Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

We all interpret what journalists say. Despite me clarifying again and again you STILL choose to lie. Says a lot.

The 'criminal' who is no longer a member of the party, since 2016? The database you know nothing about as yet?
    A few questions the party need to answer now
    What access had he and for how long and to what private details
    Do any of his associates,friends or relations currently have access,what is their risk profile with said access
    Are they Garda vetted

• Registered Users Posts: 68,857 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A few questions the party need to answer now
    What access had he and for how long and to what private details
    Do any of his associates,friends or relations currently have access,what is their risk profile with said access
    Are they Garda vetted

For you maybe.

I have too much going on in my life to be asking every organisation those kind of questions.

I'm happy that the DPC is investigating and will ensure they are compliant if they aren't already.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

We all interpret what journalists say. Despite me clarifying again and again you STILL choose to lie. Says a lot.

The 'criminal' who is no longer a member of the party, since 2016? The database you know nothing about as yet?

The gardai were were caught because of an investigation.
    An investigation into Abu is under way, perhaps let it conclude and give up the sensationalism. If SF have breached the protocols then they should be fined and made comply with the regulations as should anyone else who is not compliant.

Have Dessie Ellis and Martin Ferris left the party? There are plenty of criminals in Sinn Fein.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Have Dessie Ellis and Martin Ferris left the party? There are plenty of criminals in Sinn Fein.

Whenever you are ready to live up to the GFA that you say you voted in favour of, give me a shout.

Me? I accepted all the participants of the conflict/war into democratic politics and trust they are living up to their commitments.

Rather than snide comments, if you have any info on them behaving criminally you could take it to the authorities.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

We still don't know the answers to all this. The DPC is investigating it.

Hasn't stopped you sensationalising it for your legendary political purposes though. You are also lying about what posters said too, posters who quoted what the original journalist said.

A website/data system that you hold conferences on and distribute material on how to use can only be conceived of as a 'secret' in the minds of desperate conspiracy theorists who fear things that live only in their own heads and under their beds or people with an agenda - the Shinisterists.

I see a number of Gardai charged with corruption today...should we mount a sensationalist campaign to see if they had access to data? :rolleyes:

Jaysis do you ever take a day off. Wouldn't be as head wrecking reading your guff if it wasn't mired in such patent untruths and twisting of logic.

Who's talking about gardai? public service members have access to infosys and other databases like pulse.

But we're talking about SF abusing data protection rules.

Mary Lou - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mary-lou-mcdonald-admits-sinn-feins-secret-voter-database-was-not-in-compliance-with-data-protection-laws-40345727.html

if you're going to defend "a party i only voted for last GE" (yeah suuure) at least deal with the facts.The Sinn Féin leader conceded the party’s database had breached at least two data protection requirements.

So get up the garden with Shinisterists ****e

For you maybe.

Lol if this was an FG problem,you'd be all over it with questions
    Sauce for the Goose
    With every day and every post,(not that more are needed to be added to your 10's of 1000's) more nonsense is made of the claims of a flight to Sinn Féin for the higher moral ground :)
    Questions need to be answered as to what Dowdall had access to and do any of his associates friends or family still have access and are they Garda vetted or thrustworthy to have such access

Lol if this was an FG problem,you'd be all over it with questions
    Sauce for the Goose
    With every day and every post,(not that more are needed to be added to your 10's of 1000's) more nonsense is made of the claims of a flight to Sinn Féin for the higher moral ground :)
    Questions need to be answered as to what Dowdall had access to and do any of his associates friends or family still have access and are they Garda vetted or thrustworthy to have such access

Have you seen a question from me anywhere about who has access to FG FF etc data?

All I want to know is, are they compliant?

After that I trust that they are and I don't get all sensationalist about who has access.

BTW where in the regs is Garda vetting required? Is this just for SF you want this?

starkid wrote: »
    Jaysis do you ever take a day off. Wouldn't be as head wrecking reading your guff if it wasn't mired in such patent untruths and twisting of logic.

Who's talking about gardai? public service members have access to infosys and other databases like pulse.

But we're talking about SF abusing data protection rules.

Mary Lou - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mary-lou-mcdonald-admits-sinn-feins-secret-voter-database-was-not-in-compliance-with-data-protection-laws-40345727.html

if you're going to defend "a party i only voted for last GE" (yeah suuure) at least deal with the facts.The Sinn Féin leader conceded the party’s database had breached at least two data protection requirements.

So get up the garden with Shinisterists ****e

Calm down maybe? It's a 'discussion site'. If you don't want to discuss, may not be the place to be.

SF said they believed they were compliant, the DPC pointed out they weren't in two instances. They fixed this immediately.

That is what we know. We await further info from the DPC.

Have you seen a question from me anywhere about who has access to FG FF etc data?

After that I trust that they are and I don't get all sensationalist about who has access.

BTW where in the regs is Garda vetting required? Is this just for SF you want this?

The other parties dont have a crime gang association issue atm...
    Clearing things up would be a start
    Pulling out all the available stops :)

The other parties dont have a crime gang association issue atm...
    Clearing things up would be a start
    Pulling out all the available stops :)

Aren't they clearing it up with the regulator? Don't you trust the regulator either?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

For you maybe.

I have too much going on in my life to be asking every organisation those kind of questions.

I'm happy that the DPC is investigating and will ensure they are compliant if they aren't already.

Ha ha ha ha ha!

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Aren't they clearing it up with the regulator? Don't you trust the regulator either?

My point is,that the crime gang association is going to be coming up again and again untill its cleared up
    His access and any associates friends or family of his that have access goes beyond the regulators brief
    It raises public confidence issues

My point is,that the crime gang association is going to be coming up again and again untill its cleared up
    His access and any associates friends or family of his that have access goes beyond the regulators brief
    It raises public confidence issues

It raises confidence issues with some of the public who had them anyway...you mean.

I will say it again...my issue is compliance. If the DPC says they aren't, then fine them as per the regs and make them compliant - same as any other organisation that isn't.

After that, their data is as vulnerable as the data of every other organisation. If you wish to introduce specialist regs for parties you don't trust...good luck with that one.

Did you even read Dixon's comments about the ECJ and centralised databases?

This is not a FF problem, this is not a FG problem, this is a really big problem for Sinn Fein. Take your head out of the sand.

It raises confidence issues with some of the public who had them anyway...you mean.

I will say it again...my issue is compliance. If the DPC says they aren't, then fine them as per the regs and make them compliant - same as any other organisation that isn't.

After that, their data is as vulnerable as the data of every other organisation. If you wish to introduce specialist regs for parties you don't trust...good luck with that one.

If something Shinister was done with the data, and some of it fell into the hands of Dowdall's associates, it will be more than just fines they will be facing.

Did you even read Dixon's comments about the ECJ and centralised databases?

This is not a FF problem, this is not a FG problem, this is a really big problem for Sinn Fein. Take your head out of the sand.

It's not in the sand blanch.

Again, all I care about here is if they are compliant - or rather that they are all compliant.

I ain't the one talking about special powers to deal with one party's affairs and Garda vetting. :)

I suggested beefing up the powers and functions of the DPC to ensure everyone is not abusing data and is active in ensuring compliance rather than re-active, on the other thread and it was treated with indignation by some.

If something Shinister was done with the data, and some of it fell into the hands of Dowdall's associates, it will be more than just fines they will be facing.

Of course they should.
    Anyone who leaks data they aren't supposed to should face criminal investigation and the penalty for doing that.

The general public don't do crime gang associations
    You're just trying to save face here (unsucessfully) but I'll bet SF are scrambling hard in the background for strategies on the association with crime problem
    They need to be.

Of course they should.
    Anyone who leaks data they aren't supposed to should face criminal investigation and the penalty for doing that.

The person responsible in such a case would usually be the CEO, so in this case, the trustees or leaders of the party. Are you beginning to get a picture of the potential seriousness of this?

Doesn't the Sinn Fein omerta on this not give you cause to worry?

Fann Linn wrote: »
    The arrest of those Gardai also illustrates how difficult it is for any organisation, grouping or even a political party to assess and ensure their members are honest and upstanding.

That is why organisations, groupings and political parties are tasked with putting the correct infrastructure in place around data protection. Sinn Fein have already admitted that they didn't have the correct infrastructure in place. What they haven't addressed is whether there are more serious issues like the breach of the consent principle or lax procedures allowing data to be sold, leaked or shared.

The general public don't do crime gang associations
    You're just trying to save face here (unsucessfully) but I'll bet SF are scrambling hard in the background for strategies on the association with crime problem
    They need to be.

I think you are just calling in the 'general public' here in the same way as people proclaim 'who will think of the children'.

Dowdall's association and departure from SF has been through the 'general public' ringer in a very public way. SF got more votes than any other party in the following election.

The person responsible in such a case would usually be the CEO, so in this case, the trustees or leaders of the party. Are you beginning to get a picture of the potential seriousness of this?

Doesn't the Sinn Fein omerta on this not give you cause to worry?

Yes, I realise there may be a serious fine at the end of this.

I'll research how many CEO's and trustees have had to resign or who have faced the threat of imprisonment for breaches of GDPR and get back to you.

Yes, I realise there may be a serious fine at the end of this.

I'll research how many CEO's and trustees have had to resign or who have faced the threat of imprisonment for breaches of GDPR and get back to you.

Do that, and when doing so, please check how many organisations have profiled the voting intentions of every voter in the country on a centralised database without the consent of the voters and without any serious controls on access to the data.

Well I asked on the other thread why, if the data is properly protected, that should be a huge problem?

The world is changing, parties did this type of thing before in ad hoc ways, why hinder them if the intention is to use it for electoral purposes.

Not getting into that debate here, just saying I wouldn't have a huge issue with it, if handled properly.

I think you are just calling in the 'general public' here in the same way as people proclaim 'who will think of the children'.

Dowdall's association and departure from SF has been through the 'general public' ringer in a very public way. SF got more votes than any other party in the following election.

This is a newer threat to SF,unique to them in fact,an association with a criminal gang
    Cleaning up access to Abú from any associate,friend or relation of Dowdall would be prudent :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

If the ABU was fully GDPR compliant people would be shouting from the roof tops that Jonathan Dowdall had access to it. Its the same as the Gardai arrested today on corruption charges. The data they had access to is GDPR compliant, so how can guards guarantee none of their members are corrupt. They can't just like any political party can't guarantee none of their members are corrupt. Just think of the Monaghan councillor who took bribes.

Ok, I give up, can't find anything similar.

Can you show us the case histories you are basing your opinion on?

skimpydoo wrote: »
    If the ABU was fully GDPR compliant people would be shouting from the roof tops that Jonathan Dowdall had access to it. Its the same as the Gardai arrested today on corruption charges. The data they had access to is GDPR compliant, so how can guards guarantee none of their members are corrupt. They can't just like any political party can't guarantee none of their members are corrupt. Just think of the Monaghan councillor who took bribes.

Ah here, you tell us that you are a journalist. I don't know what kind of journalism it is, but it mustn't be in any technical area, as anyone with the slightest knowledge of GDPR would know that it isn't about whether the database is GDPR compliant, it is about whether consent, access, protections etc. are GDPR compliant.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/data-protection-commissioner-makes-first-public-comments-sincesinn-fein-secret-abu-database-40365649.html

As for the comparison to the Monaghan councillor, think about what the DPC said:

"Ms Dixon said there was a ruling from the European Court of Justice (ECJ) in 2016, in which the Judge Advocate General said that “it's these large data sets that are of primary importance, and the primary purpose of data protection law. It’s the reason why it's of primordial importance.”"

No other political party has a dataset like this, no other political party gives access to so much information to its members, no other political party has an issue so much in line with the ECJ concerns. This is a real story, and any journalist worth their salt would be all over it in the interests of the general public and getting to the bottom of it without recourse to whataboutery.

Ok, I give up, can't find anything similar.

Can you show us the case histories you are basing your opinion on?

Grand so, the database constructed by Sinn Fein is unique.

This is a newer threat to SF,unique to them in fact,an association with a criminal gang
    Cleaning up access to Abú from any associate,friend or relation of Dowdall would be prudent :)

:):) attempts to link SF to 'criminal gangs' are 'new'???

:):)