Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 27,940 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

jm08 wrote: »
    State boards in the south are stuffed to the gills with party supporters nominated by encumbent Government. And it is a scandal the way this operates down here.

http://stateboards.ie/stateboards/

A transparent appointments system is in place down here - I know a number of people who have come through that process. Up North, only party cronies need apply.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

blanch152 wrote: »
    See the bit in bold, don't remember them having time to ask for my consent when I slammed the door in their faces after disturbing me on a soccer night.

Have you had confirmation of what data they're holding on you to come to the conclusion that they are holding some without your consent, Blanch?

I'm still waiting on a reply to my SAR with them.

Fionn1952 wrote: »
    Have you had confirmation of what data they're holding on you to come to the conclusion that they are holding some without your consent, Blanch?

I'm still waiting on a reply to my SAR with them.

You'll be waiting. Taking their time to scrub the database.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/sinn-fein-claim-taxis-in-belfast-bus-lanes-helps-working-class-misguided-40501879.html

It seems that the SF defenders of the working class believe that the working class all take taxis.

"Alliance councillor Peter McReynolds tweeted during the debate: “There’s a massive dose of irony in the fact it’s Bike Week and in Belfast City Council we’re discussing how Sinn Fein and the DUP voted to support private taxis in bus lanes. People before Profit [also] supporting the private taxi lobby,"

It really beggars belief.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,927 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

See the bit in bold, don't remember them having time to ask for my consent when I slammed the door in their faces after disturbing me on a soccer night.

If somebody is slamming doors in peoples faces I doubt they need to make a data entry to record that.

What an aggressive reaction to people doing what every party does. A bit of respect and manners goes a long way.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,440 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what electronic communications did they subsequently send you? What information did they collect directly from you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/sinn-fein-claim-taxis-in-belfast-bus-lanes-helps-working-class-misguided-40501879.html

It seems that the SF defenders of the working class believe that the working class all take taxis.

"Alliance councillor Peter McReynolds tweeted during the debate: “There’s a massive dose of irony in the fact it’s Bike Week and in Belfast City Council we’re discussing how Sinn Fein and the DUP voted to support private taxis in bus lanes. People before Profit [also] supporting the private taxi lobby,"

It really beggars belief.
    It is side gig for former provos - they got taxi licences and taxi grants .

what electronic communications did they subsequently send you? What information did they collect directly from you?

That I slammed the door in their face.

It is side gig for former provos - they got taxi licences and taxi grants .

That explains a lot, the boys in Belfast won't let their lads suffer.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/dup-and-sf-clash-over-nazi-comment-during-israel-palestine-council-debate-40497384.html

"During Tuesday night’s debate on the Sinn Fein motion, Seanna Walsh referred to events in Jerusalem and said: “It’s almost like a Nazi mentality of ‘Untermensch’ where people are less than human, and when you create that type of mentality we all know what happened in the 1930s and the 1940s.”"

Have Sinn Fein been taken over by Corbynites? Seriously, what sort of person would make that kind of comparison given what happened in the Holocaust. No sensitivity at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,440 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That I slammed the door in their face.

how do you know they recorded that information about you?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/dup-and-sf-clash-over-nazi-comment-during-israel-palestine-council-debate-40497384.html

"During Tuesday night’s debate on the Sinn Fein motion, Seanna Walsh referred to events in Jerusalem and said: “It’s almost like a Nazi mentality of ‘Untermensch’ where people are less than human, and when you create that type of mentality we all know what happened in the 1930s and the 1940s.”"

Have Sinn Fein been taken over by Corbynites? Seriously, what sort of person would make that kind of comparison given what happened in the Holocaust. No sensitivity at all.

I'd say plenty hold that view when you consider the indiscriminate killing of Palestinians recently, mostly women and kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭CDarby

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of antisemitism to up your socialist credentials having spend most of the week opposing property tax.

It's more than a stretch to describe it as anti-Semitism tbh, someone is comparing the treatment of one group of people by another group of people.

The fact that they used the Nazis treatment against jews, and compared it with how the Israelis are treating Palestinian people to make that comparison is somewhat Godwin like, but it's hardly "anti-Semitism" now is it?

There's an awful lot of people on this planet that disagree with what the Israelis are doing in the region, and their treatment of others - surely you aren't suggesting they're all anti-Semitic because they condemn it?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

http://stateboards.ie/stateboards/

A transparent appointments system is in place down here - I know a number of people who have come through that process. Up North, only party cronies need apply.

How come for instance then for the Board of Enterprise Ireland, there are three ministerial appointments out of the 11 Board members?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,498 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I'd say plenty hold that view when you consider the indiscriminate killing of Palestinians recently, mostly women and kids.

Terrorists firing rockets from civilian locations tend to facilitate those terrible results .

Contributing factors surely, a chara.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,759 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

CDarby wrote: »
    It's more than a stretch to describe it as anti-Semitism tbh, someone is comparing the treatment of one group of people by another group of people.

The fact that they used the Nazis treatment against jews, and compared it with how the Israelis are treating Palestinian people to make that comparison is somewhat Godwin like, but it's hardly "anti-Semitism" now is it?

There's an awful lot of people on this planet that disagree with what the Israelis are doing in the region, and their treatment of others - surely you aren't suggesting they're all anti-Semitic because they condemn it?

I'm saying they're antisemitic because they're bringing the word Nazism into the conversation as a weapon against Jews.

It's deliberate "hit them where it hurts" stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭piplip87

piplip87 wrote: »

Ha ha, wasn't Regina the FG party whip for a while? She has obviously been infected by the shinister virus. :)

Today marks a quarter of a century since Jerry McCabe was murdered by a bunch of cowardly thugs from the PIRA. The robbery itself was given the green light by a senior member of the PIRA in Munster. SF TD Martin Ferris later picked up one of the killers from prison - the psychopathic Pearse McAuley. The killers were also given a rousing standing ovation at a SF ard fheis - young Mary Lou, Doherty, O Broin were in the audience.

Other parties will rightfully commemorate this day. I wonder will anyone from SF?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,502 ✭✭✭touts

Today marks a quarter of a century since Jerry McCabe was murdered by a bunch of cowardly thugs from the PIRA. The robbery itself was given the green light by a senior member of the PIRA in Munster. SF TD Martin Ferris later picked up one of the killers from prison - the psychopathic Pearse McAuley. The killers were also given a rousing standing ovation at a SF ard fheis - young Mary Lou, Doherty, O Broin were in the audience.

Other parties will rightfully commemorate this day. I wonder will anyone from SF?

RIP Jerry. Murdered as part of a Sinn Fein IRA fundraising operation. 25% of the population may have forgotten you but 75% have not and will not.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭costacorta

touts wrote: »
    RIP Jerry. Murdered as part of a Sinn Fein IRA fundraising operation. 25% of the population may have forgotten you but 75% have not and will not.

The silence is deafening from the 25% !! But what would you expect from SF /IRA supporters ?

costacorta wrote: »
    The silence is deafening from the 25% !! But what would you expect from SF /IRA supporters ?

As one of that 25% (I presume) I don't 'select' victims to remember or use them on certain threads for political effect.

I think it demeans other victims to engage in that to be honest and I find it disgusting that people do it all the time with a select list of those victims.

As one of that 25% (I presume) I don't 'select' victims to remember or use them on certain threads for political effect.

I think it demeans other victims to engage in that to be honest and I find it disgusting that people do it all the time with a select list of those victims.

Away with your fake disgust. It was a commemoration yesterday. Silence from SF. Moving on my eye.

There was no issue with commemorating a lad who blew himself up on a bus while on his way to slaughter innocent shoppers.

Rank hypocrisy from SF as usual. Grubby political party operating in the shadows.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Remembering victims on the anniversary of their death is disgusting now!!!

Small word of advise - when you've got nothing to say, don't try to fill the gap.

Away with your fake disgust. It was a commemoration yesterday. Silence from SF. Moving on my eye.

There are commemorations/anniversaries every day Doc, that is the tragedy of conflict/war.

You carry on selecting and watching to see if there is the appropriate comment and be ready to get in a political huff about it. Lovely.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Remembering victims on the anniversary of their death is disgusting now!!!

Small word of advise - when you've got nothing to say, don't try to fill the gap.

No...using selected victims is disgusting. Happens here all the time.

SF believe the thugs who murdered McCabe were members of the legitimate army of Ireland and that McCabe was a legitimate target. So a psychopath like McAuley is lauded as a hero while a party who wants to be in Government say nothing.

Deeply sinister. It’s happening no where else in Europe. Some people want to watch the world burn:

The Garda Representative Association pulls no punches.

https://twitter.com/gardarep/status/1401708195475865600?s=21

SF believe the thugs who murdered McCabe were members of the legitimate army of Ireland and that McCabe was a legitimate target. So a psychopath like McAuley is lauded as a hero while a party who wants to be in Government say nothing.

Deeply sinister. It’s happening no where else in Europe. Some people want to watch the world burn:

Lies in there that I am not going to get into.

Suffice to say, you have proved the point. Desperately using selected victims in a conflict/war where many many innocent people died and were maimed is not a good look.

Carry on if you wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Lies in there that I am not going to get into.

Suffice to say, you have proved the point. Desperately using selected victims in a conflict/war where many many innocent people died and were maimed is not a good look.

Carry on if you wish.

So we should never talk about it?

Sure we should never talk about any atrocities going forward so?

Nothing to see here.

SF in charge and their relationship with An Garda Síochána will be interesting