Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mr Martin and the Shamrock fiasco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Utterly sensible decision for what is an utterly, embarrassing, Cringe fest and vomit enducing annual spectle. I once saw merit in this yearly event but after watching Leaky Leo act like a lapdog around Trump and especially Pence, I thought, enough of this absurd nonsense. All that's required is to show Biden and Martin how to use Zoom.

Yes, keeping US and Irish relations strong is utterly embarrassing. People working in MNC which majority come from the states only pay 21% of all income tax. Sure why would we need that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

It's disgraceful. Mícheál Martin should do like Arleen Foster and Michelle O'Neill done, and turn down an invite that he didn't get. Anything else is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Michaél should have declared his intention not to be travelling to the USA for this year only, and because of an unprecedented health pandemic early on, made a statement about how the yearly meeting is important, and he'd hope to visit asap ,and vise versa when safe to do so, and make some announcement about zoom/teams etc.

Instead, he said he was waiting on an invitation....... And ultimately his fate was decided for him.

Sadly, I can't help get the feeling the people who will be mocking this the most behind the scenes are his partners in govt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

McMurphy wrote: »
    Michaél should have declared his intention not to be travelling to the USA for this year only, and because of an unprecedented health pandemic early on, made a statement about how the yearly meeting is important, and he'd hope to visit asap ,and vise versa when safe to do so, and make some announcement about zoom/teams etc.

Instead, he said he was waiting on an invitation....... And ultimately his fate was decided for him.

Sadly, I can't help get the feeling the people who will be mocking this the most behind the scenes are his partners in govt.

I can see MM getting elbowed out of any photo op when Joe comes over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,734 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The only people it is embarrassing for is the ones shouting on roaring about this for weeks when it was never confirmed it would happen.

The last statement from MM was that he would wait and see, it would all depend on Covid. Nothing has changed. Why would it be embarrassing for him?

Bit of a shocker for Huff&Puff party member breaking the lockdown to get all outraged on TV for nothing. What will we get outraged about next week?

I'm not outraged CF1, I'm delighted somebody had sense (The US in this case) and pulled the pin on it.
    Micheál missed a huge chance to prove he was his own man, but now instead looks a bit sad and clingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

So, now that's cleared up, will there now be a new thread for the perpetually outraged about something that might take place in June or something?

I'd say there's still some mileage left in the Garda v Shinner funeral yet from June 2020 nevermind 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Ramasun

12th of July maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Yes, keeping US and Irish relations strong is utterly embarrassing. People working in MNC which majority come from the states only pay 21% of all income tax. Sure why would we need that

Seriously do you think exchanging shamrock really helps maintain international relations and economic ties, its all about the Tax or in apples case lack of.

There is quite enough of an Irish American diaspora to insure relations with Ireland will remain intact. Besides given what is going on in the world right now, its utterly absurd to suggest this 3 day junket was essential.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,233 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Ramasun wrote: »
    12th of July maybe?

Good idea, that gives plenty of scope for ranting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

micosoft wrote: »
    I didn't say head of state - he still has the most important executive role in the land. Your last line reveals you to be a keyboard anti-democrat so I'm out.
    Yes you most certainly did state "head of state". It's a direct quote from your post. And if you support the anti-democratic Micheál Martin who was rejected by the people within the 26-Counties then you are also anti-democratic. Whereas I support the right of the Irish people to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible. I recognise that the sovereignty and unity of the 32-County Irish Republic are inalienable and non-judicable. Mickey Martin is an affront to the Irish Nation, and the true Republic.

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Seriously do you think exchanging shamrock really helps maintain international relations and economic ties, its all about the Tax or in apples case lack of.

There is quite enough of an Irish American diaspora to insure relations with Ireland will remain intact. Besides given what is going on in the world right now, its utterly absurd to suggest this 3 day junket was essential.

How do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm unsure how Ireland will survive forgoing the annual head pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,665 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'd imagine its the low corpo tax that attracts most US companies to this country not the photo op with the President on Paddys Day, if Macron ever gets his way and its changed to what it is in other EU countries thats when we need to start worrying.

However thats not to say its of no benefit getting a meeting with the President of the US, its an opportunity a lot of small countries would like to have.

I'd imagine its the low corpo tax that attracts most US companies to this country not the photo op with the President on Paddys Day, if Macron ever gets his way and its changed to what it is in other EU countries thats when we need to start worrying.

However thats not to say its of no benefit getting a meeting with the President of the US, its an opportunity a lot of small countries would like to have.

We have bigger issue than France and Macron, Huff&Puff party want to screw the whole thing up for everyone. Cheered on by the jealous supporters.

Embaressing that this was even a thing and people were adament he should go.

Even Martin himself was keen for it on the airwaves yesterday almost calling out for the invite. Biden Admin must have shut the notion down today.

In a technological era, there is no need for the face to face midst pandemic.

Embaressing that this was even a thing and people were adament he should go.

Even Martin himself was keen for it on the airwaves yesterday almost calling out for the invite. Biden Admin must have shut the notion down today.

In a technological era, there is no need for the face to face midst pandemic.

The...'I'll go an check' answer from the US official was cringe...nearly as cringe as Varadkar dobbing himself in while fawning over Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Mary Lou and Kamala Harris have a date March 17 2022, eh Francie? ;)

Possible alright, the way Micheál is headed. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭rdwight

I think a big thank you is in order to all the keyboard warriors who worked so hard over the last few days to ensure Michael didn't make a horrendous mistake on this issue. Especial thanks to the SF posters who stay up til 1 or 2 am last night to make sure their insight was shared. Is this officially a non-story now? Or was it a non-story all along?

It is funny the back peddling from the permanently outraged. I never seen so many posts/tweet etc trying to cover up for the embarrassment of giving out for the last few weeks about something that was never confirmed as going to happen.
    Does give a good insight into the people that no matter what the government does good or bad they will run around shouting and roaring that it is all terrible.

A lot of hate in people
    #politicofhatred

It is funny the back peddling from the permanently outraged. I never seen so many posts/tweet etc trying to cover up for the embarrassment of giving out for the last few weeks about something that was never confirmed as going to happen.
    Does give a good insight into the people that no matter what the government does good or bad they will run around shouting and roaring that it is all terrible.

A lot of hate in people
    #politicofhatred

It was only "never confirmed was going to happen" because Michaél didn't get the official invite.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said that if he is invited to the White House to mark St Patrick’s Day, he will attend.

He said he'd go, if he got invited.

He's only not going because the Whitehouse have thankfully the cop on needed to temporarily suspended it this year, and decline to invite him.

Yes, while staff in hospitals hold the hands of dying patients in their final minutes on this earth because of families not being allowed into hospitals, while children are being home schooled, young people not socialising, people out of work, furloughed, working at home etc etc etc, Michaél was still going to head to the states on an unashamedly self ego boost.

Turns out it could have, and now will be taking place virtually instead, and I'm sure it'll be back to normal hopefully this time next year when some kind of normally is restored please God.

I'm not sure what the "backpedaling" reference is tbh, the people who were critical about MM saying he'd be going if he's invited, will now apparently be backpedaling because the yanks took the feet from out of him by cancelling the event, and telling him it'll happen online now instead, which is exactly what those people who were critical of the proposed trip were suggesting anyway?

How do they "backpedal" from something going to proceed in the manner they've q been suggesting?

Did you think this through before posting it?

Embarrassing isn't it, all faux outrage and nothing at the end of it. Very very embarrassing.

Not sure why you feel the need to drag the hospitals and people dying into it. Everyone in Ireland is aware of what is happening with this pandemic, I am sure the families of loved one or hospital staff don't like been used as a points scoring exercise on boards. Shameful carry on

If it was me I would never post something like that.

But maybe show some decency and just delete the post, this is a public forum and young children can have access to it. What would they think if one of their parents are in hospital or working in a hospital. Next time think before you post.

A lot of hate in people
    #politicofhatred

You seen 'tweets' again...but no links to them? :D:D

BTW: I knew it wasn't confirmed...especially when all those ministers were pushed out to say he was going and that he should go. Which is why a politics forum began 'discussing it'.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

rdwight wrote: »
    I think a big thank you is in order to all the keyboard warriors who worked so hard over the last few days to ensure Michael didn't make a horrendous mistake on this issue. Especial thanks to the SF posters who stay up til 1 or 2 am last night to make sure their insight was shared. Is this officially a non-story now? Or was it a non-story all along?

Was a non story forever, only the foolish were worried about it at 1am :)

Embarrassing isn't it, all faux outrage and nothing at the end of it. Very very embarrassing.

Not sure why you feel the need to drag the hospitals and people dying into it. Everyone in Ireland is aware of what is happening with this pandemic, I am sure the families of loved one or hospital staff like been used as a points scoring exercise on boards. Shameful carry on

Maybe just delete the post, next time think before you post, this is a public forum and young children could have access to it. What would they think if one of their parents are in hospital or working in a hospital

You don't know why I am bringing the deaths of people during a pandemic, despite the fact he was still going to go (had he been invited) to the States, despite millions of us under lockdown, people furloughed, people who lost their jobs, young people not able to socialise, and kids not in school because of the pandemic....

And you don't know why I mentioned it?

It's because of the pandemic that people were saying he shouldn't be going swanning off on a trip, and that it should be done this year online instead, so it's kind of fuppin pertinent, don't ya think?

Was that a serious reply you just typed out?

McMurphy wrote: »

It's because of the pandemic that people were saying he shouldn't be going swanning off on a trip, and that it should be done this year online instead, so it's kind of fuppin pertinent, don't ya think?

He never said he was going and he isn't going. Did you miss that bit?

But he did say he'd be going - if he was invited, it's literally posted just a few posts before this ^^^^

Here we go again.

Why would you post something that is so piss easily proved to be untrue/false - it's really odd behaviour tbh.

Yes he did...on radio. He said he would go if invited.

In actual fact, and this is the embarrassing bit, he was told he wasn't going by the Americans after an Irish reporter asked them if the event was going ahead.

Utter cringe level stuff.