Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lord Mayor of Dublin harassed at her home by protesters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    What do these have in common with Chu?
    That thejournal.ie all-over-every-other-media mouth, Sinead O'Carroll
    That irritating, self-serving, smug 'socialist' (my arse), Aodhan O'Riordain
    That ex-footballer, all over-the-media-as-a-guru-on-mental-health, Richie Sadlier
    ...amongst loads of other bluethicks including the 'journalist of the year' who made up nearly 99% of the Carlow school story

All mouths that think their own ill-judged, completely incorrect public, wide ranging finger wagging sessions will have no consequences for them because according to themselves and their enablers, they're on 'the right side' of absolutely everything.
    Even when it ius obvious, they have zero clue and merely signal to each other and the enablers.

I'd add Blindboy in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

He's gas. He thinks he some sort of enlightened soul, yet he has the same opinions as hundreds of millions of people.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

And Hozier.

There's a whole pile of them, all parroting the same shyte over and over. Safe, uncontroversial groupthink where no matter what you say or do your actions will never face consequence because you're on the "right" side, and nothing you say will ever stray from the narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,053 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i reacal high profile woke tweet last year calling for all men to be like hozier

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

i reacal high profile woke tweet last year calling for all men to be like hozier

I prefer to think for myself to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,053 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

keano_afc wrote: »
    I prefer to think for myself to be honest.

I’d have to significantly weaken my myself to comply :)

They want all men to appropriate black gospel music for profit?? Like Hozier did with Nina Cried Power??

and for the year she is lord mayor she is living there with her family. that makes it her home. To suggest otherwise is to downplay what happened.

So if people protest the Queen outside Buckingham Palace, or BoJo outside 10 Downing Street, or Trump in the White House it is "their home" too? Very misleading.

Not condoning it, but a public building like that is not the same as a "home" - it is a public building. Really distracts from the story.

As a public figure, she should not be immune to people protesting outside the Mansion House, as many have done for previous Lord Mayors. She should be given the same respects and open to the same scrutiny as any other holder of the office.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

You could throw in Liam Cunningham as well, another fella who thinks he has all the answers and anyone who disagrees with his view is a neo nazi.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

So if people protest the Queen outside Buckingham Palace, or BoJo outside 10 Downing Street, or Trump in the White House it is "their home" too? Very misleading.

Not condoning it, but a public building like that is not the same as a "home" - it is a public building. Really distracts from the story.

As a public figure, she should not be immune to people protesting outside the Mansion House, as many have done for previous Lord Mayors. She should be given the same respects and open to the same scrutiny as any other holder of the office.

Those places all have massive security fences/railings around them. The mansion house doesn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,121 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You could throw in Liam Cunningham as well, another fella who thinks he has all the answers and anyone who disagrees with his view is a neo nazi.

Liam Cunningham?

How did he insinuate his way into a thread about Hazel Chu? :)

When did he say "anyone who disagrees with his view is a neo nazi"?

elperello wrote: »
    Liam Cunningham?

How did he insinuate his way into a thread about Hazel Chu? :)

When did he say "anyone who disagrees with his view is a neo nazi"?

Thats my take on it when I hear him and I don't think I'm too far off the mark, he's probably someone you would like to chat with though.

Both of ye are probably cut from the same cloth.

Are you a BLM supporter by any chance?

Thats my take on it when I hear him and I don't think I'm too far off the mark, he's probably someone you would like to chat with though.

Both of ye are probably cut from the same cloth.

Are you a BLM supporter by any chance?

So he didn't say that everyone who disagrees with him is a neo nazi then?

elperello wrote: »
    So he didn't say that everyone who disagrees with him is a neo nazi then?

No he didn't say it, I never suggested he did but of course you know that.

Most people were able to work out what I was saying but you seem a bit slow.

You must be on standby every time someone post on this thread.

No he didn't say it, I never suggested he did but of course you know that.

Most people were able to work out what I was saying but you seem a bit slow.

You must be on standby every time someone post on this thread.

Straight in with the ad hominem, chat later.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

dan1895 wrote: »
    Those places all have massive security fences/railings around them. The mansion house doesn't.

People have been protesting at the Mansion house since before the founding of the state.

The worst thing that an individual did at the recent anti mask protest there was to suggest they would possibly catch her on camera as a shape shifting dragon at some point. No evident racist comments, no threatened violence.

Oh and the tie breaker - there were gardai outside the Mansion Hse at the time. In fact it was Ms Chu's decision to exit the Mansion House to have a chat with a gardai even though the protestors had already turned up.

I know there's media opportunities - but that's simply is taking the pee imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

gozunda wrote: »
    People have been protesting at the Mansion house since the founding of the state.

The worst thing that an individual did at the recent anti mask protest there was to suggest they would possibly catch her on camera as a shape shifting dragon at some point. No evident racist comments, no threatened violence.

Racism towards lizards people and possibly lizards in general

The Mansion House is sort of like Dublin's front room.

While it is the residence of the Lord Mayor it's also in many ways the peoples house.

It's used for all sorts of events and very open to the public.

Buckingham Palace, 10 Downing Street and The White House are very different residences.

They are protected by armed security 24/7/365 and access to any part of them is strictly limited.

JJayoo wrote: »
    Racism towards lizards people and possibly lizards in general

That's speciest! :mad:

Dragons are not lizards! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

That's speciest! :mad:

Dragons are not lizards! :pac:

Maybe they identify as a lizard, pronouns are hiss/his

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

People have been protesting at the Mansion house since before the founding of the state.

Oh and the tie breaker - there were gardai outside the Mansion Hse at the time. In fact it was Ms Chu's decision to exit the Mansion House to have a chat with a gardai even though the protestors had already turned up.

I know there's media opportunities - but that's simply is taking the pee imho.

At least she'll be gone, with another buggin's turn horror to replace her. I thought the character who drank the free drink allowance dry (drinks for pals) set a standard, but this tedious opportunist surpassed him. There are people who really believe the 'racists are harassing our POC mayor' line.

Do they still get the free brand new Volvo every year?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I'm sure it's already been mentioned, but I was just reading an article about her in regards to her ALM statement. She actually said Ireland has become more racist in the last 40 years too. That's both dangerous and delusional. It takes a person with a seriously warped view of reality to make such a statement, as wider society is far less racist than it was then by every metric.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 52,012 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

TomTomTim wrote: »
    I'm sure it's already been mentioned, but I was just reading an article about her in regards to her ALM statement. She actually said Ireland has become more racist in the last 40 years too. That's both dangerous and delusional. It takes a person with a seriously warped view of reality to make such a statement, as wider society is far less racist than it was then by every metric.

Pure and simple she’s a race baiter.
    Mistake making her Lord Mayor. Big mistake.

Pure and simple she’s a race baiter.
    Mistake making her Lord Mayor. Big mistake.

I wonder what she thinks of the McClean abuse.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Every kid singing eeny meeny miney mo 40 years ago would have sung very different lyrics. Speech and attitudes that would rightfully be considered well beyond the pale today were commonplace 40 years ago. Homophobic and sexist attitudes ditto.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Screw Attack

Big brave Irish patriotic men standing outside a woman's home harassing her. Of course they are no where to be seen on Bonfire night in East Belfast where the Loyalists burn their flag...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Wibbs wrote: »
    Every kid singing eeny meeny miney mo 40 years ago would have sung very different lyrics. Speech and attitudes that would rightfully be considered well beyond the pale today were commonplace 40 years ago. Homophobic and sexist attitudes ditto.

Language has definitely changed. Kids were still singing a mix of either the nígger version or the tiger version of Eeny meeny miny mo when I was a kid and that was in the 90s. I'd say mid 90s most if not all kids were using tiger version from what I remember. Crazy when you think about how that was just normal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Language has definitely changed. Kids were still singing a mix of either the nígger version or the tiger version of Eeny meeny miny mo when I was a kid and that was in the 90s. I'd say mid 90s most if not all kids were using tiger version from what I remember. Crazy when you think about how that was just normal.
    Ditto though more a 70's thing for a penny for the Black baby statuettes outside shops(before they were stoooores :D ) and gollywogs and black and white minstrels on the telly and adverts. The eeny meeny thing carried on for a lot longer though.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ditto though more a 70's thing for a penny for the Black baby statuettes outside shops(before they were stoooores :D ) and gollywogs and black and white minstrels on the telly and adverts. The eeny meeny thing carried on for a lot longer though.

The Golliwog ice creams still had the picture of a golliwog on them in the early 90s. They removed it in 92. Not even 30 years ago. Ireland has changed a lot in such a short period of time.