Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman stabbed near IFSC

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

No good shineon.
    There’s a road bridge to the mainland.they’d figure it out like the crows learning to use sticks as tools.
    We’d be back to square one again.

I don't know why you are sending them to the most beautiful parts of ireland? If anything keep them in Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

its because of lockdown - all the civilised people in society are off the streets so the trash run riot. not enough of a police presence so these evil thugs think they can do what they want.

Where are all the "If this was the other way around it would be called a racist attack" brigade from the Balbriggan thread?
    Because this isn't being called a racist attack, just thuggery.

we dont know either of the individuals race - what does race gotta do with it.

Daragh1980 wrote: »
    I condemn as many crimes as I can.
    I believe in appropriate sentencing for all types of crime, be they violent or non-violent.
    My point is about the selective outrage of The Left who only seem to care about white collar crime or if some rich guy batters someone.

I always find these points hard to follow, one man's left is another man's right, nobody really knows who you are talking about.

Left roughly means socialist I guess? But what about a strong believer in the free market who also believes in breaking hereditary inheritance?

Or a nationalist who believes in prisoner rehabilitation rather than oppressive punishment.

Or a right wing guy who hates global corporations.

There's all kinds of contradictions out there and I have no idea what you mean by lefties?

I'm thinking "dogooders" , ones who want the state to be heavily involved in social issues and ones who believe everyone is entitled to unlimited assistance.

I'd say there's a tiny amount of people with that opinion.

I always find these points hard to follow, one man's left is another man's right, nobody really knows who you are talking about.

Left roughly means socialist I guess? But what about a strong believer in the free market who also believes in breaking hereditary inheritance?

Or a nationalist who believes in prisoner rehabilitation rather than oppressive punishment.

Or a right wing guy who hates global corporations.

There's all kinds of contradictions out there and I have no idea what you mean by lefties?

I'm thinking "dogooders" , ones who want the state to be heavily involved in social issues and ones who believe everyone is entitled to unlimited assistance.

I'd say there's a tiny amount of people with that opinion.

so someone get stabbed in the neck and instead of it being about the action/crime it now becomes LEFT RIGHT CIRCLE SQUARE YADDA YADDA - SO IRRELEVANT and excuse for propaganda - SO BORING

Yeah that's why I asked, what does left mean here? He/she mentioned something about the left?

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

We need a 3 strikes policy or a 5 strikes policy. I'd bet this particular scumbag has multiples of that already.

Automatic 10 years for 5 convictions would sort a few of them out.

I don't get why some people advocate a three strikes or a five strikes policy. Are ye saying these people can go around stabbing people once or twice before any punishment? How is that justice. Punish them for each and every crime they commit.

We need more prisons and we need to put these people and their kids in them. The State is already paying for their housing so it may actually be cheaper to keep them in a prison than in a house.

I don't get why some people advocate a three strikes or a five strikes policy. Are ye saying these people can go around stabbing people once or twice before any punishment? How is that justice. Punish them for each and every crime they commit.

We need more prisons and we need to put these people and their kids in them. The State is already paying for their housing so it may actually be cheaper to keep them in a prison than in a house.

What we are putting innocent kids in prison now?

Yeah that's why I asked, what does left mean here? He/she mentioned something about the left?

yes agree with you - not pushing back - i am wondering why we are now discussing political spectrums. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

we dont know either of the individuals race - what does race gotta do with it.

We do. We know that the woman is Mongolian.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

What we are putting innocent kids in prison now?

They're not that innocent trust me i see them in action everyday.

We do. We know that the woman is Mongolian.

to me - a woman was stabbed and its awful.

is it a matter of race. i dont know. thats for people who know more about the incident than me. but i know the kids in this area and they torment everyone. some of them are just awful. BUT there are no facilities or outlets for them. SURE LOOK they are building a white water rafting facility in the heart of the iFSC that these kids prob wont even be able to access. society just ignores them.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Skipduke

to me - a woman was stabbed and its awful.

is it a matter of race. i dont know. thats for people who know more about the incident than me. but i know the kids in this area and they torment everyone. some of them are just awful. BUT there are no facilities or outlets for them. SURE LOOK they are building a white water rafting facility in the heart of the iFSC that these kids prob wont even be able to access. society just ignores them.

no facilities for them? I suppose kids living in extremely rural places like Connemara, Kerry and Donegal must have a lot of resources available to them so.... I know some kids that have to travel 40+ minutes to the nearest grocery store... they never commit any crimes despite the lack of things to do..

the argument that lack of resources = bold child is invalid. end of.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

It was a really horrible thing that happened to that poor woman. What a scumbag that boy is. I hope he gets whats coming to him.

But i must have been living for the last 12 years in a completely different IFSC to the one that has been described in this post. Not once have i felt anyway intimated or scared in the IFSC and I'm originally from the countryside.

• What we are putting innocent kids in prison now?

You definitely don't live around this ****.

Same for most TDs. They have no idea.

• to me - a woman was stabbed and its awful.

There are soccer clubs, gaa clubs, boxing clubs and other types off clubs in the area. I don't buy that.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

Ireland is just way too soft on scrotes in the city center. Always the oh there deprived poor mouth excuse. build prisions arm the police and get the junkies out of the city center, close the treatment center's or move them to a controlled area (build one in pheonix park). population is getting too large now for the it will be grand attitude. lock him up never let him see daylight again. If any TD doesn't agree with building more prision's they don't actually want to fix the problem

3 or 5 strikes does not mean you can murder someone twice and only go to jail in the 3rd. It means 3 convictions. Obviously serious crime will attract a stiff sentence right away.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Ok I'll bite.

There's nothing to do in the area aside from a youth club and a boxing club. No where to play football. Dense two storey housing in the city centre next to the financial centre. What could possibly go wrong?

There's a council swimming pool on Sean McDermott street, another lovely one with a gym on Townsend street. There are parks all over the city. This bull**** excuse for their behaviour is just that, an excuse. The problem is these kids have been dragged up not brought up, never taught any manners or discipline. They likely have major attention disorders due to in utero exposure to drink or drugs to further compound the issues. Why was a fourteen year old out cycling in the freezing cold at that time of the evening? Because they have terrible parents who couldn't give a f*** about his welfare, and in turn have raised a child who doesn't care about anyone else's either.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    There's a council swimming pool on Sean McDermott street, another lovely one with a gym on Townsend street. There are parks all over the city. This bull**** excuse for their behaviour is just that, an excuse. The problem is these kids have been dragged up not brought up, never taught any manners or discipline. They likely have major attention disorders due to in utero exposure to drink or drugs to further compound the issues. Why was a fourteen year old out cycling in the freezing cold at that time of the evening? Because they have terrible parents who couldn't give a f*** about his welfare, and in turn have raised a child who doesn't care about anyone else's either.

I mean, if little Johnny only had a youth or boxing club to go to at 1am, this would never have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I don't know why people are talking about welfare anyway, people on welfare and their children aren't inherently violent. It's a bit more complicated than that.

The majority of violent crimes are committed by people on welfare and that extends to their kids. It only gets complicated when people with no clue offer suggestions, or give excuses to such behaviour.

Stay Free

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

The majority of violent crimes are committed by people on welfare and that extends to their kids. It only gets complicated when people with no clue offer suggestions, or give excuses to such behaviour.

Indeed...would you say this is the poorest class in our society?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah but if you cut social welfare and housing etc, they'll still have kids, and I'd imagine they'd be living in poverty and this environment will create even more scumbags. If we locked this kid up forever, a similar crime will happen soon after, we'll all be shocked and then it'll happen again and again.
    There's an anger and violence in some youth here in Ireland, in these areas, I've never seen anywhere else. I don't think I'm a bleeding heart liberal for saying we need to look at the root of these issues and why it happens here, and what can be done to prevent it happening in future. I think it's a complicated web of intergenerational hardship and poverty and abuse.
    I say this as someone who's family was a victim of a horrific murder by teenagers, and they didn't do a day in jail. It's quickly forgotten about, you're left to pick up the pieces, and then it just happens again.

Poverty my eye, free houses, a tax free wage every week with no pressure to ever look for a job and a bit of crime on the side for an extra bit of cash.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Do you jump to condemn each and every violent crime that you hear about? You know, the ones that don't get threads on boards.ie because they haven't been carried out by a Muslim or an African or a welfare recipient? And what about all the ones that you haven't heard about - when are you going to condemn all the other violent crimes that occur?

Given we went through a global frenzy over the death of George Floyd simply because he was a black man, whereas the Carrigaline stabbing was hushed up and dismissed, I find the above to be incredibly ironic. Violent and racially motivated crimes committed by non-whites are almost erased from the public record. Whereas a white woman objecting to a black man confronting her in a park is attacked and depersoned as a 'Karen'.

Please, just stop with the pretense that the mass hysteria is targeted against anyone except white people. We're all just waiting for the next Karen or the next white teenager uncomfortably smirking to be hyped up into a two minute hate figure by the media.

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    There's a council swimming pool on Sean McDermott street, another lovely one with a gym on Townsend street. There are parks all over the city. This bull**** excuse for their behaviour is just that, an excuse.

I think it's a bit unfair to say that those facilities don't make a difference to the disadvantaged youth. Our area, in the last decade, got a lovely new state of the art pool and gym facility, and it has definitely made a difference to the youth in the area.

Now they have loads of windows to practice their aim on; I reckon we could have an olympic discus thrower in our midst yet.

Of course the council are installing cages and steel panels to prevent the windows being broke, which is disgusting as it's only taking away the chances of future gold medals for this country. If they keep replacing the windows with cages, the poor kids will have no chance.

They'll have to fall back on their scrambler bike career instead.

Out of curiousity, you know the way all the 'normal people' in Ireland can see the scumbags for what they are, and how blatantly they play the welfare system by squeezing out kids and signing up to the housing list on their 18th birthday.. has anyone ever actually put this to Varadker, Martin, etc?

I don't really recall them ever being properly grilled about the approach of helping up the 'vulnerable', by stomping down hard on the 'those getting up early in the morning'.

It's widely discussed, but I never see it actually being "officially" discussed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,640 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Sand wrote: »
    Given we went through a global frenzy over the death of George Floyd simply because he was a black man, whereas the Carrigaline stabbing was hushed up and dismissed, I find the above to be incredibly ironic. Violent and racially motivated crimes committed by non-whites are almost erased from the public record.

I see race creeping back into this thread

I strongly suggest anyone thinking of bringing that into the thread should reread post #13

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=115996840&postcount=13

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Out of curiousity, you know the way all the 'normal people' in Ireland can see the scumbags for what they are, and how blatantly they play the welfare system by squeezing out kids and signing up to the housing list on their 18th birthday.. has anyone ever actually put this to Varadker, Martin, etc?

I don't really recall them ever being properly grilled about the approach of helping up the 'vulnerable', by stomping down hard on the 'those getting up early in the morning'.

It's widely discussed, but I never see it actually being "officially" discussed.

In fairness to Leo he made a comment when FG got into power that he was there for the people of Ireland who get up early which was a reference to this. And he was vilified by so many people in the press and the public that he immediately back away from it. Its political suicide to get into this so they all avoid it.

Until a party is created with the sole aim of running to do something about these vermin and thus take away seats from all the other parties and maybe gets into power in a coalition, nothing will change.

Peter Casey by pure chance hit on this underlying resentment in the Irish public and you seen how many votes he got when he ran for president.

CucaFace wrote: »
    In fairness to Leo he made a comment when FG got into power that he was there for the people of Ireland who get up early which was a reference to this. And he was vilified by so many people in the press and the public that he immediately back away from it. Its political suicide to get into this so they all avoid it.

Have to be honest - I remember that differently. I thought he got praised for it, no? Was it not one of the points that got him in the door in the first place?

And around the time yer man that was going for president (can't recall his name) starting calling out the travellers and getting praised for it, the 'early in the morning' reference was highlighted again was it not and people started complaining that FG hadn't actually done anything for those people?

I could well be remembering wrongly, of course, but I was always of the feeling/impression the 'party for those who get up early' was a big positive for them...

There are soccer clubs, gaa clubs, boxing clubs and other types off clubs in the area. I don't buy that.

yeah fair enough ... whats the solution then for a generation of dublin inner city youth who are acting the maggot then. because there needs to be a solution ... and there is obviously a problem that is not being solved. and society has to deal with these ijiots