Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Everyone is different. A holiday away without a care in the world is what I want most too.

Of course everyone is different, we all want different things from life. The problem we have now is that we virtually cannot do any of the things we want to do to make life enjoyable or even bearable.
    Any of the people I talk to now are asking questions about life that they never voiced before. There is a general air of gloom, even among young people.
    There is a sense that even if we can beat this virus, there will probably be another one in a few years and we will have to go through all this again.
    I don’t particularly care about foreign holidays, I just want to go to my local pub, have a pint of the black stuff and have the craic with my friends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

tigger123 wrote: »
    Everyone I talked to in the last week / 10 days is really struggling.

That's terrible. I have to say im finding the complete opposite and many people ive spoken to who where breaking restrictions at Xmas and in the last year in general seem to have finally realised this is a team effort. I find that heartening,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Not being able to go away on holiday is a first world problem. Get over it.

Exactly. It's really infuriating to listen to these idiots chastising tony for his travel comments. No surprise they are the exact same idiots who wanted resctrions lifted for christmas.

Tony is just erring on the side of caution. He is trying to save lives while these fools are giving out about not being able to fly out to lanzarote for a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

frozen3 wrote: »
    True

We need to be aware of them nightmares eg selective pressure due to vaccination

Question for you?

Will we have another lockdown after June when most of the population is vaccinated?

Say winter 2021 or 2022?

Yes or no?

Would you put your money on it?

Will we be locked down if we have to wait 6-12 weeks for vaccines to be refined for a new dangerous variant?

Most of these answers we should see from emerging vaccination data. As for the rest they are beyond my control and TBH nobody actually knows. That's how life works in relation to the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭tigger123

That's terrible. I have to say im finding the complete opposite and many people ive spoken to who where breaking restrictions at Xmas and in the last year in general seem to have finally realised this is a team effort. I find that heartening,

While you're right to take heart from it (and so you should), you could also argue that it was people breaking the restrictions that has us where we are now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Golfman64 wrote: »
    Holohan has a vested interest in not wanting people travelling.
    Can you clarify what you feel Holohan's vested interests are? Are you saying he's "biased" because he wants to get rid of the disease? Are you proffering that as a reason not to heed his advice?

"Might", so that makes it an undeniable fact and brings with it a whole lot more panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Le Bruise wrote: »
    Great, now I'm worried about a dang asteroid!!:)

Imagine if NPHET were responsible for asteroids. "The asteroid has just missed us, however, we are deeply concerned about other asteroids out there. The next two weeks are crucial. We stay on level 5."

Everyone is different. A holiday away without a care in the world is what I want most too.

What i want most is for my elderly parents to be able to walk to the shops and my dad to get back to his manshed meetings for his own wellbeing. I also want kids to be able to get back to school and get an education and also a proper social outlet.

What i want most is not for people who have worked their whole lives only to die in hospital alone and sad as they struggle for breath like two people in their 60's i know and one doctor in his 40's.

I could give two hoots about a trip to Santa del STD's or Lake Garda. If it means i don't get a holiday until 2025 then so be it.

Michael O'Leary should chair the Asteroid and Air Travel Risk Assessment Committee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

Is this even news?

Seems like the media are just jumping on anything variant related

While you're right to take heart from it (and so you should), you could also argue that it was people breaking the restrictions that has us where we are now.

Oh absolutely and they have to live with that on their conscience but the past is just that and if they are finally mature enough to get onboard that's a good thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭frozen3

So the transmissable UK strain has mutated to have the same vaccine escape properties as SA strain

Lovely

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Everyone I talked to in the last week / 10 days is really struggling.

I’d concur with this. I’ve spoken to a fair few clients over the last few weeks and this has been mentally harder for everybody I have spoken with. I had tried to get into a plot gardening place since last September but failed so I am thinking of regrouping and looking at what I can do over the next 18 months to try to get out of this slump.

Why 18 months? Because it feels like the restrictions in some form may drag on for a lot longer then we all had hoped. I’d rather have a long term plan that can change or be amended then constantly having to push things out. It’s not easy to do but we all now have time to review our lives, what we value and reshape how we are living.

One of friends has tried to get me into football coaching so I’ve started fai coaching courses online. I’m gonna keep trying to get into a plot (gardening) up the road. Gonna get that wetsuit I didn’t bother getting so stopped sea swimming when it got too cold. Gonna watch all the marvel comicbook movies with the kids in order. Gonna watch one or two a day to make it an event. Gonna try and get the dog out for more walks.

I don’t watch much mainstream media or news regularly, I dip in and out of it to stay informed but not consumed by it. I think a problem can be where the news can make us all feel awful and depressed so it’s best to limit exposure when we are feeling particularly vulnerable/low.

Maybe somebody could start a thread, a hopeful thread , an optimistic thread to focus on what we can do instead of what we can’t do. We are where we are, feeling like helpless victims stuck in a rut does none of us any favours. I’m not having a go at anybody, I share the struggles everybody is having and just want to share what I am going to try and do to get out of this rut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Widescreen

mloc123 wrote: »
    It is more that people are no longer adhering to the restrictions they have put in place IMO. Locally I know of building sites that had been closed and are now open, even tho nothing has changed around restrictions. I assume it is similar with offices etc..

Agreed, And car washes essential business it seems now! Hardware shops should be emergency only.

If the cases have plateaued as was suggested yesterday they will hardly go down anymore and basically if they don't and stay at 1,000+ a day no restrictions will be lifted, so anyone not doing their bit needs to contribute. Country needs to get back to last March's restrictions for a month and a lot would probably be sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

polesheep wrote: »
    Imagine if NPHET were responsible for asteroids. "The asteroid has just missed us, however, we are deeply concerned about other asteroids out there. The next two weeks are crucial. We stay on level 5."
    Or the asteroids do actually hit us and people say it's NPHET's fault. Or they tell us how to avoid the asteroid and some people don't care. Or people say NPHET wanted the asteroid so they could be on the telly. Etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I definitely read a few weeks ago that there was a fear of the numbers plateauing, not because people aren't following restrictions but because of the new variants.

IE, (general) compliance with Level 5 would lead to a suppression of the original Coronavirus, but because the new variants were so highly transmissible, they only needed a tiny amount of community contacts and it would still lead to new cases.

In that scenario, the numbers would plateau.

Hope that makes sense.

It does. Many thanks!

What i want most is for my elderly parents to be able to walk to the shops and my dad to get back to his manshed meetings for his own wellbeing. I also want kids to be able to get back to school and get an education and also a proper social outlet.

What i want most is not for people who have worked their whole lives only to die in hospital alone and sad as they struggle for breath like two people in their 60's i know and one doctor in his 40's.

I could give two hoots about a trip to Santa del STD's or Lake Garda. If it means i don't get a holiday until 2025 then so be it.

But, of course, it's everyone else that's selfish.

Ficheall wrote: »
    Or the asteroids do actually hit us and people say it's NPHET's fault. Or they tell us how to avoid the asteroid and some people don't care. Or people say NPHET wanted the asteroid so they could be on the telly. Etc.

Lighten up. Things are dark enough as it is.

Malcomex wrote: »
    Is this even news?

It means the vaccines are useless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭frozen3

is_that_so wrote: »
    Most of these answers we should see from emerging vaccination data. As for the rest they are beyond my control and TBH nobody actually knows. That's how life works in relation to the future.

That's not how our life was, I still don't feel confident in saying I will be able to go a winter holiday this year or even have a job

We used to know our future to some extent

Widescreen wrote: »
    Agreed, And car washes essential business it seems now! Hardware shops should be emergency only.

If the cases have plateaued as was suggested yesterday they will hardly go down anymore and basically if they don't and stay at 1,000+ a day no restrictions will be lifted, so anyone not doing their bit needs to contribute. Country needs to get back to last March's restrictions for a month and a lot would probably be sorted.
    That was more "over the last 7 days we've seen this". It's a usual summary and an opinion. The next seven days may be different and we'll hear a different message.

No, it emphatically does not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

No it doesn't

Not sure why it is even called a vaccine, a Vaccine provides you with immunity, these jabs do nothing of the sort.

Can you still get Covid after vaccine?
    An individual who's been vaccinated still has the ability to contract coronavirus, although they're more likely to be asymptomatic. ” These efficacy rates for both vaccines means there's a “94% not getting seriously ill,” said Dr. William Schaffner, a CDC advisor and infectious disease specialist.Jan 26, 2021
    https://www.marketwatch.com/story/i-got-my-covid-19-vaccination-now-what-can-i-get-on-a-plane-or-visit-my-grandparents-do-i-still-need-to-wear-my-mask-11611637998

No, it emphatically does not.

Go on then, what does it mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Utter nonsense

But, of course, it's everyone else that's selfish.

I think the tone of that person's post was more aspirational than anything else. They're mot demanding that it happens right now, and in contradiction of the restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Malcomex wrote: »
    Is this even news?

Hopefully the very transmissible but much less deadly variant will be coming along soon :)