Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 68,449 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Denis D met his end in Donegal because he was about to reveal who the ultimate mole was in the PIRA. Well, he had already done so. The Boston Tapes.

This remains the finest insight into the PIRA (it doesn't deal with the sex crimes, and the import of ecstasy tablets and hash through the Dublin branch to fund the cause in the late 90's).

9780141028767.jpg

Ed = Facepalm tbh.

Is he even a journalist anymore after the BT fiasco?

Boston Tapes - Imagine a legal world where anyone could say what they want to say without any evidential requirements and it is accepted as truth. Dangerous? :)

It was just Boards.ie in a University setting on speed. None of it was verifiable or trustworthy.

Ed = Facepalm tbh.

Is he even a journalist anymore after the BT fiasco?

Boston Tapes - Imagine a legal world where anyone could say what they want to say without any evidential requirements and it is accepted as truth. Dangerous? :)

It was just Boards.ie in a University setting on speed. None of it was verifiable or trustworthy.

Which part of the book would you most disagree with?

One section, the details of which I am sadly all too familiar with, was rubbish. Undermined everything else he wrote about.

He is very good at collating the known history, the 'secret stuff' showed me before the Boston Tapes disaster that he was bogus. Because the particular 'secret' he was talking about, I know the truth of.

Fair enough. It's the definitive account of the Provos , and it doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out why Donaldson was given the ear. Or why Scappaticci is still knocking around.

Irish Republicans to a man.....

Fair enough. It's the definitive account of the Provos , and it doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out why Donaldson was given the ear. Or why Scappaticci is still knocking around.

Irish Republicans to a man.....

The word here is that Donaldson was taken out by family members of somebody he got killed.

Revenge to a man.

But maybe a sensational account sells more books and papers to the willingly gullible?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 989 ✭✭✭ineedeuro

The word here is that Donaldson was taken out by family members of somebody he got killed.

Revenge to a man.

But maybe a sensational account sells more books and papers to the willingly gullible?

Or maybe "the word here" just keeps the gullible from asking question.

It is clear from the recent event what Sinn Fein think of serious crime. Also as a party they seem to think they are above the political system in Ireland which is concerning. Type of carry on we seen historical by some very bad political organisations.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/a-sinister-attempt-to-intimidate-tds-new-independent-tdhits-out-at-sinn-fein-tactics-on-dail-votes-40580370.html

If Sinn Fein want to take over as the main political party do they just want to let criminals run free?

ineedeuro wrote: »

It is clear from the recent event what Sinn Fein think of serious crime. Also as a party they seem to think they are above the political system in Ireland which is concerning. Type of carry on we seen historical by some very bad political organisations.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/a-sinister-attempt-to-intimidate-tds-new-independent-tdhits-out-at-sinn-fein-tactics-on-dail-votes-40580370.html

If Sinn Fein want to take over as the main political party do they just want to let criminals run free?

mmm..think they are 'above the law'?...surely that applies to a party whose leader is under Garda criminal investigation on two counts for a long time now?

Your 'rocket science' could be gullible as local knowledge. Fact is, none of us know for certain why he was killed, but there certainly would have been many who wanted to.

Sure why not use a death and victim sensationally if you have a certain agenda in sight? Par for the course around here, as they say.

mmm..think they are 'above the law'?...surely that applies to a party whose leader is under Garda criminal investigation on two counts for a long time now?

Your 'rocket science' could be gullible as local knowledge. Fact is, none of us know for certain why he was killed, but there certainly would have been many who wanted to.

Sure why not use a death and victim sensationally if you have a certain agenda in sight? Par for the course around here, as they say.

No party or member of any party should think they are above the law and the political system we have in place in Ireland. A lot of pointing in every direction so far, what is your opinion on Sinn Fein standing with the criminals of Ireland?

:D:D

It's the same as my opinion of Amnesty Int. ICCL, Mary Robinson etc etc 'standing with them' I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Denis D met his end in Donegal because he was about to reveal who the ultimate mole was in the PIRA. Well, he had already done so. The Boston Tapes.

This remains the finest insight into the PIRA (it doesn't deal with the sex crimes, and the import of ecstasy tablets and hash through the Dublin branch to fund the cause in the late 90's).

9780141028767.jpg

Didn't the Real IRA claim that hit - you know - the ones who refused to agree to the Peace Process?

Somebody should take the keyboard off that Ryan lad, he just can't help himself. :):)

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1408503564939505664

Eoin's reply:

https://twitter.com/ruillebuille/status/1408696677180051456/photo/2

Such open bias!

Badly fukt wrote: »
    Such open bias!

Never mind the 'bias' (I think he has demonstrated quite well before that he has got it bad) to show so comprehensively how incompetent you are as a 'journalist' is classic. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭jh79

Question for those against the SCC, in any of the cases to date do you think there has been a miscarriage of justice?

Very revealing the link you sent re that SF article came from. The Indo/Sindo axis are a danger to press freedom and democracy. Although I’m sure Leo and his FG cronies are very appreciative of the anti SF coverage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Somebody should take the keyboard off that Ryan lad, he just can't help himself. :):)

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1408503564939505664

Eoin's reply:

https://twitter.com/ruillebuille/status/1408696677180051456/photo/2

As a journalist, part of my job is to do research so that I can stand up any claim I make. It's the first thing every journalist should do. Philip can't even get the basics right.

Philip keep up the good work ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Louise O Reilly asked last night - what would SF do different and how would they go about re opening the country - spits out some waffle about learning from other countries but could not answer the question. Rinse and repeat on most topics they shout and roar about . Always up in arms and full of criticism but when directly asked well what would you do ? They just dance around the answer . The only real answer is vaccinate everyone but the supply is not there so nothing the government can do about that as much as SF want to shout about it .

eh...other countries are far more open than we are and have been tikka? Why is it wrong to have a look at what they have done?

Fulminating about 'da infernal opposition' asking questions and calling to account(which is their job) when there has been mistakes made here is just good old 'look at themuns'.

Open the pubs, close the pubs. Thats the cries we had from the opposition last year, after that everyone should have figured out they are just as incompetent as they claim the government is

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

We know SF and MLMD were very vocal about opening pubs last September....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,336 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

eh...other countries are far more open than we are and have been tikka? Why is it wrong to have a look at what they have done?

Fulminating about 'da infernal opposition' asking questions and calling to account(which is their job) when there has been mistakes made here is just good old 'look at themuns'.

Isn't that exactly what SF has been doing all along in opposition?

Lousie comes across as very weak in general - Surely she should actually do a little research for her role and give specifics instead of thinking that role is only about pointing out 'themmuns'.

markodaly wrote: »
    We know SF and MLMD were very vocal about opening pubs last September....

We know the government led by the Tanaiste's outburst, ignored Health advice and had to, a week or so later quickly take it on board.

We KNOW mistakes, bad calls have been made by all. To use the government fans favourite escape hatch...'we were and are in the middle of a pandemic'.

That does not mean for a second that the government stop doing their job or the opposition stop doing their job.

That does not mean that the government are subsequently ALWAYS and INHERENTLY wrong nor does it mean that opposition are ALWAYS and INHERENTLY wrong.

This is basics politics/governance folks.

She was asked directly what would SF do and she couldn’t answer the question like always no answer but plenty of shouting. Now come back and defend the answers when they give them - which they won’t . Yes other countries have opened up and just look at what is starting to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Just catching up on my news since yesterday
    The cringe that went on in the Dail 2.0 would sicken your hole

Pearse Doherty stood up and took off his mask, and just by the way he took it off ya knew he was gonna go absolutely Joe 90... and he did.
    Mostly about Avian type funds buying up a heap of housing.
    He made very valid points mind you, about the percentage of people that dont want to rent but have no choice etc and some other statistical data.
    But he was shouting for a few mins and then Catherine Connolly was ringing the bell but he wouldn't stop, was awkward to watch.

Then in the response Leo Varadkar began to apologise to Catherine Connolly, which was also very difficult to watch on account of the cringeyness

I know SF are opposing developments left right and centre at the moment, they say its because they feel its the wrong type of housing, etc. But they could potentially be trying to hold back the tide of the Avian type funds in local areas.

One of those funds bought all the properties in a very small development in Killucan last month. This is bad news for FG/FF. The Funds were originally targeting major developments in cities, now they're going after small developments in small towns and villages around the country. It's going to push more people against FF/FG, not necessarily to SF though

She was asked directly what would SF do and she couldn’t answer the question like always no answer but plenty of shouting. Now come back and defend the answers when they give them - which they won’t . Yes other countries have opened up and just look at what is starting to happen

It's starting 'to happen' here too. What did Donnelly say, 'we are about to be hit by a hurricane'.

It doesn't excuse the mess repeatedly made of communication though, does it.

It's starting 'to happen' here too. What did Donnelly say, 'we are about to be hit by a hurricane'.

It doesn't excuse the mess repeatedly made of communication though, does it.
    So what is SF plan as asked ?

So, the opposition are only made privvy to the detail and projections of NPHET and you expect them to roll off a fully formed plan the next day?

Again, IMO the entire opposition - not just SF - are doing their jobs properly - scrutinising the government and calling it to account. It is not, because they are not implementing it, their job to come up with a 'plan'. It is their job to scrutinise the government's various 'plans'.

You need to grasp this, really. Because it is what FG FF and the Greens would be doing if they were in opposition. It's HOW it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,359 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Just catching up on my news since yesterday
    The cringe that went on in the Dail 2.0 would sicken your hole

Pearse Doherty stood up and took off his mask, and just by the way he took it off ya knew he was gonna go absolutely Joe 90... and he did.
    Mostly about Avian type funds buying up a heap of housing.
    He made very valid points mind you, about the percentage of people that dont want to rent but have no choice etc and some other statistical data.
    But he was shouting for a few mins and then Catherine Connolly was ringing the bell but he wouldn't stop, was awkward to watch.

Then in the response Leo Varadkar began to apologise to Catherine Connolly, which was also very difficult to watch on account of the cringeyness

I know SF are opposing developments left right and centre at the moment, they say its because they feel its the wrong type of housing, etc. But they could potentially be trying to hold back the tide of the Avian type funds in local areas.

One of those funds bought all the properties in a very small development in Killucan last month. This is bad news for FG/FF. The Funds were originally targeting major developments in cities, now they're going after small developments in small towns and villages around the country. It's going to push more people against FF/FG, not necessarily to SF though

Doherty is a total ‘tank’ with little knowledge and no cop on.

Seems to think that roaring and shouting and building up a faux rage about things is effective and attractive.

News for ya bud, it ain’t .

Comes across as an idiot like the other idiots who adopt that m.o.

Ring, the HRs, that idiot Fitzmaurice, Boyd Barrett, McGrath, MacSharry, and that
    asshat up in Meath who jacked out of the Shinners.

Total clowns who try to impress Middle Ireland who can read them like an open book.

Last GE: FG - 20.9% FF - 22.2% SF - 24.5%

• Registered Users Posts: 19,359 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Last GE: FG - 20.9% FF - 22.2% SF - 24.5%

And that is supposed to mean what?