Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lord Mayor of Dublin harassed at her home by protesters

• Registered Users Posts: 10,746 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

WrenBoy wrote: »
    It is, so anytime a person of colour in politics gets negative feedback from the public they are the victim of racism. Please.
    These anti-maskers are idiots and some of them may well be racist (who knows) but you've just decided that they are racist just because Chu is the target of the protest.

negative feedback would be constructive in some form.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

How did she come to the conclusion they were 'far right protestors'?

Did she just assume their political persuasion?

Anyone who criticises, disagrees with, or doesn't unconditionally worship Hazel Chu is a farrightnaziracist.

She doesn't I can only assume they chose her because there was a protest scheduled for there already that was co-opted by the anti-maskers plus its big publicity for their "movement"

So would there have been a protest there anyway even if you or I were the Lord Mayor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

She said the only reason people would want her to resign is because she is a person of colour. Thats a nice card to play for a politician.

Anyone who calls for her resignation is sexist and racist?

Anyone who protests outside "her" home is making a woman of colour "feel uncomfortable"?

This is straight from the playbook of American campus identity politics, where any criticism of a woman or person of colour is de facto sexist and racist, and "feeling uncomfortable" is well along the road to allegations of racial or sexual harassment.

The Mansion House is not Ms Chu's safe space. If she wants to hold public office, and live in a lavish publicly owned residence at the taxpayer's expense, she should respect that people have the right to express opinions about their public figures. Not everyone who disagrees with her is a bigot.

How did she come to the conclusion they were 'far right protestors'?

Did she just assume their political persuasion?

I know, like, it could have been anyone? How could you possibly tell what their political persuasion was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Since when did Chu have input towards government policy on mask wearing?

I haven't a clue who the protestors were or what the general demands were, but the fact she is one of the country's most prominent left wing politicians despite the fact she is only a local councillor has something to do with her targeting. Has a local councillor ever had a national profile before? If she can't stand the heat stop enlisting your friends in the media to put you on a pedestal for either the Dail or a Seanad run.

Mark my words, there is not a hope she will only be a local councillor come the next Dail or Seanad elections. Most likely parachuted into a safe Green constituency, then for the leadership. Off to the Seanad once shes out of the Dail.

I think it is a frankly scary look at what can be done with the aid of a biased media.

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    I know, like, it could have been anyone? How could you possibly tell what their political persuasion was?

You mean it's only the far right who say No to masks?

WOW, my nan is a NAZI!

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

couple of nutters protesting at official residence of a politician with an awful record of pulling the race card before and while in office ,

nutters yes , lizard people ffs ?

but Simon Harris Paul Keogh leo etc all had the same thing happen at their personal homes

why does chu get to haul out the race card at every criticism ? its a media manipulated story as are so many these days

You mean it's only the far right who say No to masks?

WOW, my nan is a NAZI!

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Did you, eh, read the article? Or just a few words here and there that jumped out at you?

Sorry about your nan.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So it's an annual event?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

dennispenn wrote: »
    Did you listen to her interview with Claire Byrne?

the Examiner said people approached ... and then gardai arrived https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40211837.html

Chu said she went out side to talk to gardai and then when walking back people approached her... https://ift.tt/395pF52 .mp3

?

so again the Dublin/Lord Mayor/Mansion house needs it own security whether it be gardai or private

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

Omackeral wrote: »
    The Lord Mayor of Dublin Hazel Chu has hit out at ongoing racism and intimidation after a group of far-right protestors showed up at her home and challenged her for wearing a face mask.

A female member of the protestors was arrested and later fined for breaching public health laws.

Link here.

What the f*ck is wrong with these people?

The sound a lot more far left tbh. I think if it’s trendy and suits them, it’s left, if it goes against them or they don’t like it... it’s far right

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

I edged towards the door and when I got there one shouted: 'Hazel Chu, you're going to turn into a shapeshifting dragon someday and we're going to catch it on camera'.

Lets be honest here, it would be pretty awesome if we had a shapeshifting dragon as a mayor. They are being optimistic if they hope to catch it on camera though, as if I were a dragon, I would blast any protesters along with their recording equipment with fire if I shapeshifted. They shouldnt be getting pissy with her for wearing a mask either, as it's in their interest to keep that fire at bay.

RTE have an article up on the story now. https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0122/1191430-hazel-chu/

LillySV wrote: »
    The sound a lot more far left tbh. I think if it’s trendy and suits them, it’s left, if it goes against them or they don’t like it... it’s far right

Based on what?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

So it's an annual event?

Yes although not recognised by the Government anymore it is an IRB tradition that is organised annually. Anti-maskers took advantage of the precedent and the agreement with guards for the gathering.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

So would there have been a protest there anyway even if you or I were the Lord Mayor?

Yes for a different reason though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Omackeral wrote: »
    The Lord Mayor of Dublin Hazel Chu has hit out at ongoing racism and intimidation after a group of far-right protestors showed up at her home and challenged her for wearing a face mask.

A female member of the protestors was arrested and later fined for breaching public health laws.

Link here.

What the f*ck is wrong with these people?

Strange that Hazel had no issue with protests in Blanch/Clonee during Covid, she even encouraged them, whilst ignoring their destructiveness and actual racism, but now protests at a public building are terrible and racist, even though she can’t point out a single incidence of racism??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

.anon. wrote: »
    I'm sure their sympathisers will be along soon to insinuate that there is, in fact, nothing wrong with them and that Hazel Chu is the problem. And also that she definitely wasn't singled out because of her ethnicity, and that she is only looking for attention.

There have been some truly terrible holders of the honorary position of Lord Mayor of Dublin in the past - corrupt chancers, in it for themselves - and none of those white men ever received anything like the kind of abuse that Hazel Chu gets. Can't think why.

Huh? It's because she's of Chinese decent and a woman. I thought that'd be easy figure out.

First they came for the socialists...

So it's an annual event?

Yep. If you read his other tweets he links to a DCC document from 2018 all about it.

Yes for a different reason though

Is it cos I is from Peckham? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yep. If you read his other tweets he links to a DCC document from 2018 all about it.
    Not exactly kristallnacht then?

Had to google that! Nah, don’t think the mansion house ones wear Hugo Boss. Not even the aftershave ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Feisar wrote: »
    Huh? It's because she's of Chinese decent and a woman. I thought that'd be easy figure out.

It's very easy to make claims without evidence. I honestly find it condescending how you people like to strip people of their substance, and boil them down to their immutable characteristics alone, which is something you love to accuse "racists" of.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

dan1895 wrote: »
    Again, what has that got to do with face masks?

I’d say they’ve just seen a high profile politician and thought they’d get some publicity by questioning her as she’d run straight to the media. Job done.

Bit startling how a public rep like chu is labelling the protest as “abuse”

Even clare Byrne said they were “perfectly entitled” to protest.

Chu seems to be against protest full stop

Not if it’s in Blanch/Clonee she isn’t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Who usually protests there yearly? Dissident republicans?

• Registered Users Posts: 83,451 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

TomTomTim wrote: »
    It's very easy to make claims without evidence. I honestly find it condescending how you people like to strip people of their substance, and boil them down to their immutable characteristics alone, which is something you love to accuse "racists" of.

What do you mean "you people!?"

Who usually protests there yearly? Dissident republicans?

Irish Republican Brotherhood

Short but interesting read by DCC https://councilmeetings.dublincity.ie/documents/s17288/Turning%20of%20the%20Sovereign%20Seal.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Overheal wrote: »
    What do you mean "you people!?"
    u-http-crasstalk-com-wp-content-uploads-2012-07-448x249px-LL-3dd0d362-what-do-you-mean-you-people.jpg