Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Whilst we all would like to see numbers decrease quicker it's still a 5% decrease on the same day last week

From what I can see, the two day figures are

764 and 609 (this week) vs 752 and 645 (last week) which isn't a big decrease when you look at the two days. Positivity is down at least on both days as we did more tests this week.

Compliance is the issue now. A lot of people have given up.

And they want to send kids back to school?

Compliance will be a thing of the past as kids and young adults return to the classrooms and playgrounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

titan18 wrote: »
    From what I can see, the two day figures are

764 and 609 (this week) vs 752 and 645 (last week) which isn't a big decrease when you look at the two days. Positivity is down at least on both days as we did more tests this week.

Yes not big changes but at least it's still decreasing

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The km thing is irrelevant. People can visit someone within 5k and spread the virus.

I don't agree with km limits.
    It's a blunt instrument to persuade as many people as possible not to move too far from home. The household restrictions are supposed to take care of the infection risk. If they haven't already been broken they will be first to go in the next month or so. It is noticeable that most Gardai now just ask about work and wave you through.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

And they want to send kids back to school?

Compliance will be a thing of the past as kids and young adults return to the classrooms and playgrounds.

Kids need to go back to school

Online learning doesn't work for younger kids in particular

One of the reasons we're all being asked to stick to restrictions is to get kids their education

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

I caught the end of the news. Mentioned that it would take another couple of weeks for legislation regarding quarantine and 1 month until hotels will be ready.

Wtf is going on. Biggest inept shower of slow coach idiots I have ever seen in my life. Ban flights from these countries and anyone who stepped foot in these countries in the previous 3 weeks until yous get the finger out. It is not that difficult. Jesus Christ.

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    I caught the end of the news. Mentioned that it would take another couple of weeks for legislation regarding quarantine and 1 month until hotels will be ready.

Wtf is going on. Biggest inept shower of slow coach idiots I have ever seen in my life. Ban flights from these countries and anyone who stepped foot in these countries in the previous 3 weeks. It is not that difficult. Jesus Christ.
    Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine is a new one and needs to be done right legally. We have no direct flights from Brazil, nor SA as far as I know, Britain is CTA and then there is the EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

is_that_so wrote: »
    Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine is a new one and needs to be done right legally.
    It's been nearly a year, though. Developing vaccines isn't quick either, but people really pulled the thumb out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It is not that difficult.
    If restricting inbound travel was not that difficult, it would have been done last May. It's an easy PR win for any government.

Turns out it is that difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine a new one and needs to be done right legally.

This is an emergency. Surely it can be passed without all this nonsense?

The bottom line is we remain in lockdown over a govt failure to introduce mandatory quarantine at the airport.
    They keep saying we have to keep an eye on variants, that they are failing to stop coming in! Its actually comical at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,655 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine is a new one and needs to be done right legally. We have no direct flights from Brazil, nor SA as far as I know, Britain is CTA and then there is the EU.

They were pretty sharp to write in laws with regards to 5km, not leaving your county, 'house parties' etc. etc.

AdamD wrote: »
    They were pretty sharp to write in laws with regards to 5km, not leaving your county, 'house parties' etc. etc.
    They were already enabled by the changes to the Health Bill way back last Spring and summer. They are effectively regulations anyway.

It doesn’t take a genius to see that those are easier to implement than involuntary detention of EU citizens

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭shamco

Dont forget the bank guarantee

Ficheall wrote: »
    It's been nearly a year, though. Developing vaccines isn't quick either, but people really pulled the thumb out there.
    This is something we have not done before so it needs legislation done right. It's also in response to de variants!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It doesn’t take a genius to see that those are easier to implement than involuntary detention of EU citizens

If they knew it took time then maybe they should have done it a year ago and we would have had it implemented by now. Instead they’re faffing around a year later

seamus wrote: »
    If restricting inbound travel was not that difficult, it would have been done last May. It's an easy PR win for any government.

Turns out it is that difficult.

They banned flights from Britain on the drop of a hat and they have a common travel area agreement. So it not difficult at all. They can do it in the click of a finger.

If they knew it took time then maybe they should have done it a year ago and we would have had it implemented by now. Instead they’re faffing around a year later
    Well, the last government were firm on it being something "we don't do" so they were never going to do it. It's variants , nothing more, that have created the alarm.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Well, the last government were firm on it being something "we don't do" so they were never going to do it. It's variants , nothing more, that's created the alarm.

The variants have also been with us since the start

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

This is something we have not done before so it needs legislation done right. It's also in response to de variants!
    Aye, I know the legislation is a pain, but still - what else have they been fecking doing?
    And I know it's being "enacted" (will believe it when I see it) in response to the variants, but this was something they should have started preparing for right at the beginning - both in case of potentially problematic variants, which were hardly a surprise, and for the eventuality where we got our cases down (as over the summer) and didn't want to import the virus again.

The variants have also been with us since the start
    Yeah and we're still getting them. We didn't care about them until a few of them looked like causing more trouble.

So like I said ban flights from these countries until it is up and running. They stopped flights from Britain after Christmas in an instant and CTA didn't matter at all. Austria only EU member on list. Just ban flights from these countries until its ready but they're too slow,thick and lack initiative.

So like I said ban flights from these countries until it is up and running. They stopped flights from Britain after Christmas in an instant and CTA didn't matter at all. Austria only EU member on list. Just ban flights from these countries until its ready but they're too slow and thick and lack initiative.
    Way back in March people were jumping up and down about banning flights from Italy. As Harris rightly pointed out back then people can just go to other places to fly in from and circumvent a ban.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Widescreen

I think the situation we are in is an emergency??

So why can't they speed up their procedures for this special legislation?

People are dying in huge numbers, thousands of new cases every week, hospitals over run, most business shut, no sport no socialising, no nothing!

I think government are in a comfort zone, suddenly their job is easy, no proper Dail to go to, very little real questioning from opposition leaders. Micky mouse TV station that never puts any pressure on them.

By the time this legislation is enacted the Brazilian variant will be rampant, the vaccine wont' work and we'll be back to square 1.

is there anyone in this country who can provide proper sensible leadership with a sense of urgency??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

This fine weather is making it increasingly hard to stick to a 5k area . Not much in my 5k area but plenty of nice walks and mountains about 20k away.
    Ventured about 9k away from home yesterday for the change of scenery and lucky we have a little used woods to walk in . It’s way off the beaten track and very few people use it.
    The 5k limit is definitely getting claustrophobic ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Widescreen wrote: »

By the time this legislation is enacted the Brazilian variant will be rampant, the vaccine wont' work and we'll be back to square 1.

Can you publish the evidence you have that the vaccines won't work?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Can you publish the evidence you have that the vaccines won't work?

Who needs evidence when you have outrage?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Widescreen wrote: »

At this point in time there is nothing to suggest the vaccines won't work. Yes, there are variants of concern. Unless we get really unlucky or careless they should be nothing more than y2k: Serious concern and effort required for those monitoring the issue but the ordinary every day person will (hopefully) be left wondering what all the fuss was about.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,655 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

It's not involuntary detention. They would be getting on the flight aware that they would need to quarantine upon arrival.

So its easier to write laws to submit our own citizens to draconian laws than foreign ones?

Logisitically its more difficult, not sure about legally (though really I haven't a clue)

Way back in March people were jumping up and down about banning flights from Italy. As Harris rightly pointed out back then people can just go to other places to fly in from and circumvent a ban.

Harris the clown who said a vaccine would take a long time as we have to remember that there were 18 covids before and we have yet to get a vaccine for one of those. Harris and Varadkar who said that because we're a member of the EU we can't shut our borders whilst half the EU did. Denmark had shut their airspace by then while people were jumping and up down here as you say while the government were sitting firmly on their hands.

Everything should be done to prevent travel from these countries until the mandatory quarantine legislation passes. Make it as awkward for people as possible, if they don't have a direct flight it will put more people off. Sure people in Britain could have done that after Christmas but it was added inconvenience most went with out. You make it as hard possible, you don't do sweet fa and cite something that goon Harris said in March as an excuse to continue doing nothing.