Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joe Biden Presidency thread *Please read OP - Threadbanned Users Added 4/5/21*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

Well, actions so have consequences and what we're seeing here is McConnell and co suffering the consequences of openly trying to block anything and everything Obama passed through Congress for years on end, as they currently desperately fight for their filibuster to do the same.

That's a lot to get done for someone who apparently gets nothing done though it has to be said, goes to show what can be achieved when the person in the role doesn't spend the majority of their day shouting at clouds on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,671 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Well, actions so have consequences and what we're seeing here is McConnell and co suffering the consequences of openly trying to block anything and everything Obama passed through Congress for years on end, as they currently desperately fight for their filibuster to do the same.

That's a lot to get done for someone who apparently gets nothing done though it has to be said, goes to show what can be achieved when the person in the role doesn't spend the majority of their day shouting at clouds on Twitter.

Or golfing on the taxpayers dollar.

Joe Biden has carried out 33 executive orders in his first week as president.

This compares to

5 by Obama
    4 by Trump
    1 by Clinton
    And zero by Bush jr

Some were directly overturning Trumps while others were because he felt it should be so.

Dictatorial like governance from the get go.

After you eventually look up the word "grifting", you might want to look up the word "dictatorship".

I don't even know where "he's working too hard he needs to slow down" puts you in the stages of denial. You might even have created a completely new stage, fair play.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Almost as if there was some sort of global emergency requiring immediate actions which included correcting the incompetence of the previous administration. Won't someone think of the children!

He also has to use Executive orders right now as because McConnell has refused to agree to the new "Terms of Congress" or whatever it's called , GOP Senators are still the chairs of all the committees despite losing the Majority and as such they would refuse to bring any of his requests to the floor.

See for example yesterday Graham , who is still the chairman of the Judicial committee refusing to hold an approval hearing for Merrick Garland (deja vu anyone???) because of the impeachment trial.

This compares to

5 by Obama
    4 by Trump
    1 by Clinton
    And zero by Bush jr

Some were directly overturning Trumps while others were because he felt it should be so.

https://twitter.com/bye45scienceLvr/status/1355357841180114953?s=20

Hopefully back in stock soon

41z71pFlBOL._AC_SY1000_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭weisses

I believe the mod note specifies that this thread is about Biden. There is another thread for Trump.No thanks. I'm not playing the whataboutery spin the wheel game with you. Pass

You brought in 4 different presidents and used them to engage in pointless, childish whataboutery ..... Try again in 4 years when there is a possibility you can give your full support to another wannabe dictator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,770 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I generally think that EO are a bad idea, they end up with each new Admin merely wiping out all the previous EO and putting in their own, costing millions in terms of any organisations affected having to update policies, rules, etc. Just for a few years, later everything goes back again.

On the other hand, the very reason that people vote for change is, well, change. People voted Trump out of office and Biden in and their vote must be respected. The country didn't like the policies that Trump had followed and liked those that Biden espoused.

So why should they have to wait until the GOP agree to something? They lost, time for change now. Now in many cases that change can wait until legislation is agreed and passed through, but in some cases immediate action is required.

Climate change, membership of WHO, Paris Accord, dealing with separated children.

What I would say is that at least Biden seems to be trying to achieve things with many of his EO. In many cases Trump just wanted to stop things from Obama or put something through knowing that it would never get passed or it was even unconstitutional, but he needed the PR (Muslim ban being the best example)

What Biden needs to do, IMO, is follow a very aggressive agenda. Keep things moving. Keep achieving things. Many are not going to like what he does no matter what, so they are never going to be happy. But by making things happen, positive things, people can start to feel that the government can actually achieve things.

One of Trumps big failings was he was lazy. He could only do one thing at a time, spent too much time focused on himself and not on actually delivering. Everything was too drawn out, everything was two weeks away.

This compares to

5 by Obama
    4 by Trump
    1 by Clinton
    And zero by Bush jr

No matter how many executive orders he signed in his first week you would have come up with some form of faux outrage comment:

>5: The comment you made.
    5: Oh look, it's going to be exactly like Obama's term isn't it?
    4: I thought people were saying he would do more work than Trump did?
    <4: He's not working as hard as Trump was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,263 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Just to clarify, is there anybody here who has a problem with "The American Way" (wrongly known as capitalism) regardless of who's in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭randd1

This compares to

5 by Obama
    4 by Trump
    1 by Clinton
    And zero by Bush jr

I thought you Trump fans like a dictator style president and instant decision making? If it was Trump doing it you’d have to be out on a drip for dehydration because of how much you’d have creamed your pants.

Make up your minds will ye as to what ye want.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭Cody montana

This compares to

5 by Obama
    4 by Trump
    1 by Clinton
    And zero by Bush jr

Did you not call him sleepy Joe a few months ago?

This is the crazy thing

They called him "sleepy Joe",

Said he hadn't done anything for 47 years,

Claimed he was just going to be a Democrat figurehead.

Now all of a sudden they are whinging because he is working too much, I think the real problem is they are seeing Biden dismantle Trumps stupidity and they don't like it one bit.

This is the crazy thing

Now all of a sudden they are whinging because he is working too much, I think the real problem is they are seeing Biden dismantle Trumps stupidity and they don't like it one bit.

These people are never going to be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I've a feeling that a large portion of people who voted for Trump or support him are very angry in general.

I blame the "anger porn" that Fox broadcast at night time. Make people go to bed angry, keep the blood boiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,998 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Unfortunately, they were happy for the last 4 years as they salivated over Trump's 'draining the swamp' or 'saying it straight' or whatever other ridiculous phrase they bought in to while he stumbled and fell from one fiasco to the next while pleading for praise.

everlast75 wrote: »
    I've a feeling that a large portion of people who voted for Trump or support him are very angry in general.

I blame the "anger porn" that Fox broadcast at night time. Make people go to bed angry, keep the blood boiling

I don’t think they believe he could have lost.
    He was beaten by “Sleepy Joe in his basement”.

Now Biden is erasing their leaders legacy.
    And I’m bloody loving it.

This is the crazy thing

Don't forget that "sleepy Joe" was also capable of rigging an election on a national level and somehow managed to hide all of the evidence.

Unfortunately, they were happy for the last 4 years as they salivated over Trump's 'draining the swamp' or 'saying it straight' or whatever other ridiculous phrase they bought in to while he stumbled and fell from one fiasco to the next while pleading for praise.

Yeah, but Biden owns a rolex!

Scandalous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I don’t think they believe he could have lost.
    He was beaten by “Sleepy Joe in his basement”.

Now Biden is erasing their leaders legacy.
    And I’m bloody loving it.

If Sleepy Joe in the basement can overwhelmingly defeat Trump, how bad is Trump?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Isn't that the entire GOP Modus Operandi though?

Keep their base permanently angry or afraid so that they vote for them.

Everything they say and do is designed to play on peoples fears.

Immigrants raping their daughters , stealing their jobs and turning cities into lawless hell-scapes.

Democrats seeking to take their guns , steal their all money through taxation and assassinate God.

I think that pretty much covers the GOP manifesto for the last 15+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,255 ✭✭✭✭briany

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Isn't that the entire GOP Modus Operandi though?

Keep their base permanently angry or afraid so that they vote for them.

Everything they say and do is designed to play on peoples fears.

Immigrants raping their daughters , stealing their jobs and turning cities into lawless hell-scapes.

Democrats seeking to take their guns , steal their all money through taxation and assassinate God.

I think that pretty much covers the GOP manifesto for the last 15+ years.

I would say Fox News is just an evolution in what has been fed to Republican voters in the States for a long time at a more diluted level. To receive what Fox News says without perhaps regarding it as sensationalist and fanatical, you'd have to already be primed for it.

Were they though? They spent 4 years complaining about Fake news, deep state, the democrats, immigrants, BLM, etc etc.

They didn't seem very happy to me. Of course, there were brief glimpses of happiness when Trump got one over the Libtards, but overall the whole experience must be seen as a massive disappointment

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Were they though? They spent 4 years complaining about Fake news, deep state, the democrats, immigrants, BLM, etc etc.

They didn't seem very happy to me. Of course, there were brief glimpses of happiness when Trump got one over the Libtards, but overall the whole experience must be seen as a massive disappointment

Stormy Daniels said something similar..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,305 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    He also has to use Executive orders right now as because McConnell has refused to agree to the new "Terms of Congress" or whatever it's called , GOP Senators are still the chairs of all the committees despite losing the Majority and as such they would refuse to bring any of his requests to the floor.

See for example yesterday Graham , who is still the chairman of the Judicial committee refusing to hold an approval hearing for Merrick Garland (deja vu anyone???) because of the impeachment trial.

Why am I not surprised?

A few days after freezing a $290bn Trump administration arms deal to Saudi Arabia, Biden's America has reopened relations with Palestine following a 3 year freeze by his predecessor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Must be an awful shock for the Trumpists to see Joe Biden getting on with it and getting a lot of work done. They were absolutely shocked when he showed up to the debates and wasn't the mumbling drooling mess the Trump campaign had made him out to be.

They must be even more shocked that he isn't in fact sleepy and is getting a huge amount done and in 2 weeks has done more than the Dear Leader managed in 4 years.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

This is the crazy thing

Not only Trump’s stupidity, but also the ridiculous notion that Biden would sit on the sidelines and Harris would run the show because Biden is too old and doesn’t know who he is.

Only now are they seeing otherwise, despite the fact that he tore strips off Trump throughout the campaign, especially in the 2nd debate.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Gentlemanne

Don't forget that "sleepy Joe" was also capable of rigging an election on a national level and somehow managed to hide all of the evidence.

It's because Fox News is (at least practically) a fascist propaganda network.

One of Umberto Eco's definintions of fascism is an example of this contradictory attack:

EsasbZFXAAMYXHJ?format=jpg&name=medium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Bidens press team have been accused of screening questions from journalists before press conferences. Claims of undermining his promise of respect to a free press.

https://www.businessinsider.com/biden-press-office-asked-journalists-advance-questions-report-2021-2

Bidens press team have been accused of screening questions from journalists before press conferences. Claims of undermining his promise of respect to a free press.

https://www.businessinsider.com/biden-press-office-asked-journalists-advance-questions-report-2021-2

So they seem to ask for questions ahead of time so that they can prepare an answer, which seems reasonable enough.

It is not supposed to be a gotcha event, it was just that Trump was nearly always lying or making stuff up so they were always worried about it.

It also doesn't say that the press are being forced to do it, or ignored or refused permission to ask a question if they don't state it ahead of time.

I do love your new found concern for the freedom of the press though. What brought about this conversion. Because if the MSM are the fake news and enemy of the people that Trump led us to believe that why would you be in the least bit concerned if they were not respected?

And it's pointed out in your own article that it's not unusual as a practice in multiple administrations...

Let me get this right

They ask for the questions in advance so that they can maybe do a little research and give an honest answer?

Did you prefer the old way where a question would get asked and the press sec would spout a load of lies/half truths?

Seriously? This is what you guys have to whinge about :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,644 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Did you prefer the old way where a question would get asked and the press sec would spout a load of lies/half truths?

You are being generous there.

Ok, so you just shudder onto a new "scandal" without addressing the previous points raised.

I mean she could just scream "Fake news" and lie.

aesop-s-fables-the-boy-who-cried-wolf.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

In one way I can see the benefit of screening the questions allowing you to gather the necessary information to answer them adequately.
    On the flipside sometimes an unexpected question can prompt a more telling response.

And it's pointed out in your own article that it's not unusual as a practice in multiple administrations...

Another failed "gotcha" moment.

Can we open some sort of table where we can catalogue each "swing and a miss"?

Another failed "gotcha" moment.

Its the same with them all and the worse is they have absolutely no shame!

They see a headline, click on it, read the first two or three lines and think

"HA!! This will show them"

When it's pointed out that they are in fact wrong or that the article they posted actually refutes thier claim they just disappear, give it anfew hours/days and the same poster will be back to embarrass themselves with yet another silly "gotcha" fail.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

In one way I can see the benefit of screening the questions allowing you to gather the necessary information to answer them adequately.
    On the flipside sometimes an unexpected question can prompt a more telling response.

I think your last line is correct but Psaki seems to have her brief well covered at least in terms of the major issues in the news cycle.

There’s nothing in the story really. Put them ahead of time so we can get you a definite answer, or don’t. Nobody is being barred from the WH briefings for not doing and throwing the questions out there anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Or a thread so it's not clogging up this thread with crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Biden just addressed the issue of the many EOs he is signing. He said he wasn't creating new law, just undoing harm from the previous administration.

Sanders also chairing the Budget Committee. That's fairly progressive, hope for results.

More proof that Biden is basically trying to unf**k the Country

https://twitter.com/kylegriffin1/status/1356738051439906816?s=19

More proof that Biden is basically trying to unf**k the Country

https://twitter.com/kylegriffin1/status/1356738051439906816?s=19

How wonderful.

Trump should be hauled before The Hague.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaiQFxTK8vE

Things are going well with the Mypillow guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

3 main issues:

1. promising 2000 dollars stimulus. that is now 1400 saying the trump administration 600 was included, the 600 was a downpayment. do fans of biden support that?

2 Suzan G. LeVine: LeVine’s critics (not critics, it happened while she was in charge) responded to Friday’s announcement by highlighting problems at the ESD during her 2-1/2 year tenure — notably a fraud scheme that siphoned off $600 million in unemployment funds.

Into unemployment with her, with a solid track record, where she oversaw a huge scam to the tune of $600m, aleit recovered some of it.

3 Janet Yellen: Yellen received $800G from a hedge fund in Gamestop controversy. Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen Took $800K ‘Access Bag’ From Robinhood Partner Citadel.

better appoint her treasury secretary so.

they are 3. there will be many more i have no doubt.

i could well be missing something here. are these good appointments do you think?

or in the case of #1, is that semantics?

Semantics. If you look up "$2,600 stimulus" from before Nov 1st of last year you basically come up blank. If you look up "$1,400 stimulus" from before Nov 1st of last year however, you get plenty of articles about the $1,400 increase to bring the total stimulus in the current round to $2,000.

Just see your first point and that discredits anything else you write. Nobody mentioned €2K cheques. Won't engage with you further.

Water John wrote: »
    Just see your first point and that discredits anything else you write. Nobody mentioned €2K cheques. Won't engage with you further.

It was always this figure.
    Never, 2,600.
    600 and then a further 1400.

It was all over the news.