Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Internal Abuse in The Green Party

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

why are they standing on a platform of x,y and z and shelving them to go into government

.its a harmless policy,why not enact it??

People browbeat all and sundry that greens are getting their policies enacted...

.looks to me,they cant even get something simple as this sorted....prohibition deosnt work,its needlessly criminalising people,legalise it and move on...this could and should have been done on day 1 of the government

That is the nature of coalition.

No party gets everything they want.

I actually think that Sinn Fein and their party supporters don't understand this. That is probably why they never even got to first base when trying to form a coalition.

I mean - legalising cannabis is not going to be enacted by any government. Public health advice is against it, and any party that wants it is going to have to get an overall majority of TDs that support it. Can't see it happening. No party is going to walk away from power on that unimportant issue.

greens are literally in open collaspe,tearing each other asunder on the smaller private reddit subs and your like "look over there,nothing to see here"

Really??

Its great bit of political drama :D a thing of nothing,it most certainly isnt

So it's a big thing on reddit. So what? Really??

Is that where you think big decisions are made. Hey, is there a Cabinet subreddit where Ministers chat?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

why are they standing on a platform of x,y and z and shelving them to go into government

Because it was not negotiated in the PFG.... come on, this is not really that hard.

The Greens make up 12 TD's out of the government.

What's your policy Mark. Lay it out.

'Moaning'..no. Wondering aloud what is going on with them, yes.

So, what exact policy decision from the Greens are you not happy with, exactly?

I didn't start the thread, you did, so perhaps lay it out for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    Link?

Is that a serious question? Really?

There'll be cries of Leo this Leo that...but the issues of Same Sex rights is front and centre here as an example.
    Less than 20 years ago, the power swap were against it, but opposition campaigning and pressure has led to some of the politicians of that era being more woke than Rip Van Winkle at the end of the fairy tale.
    Plenty of other examples of the power swap changing because of opposition campaigning too.

markodaly wrote: »
    Something I am starting to notice.

There is 0 and I mean ZERO policy discussion when it comes to Irish politics.

Its a moan and whinge fest against what 'da government' are doing. If I wanted that, id just go on Facebook and depress myself to find out there are so many stupid people out there.

I would have thought the level of debate in boards.ie would be a little better, but alas, I seem to be disappointed.

Even this thread, the OP is just having a moan at the Greens, giving out about them, yet does not raise one policy point!!
    Hilarious tbh.

The Greens are persona non grata to the Shinners because they went into government.

You are right about the OP, it is just a moan and a whine, nothing substantive about the Green policies. When challenged on this point, the critics of the Greens run away.

So, what exact policy decision from the Greens are you not happy with, exactly?

I didn't start the thread, you did, so perhaps lay it out for us.

Where did I say I was not happy with their policy exactly? Maybe read the OP?

I think the Greens have policies I could support, I just think the Greens we have are a charade TBH.

The Greens are persona non grata to the Shinners because they went into government.

You are right about the OP, it is just a moan and a whine, nothing substantive about the Green policies. When challenged on this point, the critics of the Greens run away.

You might notice if you read it. The OP has nothing to say about Green policy at all.

Because it was not negotiated in the PFG.... come on, this is not really that hard.

The Greens make up 12 TD's out of the government.

Why are they going into government and shelving harmless policy positions

How much resources will be wasted this year persueing people for cannabis?

This is a harmless policy,why did they not push for it in the programme for government...looks to me they adbandoned policys for pensions

They could have this enacted and finalised by paddys day...whats the delay.....easy to ram through covid restrictions,but actual policies they stood on....dont bother?

Is that a serious question? Really?

There'll be cries of Leo this Leo that...but the issues of Same Sex rights is front and centre here as an example.
    Less than 20 years ago, the power swap were against it, but opposition campaigning and pressure has led to some of the politicians of that era being more woke than Rip Van Winkle at the end of the fairy tale.
    Plenty of other examples of the power swap changing because of opposition campaigning too.

Same sex marriage is here because of the opposition? What planet are you on?

Labour insisted on it in the Programme for Government, that is why it was enacted. The opposition have achieved little more than nothing.

Link if you can prove it different.

Same sex marriage is here because of the opposition? What planet are you on?

Labour insisted on it in the Programme for Government, that is why it was enacted. The opposition have achieved little more than nothing.

Link if you can prove it different.

And why did they insist. Scroll back my friend, there is always a cause for things happening. Butterfly flapping wings etc.

Mate the party is in open collaspe....

Perfectly put...open and slow collapse, to be confirmed by the electorate like last time.

Why are they going into government and shelving harmless policy positions

How much resources will be wasted this year persueing people for cannabis?

This is a harmless policy,why did they not push for it in the programme for government...looks to me they adbandoned policys for pensions

They could have this enacted and finalised by paddys day...whats the delay.....easy to ram through covid restrictions,but actual policies they stood on....dont bother?

The legalisation of cannabis is not a harmless policy position.

If it was, every party would be in favour of it. There are strong public health reasons not to legalise cannabis.

And why did they insist. Scroll back my friend, there is always a cause for things happening. Butterfly flapping wings etc.

Same sex marriage referendum would not have happened if Labour did not go into government. Nothing to do with the opposition shouting in the wilderness.

Labour insisted on it after years of campaigning and opposition action. FG FF politicians did a volte face on their opposition to it. There are some who were vocally opposed to it still in government. Fact.
    Loads of examples of the opposition forcing u-turns too.

From what i can,they will find canvassing near impossible next election...not from anger of electorate....but from anger of membership againest the leadership to even meet them

Tales of zoom meetings being cancelled last min for no reason/senior members not turning upto local zoom meetings,leadership playing different factions off againest one and other and them then coming together sharing screenshots....

Its bloody great drama,irregardless of your views on party involved....not since shinners grassroots tore down an out of touch dublin office has there been such large scale infighting in a national party :D

They remind me of SF and FF and FG in the early days of the state. They seem clueless on building a party that will last the course though.

your party is in favour of it

What are the public health recommendations in last 10 years to not legalise it,that dont apply to vaping???

How much resources are spent persueing people for cannabis "crimes" this year....yous bemoan lack of discussion on green policy,but want it shut down with curt answers when anyone wants to actualy discuss the workout of them shelving harmless policies for pensions??

How am I shutting down discussion on something I have been discussing at length?

I just don't see the point of legalising cannabis. It just isn't important enough. It isn't anywhere near the top 100 of Green policies either.

How am I shutting down discussion on something I have been discussing at length?

I just don't see the point of legalising cannabis. It just isn't important enough. It isn't anywhere near the top 100 of Green policies either.

You are refusing to see how these suicidal parties continuing to enter coalition is preventing change.

It is abundantly tired now as a way to keep FG or FF in power. Sacrificing yourself to keep the power swap/now merger going has a limited lifespan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

Yous have stated twice that its againest public health advice..but refused to outline how or what advice in last 10 years its againest

Refused to outline how much money will be spent persueing cannabis "crimes" this year,which could have been saved if greens didnt shelve policies for pensions??.....you claim to want discussion,but are unable to provide basic info....looks to me,you want to shut it down anyway

Its literally a grèen policy,yous vote for them,

What is the benefit in criminalising people caught with a bag of weed,its harmless,clogs up courts and garda time for what is essentially a plant,that you cant physically overdose from??

It harms noone legalising it,the greens stand on platform of doing so...but dont bother doing so when in government...

.their whole platform is a sham,they could have this in by paddys day if they had the political will to enact it....but like rest of their platform,its a virtue signaling sham

Who gets put in jail for having a bag of weed?

If you have a bag of weed the worst you will get is a caution.
    https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/drug_offences.html

You do realise what cocaine come from?

Where did I say I was not happy with their policy exactly?

So, what is the point of this thread, apart from having a moan about the Greens?

You admit you are not happy with Green policies or lack of policies but... something ... something...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Imreoir2

The green party was one formed that core policy was specifically around environmental issues. But in recent years seems to have been hijacked by a new membership more concerned about social issues. Witness McHugh as an example.

They'll just lose out by moving away for that core that people are voting them to deal with such as climate action.

The Greens voted 70+ percent to go into government and McHugh is no longer a member, so not much of a hijacking...

So, what is the point of this thread, apart from having a moan about the Greens?

You admit you are not happy with Green policies or lack of policies but... something ... something...

Plenty of other threads mark if this one holds no interest.

Here is a refresher of the OP.
    4th resignation of a councillor. This is becoming a real issue in the Green Party. Is accepting a role in government going to destroy the whole party? Is it effectively two parties now, the Eamonn Ryan one and the Catherine Martin one?

https://www.newstalk.com/news/fourth...box=1611588386

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Imreoir2

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    The Green's are left-wing socialist?

On the contrary, the Greens benefitted from people transferring left in the last GE and it turned out the Greens simply pushed it's left wing members forward during the campaign and then did what many feared they would - as soon as Ryan got a sniff of the illusion of power they would become the mudguard for a neo-liberal govt again.

I transferred to the Greens, albeit with a sinking feeling that what happened would happen, but I hoped they had learned from the price paid for their last mudguarding session, and having read their manifesto found many policies I could support such as clear and unequivocal opposition to CETA - the same CETA the party leadership now supports.

I will never vote Green again.

Funny, opposition to CETA was not mentoned in the manifesto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Green party says one thing in opposition and nothing in govt. They just vanish. I suspect they will take such a hammering next election they may never recover.

...If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck... You can only judge them on what they've actually achieved. Which is what?

The Greens have done the same thing twice now. They are literally asleep at the wheel. They are irrelevant. Even they could change the leadership. I suspect the brand is toxic now.

Plenty of other threads mark if this one holds no interest.

Here is a refresher of the OP.

Ive already answered the question.

The Greens won't 'disappear' but they suffer from the same issues many other left-wing parties suffer from, the realisation the idealism is all well and good from the opposition benches, but in government, you have to choose your battles.

Not sure what else is the purpose of this thread is tbh, as you don't even want to discuss the merits of Green policies. As skin deep as a fake tan.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,558 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

markodaly wrote:
    The Greens won't 'disappear' but they suffer from the same issues many other left-wing parties suffer from, the realisation the idealism is all well and good from the opposition benches, but in government, you have to choose your battles.

The political left no longer truly represents its traditional base, the working class, particularly younger generations, this can be clearly seen with the greens. many green party supporters and members are actually doing well in life, older middle class, many in relatively secure employment and have other critical securities such housing and accommodation, I.e. they have very little connection with the world of their traditional base, I suspect a brake away group could be on the horizon

Not sure what else is the purpose of this thread is tbh, as you don't even want to discuss the merits of Green policies. As skin deep as a fake tan.

I mean yous bemaon this lack of discussion on green policies,but refuse to discuss the outwork of dropping their policies in realtion to cannabis

When are they going to introduce free contraceptoion??another harmless relatively worthwhile policy
    https://www.greenparty.ie/green-party-calls-for-roll-out-of-free-access-to-contraception/

Is it true the greens voted againest abortion in stormont??

Ive already answered the question.

Are you saying that because you answered the thread that it should be closed? :)

I'll post what I was interested in again, shall I?
    4th resignation of a councillor. This is becoming a real issue in the Green Party. Is accepting a role in government going to destroy the whole party? Is it effectively two parties now, the Eamonn Ryan one and the Catherine Martin one?

https://www.newstalk.com/news/fourth...box=1611588386

Roderic O'Gorman seems like one of the most dislikeable politicians that has been around in a long time.

Why?

Are you saying that because you answered the thread that it should be closed? :)

I'll post what I was interested in again, shall I?

I read that as internal abuse is a real problem in the green party. Which then wasn't mentioned in the op.

So this thread is just a general rant about the green party no?