Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,086 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Azatadine wrote: »
    Donnelly really is such a car crash. That was completely inept last night.

Especially when he apparently clarified a wrong position before coming on air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Azatadine wrote: »
    Donnelly really is such a car crash. That was completely inept last night.

This is the man responsible for our response to this while crisis! He also managed to throw Josepha Madogan under the bus at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

When it suits I assume ? Why is this not brought up every year when they have months off ?

Are you for real?

They usually are in school as normal and have planned summer/esater/xmas/mid term holidays.

now they have had these holidays and no classroom teaching because of a pandemic.

Do you undestand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

tom1ie wrote: »
    Anyone?

From listening to different commentators in the last few days, different groups may be changed in order of priority from the previous groupings.I haven't seen an updated list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,057 ✭✭✭✭titan18

From listening to different commentators in the last few days, different groups may be changed in order of priority from the previous groupings.I haven't seen an updated list.

They seem to be saying for a good 2-3 weeks now and nothing has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's not just kids and parents who have suffered through this pandemic though. I can understand the desire to get children back in the classroom,
    I'm genuinely happy for my friends and coworkers and their children, but as someone without kids it's hard not to get frustrated that there's no sign of any change for the rest of us. I haven't seen my elderly parents since last summer because we're not comfortable meeting up until case numbers are lower or they're vaccinated. My partner's mother is immunocompromised, has been unwell for the past year, and living in another country. She wants to visit her as soon as possible, understandably. What if the reopening of schools puts any of that at risk?

I also want to be able to go for a long cycle again, or a drive to the beach. Those things are obviously less important than the above, but they still matter to a lot of people. I imagine to people living alone, they matter even more.

The point I'm perhaps clumsily making is yes, education is important, but everyone has different priorities for different reasons.

It's not about sharing proceeds about

It's about priorities of state. And education is one of the key responsibilities of state.

Parents have to deal with the kids out of school on top of all the other restrictions that affect everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,302 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

"...some people on here - who no doubt have a self image of hard bitten cynical realism - are fawning over Boris and Co like naive fangirls."
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=116371333#post116371333

I've no idea what that has to do with the fact that you can't let go the snide comments about a poster who contributes balanced and generally well thought out pieces.

Not what you want to hear, so you get the digs in. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭Azatadine

This is the man responsible for our response to this while crisis! He also managed to throw Josepha Madogan under the bus at the same time

Yes, he did. They wont change him now but they really should stop him giving interviews. He's that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Kha1993

At least the crap about the 5km being to “limit mobility” can stop being shouted now. It serves one purpose and one only - to stop evictions. Lazy and incompetent legislators the main reason why.

Interesting if they were to say today exactly why they’re keeping the 5km. And choose not to enforce it.

Kha1993 wrote: »
    At least the crap about the 5km being to “limit mobility” can stop being shouted now. It serves one purpose and one only - to stop evictions. Lazy and incompetent legislators the main reason why.

Interesting if they were to say today exactly why they’re keeping the 5km. And choose not to enforce it.

Seriously lazy and thoughtless legislators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,436 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

People living alone have to deal with loneliness on top of all the other restrictions on everyone else.

People with sick relatives they can't see have to deal with the stress of that on top of everything else.

Everyone's circumstances are different.

I'm not arguing for schools to be kept closed or be made less of a priority. I hope the opening goes ahead as planned. I was sceptical about keeping them open before but it's been too long now. I'm just trying to point out why people feel frustrated.

Bang on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,302 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Kha1993 wrote: »

While it's a mess, your logic's a bit strained there.

When Salazar was the all-powerful prime minister of Portugal, he had a stroke and was expected to die. So they replaced him with another fella.

Imagine their surprise when Salazar recovered. Totes awks. Naturally enough he's still expecting to be prime minister. So they hit on the scheme of "allowing Salazar to govern in private". He wrote new laws and signed new death warrants, and happily "governed" for another year or so before expiring.

Of course, none of his laws or death warrants had any force outside his bedroom. His governance of Portugal was happening entirely in his own fantasy.

And that's what going to happen with Micheál Martin casually announcing - without bothering to ask our elected parliament - that mass house arrest and the prohibition on business is to move into at least the fifth month of our two-week lockdown. He will give speeches and little leaks about what he will permit the little people to do. But he'll be talking to himself, for the people will have long stopped listening to a Taoiseach on repeat, out of ideas, and driven mad by power.

Unless there are clearly-defined targets of which metrics have to be met, on which date, before every set of restrictions can be lifted, they will be completely ignored. It cannot just be another casual "yeah, April at least lads."

Compliance with his restrictions are going to disintegrate. And with it, his authority is going to disintegrate.

It's increasingly hard how to see the most arrogant and high-handed Taoiseach in the history of the State will last much past summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

big syke wrote: »
    Are you for real?

They usually are in school as normal and have planned summer/esater/xmas/mid term holidays.

now they have had these holidays and no classroom teaching because of a pandemic.

Do you undestand?

Looks what's happening in Italy

Bug outbreaks in school settings . Bring it back to parents and grandparents

Schools should not be back until there is mass vaccinations

Parents (like me) should be able to keep their kids ticking over until then . And their workplaces should be accommodating

It does show people have too many kids . Maybe they should have been happy with their lot and not kept going until they had that boy / girl . But that's a debate that will come up in around 10 years when the climate crisis hits . We will be looking back at this period thinking we didn't know how lucky we had it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

It does show people have too many kids . Maybe they should have been happy with their lot and not kept going until they had that boy / girl

You should try talking out of your mouth instead of your arse. You'll be surprised at how much more effective it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

You know the thread has reached a new low when you get a reference to Salazar and the suggestion that Irish parents have too many kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

Parents (like me) should be able to keep their kids ticking over until then . And their workplaces should be accommodating

It does show people have too many kids . Maybe they should have been happy with their lot and not kept going until they had that boy / girl . But that's a debate that will come up in around 10 years when the climate crisis hits . We will be looking back at this period thinking we didn't know how lucky we had it

I am not sure what all that nonsense has to do with what you said originally about them having months off and no-one questioning it then :confused:

But good stuff you managed to hit climate change, mass vaccinations and having too many kids after your original post was questioned.

Incredible goalpost movement 8.5/10.

5km limit for 5 months is obscene. Sleepwalked into a police state.

People living alone have to deal with loneliness on top of all the other restrictions on everyone else.

People with sick relatives they can't see have to deal with the stress of that on top of everything else.

Everyone's circumstances are different.

I'm not arguing for schools to be kept closed or be made less of a priority. I hope the opening goes ahead as planned. I was sceptical about keeping them open before but it's been too long now. I'm just trying to point out why people feel frustrated.

Yeah I wasn't trying to make it a competition

It was the "X get this - what about the rest of us" line of thinking that I was responding to

It's circular and ultimately self defeating

Time to take a break I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Kha1993

AdamD wrote: »
    5km limit for 5 months is obscene. Sleepwalked into a police state.

And a convenient excuse to keep it. “Well if you want it gone, it means you want evictions”. It’d be sinister if you didn’t know how incompetent our government are.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Time to take a break I'd say

Nothing can be disputed in what i said. Continue to bury your head in the sand

You should try talking out of your mouth instead of your arse. You'll be surprised at how much more effective it is.

Come back to me in the 10-15 yrs . There will be a limit on how many kids you can have .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Come back to me in the 10-15 yrs . There will be a limit on how many kids you can have .

Interesting, and do you see this human rights violation taking place everywhere or just ireland?

Did we repeal the 8th for forced population control? That wasn't in the booklet.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Interesting, and do you see this human rights violation taking place everywhere or just ireland?

Did we repeal the 8th for forced population control? That wasn't in the booklet.

Mike Ryan said the same . Also , have you not been around the last 12 months re population control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

NPHET and the government are already talking in an echo chamber, i suspect that they will announce they are even more concerned about the figures and once the weather starts getting better the 5km will be effectively out of the window.

just look at last sunday best day in months loads of traffic out (funny the guards put out a checkpoint on sunday 1st one ive seen)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Friends of mine had a daughter (10) complaining About pains in her legs- sounded like typical growing pains to me. Rand doc- straight in for PCR.
    Nephew had a headache and hypochondriac sister in law rang doc- straight in for PCR. Is every call to the doctors surgery responded to with PCR now I wonder?
    People need to stop getting tested for no reason- and even if people have symptoms but aren’t unwell they need to isolate themselves and their families. It’s the numbers that are being used to retain lockdown, it’s about time we started living our lives according to what’s safe rather than what’s allowed again.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭spakman

Friends of mine had a daughter (10) complaining About pains in her legs- sounded like typical growing pains to me. Rand doc- straight in for PCR.
    Nephew had a headache and hypochondriac sister in law rang doc- straight in for PCR. Is every call to the doctors surgery responded to with PCR now I wonder?
    People need to stop getting tested for no reason- and even if people have symptoms but aren’t unwell they need to isolate themselves and their families. It’s the numbers that are being used to retain lockdown, it’s about time we started living our lives according to what’s safe rather than what’s allowed again.

But if their test comes back negative, then it doesn't impact thr numbers being used to justify lockdown.
    Are you suggesting people with symptoms shouldn't get tested!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Quite a lot of them would be tbh. The logic is that if it's serious enough to contact the GP, then there's a possibility it's an illness caused by a pathogen. And there's so little in circulation at the moment except Covid, that a Covid test is worth doing.
    People need to stop getting tested for no reason- and even if people have symptoms but aren’t unwell they need to isolate themselves and their families. It’s the numbers that are being used to retain lockdown,
    So stop testing people to bring the numbers down? Genius :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,057 ✭✭✭✭titan18

spakman wrote: »
    But if their test comes back negative, then it doesn't impact thr numbers being used to justify lockdown.
    Are you suggesting people with symptoms shouldn't get tested!?

Tbf, there's a difference between being tested with clear symptoms of covid and being tested with no clear symptoms like the two cases in that post. If everyone with a headache got tested, you'd be testing thousands for no reason imo.