Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Martin and the Shamrock fiasco

• Registered Users Posts: 47 eireholidays

Maybe I missed it but has it been confirmed yet he is going?

Il ask if Biden is as stupid as Mickey and invites him, will he travel alone?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,121 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Maybe I missed it but has it been confirmed yet he is going?

No it has not been confirmed.

No invitation has issued from the White House so all this speculation while interesting may be fruitless.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

quokula wrote: »
    you'd have to either be a complete idiot or intentionally disingenuous to not recognise the difference between flouting the rules and conducting government business in the interest of the country.

Not to mention the thousands of couriers and others who travelled and continue to travel across borders because essential business is essential business. Should we be demonising them because they get to travel to other countries as part of their job?

A pretty accurate summary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

elperello wrote: »
    No it has not been confirmed.

No invitation has issued from the White House so all this speculation while interesting may be fruitless.

Seems a lot of outrage still over something which might never happen. Idle hands

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Whatever about this year, and to add I'm only reiterating what a poster said earlier: it's a face to face meeting once a year that any small nation would jump through hoops for. Sure there is the cringy paddy-whackery element however it's a small price to pay.
    And the question comes, what exactly are we getting out of a visit? It's a bit like me bringing a client to rugby or a meal and pints. It might not rain contracts the following morning however it does pay off.

First they came for the socialists...

Seems a lot of outrage still over something which might never happen. Idle hands

Its outrage as the leaders in The North to get the public on board the restrictions both said they would not attend this year if asked to attend.

Mickey has decided he will go if asked ignoring the we are all in this together.

My Holidays are booked for next month, cant wait now tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Feisar wrote: »
    Whatever about this year, and to add I'm only reiterating what a poster said earlier: it's a face to face meeting once a year that any small nation would jump through hoops for. Sure there is the cringy paddy-whackery element however it's a small price to pay.
    And the question comes, what exactly are we getting out of a visit? It's a bit like me bringing a client to rugby or a meal and pints. It might not rain contracts the following morning however it does pay off.

Unless you are a business owner who dislikes paddywhackery events and leaders with no regard for their own nations health and well being?

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭rdwight

Brian O'Donovan can be our Special Envoy until COVID passes.

That's exactly why we need to rush a replacement over there

blanch152 wrote: »
    If it was so unimportant over the years, why did Sinn Fein so often make a fuss about being there?

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/mar/16/gerry-adams-expresses-anger-after-being-denied-entry-to-white-house

Why was Gerry Adams so angry at being excluded in 2016?

This all sounds like sour grapes from Sinn Fein about not being able to go. They have no problem with Louise O'Reilly breaching distance guidelines for a TV appearance, but the Taoiseach going to Washington for important business for Ireland is a different thing.

The Taoiseach would be putting his own country first by going to Washington.

I seem to remember Mary Lou found she urgently had to attend a SF fund raiser in US the day of Michael D inauguration. Showed the same degree of gracelessness as Trump

I'd prefer MM didn't go. But let's put the access we get in context. We're thinking of refusing an invite if we get one while the Israelis are sweating over not even having got a phone call

https://www.washingtonpost.com/gdpr-consent/?next_url=https%3a%2f%2fwww.washingtonpost.com%2fworld%2fmiddle_east%2fbiden-netanyahu-phone-snub%2f2021%2f02%2f11%2f14c72f32-6c64-11eb-a66e-e27046e9e898_story.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

I thought MM said a while back no decisions had been made due to covid and so much being up in the air. I’m obviously not quoting verbatim.
    This is nothing more than political games to get people wound up. The same people who rarely read the article and just work off the click bate headline, easy target audience.

Optically it looks bad but it’s work. People already fly in and out of Ireland for work. I would think MM poses less risk as he isn’t going to be stood in immigration for over 2 hours or mingling through the airport like other travelers would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Dominic Cummings fallout is exactly what is on my mind when thinking of how this will be perceived.

That was catastrophic for the UK response. It will make a good case study when the dust settles.

People are weary and looking for any excuse to be non compliant and this might be handing them one on a platter.

The difference now is if people here are non compliant and fly abroad its now a 2,000 euro fine at the airport. UK far more draconian with a prison sentence up to 10 years. Either way there is finally a consequence for non compliance and people heading off on holidays.
    quokula wrote: »
    Dominic Cummings made a personal trip with his family to a tourist spot while displaying symptoms of covid, and was rightly criticised for it.

Many UK politicians were travelling for essential government business at the same time. Boris Johnson travelled to Brussels for Brexit negotiations for example. This was not criticised, because you'd have to either be a complete idiot or intentionally disingenuous to not recognise the difference between flouting the rules and conducting government business in the interest of the country.

Not to mention the thousands of couriers and others who travelled and continue to travel across borders because essential business is essential business. Should we be demonising them because they get to travel to other countries as part of their job?

Or the rugby team playing in Wales, no one is demonising them for heading abroad (and rightly so). Yet somehow the leader of our country meeting the most powerful man in the world shouldnt happen, this does not compute. And for those that thinks it gives them an excuse to be childish and selfish and head off abroad on holidays then they can stump up the 2,000 euro fine to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Any truth that FG will back the trip so long as MM stands aside six month early?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

The mob already forced us to shoot ourselves in the foot with the forced resignation of Phil Hogan (we saw how well this has worked out in recent weeks when gone native Mairead couldn't be arsed to read the proposal to put up a hard border in this country). I hope nobody will listen to them this time if An Taoiseach receives and accepts an invitation this year.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The difference now is if people here are non compliant and fly abroad its now a 2,000 euro fine at the airport. UK far more draconian with a prison sentence up to 10 years. Either way there is finally a consequence for non compliance and people heading off on holidays.

Or the rugby team playing in Wales, no one is demonising them for heading abroad (and rightly so). Yet somehow the leader of our country meeting the most powerful man in the world shouldnt happen, this does not compute. And for those that thinks it gives them an excuse to be childish and selfish and head off abroad on holidays then they can stump up the 2,000 euro fine to do so.

Nonsense people are getting dropped off at the McDonalds beside the airport and walking to terminal, not passing any checkpoints.

I live in the area and the Gardai are in the same area every day.

I could walk over now and get into the terminal without seeing the Gardai numerous ways.

Theres also people using Dublin as a stop over coming from Dubai to get into UK. They dont leave the airport.

Its outrage as the leaders in The North to get the public on board the restrictions both said they would not attend this year if asked to attend.

Mickey has decided he will go if asked ignoring the we are all in this together.

My Holidays are booked for next month, cant wait now tbh

What has the North got to do with the Rep of Ireland? different country

Nonsense people are getting dropped off at the McDonalds beside the airport and walking to terminal, not passing any checkpoints.

I could walk over now and get into the terminal without seeing the Gardai numerous ways.

Theres also people using Dublin as a stop over coming from Dubai to get into UK. They dont leave the airport.

Euronews reported this as "The Dublin Dodge: yesterday morning,

- We share an island
    - Our Govt couldnt be arsed talking to them regarding passenger forms (not even a reply a year on)
    - Hundreds of Frontline Staff/Teachers etc... live and work on both sides of the border
    - Anytime SF ask a Qs, FF and FG asw it by talking about Northern Ireland
    -. Did you miss the issue last week with Article 16
    - Our Govt are still crying about a funeral that took place in said country 11 months ago
    - The DUP (members of Stormont) attend FG meetings to discuss things
    - Loads more

Can you even name the six counties?

The Gardai are inside the airport checking passengers too, they showed them on the news the other night. Dishing out the 2,000 euro fines will be like shooting fish in a barrel when they are standing right there at the boarding pass check in

• Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Sinn fein supporters on here puttin themselves first and the country second........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Even with half a brain you know an Taoiseach should attend......but feck that it might damage sin fein in the next election...

The Gardai are inside the airport checking passengers too, they showed them on the news the other night. Dishing out the 2,000 euro fines will be like shooting fish in a barrel when they are standing right there at the boarding pass check in

Im going to visit a sick relative, Bye Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭timeToLive

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Even with half a brain you know an Taoiseach should attend......but feck that it might damage sin fein in the next election...

and with a full one you know an Taoiseach shouldn't :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,345 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Puttin' flowers on me mam's grave in Tenerife Guard.

BENDYBINN wrote: »

Try enforcing a 5km limit when MM and his entourage are wandering in Washington, do as I say not as I do, only party hes damaging is FF,

You can go beyond the 5k limit for work, groceries etc.

Fair play to them, hopefully the money is given to charity

SF had no problem breaking the 5km range when one of them wanted to get onto TV the other day. I would think if he does go to the US that is a bit more important than getting onto the TV for a few mins

Puttin' flowers on me mam's grave in Tenerife Guard.

The 2,000 euro fine is an on the spot fine, if you want to contest it you'll have to prove to a judge your mother is buried in Tenerife. They have burial records in Spain so it will be up to you to prove it, otherwise that will be 2,000 euros.

Gardai are reasonable but they love coming down like a ton of bricks on people who think they can beat the system. I can see those who try being found out, ending up in court and then being the subject of a good story in the tabloids.