Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

patnor1011 wrote: »
    After a year of being bombarded daily with scary hypothetical predictions and end of the world scenario stories some people gave up hope.
    Covid become almost religion regardless that there are more scarier things out there.

I was watching a podcast and some fella was on about the whole Covidanity thing. Rituals like putting on your mask, standing on circles and washing your hands are a secular example of blessing yourself, taking communion etc. I’m not sold on it but it’s an interesting theory all the same.

Covid Derangement Syndrome is a real thing amongst some people. The religious checking of case numbers and deaths, tuning into RTE bad news ever night has to be taking a toll on people mental well being. Some people are so afraid they’ve come to see any sort of social contact as a terrifying scary thing. You’ll never be able to get this out of the minds of some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I think the term Zero Covid has become too politically charged. But Finland is something we can and should aspire to, in order to get meaningful suppression.
    I've known of one person who tested positive for the virus who was out and about just doing their normal thing. It's absolutely infuriating. And we've all this attention on people going on holidays or walking along a beach, while the people with the actual virus are not monitored or restricted in any way.

If you test positive, you should be made to stay at home. If you won't, we should provide quarantine hospitals. We've done this before with TB.

I cannot understand our enforcement regime. As far as I'm concerned it's all to be seen to be doing something while actually doing very little to address the biggest risks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,559 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

This thread has gone nuts.
    If you point out something obvious like the glaring gaps in allowing new strains in and the dangers that MAY bring, your being labelled some sort of religious like nut who has a covid derangement syndrome!
    LMAO mad! Keep those heads in the sandpits now lads!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

patnor1011 wrote: »
    After a year of being bombarded daily with scary hypothetical predictions and end of the world scenario stories some people gave up hope.
    Covid become almost religion regardless that there are more scarier things out there.

As opposed to "it'll be grand hypothetical projections" I'd say was more like a religion in that it wasn't based in fact or evidence.

Then there's December. 3 weeks of relative normality and "a meaningful Christmas' (a religious event).

So we threw caution to the wind and kids couldn't go back to school, 1000 deaths and 100,000 cases and hospitals cancelling non elective.

If it'll be grand was a religion than the vitner's and bord failte were the church.

Now we have the evidence of what happens when it's no bother to open up it'll quickly be ignored.

Roll on summer 2021, go get a tan and pinky promise swear that you'll isolate because we really don't want another more transmissible variant AGAIN. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

tom1ie wrote: »
    This thread has gone nuts.
    If you point out something obvious like the glaring gaps in allowing new strains in and the dangers that MAY bring, your being labelled some sort of religious like nut who has a covid derangement syndrome!
    LMAO mad! Keep those heads in the sandpits now lads!!

There doesn't seem to be any moderation or in-between allowed. If you express any concern over covid you're apparently a bed wetting, curtain twitching, deranged doom monger who has also started worshipping a new religion...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

I think the term Zero Covid has become too politically charged. But Finland is something we can and should aspire to, in order to get meaningful suppression.

Absolutely. It's been hijacked now and just too divisive.

I was listening to Philip Nolan earlier and he is very much in favour of nearly everything that 'zero covid' stands for.

His only issue is with advocates professing that we will be able to definitely achieve zero case numbers, and open up fully in a few months.

Besides that, himself, nephet and practically every scientist worth his salt want the same approach.

Strict hotel quarantine and travel protection, and a robust test and isolate system.

90 percent of the public want the same thing. It's just up to the politicians now to do their job and protect us.

There doesn't seem to be any moderation or in-between allowed. If you express any concern over covid you're apparently a bed wetting, curtain twitching, deranged doom monger who has also started worshipping a new religion...

I’ve taken this covid seriously since the start. Put there was no mention of any new strains until the vaccine rollout. There’s always been excuses given for new, progressively more draconian restrictions at every turn. It’s just two weeks to flatten the curve, It’s just until masks are made mandatory, it’s just until the second lockdown is over , it’s just until the vaccine, it’s just until we beat the new strain, it’s just until there’s zero covid etc etc. It goes both ways, if you don’t trust everything NPHET and the government says some would label you a covid denier or a tinfoil hat conspiracy theorist.

Absolutely nuts. I can see why we are in the mess we are in tbh!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Parachutes wrote: »
    True, for people of a certain age group or people with underlying conditions.

The flu mutates ever year and there’s a new flu jab that comes out and unfortunately a lot of vulnerable people die, but we don’t vaccinate every Tom, Dick and Harry (Atleast we didn’t) for the flu season every year.

Again, it's not the flu. That's why we need to vaccinate every tom dick and harry

And until we've vaccinated people in their 50's and 60's it will remain as much worse than flu for a while. As of January 7th in the UK 315,000 people had been hospitalised with COVID. 92,000 of these hospitalisations were under 64 years of age, now obviously vast majority of those were in their 50's and early 60's but until this age group is vaccinated COVID will remain a major health issue
    https://coronavirus.data.gov.uk/details/healthcare
    https://www.bbc.com/news/health-55586994

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Again, it's not the flu. That's why we need to vaccinate every tom dick and harry

And until we've vaccinated people in their 50's and 60's it will remain as much worse than flu for a while. As of January 7th in the UK 315,000 people had been hospitalised with COVID. 92,000 of these hospitalisations were under 64 years of age, now obviously vast majority of those were in their 50's and early 60's but until this age group is vaccinated COVID will remain a major health issue

So are you for easing of lockdowns once these demographics have been vaccinated or no?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

So are you for easing of lockdowns once these demographics have been vaccinated or no?

I was addressing your point that we didn't need to vaccinate many outside of the vulnerable groups at high risk of death from COVID. A major vaccination campaign of late middle aged/young pensioners is very much necessary to reduce threat of COVID to public health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

bb1234567 wrote: »

You are not being specific enough. It should say, until the vulnerable in this age group have been vaccinated if it is to be accurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

I’ve taken this covid seriously since the start. Put there was no mention of any new strains until the vaccine rollout. There’s always been excuses given for new, progressively more draconian restrictions at every turn. It’s just two weeks to flatten the curve, It’s just until masks are made mandatory, it’s just until the second lockdown is over , it’s just until the vaccine, it’s just until we beat the new strain, it’s just until there’s zero covid etc etc. It goes both ways, if you don’t trust everything NPHET and the government says some would label you a covid denier or a tinfoil hat conspiracy theorist.

It's pretty simple though. Keep the cases under 100 or so. Any measures taken revolve around the numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

tom1ie wrote: »
    I know this may sound counter productive at the moment considering vaccines are in such short supply, but we should be putting a mechanism in for every advanced (1st world) country to start donating 10% of vaccines to 3rd world countries.
    Reason being if massive numbers continue to be infected in 3rd world countries this could lead to new strains of covid emerging that could be “immune” to the vaccine which put us back to square one.
    Two methods of preparing for this are either making sure everyone on earth gets access to vaccines and or quarantining all travellers into the country for 2 weeks until they test negative.
    Ya I posted this too

The naked greed of countries like israel and the UK and even the EU is unseemly

It is the best strategy for them politically to vaccinate their own and close the borders and then vaccinate the 3rd world

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

polesheep wrote: »
    You are not being specific enough. It should say, until the vulnerable in this age group have been vaccinated if it is to be accurate.

We're all potentially vulnerable

There's plenty of people with no underlying conditions that get a bad dose and require oxygen.

You need to pay more attention. This is just lazy

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Malcomex wrote: »
    Ya I posted this too

The naked greed of countries like israel and the UK and even the EU is unseemly

It is the best strategy for them politically to vaccinate their own and close the borders and then vaccinate the 3rd world
    Israel is a special case, as their data will tell us how it will all work out.

We're all potentially vulnerable

There's plenty of people with no underlying conditions that get a bad dose and require oxygen.

You need to pay more attention. This is just lazy

You keep using the word 'plenty'. Can you be more specific? Because every statistic I've seen indicates that it is a very tiny percentage.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Israel is a special case, as their data will tell us how it will all work out.

We won't have the complete picture that quickly

Variants and boosters are an unknown quantity yet

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

This weekend has been the hardest of this lockdown for me, the weather has been absolutely proxy. Got out for runs but couldn’t get smallies out until now. They were stir crazy, at least last year weather was decent. Have stepped away from news as much as possible, but really sick of it now. Was so hopeful for 2021, vaccines and a bit of normality, hopefully it happens. The numbers all going right way, just trying to be hopeful school opens again soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Anyone trying to understand mutants and why they occurred. "Measles evolves but it doesn't change materially as it has reached a steady state in humans"

Sars-covid 2 is a long way off a steady state. High risk.

Podcast well worth a listen with experts from UK, US and SA.

https://twitter.com/rjlessells/status/1355780970365005828?s=20

We won't have the complete picture that quickly

Variants and boosters are an unknown quantity yet

Over the next 3-6 months, yes we will. The point still stands, they will completed a full country programme. That's very valuable for Pfizer and everyone else.

How will we have the complete picture in 3-6 months

The future is very uncertain for the foreseeable

We will have the basic 1st gen picture from israel's vaccination program

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

polesheep wrote: »
    You keep using the word 'plenty'. Can you be more specific? Because every statistic I've seen indicates that it is a very tiny percentage.

Back in December 36.7% of those hospitalised had no underlying conditions or no known underlying conditions.

You should read the HPSC reports.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

If our government wanted to get rid of Covid it would have.

Covid is with us because it allows for control. Covid will be banished when the government decides it has run its course and we have been broken enough.

Covid would have been wiped out by July if Mehole and Leo were put on 350 per week until the job was done.

Nonsense.

How will we have the complete picture in 3-6 months

The future is very uncertain for the foreseeable

We will have the basic 1st gen picture from israel's vaccination program
    Yeah, we're starting the 1st generation and would like to see that picture. You seem to be suggesting there is no value whatsoever to that.

Back in December 36.7% of those hospitalised had no underlying conditions or no known underlying conditions.

You should read the HPSC reports.

Seriously, you are being deliberately evasive and trying to twist what has been said. That figure quoted above has zero relevance to the discussion regarding under 65s who are vulnerable.

And please lose the condescending, teacher-like tone.

Yeah, we're starting the 1st generation and would like to see that picture. You seem to be suggesting there is no value whatsoever to that.

No not at all the wires must have got crossed

We won’t have a complete picture of variants outside of Israel in 3-6 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Was today's positive swab count reported?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

The family of NHS fundraiser Captain Sir Tom Moore say the 100-year-old is being treated for pneumonia in hospital and has tested positive for Covid-19

- Sky news

bah....tis a shame