Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman stabbed near IFSC

1789101113»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Some of the posters in this thread haven't a clue as to how the law works. The act exists and is dealt with separately from the mental element. The threshold for attempted murder is very high, so high that it's unlikely that a conviction could be achieved.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,115 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Feisar wrote: »
    We want the problem solved however we haven't the stomach for the solution.

You're right, though capital punishment doesn't solve anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,115 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

We need very heavy CCTV in problem areas of Dublin. No excuse not to. If you're doing nothing wrong then you won't have anything to worry about.

Of course the locals don't want it because it's set up to catch them in the act.

The "nothing to hide" myth doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nothing_to_hide_argument

But if we do want to go down that road, let's start with speed cameras on every road to issue tickets to the 98% of drivers that break urban speed limits. Nothing to hide there, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

But if we do want to go down that road, let's start with speed cameras on every road to issue tickets to the 98% of drivers that break urban speed limits. Nothing to hide there, right?
    Give Gardaí powers to walk into your home whenever for spot checks, nothing to hide right ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Not wholly relevant, but it did remind me of Harry Callahan:
    That's just fine, but how does murder fit in? You know, when police start becoming their own executioners, where's it gonna end? Huh, Briggs? Pretty soon, you'll start executing people for jaywalking, and executing people for traffic violations. Then you end up executing your neighbor 'cause his dog pisses on your lawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

https://www.thejournal.ie/north-inner-city-stabbing-5336419-Jan2021/

More trouble in this area. Someone fighting back?

The lady who was stabbed, any word on how she is doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

Jake1 wrote: »
    The lady who was stabbed, any word on how she is doing?
    This is like the guards incident in balbriggan ,the victim pales into insignificant outrage of leftie indignation.

• eviltwin wrote: »
    I’d prefer it if the Damo’s of this world weren’t allowed free with multiple convictions in the first place.

Same here, but unfortunately with the do gooders you need to find a middle ground to make strides to reverse the cycle.

50 convictions is not bad when there are loads of Damos out there at the minute with 150+ convictions. Think of how much that is in monetary terms for free legal aid. Absolutely insane.

Just reading another critically injured after an assault outside the GPO last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Same here, but unfortunately with the do gooders you need to find a middle ground to make strides to reverse the cycle.

50 convictions is not bad when there are loads of Damos out there at the minute with 150+ convictions. Think of how much that is in monetary terms for free legal aid. Absolutely insane.

Just reading another critically injured after an assault outside the GPO last night.
    Is that different to the one in east wall?

• gmisk wrote: »
    Is that different to the one in east wall?

Yes, a different incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Yes, a different incident.
    Yikes scary stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

I think once it has reached 50, 150 is almost academic, although the victims cannot ever be forgotten. The problem is that any decisive measures to protect delivery workers or migrant cleaners, are always opposed by grievance mongering state funded NGOs. Finding a moderate solution or any solution is against the interest of these state funded trolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

bubblypop wrote: »
    so, without free legal aid how to ensure a persons right to a fair trial? some people cannot afford legal defence.

You should receive a salary from the Law Society of Ireland for being a public defender, not charging the state thousands per client.

There’s nothing to stop lawyers offering their services for free or setting up payment plans. Just because every is entitled to legal defence doesn’t automatically mean they get it for free.

If they are entitled to free legal aid, you hardly think they will pay for it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,640 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Somebody getting legal aid for the 50th time is a problem with sentencing, not with the legal aid system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

bubblypop wrote: »
    but Damo is innocent until proven guilty every single time he is charged with an offence.
    you see?

Being innocent makes no difference. If Damo had 10 strikes at free legal aid, grand. At his 11th trial, he gets representation as usual, if not guilty no charge. If guilty, here's the bill to be taken from your social welfare.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,552 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Have you lot seriously come over here to start discussing last night's incident

Sanctions will follow

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,552 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

This one is not reopening either