Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 24,400 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

titan18 wrote: »
    I was out walking by myself, so not in a crowd.

crowds are collections of individuals

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

lawred2 wrote: »
    Was in St Anne's Park in Raheny today. Lovely sunny day and busy with people out and about.

Garda car drove in and left after a short while.

What exactly are they looking for? What exactly are they looking to do?

They'd need more than the two of them in car to clear the park... :confused:

Who knows what they were looking for. Clearly people walking in a park is not an issue, which we already know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Nice day to out for a change.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

lawred2 wrote: »
    crowds are collections of individuals

Big difference between people walking by themselves or with own other Vs 10 people sitting on the footpath drinking cans together.

Anyway I was giving out about them crowding the footpaths not breaching covid restrictions. The latter behaviour is obnoxious in pre covid times when there's plenty of green area there.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

It seems that the strategy to avoid a 4th lock down is to stay indefinitely in the 3rd lock down.

Either that or make everyone so hopeless and miserable with no end in sight so we all reclaim our own freedom, that way they can blame the nation and not their shoddy communication, planning and leadership.

Kinda like what happened at Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

679 cases

1 Death

TV3 News

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Stheno wrote: »
    Thats my thinking too, if people don't know proposed dates it gives nothing to aim for

Or something solid tbh

How can government give something solid when the lifting of the restrictions is largely behaviour driven? It's not going to introduce a promise into the mix which reduce compliance even further.

The current levels of restrictions are not likely to last beyond April, simply because the most vulnerable will be vaccinated. While we may see cases rise going into summer, it's quite likely we will still see hospitalisations fall and consequently pressure eased on the health service. Expect a slow unwinding to mitigation measures over summer to September and vigilance into winter.

The obsession with dates are targets is curious, borderline **** stirring tbh. The path we are on is obvious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭SeaMermaid

Precisely. Why would anyone continue on with this nonsense with no set target in sight? No dates or no case number target to give us something to work towards. Just more of the same for an infinite amount of weeks. Could be May could be June could be July. Who knows. Sure we’ll tell ye around then. Why the hell would anyone agree to that?

That reads like such a childish tantrum. We know the goal is to get the numbers down into the low 100s so that a reopening or easing of restrictions can be as successful and as safe as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,791 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

SPDUB wrote: »
    679 cases

1 Death

TV3 News

The media must be getting worried, the end is in sight.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭aziz

The media must be getting worried, the end is in sight.

George lee just shed a tear 😢

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

679 cases

1 Death

TV3 News

Fall of 109 from last Sunday.

Slowly but surely falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,374 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Great numbers today. Aside from the one death of course

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

aziz wrote: »
    George lee just shed a tear 😢

Only 80,000 more deaths and McDonkey is correct

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

How can government give something solid when the lifting of the restrictions is largely behaviour driven? It's not going to introduce a promise into the mix which reduce compliance even further.

The current levels of restrictions are not likely to last beyond April, simply because the most vulnerable will be vaccinated. While we may see cases rise going into summer, it's quite likely we will still see hospitalisations fall and consequently pressure eased on the health service. Expect a slow unwinding to mitigation measures over summer to September and vigilance into winter.

The obsession with dates are targets is curious, borderline **** stirring tbh. The path we are on is obvious

They are going around like headless chickens talking to any journalist that will listen to their leaks.

Do they have a plan or don't they?

We are on the path we decide for ourselves, we are no longer all in this together.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

SeaMermaid wrote: »
    That reads like such a childish tantrum. We know the goal is to get the numbers down into the low 100s so that a reopening or easing of restrictions can be as successful and as safe as possible.

Yes but there could be conditions set out so people have a goal and some hope

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Last 7 Sunday's

January 10th - 4842
    January 17th - 3231
    January 24th - 1910
    January 31st - 1414
    February 7th - 1024
    February 14th - 788
    February 21st - 679

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No, it's a poster expressing concerns and definitely not expecting to be judged like this but there's always someone who knows what's best for everyone!

Last 7 Sunday's

January 10th - 4842
    January 17th - 3231
    January 24th - 1910
    January 31st - 1414
    February 7th - 1024
    February 14th - 788
    February 21st - 679

And with us floating around 800-900 cases a day, hospitalisations are plummeting.

But of course we aren’t where we need to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭blowitupref

679 cases

1 Death

TV3 News

7 day average in cases is 792. Last Sunday it was 863.

7 day average in reported deaths is 27. Last Sunday it was 41.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://www.rte.ie/eile/2021/0209/1196058-have-your-say-about-rte/

Rte looking for the public’s opinion about them.

Just to add their main headline on 6 news is ‘Holiday Outdoors’ based on a comment from Philip Nolan, who isn’t an elected official or in Government.

I’d never normally bother with those but there is a lot that needs to be said

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Last 7 Sunday's

January 10th - 4842
    January 17th - 3231
    January 24th - 1910
    January 31st - 1414
    February 7th - 1024
    February 14th - 788
    February 21st - 679
    Looks like the restrictions are working!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭SeaMermaid

Gael23 wrote: »
    Yes but there could be conditions set out so people have a goal and some hope

What are you waiting for the government to tell you what the goal is? We know what the goal is. The goal is to get transmissions in communities down to as low as possible into the 100s perhaps. That will allow that safe and successful reopening with less viral transmissions.

Why are you waiting for the government to build you hope? There is hope and a light at the end of the tunnel. You just need to open your eyes and see it. The vaccines are here and they will be ramped up, we need to give them a chance to work. It's such a long process with 2 injections, weeks apart, immunity isn't going to happen over night.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Have a word with yourself please. Some people need something to work towards in order to make this clusterfcuk feel somewhat worthwhile. Without it this just all feels a little torturous and pointless

TheDoctor wrote: »
    And with us floating around 800-900 cases a day, hospitalisations are plummeting.

But of course we aren’t where we need to be.

Of course we aren't. Imagine the outrage if we opened now and numbers blew up and ICUs filled up again and we were pulled back into lockdown for an even longer period of time.....

We won't be opening up till numbers are consistently lower than the 700 mark we saw today. I'd have thought most people had worked that out by now.

Of course we aren't. Imagine the outrage if we opened now and numbers blew up and ICUs filled up again and we were pulled back into lockdown for an even longer period of time.....

We won't be opening up till numbers are consistently lower than the 700 mark we saw today. I'd have thought most people had worked that out by now.

Flu season is ending and the high risk groups are being vaccinated.

Could have 1000 cases a day now, hospitalisations won’t go up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Just to add their main headline on 6 news is ‘Holiday Outdoors’ based on a comment from Philip Nolan, who isn’t an elected official or in Government.

If we did it together, their servers would crash.
    (Much like their RTE Player).

It's more ICU I'd be concerned about

I cant see that being an issue again until next the next Winter surge by the time April comes around.

Factoring the drop over the next will see which we are defintely closed for and the increased vaccine roll out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭gifted

As soon as the high risk group are vaccinated I can see the government opening nearly everything....the young people will catch it but it won't take out many of them.