Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

oceanman wrote: »
    of course. we wouldnt have layers of bureaucracy to hold us back...

Oh come on, there would be fcùk all here.

Bureaucracy where? Here or EU?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

National new case numbers/rolling averages/rolling percentages for the past 4 weeks

5 day and 7 day rolling averages just shy of the sub 1000 threshold which is good progress considering increase in numbers in close contacts being tested and the increasingly dominant UK strain which are slowing the percentage reduction numbers

Day Month Date Year ROI Cases Weekly 5 Day Av 5 Day % 7 Day Av 7 Day % 14 Day Av 14 Day %
    Sunday January 10th 2021 6,888 45,770 6,867.00 59.36% 6,538.57 190.44% 4,394.93 515.11%
    Monday January 11th 2021 4,929 44,589 6,285.60 13.76% 6,369.86 111.28% 4,692.36 525.41%
    Tuesday January 12th 2021 3,086 42,350 5,598.60 -8.98% 6,050.00 70.20% 4,802.36 473.61%
    Wednesday January 13th 2021 3,569 38,083 4,662.80 -31.51% 5,440.43 22.84% 4,934.57 431.09%
    Thursday January 14th 2021 3,955 35,517 4,485.40 -31.57% 5,073.86 -1.07% 5,101.36 404.94%
    Friday January 15th 2021 3,498 30,767 3,807.40 -44.56% 4,395.29 -27.43% 5,225.93 377.69%
    Saturday January 16th 2021 3,231 29,156 3,467.80 -44.83% 4,165.14 -33.50% 5,214.29 301.47%
    Sunday January 17th 2021 2,944 25,212 3,439.40 -38.57% 3,601.71 -44.92% 5,070.14 217.15%
    Monday January 18th 2021 2,121 22,404 3,149.80 -32.45% 3,200.57 -49.75% 4,785.21 141.29%
    Tuesday January 19th 2021 2,001 21,319 2,759.00 -38.49% 3,045.57 -49.66% 4,547.79 98.23%
    Wednesday January 20th 2021 2,488 20,238 2,557.00 -32.84% 2,891.14 -46.86% 4,165.79 49.48%
    Thursday January 21st 2021 2,608 18,891 2,432.40 -29.86% 2,698.71 -46.81% 3,886.29 21.95%
    Friday January 22nd 2021 2,371 17,764 2,317.80 -32.61% 2,537.71 -42.26% 3,466.50 -6.38%
    Saturday January 23rd 2021 1,910 16,443 2,275.60 -27.75% 2,349.00 -43.60% 3,257.07 -17.67%
    Sunday January 24th 2021 1,378 14,877 2,151.00 -22.04% 2,125.29 -40.99% 2,863.50 -34.85%
    Monday January 25th 2021 1,372 14,128 1,927.80 -24.61% 2,018.29 -36.94% 2,609.43 -44.39%
    Tuesday January 26th 2021 928 13,055 1,591.80 -34.56% 1,865.00 -38.76% 2,455.29 -48.87%
    Wednesday January 27th 2021 1,335 11,902 1,384.60 -40.26% 1,700.29 -41.19% 2,295.71 -53.48%
    Thursday January 28th 2021 1,446 10,740 1,291.80 -43.23% 1,534.29 -43.15% 2,116.50 -58.51%
    Friday January 29th 2021 1,254 9,623 1,267.00 -41.10% 1,374.71 -45.83% 1,956.21 -62.57%
    Saturday January 30th 2021 1,414 9,127 1,275.40 -33.84% 1,303.86 -44.49% 1,826.43 -64.97%
    Sunday January 31st 2021 1,247 8,996 1,339.20 -15.87% 1,285.14 -39.53% 1,705.21 -66.37%
    Monday February 1st 2021 1,062 8,686 1,284.60 -7.22% 1,240.86 -38.52% 1,629.57 -65.95%
    Tuesday February 2nd 2021 879 8,637 1,171.20 -9.34% 1,233.86 -33.84% 1,549.43 -65.93%
    Wednesday February 3rd 2021 1,013 8,315 1,123.00 -11.37% 1,187.86 -30.14% 1,444.07 -65.33%
    Thursday February 4th 2021 1,318 8,187 1,103.80 -13.45% 1,169.57 -23.77% 1,351.93 -65.21%
    Friday February 5th 2021 1,047 7,980 1,063.80 -20.56% 1,140.00 -17.07% 1,257.36 -63.73%
    Saturday February 6th 2021 827 7,393 1,016.80 -20.85% 1,056.14 -19.00% 1,180.00 -63.77%

• Registered Users Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

National deaths/ICU/hospitalisation numbers for the past 4 weeks

Death numbers still appalling, ICU and hospitalisation numbers trending downwards from now on so the peak has been pastsed but conscious ICU numbers falling partly due to people passing away in ICU

Day Month Date Year Deaths Weekly 7 Day Av 7 Day % ICU Inc/Dec 7 Day Av 7 Day % Hosp Inc/Dec 7 Day Av 7 Day %
    Sunday January 10th 2021 8 87 12.43 52.63% 125 6 97.57 121.75% 1,452 159 1,076.86 114.70%
    Monday January 11th 2021 8 89 12.71 43.55% 146 21 108.43 118.10% 1,582 130 1,192.00 112.42%
    Tuesday January 12th 2021 46 118 16.86 68.57% 158 12 120.14 115.64% 1,692 110 1,313.71 111.06%
    Wednesday January 13th 2021 63 164 23.43 121.62% 172 14 132.14 109.75% 1,770 78 1,430.29 106.18%
    Thursday January 14th 2021 28 182 26.00 152.78% 169 -3 142.57 101.62% 1,789 19 1,536.86 98.89%
    Friday January 15th 2021 50 212 30.29 161.73% 184 15 153.29 92.64% 1,850 61 1,632.57 87.81%
    Saturday January 16th 2021 60 263 37.57 205.81% 191 7 163.57 84.68% 1,854 4 1,712.71 77.06%
    Sunday January 17th 2021 13 268 38.29 208.05% 195 4 173.57 77.89% 1,928 74 1,780.71 65.36%
    Monday January 18th 2021 8 268 38.29 201.12% 200 5 181.29 67.19% 1,975 47 1,836.86 54.10%
    Tuesday January 19th 2021 93 315 45.00 166.95% 202 2 187.57 56.12% 1,949 -26 1,873.57 42.62%
    Wednesday January 20th 2021 61 313 44.71 90.85% 210 8 193.00 46.05% 1,923 -26 1,895.43 32.52%
    Thursday January 21st 2021 51 336 48.00 84.62% 214 4 199.43 39.88% 1,943 20 1,917.43 24.76%
    Friday January 22nd 2021 52 338 48.29 59.43% 219 5 204.43 33.36% 1,931 -12 1,929.00 18.16%
    Saturday January 23rd 2021 77 355 50.71 34.98% 217 -2 208.14 27.25% 1,892 -39 1,934.43 12.95%
    Sunday January 24th 2021 23 365 52.14 36.19% 218 1 211.43 21.81% 1,931 39 1,934.86 8.66%
    Monday January 25th 2021 7 364 52.00 35.82% 219 1 214.14 18.12% 1,905 -26 1,924.86 4.79%
    Tuesday January 26th 2021 90 361 51.57 14.60% 216 -3 216.14 15.23% 1,750 -155 1,896.43 1.22%
    Wednesday January 27th 2021 54 354 50.57 13.10% 217 1 217.14 12.51% 1,670 -80 1,860.29 -1.85%
    Thursday January 28th 2021 47 350 50.00 4.17% 216 -1 217.43 9.03% 1,567 -103 1,806.57 -5.78%
    Friday January 29th 2021 48 346 49.43 2.37% 211 -5 216.29 5.80% 1,518 -49 1,747.57 -9.41%
    Saturday January 30th 2021 79 348 49.71 -1.97% 211 0 215.43 3.50% 1,492 -26 1,690.43 -12.61%
    Sunday January 31st 2021 15 340 48.57 -6.85% 211 0 214.43 1.42% 1,516 24 1,631.14 -15.70%
    Monday February 1st 2021 10 343 49.00 -5.77% 207 -4 212.71 -0.67% 1,436 -80 1,564.14 -18.74%
    Tuesday February 2nd 2021 101 354 50.57 -1.94% 207 0 211.43 -2.18% 1,388 -48 1,512.43 -20.25%
    Wednesday February 3rd 2021 94 394 56.29 11.30% 203 -4 209.43 -3.55% 1,334 -54 1,464.43 -21.28%
    Thursday February 4th 2021 75 422 60.29 20.57% 188 -15 205.43 -5.52% 1,284 -50 1,424.00 -21.18%
    Friday February 5th 2021 35 409 58.43 18.21% 181 -7 201.14 -7.00% 1,221 -63 1,381.57 -20.94%
    Saturday February 6th 2021 55 385 55.00 10.63% 177 -4 196.29 -8.89% 1,177 -44 1,336.57 -20.93%

Look at the list. Where are Canada, Australia, Japan, Korea...., never mind most small non aligned countries.

An island with 100k people or oil states are not representative of the rest of the world.

Do you believe there a warehouses full of unclaimed vaccines?

Have to laugh anything that deosnt fit in with the rte or boards groupthink...deosnt count

Nz/oz,vietnam,taiwan etc and zero ovid dont count...for magical reasons.

.a small poor island nation in east africa deosnt count as an example that vaccines can be got outside the EU also.for magical reasons

Have yous ever taught,the EU level of beauracy,while.mainly good in most areas,is slowing down vaccination schedule and it as an organisation is poor at adapting to changes....or is this point not allowed either

Its perfectacly reasonable to critise the eu and western response to covid

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭BlondeBomb

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Bit of a backlog in swabs but that's very good progress

Where are we with backlog figures?

500+?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Idk how it is in other cities, but Dublin city center looks like an apocalyptic wasteland. Druggies flowing all over the streets, screaming, their dogs going wild, not a guard anywhere around...just total wasteland. Land of misery.

Have to laugh anything that deosnt fit in with the rte or boards groupthink...deosnt count

Nz/oz,vietnam,taiwan etc and zero ovid dont count...for magical reasons.

.a small poor island nation in east africa deosnt count as an example that vaccines can be got outside the EU also.for magical reasons

Have yous ever taught,the EU level of beauracy,while.mainly good in most areas,is slowing down vaccination schedule and it as an organisation is poor at adapting to changes....or is this point not allowed either

Its perfectacly reasonable to critise the eu and western response to covid

Ignore reality so. Look at the list. Where are most of the countries in the top 20?

https://ourworldindata.org/covid-vaccinations

Seychelles are not poor. GDP per person higher than many European Union countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

BlondeBomb wrote: »

500+?

very hard to tell as not all swabs are cases but over last 10 days swabs greater than cases by 488 I make it

I mean 15 of the 20 listed in top there,are not in the EU kinda jettisoning the theory,you wouldnt have vaccines,if not in the EU?

10 of the top 20 are ye countries. All eu countries have equal access. Do you believe it would be a lot easier to access vaccines with 27 countries competing against each other for limited supply?

Some of the worlds richest countries have no even started yet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

The_Brood wrote: »
    Idk how it is in other cities, but Dublin city center looks like an apocalyptic wasteland. Druggies flowing all over the streets, screaming, their dogs going wild, not a guard anywhere around...just total wasteland. Land of misery.

The Guards are at the airport and ports. Plus dancing and stuff.

BlondeBomb wrote: »

500+?

Based on swabs I would say about 200 - 300.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

The Guards are at the airport and ports. Plus dancing and stuff.

Good they do all of that.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

very hard to tell as not all swabs are cases but over last 10 days swabs greater than cases by 488 I make it

What were total swabs the past ten days?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Based on swabs I would say about 200 - 300.

I wonder if some of the backlog is not a backlog this time because hospitalised Covid patients are being regularly tested, and testing positive multiple times? We've never had numbers this big in hospital so could explain a bigger than normal gap between cases and swabs.

Stheno wrote: »
    What were total swabs the past ten days?

I wonder if some of the backlog is not a backlog this time because hospitalised Covid patients are being regularly tested, and testing positive multiple times? We've never had numbers this big in hospital so could explain a bigger than normal gap between cases and swabs.

That would be a very good explanation alright

Perhaps. Although what I have seen on shane Hastings is that swabs and positives are quite closely tracking each other.

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That would be a very good explanation alright

This is what I think. Based on your numbers the backlog is about 4%

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The_Brood wrote: »
    Dublin always seems like that - you might just have to become reaccustomed to it :P

• Registered Users Posts: 9,964 ✭✭✭spookwoman

06-02-2021-p1.jpg
    06-02-2021-p2.jpg
    06-02-2021-p3.jpg
    06-02-2021-p4.jpg
    06-02-2021-p5.jpg
    06-02-2021-p6.jpg
    06-02-2021-p7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Whats the story with children from different households playing together outside in groups with the current restrictions? I assume this is still okay?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,926 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

MY BAD wrote: »
    Whats the story with children from different households playing together outside in groups with the current restrictions? I assume this is still okay?

Do you not assume a household means all those within the same house irrespective of age? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Do you not assume a household means all those within the same house irrespective of age? :rolleyes:

I don't have kids but I've noticed it a lot where I live hence why I asked...

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭berocca2016

Its not OK, the large groups of feral teenagers congregating in Dublin piss me off the most !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Whether it's ok or not how do you stop it? Confine children to the house?

Saturday 06/2 827
    Friday 05/2 1047
    Thursday 04/2 1318
    Wednesday 03/2 1013
    Tuesday 02/2 879
    Monday 01/2 1062

Total 6146

Last week
    Saturday 30/1 1414
    Friday 29/1 1254
    Thursday 28/1 1466
    Wednesday 27/1 1335
    Tuesday 26/1 928
    Monday 25/1 1372

Total 7769

1623 less cases this week so far

Bit of a backlog in swabs but that's very good progress

on the 4th there was a difference of 1728 and 99 on the 3rd in the 24 hour totals.
    Hub total 20163 auto calc total was 21891

The following day the csv for the testing was changed and going back ages for labs.
    Hospital back to the 15/01/2021 goes from 200's to 208's to 365 on 3/2/2021
    Labs back back to the 13/10/2020 with major daily differences of 108 to 1363.
    Have the CSV report for 4 and 5th and shows total for swabs difference daily of 148 to 1728

• Registered Users Posts: 10,926 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Whether it's ok or not how do you stop it? Confine children to the house?

No point discussing this when you just jump to extremes. Many are managing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    No point discussing this when you just jump to extremes. Many are managing.

I'm not jumping to extremes Jim . If people don't want kids mixing there is limited options on how to stop it. Confined to one's home is the most obvious.
    Thing is i see plenty of kids and young teens mixing everyday as I travel to work, yet I can forgo the need to whinge about it on the internet.

Here is a link to the sheet with the 4th 5th and todays csv swab data side by side. Can also see there is a difference between yesterdays numbers and todays.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GvoH-o5d031M4A62cWhVK_c1hgpIvIhrrxtF87f94lE/edit?usp=sharing

spookwoman wrote: »
    on the 4th there was a difference of 1728 and 99 on the 3rd in the 24 hour totals.
    Hub total 20163 auto calc total was 21891

The following day the csv for the testing was changed and going back ages for labs.
    Hospital back to the 15/01/2021 goes from 200's to 208's to 365 on 3/2/2021
    Labs back back to the 13/10/2020 with major daily differences of 108 to 1363.
    Have the CSV report for 4 and 5th and shows total for swabs difference daily of 148 to 1728

Figures taken from here

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

How does that affect my figures?

You're figures are always great in fairness to ya

Some effort there