Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,321 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Le Bruise wrote: »
    Yup, a large degree of Trump supporters seem to have both 'Christian' and 'Patriot' in their twitter bios. I accidentally went down a rabbit hole of some of their feeds one night, couldn't believe there were actual real people like that on the planet. Insane stuff!

Be very wary of anyone whose identity is tied to how patriotic they are, how religious they are and how many guns they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭techdiver

is_that_so wrote: »
    This looks like your own interpolation and one it has be said without much data but plenty of logical leaps. Last summer is not the current system and by all accounts it has got a lot better, with a far more rapid process. They did intend to go back further in the chain but ye know, October and Christmas.

Yes but that is my core point. I was merely giving the same logical interpretation of exactly what NPHET said during the summer. Our tracing system had not changed by then, especially around Christmas, in fact it was worse. I was simply trying to draw the same comparison of saying that travel only accounted for 0.03% of cases when considering the tracing at the best of times only goes back one generation and was not functioning over Christmas those figures cannot be trusted.

If you say I'm making a logical leap as regards travel numbers you must accept that NPHET also made the same corresponding logical leap when attributing cases to pubs and restaurants in late summer/early autumn. I'm not saying they were wrong but it wasn't data driven.

EDIT to add a tweet by Philip Nolan explaining the situation in September last and the explanation that they are making assumption based off external international evidence rather than on actual data from our own cases.

https://twitter.com/President_MU/status/1306908075161518081?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,253 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yup, a large degree of Trump supporters seem to have both 'Christian' and 'Patriot' in their twitter bios. I accidentally went down a rabbit hole of some of their feeds one night, couldn't believe there were actual real people like that on the planet. Insane stuff!

You think people just like that aren’t on boards too? There’s loads of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,180 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not quite. The CMO/NPHET raised the the question of fatigue almost a year ago and warned the government three weeks ago that these continued restrictions would cease to be fully effective among the population fairly soon. Do you have a different opinion?

No . Fatigue is definitely setting in , we are all wrecked from this, you don't have to tell me that! .
    But is it your opinion that people would be agreeing with plonkers who now decide to risk everything we have done so far by starting not to comply ?
    That was how your post came across .

We are hopefully on the last run to getting back to some sort of normality.
    I think some posters should give credit to the vast majority here in Ireland who are a step ahead of their government in recognising what is the most sensible way out of this and it is not risking everythin by rash decisions and premature lifting of restrictions now.
    I think many people have decided that Christmas was not worth what has followed after , and while we all accept our part in what happened, many will be extra critical now of everything that government says or does from here on .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭boardise

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    In a lot of ways, I don't blame people for being so fed up with the situation.

It should never have been indefinite lockdown. Something went badly wrong with the containment policy.

That 'something' might just be to do with so many simians trashing the safety guidance ...shebeens ,house parties , funerals/wakes, weddings, student gatherings. Maybe a minority - but too many thumbed their noses at the rest of us.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

boardise wrote: »
    That 'something' might just be to do with so many simians trashing the safety guidance ...shebeens ,house parties , funerals/wakes, weddings, student gatherings. Maybe a minority - but too many thumbed their noses at the rest of us.

Ultimately, I blame government policy rather than individual actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

763 cases 28 deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

To be fair it isn't just people who put Christian and patriot in there bio, you get the same with people who put vegan or classical liberal etc in there who will be just awful people.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

wes wrote: »
    To be fair it isn't just people who put Christian and patriot in there bio, you get the same with people who put vegan or classical liberal etc in there who will be just awful people.

Or their pronouns :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

They’re like 2 donkeys looking out over a hedge,and about as much use.

Which one is the ass? :pac:

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Yes they did and Leo at the time said they had to choose the timing wisely as people will only comply for a short period of 6 weeks . It is quite obvious that mentioning another 9 weeks tacked onto this past 6 weeks would not go down well

A lot of people (many more than some on these threads would have you believe )have been totally compliant for the last year with very little socialisation or relief from their own self imposed restrictions.
    These include health professionals like ourselves, and a lot of essential workers who don't want to risk transmitting possible infection to either their extended families or elderly relatives or those they know who might be vulnerable.
    You can bet that it is taking its toll and that we are all sxxx sick of it .
    But to hear Leo and MM and Donnelly , repeat that fatigue will be setting in at six weeks or whenever , is so annoying at this stage .
    Just let them shut about it and get on with their fcuking jobs , like we all have to .

Leo is the worst at this stage with his pandering to lobby groups or whoever he thinks is fashionable right now .
    Everything he says is calculated to gain points for him, Himself and Leo.
    Perfectly understandable in normal times, but just loathsome now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Micheál denying there was any confusion with what he said last night. Surely that’s for the public decide and not him?

Problem for MM is he is widely quoted as saying 9 weeks. Even the BBC referring to Irish PM stating 9 more weeks. Absolute contempt for people that he would say it in an interview with a Red top rag, then go into hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Kivaro wrote: »
    Which one is the ass? :pac:

I'm going to say both, but Leo is slightly more tolerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,754 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

paulie21 wrote: »
    763 cases 28 deaths

Not making much headway are we?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Mwengwe wrote: »
    That one was easily broken anyway, I've been breaking the 5km rule when I need to, I don't see the big issue. It's not a practical rule for many people anyway for so many reasons (amenities etc). No-one is going to question you 90% of the time. No real need to be dramatic about the 5km rule, it's mostly theatre.

This is what I don't get, would it not be an easy win for government to say they will increase the distance to like 15km or something? Would make a huge difference for what seems like minimal cost.

yer man! wrote: »
    This is what I don't get, would it not be an easy win for government to say they will increase the distance to like 15km or something? Would make a huge difference for what seems like minimal cost.

In rural areas yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭blowitupref

paulie21 wrote: »
    763 cases 28 deaths

7 day average on cases 821 (it was 861 last Friday

7 day average on reported deaths 35 ( it was 39 last Friday)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

7 day average on cases 821 (it was 861 last Friday

7 day average on reported deaths 35 ( it was 39 last Friday)

Thank you....

Jeez - not much of an improvement....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,151 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Goldengirl wrote: »
    In rural areas yes.

15 kms would make a big difference to us in a city too . It would give me options and a different view! I know our three local parks inside out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

15 kms would make a big difference to us in a city too . It would give me options and a different view! I know our three local parks inside out

At least you've got three parks. In many rural areas it's a matter of walking 5km down a road with cars, lorries etc, with no footpaths, turn and walk back.

Haha, know the feeling ! And their inhabitants :D

Less likely to meet anyone or have cause to stop off as long as you have a full tank , if travelling further in rural areas.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Yeah, that's really hard for people in rural areas like that. I'm lucky to be living in a city centre with parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,151 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Haha, know the feeling ! And their inhabitants :D

Less likely to meet anyone or have cause to stop off as long as you have a full tank , if travelling further in rural areas.

I would give my eye teeth to walk on an empty beach instead of packed parks
    The parks here are so full in good weather that we wear a mask now going for a walk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The news reports today have it that a 32 year old has died and is included in today’s Covid figures.

Anybody know any background on the person?
    Is there any way of finding out more about that case, obviously not mentioning names but it’s rare you hear of somebody that young dying and would be good to hear the circumstances and if there were any other medical conditions.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,225 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thank you....

Jeez - not much of an improvement....
    They are saying the UK variant is accounting for around 90% of cases now

Don't know what the figure would have been a week ago, but I suspect the "slowdown" in the improvement is mainly down to a larger prevalence of that strain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Yeah, that's really hard for people in rural areas like that. I'm lucky to be living in a city centre with parks.

Here's a letter in the Irish Times last week as part of a series of letters about walking in lockdown,
    Sir, – Your recent letter writers bemoaning the travails of having to step off pavements onto cycle lanes or avoiding oncoming groups on footpaths, while deserving of some sympathy, brought out a feeling of jealousy in me (Letters, February 12th).

Oh, to have the luxury of a footpath. Those of us in many rural areas must run (or walk) the gauntlet of pavement-less roads where large trucks speed by at 80km/h with inches to spare. Being restricted to five kilometres from home we have no alternative but to don the hi-vis jacket and take to our narrow roads with a vain hope that lorry drivers will extend a modicum of respect for our vulnerable position by slowing and giving us some space.

Perhaps transport companies might advise their drivers, when using narrow rural roads as shortcuts, to give some consideration to the nature of the road and the fact that many must now use these roads for our daily exercise. – Yours, etc,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Akabusi

The news reports today have it that a 32 year old has died and is included in today’s Covid figures.

Anybody know any background on the person?
    Is there any way of finding out more about that case, obviously not mentioning names but it’s rare you hear of somebody that young dying and would be good to hear the circumstances and if there were any other medical conditions.

If a 32 year old did die, then there will have been other medical conditions. Anyhow it doesn't matter they are now gone and some poor family are grieving for them. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Akabusi wrote: »
    If a 32 year old did die, then there will have been other medical conditions. Anyhow it doesn't matter they are now gone and some poor family are grieving for them. RIP

Do you know there are other medical conditions or are you just making that up?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Rip to Tony Holohans wife.