Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 68,842 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    No, wait a minute, you didn't answer the question.

I think even you would agree that a meeting of the Taoiseach with the President of the United States is a bit more essential than a TV programme on Virgin Media?

Or maybe you don't. Spill it and tell us.

This year = no, I don't think it is essential at all.

All parties seem to have agreed to send their TD's to TV studios to do interviews...you can't single out one for criticism...that would be hypocritical.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

This year = no, I don't think it is essential at all.

All parties seem to have agreed to send their TD's to TV studios to do interviews...you can't single out one for criticism...that would be hypocritical.

I am only criticising the parties that hypocritically say that Martin shouldn't go to Washington. That would be Labour and Sinn Fein to date.

A party which sends their TDs to TV studios as essential business and who thinks Martin should go to Washington as essential business isn't being hypoctritical.

Do people really think martin going to washington,while effecitvely banning everyone else from leaving the state,is a good idea

Are ffg this out of touch with the general population?

Do people really think that Louise O'Reilly travelling 30km to a TV studio is more essential than Martin going to Washington?

Get real, the country has to keep doing business.

Do people really think that Louise O'Reilly travelling 30km to a TV studio is more essential than Martin going to Washington?

It isn't a case of 'more or less'. Why is your stock defence of FF/FG a comparison to what the Shinners are doing blanch?
    All parties have been sending reps to TV studios, since the begining of the pandemic.

This year I don't think Micheál's trip is essential...there are more essential things he could achieve by not going.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,482 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

That’s the problem, B, these people really do think that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

In relation to the above argument...
    Unfortunately, Sf are so captivated by their own ideology that they do now fully beliven that the provable 2+2 is 5.
    To quote Orwell 'war is peace'
    Its a sad state of affairs, and now they are slowly starting to corrupt young people to their means.
    To quote another 'you can not argue with fanatics'

DAN

Dan.

In relation to the above argument...
    Unfortunately, Sf are so captivated by their own ideology that they do now fully beliven that the provable 2+2 is 5.
    To quote Orwell 'war is peace'
    Its a sad state of affairs, and now they are slowly starting to corrupt young people to their means.
    To quote another 'you can not argue with fanatics'

DAN

What's 'their means'?

It would be interesting to see somebody lay out what it is SF want.

That’s the problem, B, these people really do think that.

It really is incredible to see such blind prejudice that reason gets thrown out of the window.

A hugely important meeting for the Taoiseach in Washington at the start of the Biden administration which has implications for Britain, the EU and this island, and somehow, there are posters who think that is less essential travel than Louise O'Reilly (or any other male or female politician) travelling 30km to go to a TV studio for an interview when the only difference to doing it from home is that the TV studio will professionally apply make-up!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭jh79

What's 'their means'?

It would be interesting to see somebody lay out what it is SF want.

I can't make my mine up whether they are a PBP /Rise lite and want to turn us into a Socialist basket case (not intentionally)

or

Just populist as a means to get in power to try and get a UI.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

I can't for the life of me understand why either meeting can't be done remotely.

Myself and thousands of other people have been able to manage fine with video conferencing for months now, I'm perplexed as to why our finest minds can't get together and work out how to do a news interview or have a chat with Joe Biden via Zoom.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Fionn1952 wrote: »
    I can't for the life of me understand why either meeting can't be done remotely.

Myself and thousands of other people have been able to manage fine with video conferencing for months now, I'm perplexed as to why our finest minds can't get together and work out how to do a news interview or have a chat with Joe Biden via Zoom.

Mehole is itching to get over with his big bowl of shamrock to hand it to Joe. It's no worse than the leak pissing off last year to Trump and announcing we were going into lockdown.

grayzer75 wrote: »
    Mehole is itching to get over with his big bowl of shamrock to hand it to Joe. It's no worse than the leak pissing off last year to Trump and announcing we were going into lockdown.

If he was heading over to butter them up for investment in a UI would your opinion change?

jh79 wrote: »
    If he was heading over to butter them up for investment in a UI would your opinion change?

No, we're in the middle of a pandemic with non essential banned - I'm sure somebody can show Mehole how to use zoom or teams, even the Healy Rae's have managed it ffs.

grayzer75 wrote: »

You can get a cream for that in any pharmacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

The point is here, every single party has sent people into TV studios from the get go. Yet one gets singled out. Speaks for it self.

And I think the Taoiseach self sacrificing in what is essentially a PR trip would do serious good here and send an important meesage that we actually are in this together.
    Send Vicky Phelan and you have a massive feel good event everyone can get behind.

Send vicky phelan, are you in that camp too?
    Did anyone ask vicky if she's fit for that or even if she wanted to?
    I don't think MM should go, but plucking out names from a hat like, is ridiculous too.
    I hope Vicky is doing well, but you should leave the poor woman out of your conversation.

You can get a cream for that in any pharmacy.

:D, piles of it. :D

a united ireland will pay for itself several times over,no need for investment imo

So could Bitcoin but you have the buy the fecking thing first :D.

Send vicky phelan, are you in that camp too?
    Did anyone ask vicky if she's fit for that or even if she wanted to?
    I don't think MM should go, but plucking out names from a hat like, is ridiculous too.
    I hope Vicky is doing well, but you should leave the poor woman out of your conversation.

Nobody suggested forcing her, before you go off on another round of misrepresentation.

If not her, then there are plenty distinguished Irish already in the States that could be asked.

Where is the suggestion that Vicky Phelan should go coming from? Jaysus!

She is already in the States. The general suggestion was that somebody like her, who has distinguished us all, should be asked to attend.

That's just silly.

I would suggest the Irish ambassador delivers the shamrock as per tradition then Joe and Mehole crack open a few cans of Murphy's or Beamish over Zoom / Teams / HouseParty and have a bit of socially distanced craic, job done.

Nobody suggested forcing her, before you go off on another round of misrepresentation.

If not her, then there are plenty distinguished Irish already in the States that could be asked.

That is just nonsensical. It is not an awards ceremony or a party, it is an occasion for doing serious business between two Heads of State. Gerry Adams was screaming blue murder a few years back at being excluded which backs me up.

It must be strange for you to see myself and Gerry Adams on the opposite side of a debate to you.

Like whom?

Like whom?

Probably people like this:

Mark Guilfoyle
    President,
    Friends of Sinn Féin USA

Emmet Duffy
    Director of Operations,
    Friends of Sinn Féin USA

She is already in the States. The general suggestion was that somebody like her, who has distinguished us all, should be asked to attend.

I get the sentiment but that was probably the worst example you could pick.

Or we could use commonsense and follow the science here,and reduce social interactions in middle of a highly transmissible pandemic

Ive not seen my mates since feb last year,missed weddings etc,while ffg are allowed jet off to washingtom to hand over a bowl of shamrock??

Deosnt seem fair to me

Because seeing your mates for a beer isn't an essential service.

Keeping the flow of FDI going into the country in the middle of a pandemic is.

Or we could use commonsense and follow the science here,and reduce social interactions in middle of a highly transmissible pandemic

Ive not seen my mates since feb last year,missed weddings etc,while ffg are allowed jet off to washingtom to hand over a bowl of shamrock??

Deosnt seem fair to me

He and whoever goes with him will have been vaccinated, will fly by private jet and be in the company of other vaccinated people. They will all self isolate after.

If the voting public didn't punish SF in the opinion polls over that scumbags funeral I can't see them having a problem with visiting Biden.

Deosnt seem fair to me

Nor will it to many others.
    It's definitely a perception issue for me. Even if politicians agree or disagree, the people who are stuck locked down will see it as a alright for you quadruple fine for me issue.
    There's very little to be gained by it right now.
    A lot to be gained by showing solidarity with the people, something politicians from all sides have lacked prior to this.

He and whoever goes with him will have been vaccinated, will fly by private jet and be in the company of other vaccinated people. They will all self isolate after.

If the voting public didn't punish SF in the opinion polls over that scumbags funeral I can't see them having a problem with visiting Biden.

And on the 1pm News the WHO is warning that thinking the vaccine allows you to drop your guard is wrong and unwise.
    But, let's ignore the warning and persist with this trip...what message does that send?

Exactly the same message SF were rightly accused of sending when they made the mistake of attending the funeral.

Deosnt seem fair to me

Just shows how much you know about trade talks. They don’t take place in public over a bowl of shamrock!