Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭Is this the end

FF nor FG have run the country with and us vs them. Both are not very far from the centre, FF slightly left and FG slightly right. You might recall how FF's social partnership deal pushed our public spending to unsustainable levels. Compare and contrast dole and pension payments north and south and tell us where us vs them is.

The only supporters that think their party has a right to be in government are SF fans who claim that they won the last election; despite the FFG they also denote as a single entity having twice as many seats. SF supporters don't seem to have a real grasp of how democracy works, which is not surprising for a political organization that is run top-down along the same lines as an army is.

Otherwise, the government that rules is the one that the people chose in their voting patterns.

Pension and social welfare rates are not decided by SF in the 6 counties.

FFG have failed in health, housing and education. They for years have let vulture funds buy up properties but now all of a sudden the public are aware of it, thanks to SF and others, its top priority to change whats happening, why did they not care for years?

Sinn Fein are the largest party in the island, Sinn Fein will more than likely be in Govt once this Govt of chaos is finished.

There's never an issue with China I notice when they come with big money looking to buy our stuff or stuff from the west.

'Gravitate' indeed.

China are infact a master class in hypocrisy worthy of Orwell's animal farm
    But anyway I think we've spent enough time on this tangent
    I'll leave those sides and others of the discussion to people who actually hate SF,I don't

• Registered Users Posts: 27,931 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Billcarson wrote: »
    I would imagine a number of countries in northern Europe .

Whatever sf do I will judge them when they get into power like everyone else.

So Sinn Fein want to increase taxes on people on the average wage?

I mean, be honest about it. Those countries can afford better public services because the person on the average wage pays a lot more tax than in Ireland.

Pension and social welfare rates are not decided by SF in the 6 counties.

FFG have failed in health, housing and education. They for years have let vulture funds buy up properties but now all of a sudden the public are aware of it, thanks to SF and others, its top priority to change whats happening, why did they not care for years?

Sinn Fein are the largest party in the island, Sinn Fein will more than likely be in Govt once this Govt of chaos is finished.

Sinn Fein voted away the opportunity to control social welfare rates so that they could say Westminister made us do it. Cowardly behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

blanch152 wrote: »
    Sinn Fein would be awful in government, that is true irrespective of anything else in your post.
    So you are willing to give FF and FG chance after chance, and when you do it gets worse?

How much damage can SF do in one term in government? If they do a bad job they won't get voted back in at the next election. Are you afraid they will prove you wrong and you don't want that happening?

skimpydoo wrote: »
    So you are willing to give FF and FG chance after chance, and when you do it gets worse?

How much damage can SF do in one term in government? If they do a and job they won't get voted back in at the next election. Are you afraid they will prove you wrong and you don't want that happening?

The Govt defenders (and Govt) on here don't want the working class and poor getting help as it does not benefit the bankers/politicians/rich etc

Thats about the full of it

The Govt defenders (and Govt) on here don't want the working class and poor getting help as it benefit the bankers/politicians etc

Thats about the full of it

They don't want to lose any power they might have.

Everyone over 18 with an address has a vote including those on hap,in emergency accomadation etc
    Its not tied to wallets :)

Everyone over 18 with an address has a vote including those on hap,in emergency accomadation etc
    Its not tied to wallets :)

Oh we know, the nation came out and voted in 2020 and clearly wanted change from the norm, something accepted by FG after the election.
    FFG then joined forces to stop change and here we are, all the crisis that we had before getting worse and worse

Oh we know, the nation came out and voted in 2020 and clearly wanted change from the norm, something accepted by FG after the election.
    FFG then joined forces to stop change and here we are, all the crisis that we had before getting worse and worse

More people voted for parties or independents previously involved in government than the change you wanted
    Ergo actually you cannot say the country wanted change
    Your problem was the block not wanting to do business with SF was a big one
    Ye have another dry run with the DBS by election, lets see how that goes for ye :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

More people voted for parties or independents previously involved in government than the change you wanted
    Ye have another dry run with the DBS by election, lets see how that goes for ye :)

No one expects DBS to go SF way in this by election.

Many people including my gf voted for FF or FG on the promise they wouldn't jump into bed together. Them votes are gone

After today's ERSI report that for the first time in the history of the state, peoples in there 30s and 40s will be poorer than there parents. Thats the under 40 vote near wiped for FF or FG, or is this ERSI report all SFs fault?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Many people including my gf voted for FF or FG on the promise they wouldn't jump into bed together. Them votes are gone

After today's ERSI report that for the first time in the history of the state, peoples in there 30s and 40s will be poorer than there parents. Thats the under 40 vote near wiped for FF or FG, or is this ERSI report all SFs fault?

This story doesn't appear to be going away. Non stop now across all media platforms from morning to night. Up to FFG to pull the finger out and start producing the goods or else it's sayonara.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    This story doesn't appear to be going away. Non stop now across all media platforms from morning to night. Up to FFG to pull the finger out and start producing the goods or else it's sayonara.

The youth of today have no hope. Another mass emigration upcoming ripping families apart. Cheers FFG

How much damage can SF do in one term in government? If they do a bad job they won't get voted back in at the next election. Are you afraid they will prove you wrong and you don't want that happening?

Firstly, I vote Green as they are a better option.

As for how much damage can SF do? Let's start with their policies on corporation tax, remember they wanted the government to take the Apple money and spend it. For a long while they wanted to increase the tax rate. You could see hundreds of thousands of well-paying jobs leave the country and the workers with them.

At least housing would be affordable again, because they will have increased emigration, so they could claim success on that.

Fann Linn wrote: »

They've 3 years to improve the housing market,Id agree with you if the election was in 3 months or something
    On their side now is the IMF basically giving them a hall pass to borrow to build public houses
    Against that they're suggesting tax rises to pay for the borrowing

blanch152 wrote: »
    Firstly, I vote Green as they are a better option.

As for how much damage can SF do? Let's start with their policies on corporation tax, remember they wanted the government to take the Apple money and spend it. For a long while they wanted to increase the tax rate. You could see hundreds of thousands of well-paying jobs leave the country and the workers with them.

At least housing would be affordable again, because they will have increased emigration, so they could claim success on that.

Thankfully going by all polls and Ryans performance or lack of it, The Greens are doomed next election

Thats nothing new to Blanch :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If the troubles erupt again in NI, as they probably will, Sinn Fein will splinter yet again. A more radical version will emerge in NI and take over the party. In other words, history will repeat itself. The party has become much too ‘establishment’ for some of the foot soldiers.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    If the troubles erupt again in NI, as they probably will, Sinn Fein will splinter yet again. A more radical version will emerge in NI and take over the party. In other words, history will repeat itself. The party has become much too ‘establishment’ for some of the foot soldiers.

Haha the troubles will not erupt again. Unionists might try start but 99% unionists and 99% catholics have no interest in going back to the past.

Its as if you want this to happen as it may damage SF. Thats more worrying that people have that view than the troubles returning

Before the election FF & FG said they would not get into bed together, especially after their long distance affair aka confidence supply agreement.

Voters thought that that was they would never be lied to about this, but FF or FG did not get enough seats to be the lead partner in govt. If they had done this SF would not have won the most seats of any party.

Before the election FF & FG said they would not get into bed together, especially after their long distance affair aka confidence supply agreement.

Voters thought that that was they would never be lied to about this, but FF or FG did not get enough seats to be the lead partner in govt. If they had done this SF would not have won the most seats of any party.

Nothing new there
    Europe is full of examples of parties saying they won't work with X,Y and z
    To the outcry of posters here,if the only possible governent after feb 2020 was FG Sinn Féin,thats exactly what we would have had

• Registered Users Posts: 68,883 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fair play to the Shinners for standing with their people. The Ballymurphy people and victims family have had to come through some ordeal at the hands of the British and those who support them.

https://twitter.com/ballymurphy11/status/1392222681257361416

Nothing new there
    Europe is full of examples of parties saying they won't work with X,Y and z
    To the outcry of posters here,if the only possible governent after feb 2020 was FG Sinn Féin,thats exactly what we would have had
    It is new here, I never thought I would see FF or FG in government.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭piplip87

Fair play to the Shinners for standing with their people. The Ballymurphy people and victims family have had to come through some ordeal at the hands of the British and those who support them.

What a load of absolute horse****. Wernt the Shinners celebrating a scumbag only last week who is alleged of murdering plenty of innocent people. Sinn Fein use families of victims of murder by the British State to somehow try to justify their own campaign of murder. Same scumbags different uniforms

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭batman75

Has she or Gerry Adams ever offered support to the McConville family?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 tomzolo

piplip87 wrote: »
    What a load of absolute horse****. Wernt the Shinners celebrating a scumbag only last week who is alleged of murdering plenty of innocent people. Sinn Fein use families of victims of murder by the British State to somehow try to justify their own campaign of murder. Same scumbags different uniforms

I assume you're talking about Seamus McElwain?

What innocent people is he alleged to have killed?

He was imprisoned for killing a UDR member and after he escaped from the maze prison he joined an IRA active service unit operating in the area of the border between Counties Monaghan and Fermanagh.

The unit targeted police and military patrols with gun and bomb attacks, while sleeping rough in barns and outhouses to avoid capture, he was ambushed and shot multiple times by the SAS then interrogated and violently beaten, when he refused to give up any information he was then executed.

How dare you compare the likes of this great Irish patriot to a shower of murdering b******* who went around on a rampage killing ten innocent Irish men and women and violently assaulted hundreds more, another man in his 80s died after being subjected to a mock execution in front of dozens of children.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,883 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The IRA have long ago addressed the innocents killed and accepted that they were.
    I have never seen SF celebrate the killing of innocent people.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 tomzolo

batman75 wrote: »
    Has she or Gerry Adams ever offered support to the McConville family?

More whataboutery from the 2nd Battalion of the West Brit Brigade of Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭batman75

It's an insult to people's intelligence how SF use innocent victims of the troubles to Brit bash yet celebrate their volunteers who unleashed murder and mayhem on the streets not just of NI but also England.
    I hate Sinn Fein with a passion. They will always be associated with the IRA and no amount of PR or rewriting of history will erase the mayhem and murder they caused.
    Francie is absolutely entitled to go to batt for SF on this forum. We have free speech here and it is something I cherish. Hypocrisy is not.