Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Hiring an event management firm for a funeral is a bit vulgar tbh.

Considering the numbers involved it was precautionary planning.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Hiring an event management firm for a funeral is a bit vulgar tbh.
    More responsible than the gombeen gang in Golfgate who thought that they wouldn't be caught.

Regards...jmcc

jmcc wrote: »
    More responsible than the gombeen gang in Golfgate who thought that they wouldn't be caught.

Regards...jmcc

Which has absolutely zilch, nada, nothing to do with the funeral of the sociopathic thug Bobby Storey.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Which has absolutely zilch, nada, nothing to do with the funeral of the sociopathic thug Bobby Storey.
    Sinn Fein is being criticised for having an events management company handle a funeral by parties who were involved in Golfgate.Given the behaviour of FF and FG over Golfgate, they are in no position to criticise anyone.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 68,883 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Anyone can depict a soldier who has faought in a conflict as a 'sociopathic thug'.

Fact is Doc and you may do well to take this on board, like the various soldiers of various countries thousands didn't see him as a 'sociopathic thug'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

The latest hit and miss from the Indo/Philip Ryan on SF. This man is the new Eoghan Harris. Sounding like a total head the ball. https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/pearse-doherty-says-he-is-not-obliged-to-list-new-coastal-donegal-family-home-in-dail-register-40438048.html

smurgen wrote: »
    The latest hit and miss from the Indo/Philip Ryan on SF. This man is the new Eoghan Harris. Sounding like a total head the ball. https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/pearse-doherty-says-he-is-not-obliged-to-list-new-coastal-donegal-family-home-in-dail-register-40438048.html

'Man builds house' is news now for the Indo?
    Pathetic paper.

Anyone can depict a soldier who has faought in a conflict as a 'sociopathic thug'.

Fact is Doc and you may do well to take this on board, like the various soldiers of various countries thousands didn't see him as a 'sociopathic thug'.

The dude was the leader of a group called the nutting squad. Murdering a disabled 15 year old child, removing genitals with a hacksaw, and covering up sex abuse were some of their activities.

Soldier! The man was a common thug and criminal. He had no empathy - a sociopath. Not even a secret.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭jh79

smurgen wrote: »

Anything worth talking about behind the paywall? Wealthy man building nice house doesn't seem like much of a story to me.

Pearse should have asked his buddies in Belfast if he could buy one of the 50 properties the party owns in the Republic. I’m sure a nice few in Donegal. Popular spot for the top brass.

The dude was the leader of a group called the nutting squad. Murdering a disabled 15 year old child, removing genitals with a hacksaw, and covering up sex abuse were some of their activities.

Soldier! The man was a common thug and criminal. He had no empathy - a sociopath. Not even a secret.

Your opinion is as worthy as Eoghan Harris's, Doc.

Fact is, people will want to remember their dead all across this conflict/war zone.

Either we find a way to do it or you will end up getting undergarments in abominable tangles for ever and a day.

Pearse should have asked his buddies in Belfast if he could buy one of the 50 properties the party owns in the Republic. I’m sure a nice few in Donegal. Popular spot for the top brass.

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

jh79 wrote: »
    Anything worth talking about behind the paywall? Wealthy man building nice house doesn't seem like much of a story to me.

It's not much different than many bigger houses that a lot of people in Donegal would build so it wouldn't be that much out of kilter.

The question is how someone who is supposed to be on the average industrial wage could afford it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It's not much different than many bigger houses that a lot of people in Donegal would build so it wouldn't be that much out of kilter.

The question is how someone who is supposed to be on the average industrial wage could afford it though.

Could get a 5 bedroom gaff in Donegal for under 300k easily. Have a look on daft. The indo seems to scrutinized Sinn Fein obsessively. Hopefully they get sued a good few times to quieten their cough.

Like others on the industrial wage, savings, mortgage, loan from family etc. Isn't that what people were advised to do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Barry904

blanch152 wrote: »
    And the report has clarified the difficulties that the PSNI faced in dealing with a sectarian funeral. I have no problem admitting that I was wrong about the PSNI being corrupt. However, the details of the report confirm that Sinn Fein is not a normal party and the PSNI have questions to answer. They also confirm that Sinn Fein were involved in organising the funeral and were planning to breach the regulations.

https://www.justiceinspectorates.gov.uk/hmicfrs/wp-content/uploads/inspection-into-psni-handling-of-the-bobby-storey-funeral-30-june-2020.pdf

"Mr Kelly told them that around 10,000 people were expected to attend his funeral. Similar numbers had attended the funeral of Martin McGuinness in March 2017. He also expected prominent Sinn Féin politicians to attend"

"Mr Kelly reassured him. He didn’t want to go into details but said there would be no Paramilitary trappings at the funeral. He said a lot of people would attend and that the best way to manage the numbers wasn’t with a police presence. Mr Kelly explained that the funeral organisers, on behalf of the family, had engaged a company to steward it. The stewards would wear white shirts and black trousers but no berets or sunglasses"

"Mr Kelly thought it might be difficult to promote social distancing and keep traffic flowing. But he explained there would be a comprehensive stewarding plan to help.
    We understand that an events-planning company, used frequently by Sinn Féin,
    helped develop this plan. We know that this company passed a document to the PSNI. The Gold Commander described this document as being more of a risk assessment than a plan. We tried to speak to the events company but got no response."

"The established relationship between the PSNI and Mr Kelly inevitably affords him direct contact with senior officers"

"There was a lack of comprehensive records of the contact between senior PSNI leaders and Mr Kelly. We understand that this was a factor in the Public Prosecution Service (PPS) decision not to prosecute. Officers were unable to definitively show that they had fully adopted the 4Es approach during their engagement with Mr Kelly. Without this communication, Mr Kelly wouldn’t have been able to tell mourners about the consequences of breaching the Regulations."

Lots of questions there for Sinn Fein.

Was not a sectarian funeral at all, the loyalists have the British army who they commerate all the time who were responsible for hundreds and hundreds of dead innovent catholics wether by them personally or their proxies, and Catholics have the IRA which are also commemorated by a significant portion of the population down south.

And the report has clarified the difficulties that the PSNI faced in dealing with a sectarian funeral. I have no problem admitting that I was wrong about the PSNI being corrupt. However, the details of the report confirm that Sinn Fein is not a normal party and the PSNI have questions to answer. They also confirm that Sinn Fein were involved in organising the funeral and were planning to breach the regulations.

https://www.justiceinspectorates.gov.uk/hmicfrs/wp-content/uploads/inspection-into-psni-handling-of-the-bobby-storey-funeral-30-june-2020.pdf

"Mr Kelly told them that around 10,000 people were expected to attend his funeral. Similar numbers had attended the funeral of Martin McGuinness in March 2017. He also expected prominent Sinn Féin politicians to attend"

"Mr Kelly reassured him. He didn’t want to go into details but said there would be no Paramilitary trappings at the funeral. He said a lot of people would attend and that the best way to manage the numbers wasn’t with a police presence. Mr Kelly explained that the funeral organisers, on behalf of the family, had engaged a company to steward it. The stewards would wear white shirts and black trousers but no berets or sunglasses"

"Mr Kelly thought it might be difficult to promote social distancing and keep traffic flowing. But he explained there would be a comprehensive stewarding plan to help.
    We understand that an events-planning company, used frequently by Sinn Féin,
    helped develop this plan. We know that this company passed a document to the PSNI. The Gold Commander described this document as being more of a risk assessment than a plan. We tried to speak to the events company but got no response."

"The established relationship between the PSNI and Mr Kelly inevitably affords him direct contact with senior officers"

"There was a lack of comprehensive records of the contact between senior PSNI leaders and Mr Kelly. We understand that this was a factor in the Public Prosecution Service (PPS) decision not to prosecute. Officers were unable to definitively show that they had fully adopted the 4Es approach during their engagement with Mr Kelly. Without this communication, Mr Kelly wouldn’t have been able to tell mourners about the consequences of breaching the Regulations."

Lots of questions there for Sinn Fein.

Sinn Féin
    Sinn Féin politicians played a major role in organising Mr Storey’s funeral and many
    senior figures attended on the day. It is not difficult to see why the reaction from some
    quarters was one of outrage. For many who had lost loved ones, and been unable to
    have the funerals they wanted, it must have grated. And, for others with political rather
    than personal reasons, it was easy to interpret the funeral as wilfully disregarding the
    Regulations for political ends.
    We cast no judgments on political parties’ actions or motives. However, from what we
    say in our chapter on the legal context, we think it would have been reasonable for the
    politicians attending the funeral to have believed they were acting within the
    Regulations. If they believed themselves not to be – as some have asserted – it is our
    conclusion that they were probably wrong.
    Mr Kelly chose not to share his account of his conversations with the PSNI
    commanders in the run-up to the funeral with us. But we saw nothing to suggest
    that the manner in which he engaged with the PSNI was anything other than open
    and professional.

From your link Blanch, the summary re SF, just in case ye overlooked it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭jh79

Sure nobody believes the "average industrial wage" schtick.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,931 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Considering the numbers involved it was precautionary planning.

So it was planned in advance to breach the Covid guidelines.

Read your own link Blanch. Or are you just picking the bits that suits your argument.

Sinn Féin
    Sinn Féin politicians played a major role in organising Mr Storey’s funeral and many
    senior figures attended on the day. It is not difficult to see why the reaction from some
    quarters was one of outrage. For many who had lost loved ones, and been unable to
    have the funerals they wanted, it must have grated. And, for others with political rather
    than personal reasons, it was easy to interpret the funeral as wilfully disregarding the
    Regulations for political ends.
    We cast no judgments on political parties’ actions or motives. However, from what we
    say in our chapter on the legal context, we think it would have been reasonable for the
    Regulations. If they believed themselves not to be – as some have asserted – it is our
    conclusion that they were probably wrong.
    Mr Kelly chose not to share his account of his conversations with the PSNI
    commanders in the run-up to the funeral with us. But we saw nothing to suggest
    that the manner in which he engaged with the PSNI was anything other than open
    and professional.

From your link Blanch, the summary re SF, just in case ye overlooked it.

Just part of the story. And the key point in your extract:

"We cast no judgments on political parties’ actions or motives."

Sinn Fein were not exonerated by the report.

Barry904 wrote: »
    Was not a sectarian funeral at all, the loyalists have the British army who they commerate all the time who were responsible for hundreds and hundreds of dead innovent catholics wether by them personally or their proxies, and Catholics have the IRA which are also commemorated by a significant portion of the population down south.

The PIRA killed more Catholics than anyone else during their terrorist campaign.

Why would be do that, when they probably offered to build him his own special one for free on spare land?

I would've gone for this myself,
    ''. However, from what we
    Regulations.""

But as you're just nit picking now I'll say adieu.

It's over blanch...read the conclusions and recommendations and move on like everyone else.

Then why are we still talking about it?

So what is it you are looking for? A super inquiry..an inquiry into the inquiry into the PSNI inquiry?

A reminder that the worst thing that happened here was a breach of regulations for which the penalty is a fine.

How many more hours of reviewing this will it take?

I would've gone for this myself,
    ''. However, from what we
    Regulations.""

But as you're just nit picking now I'll say adieu.

Exactly the same could be said about Golfgate, but hey, it's Sinn Fein, different standards, much lower ones, apply.

Different jurisdictions.

Be careful, someone will call you a partitionist.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭CDarby

Let's be clear, the prior engagement between the police and the SF organisers prevented prosecution and effectively ensured that law-breakers could avoid prosecution. If you think that isn't corrupt, how do you defend it?

The funeral in Mayo was an legally authorised State funeral, and that distinction has been made clear many times already.
    https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/sinn-fein-told-police-10000-mourners-expected-to-attend-bobby-storey-funeral-40437960.html

"An investigation has found that police were told in the days prior to his death last June that up to 10,000 people were likely to attend the funeral of Bobby Storey, who was gravely ill in hospital in England."

This raises the level of seriousness. Does anyone really believe that Sinn Fein didn't think of the implications of this show of strength in the middle of a pandemic. I have huge sympathy for the PSNI following that report. They were faced with a politically organised deliberate flaunting of the Covid situation and a choice between managing the lawbreaking as best they could, or trying to enforce the law which would probably lead to a violent breakdown.

From accusing the police and sf of being corrupt together, and now the police were basically bullied and intimidated. Seems you backed the wrong horse, but it's great to see you getting up on the back of a new one though. :rolleyes:
    Called it last night, everyone else is wrong, from the PSNI and Sinn Fein, the whole way up to the HMICFRS, but this poster blanch is correct.