good) but when they drift into right wing they're not good.

Understand the difference.

The middle ground is lost and that seems to make folks giddy. Does it make you giddy...

To say its worrying is a rather worrying outlook to have,far right views are not good, nothing wrong with right wing views, not much makes me giddy especially not news on either side. Not good to just listen to one viewpoint either, its whats wrong with todays society either you agree with me or you are wrong, an awful childish way to behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,187 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

You think GB news wont be a echo chamber for sane people to laugh at?

pjohnson wrote: »
    You think GB news wont be a echo chamber for sane people to laugh at?

Are you saying conservative view points are insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

I already seen a video yesterday of GB talking about the vaccine , he'd give trump a run for his money about how all over the place he was speaking . The only difference will be the MSM and late night talk shows won't ridicule him daily for being a bit senile.

GB news is a new news channel in the UK. What video are you talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

So you do accept it will be an echo chamber.

What is the left wing echo chamber channel on British TV? There is none, which is why this sets dangerous precedent when it comes to how their society communicate tes and interacts, which has already been deteriorating for a few years now... thanks in no small part to echo chambers.

I'm saying it will be right wing. With right wing Talking points . The sole reason to make people afraid and in turn grift money out of their fear.

Just constant fear sadness and diatribe.

Surely nothing to be lauded. Just look at the US examples. Fear fear fear fear. Commodity of fear. Why does anyone advocate that. You can be conservative and want conservative things and get them. But living in a bubble of everyone and everything is out to get you.

Insanity

So you do accept it will be an echo chamber.

What is the left wing echo chamber channel on British TV? There is none, which is why this sets dangerous precedent when it comes to how their society communicate tes and interacts, which has already been deteriorating for a few years now... thanks in no small part to echo chambers.

where did i say i accept it will be an echo chamber? I asked does that poster think conservative views are insane based on his suggestion .It hasn't even aired yet and ye are talking about the far right.

I'm saying it will be right wing. With right wing Talking points . The sole reason to make people afraid and in turn grift money out of their fear.

Just constant fear sadness and diatribe.

Surely nothing to be lauded. Just look at the US examples. Fear fear fear fear. Commodity of fear. Why does anyone advocate that. You can be conservative and want conservative things and get them. But living in a bubble of everyone and everything is out to get you.

Insanity

I haven't for a second lauded it, i like to give things a chance before bashing it, dont see any problem with that, some posters here dont even want to hear conservative views, surely you can see thats not right.

I don't think anyone said don't have conservative views. Point to where anyone said that ?

This is merely an attempt for a fox news style opinion nonsense dressed up as News. Pushed by an old English grifter who's put out ads looking for Dominic Cummings style characters.

This is never about News, sure look at their ads. It's a pure grift. Why are people so eager to 'be had'.

I don't think anyone said don't have conservative views. Point to where anyone said that ?

This is merely an attempt for a fox news style opinion nonsense dressed up as News. Pushed by an old English grifter who's put out ads looking for Dominic Cummings style characters.

This is never about News, sure look at their ads. It's a pure grift. Why are people so eager to 'be had'.

Tell me how said it was worrying that a news outlet was focusing on right wing view points, you don't se any problem with that? Fox news is mental at the best of times as is cnn on the other side, i think we agree in essence, but if media can have left wing views it can also have right wing views too, i see opposing opinions in a civilized manner as a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Tell me how said it was worrying that a news outlet was focusing on right wing view points, you don't se any problem with that? Fox news is mental at the best of times as is cnn on the other side, i think we agree in essence, but if media can have left wing views it can also have right wing views too, i see opposing opinions in a civilized manner as a good thing.

I don't believe any opinion shows on CNN are presented as fact ala tucker carlson or Sean Hannity on fox

We live in Ireland not the US. I don't want this opinion type fact ****e to come into the market here. And if anyone thinks a right wing Tory Eton Oxford toff owned grifting network will succeed with viewers from Ireland . As they initially said they also wanted to be here. They are nuts.

If you want to subscribe to that sort of stuff knock yourself out. It's your money.

Tip, they're laughing at you.

duploelabs wrote: »
    I don't believe any opinion shows on CNN are presented as fact ala tucker carlson or Sean Hannity on fox

we are talking about a news channel that is concerning other because it will be conservative leaning, it should not be concerning to any individual who can think rationally.

Were not talking about a news channel. That's the point I'm making.

They're positively laughing at you.

It's like as if the daily mail was described as news.

Chewing up your viewtime with opinion and telling you it's news. Laughing at you.

We live in Ireland not the US. I don't want this opinion type fact ****e to come into the market here. And if anyone thinks a right wing Tory Eton Oxford toff owned grifting network will succeed with viewers from Ireland . As they initially said they also wanted to be here. They are nuts.

If you want to subscribe to that sort of stuff knock yourself out. It's your money.

Tip, they're laughing at you.

Yes i agree i hate all this American style identity politics crap but if you read boards you will see its here already. It shouldnt matter if its right wing or left wing that's my point, people should make up there own mind on what is true or not.

Were not talking about a news channel. That's the point I'm making.

They're positively laughing at you.

It's like as if the daily mail was described as news.

Chewing up your viewtime with opinion and telling you it's news. Laughing at you.

Whos laughing what are you talking about?

Yes i agree i hate all this American style identity politics crap but if you read boards you will see its here already. It shouldnt matter if its right wing or left wing that's my point, people should make up there own mind on what is true or not.

You can't trust that frankly. These stations and social media platforms are powerful. And to be frank people are stupid.

There should be regulations and properly inforced regulations with fines. Fines for telling lies and spreading mistruths. Stations and social media platforms forced to spend weeks publicly walking back any lies published or told on their platforms. The size of the lie should reflect the size of their marketing time and budget walking it back.

You cant rely on individuals to have he capacity to sort the lies from the facts.

The world has changed. And these media companies are void of responsibility

Whos laughing what are you talking about?

Your already convinced this is a conservative news station. They're taking you for a thick.

It'll be a shill opinion TV station pushing out farage waffle