Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭bennyl10

At this point it’s surely worth just dealing with the fine.

9 more weeks, This isn’t workable

• Registered Users Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

New plan with no defined opening dates in correlation to numbers

Won't end well

Things are being floated in the media.

We haven't seen any plan yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Numbers were going up in December. They're going down now. So why the talk of keeping level 5 restrictions until May?

I have no idea. Does not make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Arghus wrote: »
    But the Catch 22 of the situation is if people don't comply then cases increase and restrictions just go on and on and on indefinitely. People here seem to totally to not take into account that less compliance and more mixing only prolongs the situation by increasing the incidence rate of the virus in the community. Some people on here are in total denial about reality. The situation won't be improved by more people picking the virus up.

It’s not about the government trying to "give something back" - they tried that in December and look where we ended up.

People were sick of restrictions then, but it made no difference, the virus still spread like crazy and we had to shut down all over again with even greater strictness.

"Ah people need to stop complying" - I read that again and again. And what will that prove? All that will happen is more cases, hospitalisations and deaths and further delays to the vaccination programme and a ultimately longer and more damaging period of strict restrictions. It's totally counterproductive.

After 4 months of level 5 (with a 3 week break that I didnt take) I'm beginning to get numbed. I feel terrible saying it but I'm not sure I'm far away from the point where I just dont care anymore.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bennyl10 wrote: »

Its more than 9 weeks surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Luke O'Neill acting like its Christmas on Prime Time

• Registered Users Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Maybe. But if compliance is dropping in any sort of meaningful way, it's among people who don't have smartphones.

Those that do are being remarkably compliant.

You've asked in in the past for icu admissions, discharges, deaths etc.

goes back to dec 1st. Deaths per month run into other months so overall total is at top, same with other totals.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Uxf1qxEMa0Hl5iQOrqvj6nTCOXp919Ysht0tkKCkiSc/edit?usp=sharing

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Maybe. But if compliance is dropping in any sort of meaningful way, it's among people who don't have smartphones.

Tony and his mobility data

544166.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭I regurgitate the news

titan18 wrote: »
    No, but that's an actual large risk in regards covid spread. The others are not imo

Yeah but what if people actually don't care anymore? Like they care maybe more about their mortgage payments than Covid deaths?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

wadacrack wrote: »

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

Whats the alternative open up and hospitals in an even worse position than early January? Compliance is waning as it is so Ro unlikely to stay below 1 with current restrictions. Their seems to be no real answers at the moment which is the problem.

The alternative is to lift the restrictions that have no impact on the virus spread. Instead of being banned, outdoor activities should be encouraged. Click and collect should be allowed obviously. The restrictions should be applied with a bit of cop on.

To be fair, he looks like he's done well since this kicked off.

All the people telling you when you can and can't work have not lost a days pay since this kicked off

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭manniot2

No doubt an opinion poll soon saying 70% support lockdown until May. What a sick country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Is this a tactic of telling the media that we'll have strict level 5 restrictions in place until May and then next Tuesday win the crowd over by easing restrictions by April? The original plan of level 4 restrictions for March will be forgotten about in that situation..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭maebee

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    They are losing the people now . I see it all around me , people wont comply until May . They just have had enough

I agree. We have all "had enough". The problem is the virus hasn't "had enough".
    People not complying just spreads the virus. End of.

We all want this nightmare to end. We have to comply. I'm sure that no government in the world wants to impose these horrendous restrictions on its peoples but they have no choice, imo.

manniot2 wrote: »
    No doubt an opinion poll soon saying 70% support lockdown until May. What a sick country.

The majority will be affected a lot more by the financial consequences when we move into a worse depression than The Great Depression of the 1930s than they ever would have been by a virus

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭robbiezero

bennyl10 wrote: »

If you're visiting family, you just have to say support bubble.

If your just going for a walk or a hike somewhere, and you are unlucky enough to get stopped and want to avoid the fine, just turn around and go home and try a different way or place the next day.

Or just say you are heading to a support bubble again and have an address in the
    direction where you are headed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

spookwoman wrote: »
    You've asked in in the past for icu admissions, discharges, deaths etc.

goes back to dec 1st. Deaths per month run into other months so overall total is at top, same with other totals.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Uxf1qxEMa0Hl5iQOrqvj6nTCOXp919Ysht0tkKCkiSc/edit?usp=sharing

wow, thanks

I may have a couple of questions though

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

A friend of mine posted a quote on his feed today. I think it is honest and apt.
    'We are not all in this together, we are in the same storm together that's all. Some have yachts, some have kayaks others are drowning'.

I consider myself lucky my job is the same now as it was 1 year ago, two years ago and will be the same two years from now. The same cannot be said for 1000's of my fellow citizens and they have my sympathy.

Honestly, I think for this to work we need to try a different approach.

The truth seems to be that we really need lockdown to continue until everybody is vaccinated and until it is sure that the vaccination actually works with all the variants that are emerging.

So we're in this for the long haul, like it or not.

I'm sure some creative solutions could be found to extend the bubble system to keep us mentally semi-sane and for us to buy some knickers by click and collect or whatever, if we must.

What's not so easily solved is the problem of those drowning financially.
    I'm afraid we might have to go a bit "communist" for that one and go above and beyond just sympathy

To stick with the quote from above...
    I'm one of those who has a kayak, I'll get through this.
    I'm not going on holidays, I'm not eating out, I don't need new fashionable clothes...I would actually be prepared to put some money that I'm not spending there into a covid-together fund for those that have lost their jobs due to this.
    I'm sure plenty of the "kayakers" would do the same.

But, to be fair I'd only agree to this if those in the yachts do the same. Big corporations will have to pay a together tax, big property owners will have to cut rents or forgo them altogether for those that can't afford them due to covid. ETC...you can think of more, I'm sure

Get the yachting set on board (see what I did there?) and I'll happily paddle along...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Yeah but what if people actually don't care anymore? Like they care maybe more about their mortgage payments than Covid deaths?

I'd personally disagree with reopening hospitality ATM. I think sub 150ish cases on a 5 day average and we can look at reopening outdoor hospitality.

I'd want hairdressers, gyms, non essential retail and the 5k travel restriction to go to county wide when we're sub averaging 500 cases, and maybe inter county travel after 300 cases.

To me that would be a good balance between reopening and preventing covid spread.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Interview with MM in the Mirror this evening

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/nine-more-weeks-severe-lockdown-23526450

From the article
    The Taoiseach would not be drawn on when personal services such as when hairdressers would reopen but indicated that the industry could possibly be closed for an extended period after April.

He said: “We’ve got to take it in phases, we can not project the full year out, it would be dishonest to try and do that with Covid-19.

“That said, we understand where personal services come in as a sector and that’s something we’d like to be looking at some stage but we do want to get vaccinations done.

“So I think we’ll be looking at all that sometime towards the end of the second quarter, if not before it.”

When put to him that would be the end of June, he added: “No, I’m not going to put that date. Ronan Glynn (Deputy Chief Medical Officer) and ourselves discussed beyond April you can’t really predict.”

maebee wrote: »
    I agree. We have all "had enough". The problem is the virus hasn't "had enough".

We all want this nightmare to end. We have to comply. I'm sure that no government in the world wants to impose these horrendous restrictions on its peoples but they have no choice, imo.

Will you get a grip.

People not complying? With what? 6ft distance? Viruses can travel 25 to 30ft so that is bollox.
    Masks? The National Standards Authority has stated most masks used in Ireland are useless.

What are you on about? No government wants to impose these conditions? How naive are you

• Registered Users Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

After 4 months of level 5 (with a 3 week break that I didnt take) I'm beginning to get numbed. I feel terrible saying it but I'm not sure I'm far away from the point where I just dont care anymore.

I know you're not alone in feeling that way. I don't feel particularly thrilled with life myself at the moment.

But the way I look at it is - Really what other choice is there? We all - and it doesn't even have to be all of us - just say fck it and decide not to go along with restrictions? All that'll happen is we get a repeat of January again and we'll be right back to square one all over again.

I'm sorry, but it's a fantasy, a fairytale, to think that widespread uncompliance is somehow going to improve the situation. It's a false choice that people think is actually possible because they are fed up and tired. It's alluring, but it's not realistic.

Compliance until May or God knows when is a grim prospect, but it's either that or case numbers blowing up again, hospital numbers ballooning again, deaths ballooning, kids out of school for longer again, elective procedures cancelled again, vaccination programme delayed again and the circle of misery just continues and continues. Uncompliance is not going to make any of this go away and will, in fact, make it worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

But the Catch 22 of the situation is if people don't comply then cases increase and restrictions just go on and on and on indefinitely. People here seem to totally to not take into account that less compliance and more mixing only prolongs the situation by increasing the incidence rate of the virus in the community. Some people on here are in total denial about reality. The situation won't be improved by more people picking the virus up.

It’s not about the government trying to "give something back" - they tried that in December and look where we ended up.

People were sick of restrictions then, but it made no difference, the virus still spread like crazy and we had to shut down all over again with even greater strictness.

"Ah people need to stop complying" - I read that again and again. And what will that prove? All that will happen is more cases, hospitalisations and deaths and further delays to the vaccination programme and a ultimately longer and more damaging period of strict restrictions. It's totally counterproductive.

Yep, you are right. But people can only take so much and I’m beyond twitching the curtain at partners or family that haven’t seen each other in ages meeting up. I hear people complaining about kids hanging around together- but Seriously how long do we expect them to hide away? It’s just not right. I just hope people can use their heads while doing so.

In relation to your point on people saying we should stop complying I just think if people have symptoms, isolate and mind yourselves for 10 days rather than getting tested if you have mild symptoms. This stops the spread and lowers potential case numbers that are being used to keep restrictions levels high.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

maebee wrote: »

Click and collect could easily be opened without affecting the numbers
    Meeting family or friends in a garden at 2 metres wont either
    Allowing us past the restrictive 5 kms wont either . I am now restricted to packed parks instead of an empty beach

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

manniot2 wrote: »

You are still threadbanned.
    Manniot2 do not post in this thread again

But the way I look at it is - Really what other choice is there? We all - and it doesn't even have to be all of us - just say fck it and decide not to go along with restrictions? All that'll happen is we get a repeat of January again and we'll be right back to square one all over again.

I will be saying fcuk it and am encouraging all my friend and family to socialise and ignore this garbage.

We only get one life and it is for living.

I am not stopping driving my car because of road deaths and I am no longer adhering to nonsense because of a virus. I'll take my chances and anyone who doesn't want to should stay indoors until they get the vaccine.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You also have to factor in that whilst we might be complying, there's a bunch who aren't and getting feck all punishment for it but we're all being collectively punished as a result. Those people are getting their mental breaks and more and the rest of suffer. So, why should we anymore is something that is fine to ask imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,858 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Tony, You lost me there. What do you mean about smartphones?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Indestructable

Why is the Taoiseach giving interviews to the Mirror of all places, to be released at 10pm on a Thursday. I know he didn't say much, or anything really, all he is doing is fueling massive speculation.

This ham fisted kite flying is annoying. People want some real clarity.