Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,372 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

High earners should pay more?

High earners already pay most of the income tax!!!

The marginal income tax is already 48.5% at 35,300.

This is one of the lowest entry point into a top tax rate of any country in the world.

A worker on a modest 40k faces a 48.5% marginal income tax rate.

And remember, SF are all about workers, they never stop talking about supporting workers.

Are they going to help the worker on 40k facing a 48.5% income tax rate on any overtime or promotional payrise?

I don't support SF, but these tax proposals make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

The most recent Red C polls would suggest that voters from 18-54 would disagree with you there. Even in the 55+ age group, SF were on 24% while FG was on 28% and FF 18%.

Are you sure there are 15-20 of the 39 constituencies where SF can't get 1 seat?

They dont. Better the devil you know, then the ones involved in organised crime, terrorism and celebrating Garda murderers

A single person without any dependents on a salary of €40K will have a disposable income of circa €32,075 in 2022, which is an effective tax rate of 22%. Is that unreasonable? I don't think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,278 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

change to SF is changing out democracy in favor of puppets led by crooks.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭MakersMark

Taxing the rich sounds great until you realise that you're the rich guy they're talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Brilliant, they don't help you, but sure that's ok.

And as for "celebrate Garda murderers" - yep FFG celebrate the IRA too, the same IRA who have killed members of the guards!

You really need to brush up on the general knowledge/history.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,278 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And ‘the rich’ will be people, those of us who have worked, yes worked to earn a few quid...not a few millionaires.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,629 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How exactly are SF going to bring change? It is very easy to crow about change from the opposition. In government there has to be compromise. As SF well know from their time in stormont. To me SF just talk a good came promise the earth in the ROI . When they are stuck for an answer about how they can afford all these promises it is normally 'tax the rich'.

For me SF first have to show some realisation they could have stopped Brexit but hid behind a 'mandate in NI'. They STILL refuse to say the proper name of either state they represent as politicians. Yet these are the crowd that are going to bring change? The same crowd who roar 'tiocfaidh ar la' (when they think no one is watching -David Cullinane TD) and hark back to the distant past hunger strikes (David Cullinane TD and wish they were involved). Or whose minions were involved in spying rings in Dail Eireann (O'Snodaigh) or made anti-Semitic remarks to opposition colleagues (O"Snodaigh etc)

The waving of the tricolour during elections in the ROI seems odd - what other party does that?? It makes people question the mindset.

SF has a lot of cleaning house to do. It is delicate balancing act. Because SF love a Republican funeral it gives a chance to echo the past, wave the tricolour etc. Or anniversary where fellow Republicans of the 40's are praised, Because it would sound good for the NI electorate, But for the ROI where Gardai are where shot by the Republicans of the 40's it makes people uneasy.

See above

And see the problems this creates for those representing SF in the ROI

A decision to erect the plaque was made by the Dublin City Council Commemorations & Naming Committee, whose chair, is councillor Michael Mac Donncha

He was present at the unveiling of a plaque to Anna Parnell of the ladies land league.

Anna Parnell, founder of Ladies Land League, is commemorated with plaque

A plaque commemorating Anna Parnell, the founder of the Ladies Land League (LLL)was unveiled at AIB Bank on O'Connell street today.

Which is fair enough. But I was struck how only a month or so earlier the very same councillor Mac Donncha did not attend a plaque naming for Gardai killed by the IRA in 1940

--

Sinn Féin councillor denies boycott of commemoration for gardaí

City council commemorations committee chair did not go to plaque unveiling

Det Sgt Patrick McKeown and Det Garda Richard Hyland who were shot by IRA members Patrick McGrath and Thomas Harte during a raid in Rathmines on August 16th, 1940.

Protocol dictated that either Michael Mac Donncha attended or a representative go in his place. Neither was done Michael Mac Donncha excused his non attendance that he was ‘not scheduled’ to attend.

--

SF has a long way to go before it cleans house and become palatable for the majority in the ROI.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I look at those pictures in work everyday, thanks

I'm not sure where it when FFG celebrated the deaths of these two men, can you show me please?

I'm sorry - I know it's rude of me but I just don't care enough to read your shpiel. I don't care about the IRA. I don't care bout any raids from the 1940s. I don't care about Anne Travers. I don't care about anything that happened before I was born.

The only thing I care about right now is where I'm going to live once my lease ends at the end of the month before I return to the office after the Christmas break. I have been searching for a room for almost 2 months now and I still haven't found somewhere to live. I work 60+ hours every week, from dawn to dusk, in one of the best law firms in the country, yet I will be forced to spend half my monthly salary on a **** room in Dublin city centre, living with complete randomers.

Stop trying to move the goalposts bubbly, seriously what is it with some posters on here? Do you forget what you wrote, or has it dawned on you the sheer stupidity of what you wrote.

No-one - (not even you) wrote anything about anyone "celebrating the deaths" of two men (who were members of AGS)

A refresher here's what you wrote...

Better the devil you know, then the ones involved in organised crime, terrorism and celebrating Garda murderers

As I have pointed out, FFG have been celebrating and commemorating the IRA for years, the same IRA that murdered members of AGS.

Stop trying to misrepresent and twist what you thought you posted, and what my response was please.

This.

You would think that ffg and the MSM would have copped on after the last election, a lot of young professionals just don't care about the troubles and what the provos did in a partitioned state, they're more worried about a repetitive and annual health crisies, the housing crises, and what with the advent of social media, the clowns in government still have not twigged that they can get caught and exposed with lies and corruption..

SF may well struggle to fix and repair one tenth of what is wrong in both sectors, but if them being elected into govt breaks up the century long power swap, and forces the other lads to pull up their socks, so be it.

There's something about constantly repeating the same thing and expecting a different outcome springing to mind here.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,629 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I know but SF don’t really care what you care about.

It is merely used as a populist tool to play out SF’s real agenda. Which is wedded to a very murky recent past. The fact you don’t want to even consider the fact speaks volumes. FF used exactly the same trick in the 1930s.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

We're going around in circles here so I'll leave it there.

Are there any current members of FFG, who are or have been involved in terrorism or celebrating Garda murderers?

Considering that it is actual live living humans currently in political parties that we vote for? No one is talking about history, it's current members I'm talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,633 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Ah, it doesn't matter if you celebrate the killing of AGS members, it only matters if you were involved in the killing?

These rules of this game get very complicated.

The problem with Sinn Fein, at least with Mary Lou McDonald, is that you cannot trust a single word that comes out of her mouth; she is a fork-tongued monster.

Plastered with fourteen layers of foundation, you never know what she really believes. For her, it's all about reading the prevailing political temperature and appealing to the lowest common denominator voter who doesn't really want to work hard and is instead envious of those with any semblance of wealth.

Is Sinn Fein as bad as we think? Probably worse; their attempt at democracy within their own party is desperate stuff, so how can we believe it would be any different if they had substantial political power? Then again, of course, as others here have mentioned, their links with terrorism and mass murder for political purposes.

For these reasons, do I and the majority of Irish people want her on the levers of power? No.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They're like a dog chasing cars, they wont know what to do with it once they've actually caught up with it.

All promises and free stuff for all. It would be a hoot if they actually got in. Monster box of popcorn time.

It matters of you are a current member of a political party.

Obviously

Listen, you made a brainfart post, you got called on it, and are now trying to change the narrative. I'm what you could conside a "seasoned poster" bubblypop, not getting drawn in,.sorry about that.

Happens around here regularly, posters pontificating about IRA commemorations - yet haven't stopped to consider we've been commemorating the IRA since the foundation of the state, swapping portraits of "terrorists" in the Taoiseach office, and most recently placed an ex RUC member as the Garda feckin commissioner for Christ sake!

I couldn't really care less about the provos, the provos are gone, and we would be much better focusing on our present day crisies - the health and housing one incidentally can be lain only at the feet of FFG.

If the Irish people can stomach Drew Harris as commissioner of the states police, they're ready for a SF led govt, highly hypocritical to think otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

And how are Sinn Fein going to solve your problems? Are they going to ban AirBnB for instance? Reduce rents by 30%? How do they plan to build the number of houses necessary for their plan to solve the housing crisis?

Or are they going to muddy the waters even more for you by allowing more and more refugees into the country as part of O'Gorman's Refugee Plan whereby "four months in the country and ye get a house/apartment" instead of staying in Direct Provision? Do you see them stopping that?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭Tow

Have you seen the size of Mary Lou's house? In what way do you think they will amend Local Property Tax? Up to the same levels as NI, which SF happy voted to increase even more.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Way too socialist and left leaning for me, they are also trying to appeal to the liberal middle class voters who normally vote for the SocDems, Greens and Labour who wouldn't have given SF the time of day in years gone by.

Of the almost 200 current member states (and one observer state) of the United Nations, the British have, at some point in history, invaded and established a military presence in 171 of them.

Barbados being the latest one to finally boot them out this year 2021.

That's some facts for those who don't care what happens in the north and they are quiet happy living Ina bubble down the south...

It is akin to your neighbour taking over half your garden and not handing it back..Sinn Fein would be better than any of the others in power..proberly better.

A united Ireland by peaceful means is the best way forward.

No brainfart here. You're just trying to muddy waters.

So long as Sinn Fein have members with links to terrorism, who collect Garda murderers upon their.release from prison and have sung songs of 'oh ah up the ra' they are not a choice for the majority of people.

Nothing to do with history, it's what they stand for now that counts.

Drew🙄

History is history.

If it wasn't the UK, it would have been another country; perhaps even a country that leaves a far, far, far, far worse record.

This idealised version of history where no country becomes dominant and influences and invades other countries is so dilute of significance that it beggars belief. We see the same with the US etc.; people bemoaning the US interventions etc. But if the locus of power were in Russia or China, rather than the US, we'd see a far worse history. It just lacks perspective.

Sinn Fein have this same, myopic view of history regarding the UK. It's so stupid that it's yet another reason we don't want these idiots anywhere near the levers of power.