Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭maccored

research eh ?

written by a former member of the communist party who also secretly wrote for An Phoblacht,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Greenslade

In the British Journalism Review article Greenslade stated he had secretly and explicitly supported the IRA's bombing campaign since the early 1970s.[4][13] Following these disclosures, he resigned from his post as Honorary Visiting Professor at City, University of London

it doesnt make what he wrote any less correct though

• Registered Users Posts: 23,716 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/sinnfeinireland/status/1367929478299652098

This is a good idea. Let's start with Jean McConville and we can work from there to the present day?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

https://twitter.com/sinnfeinireland/status/1367929478299652098

This is a good idea. Let's start with Jean McConville and we can work from there to the present day?

Ann Travers, Breege Quinn, Mairia Cahill are three women that come to mind.

They are all intrinsically linked to Sinn Fein and the party should celebrate their bravery on Women's Day.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

blanch152 wrote: »

They are all intrinsically linked to Sinn Fein and the party should celebrate their bravery on Women's Day.

Brigid Mc Cole the Cervical check women, the Mothers & Baby homes?

A real race to the bottom Harris, FG and their supporters are setting up here.

Fann Linn wrote: »

Go to the FG thread and talk about them.

This is a response to a Sinn Fein publicity campaign that will backfire on them.

Edit: Though how you think anybody can go any lower than the way Jean McConville was treated is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,848 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fann Linn wrote: »

Harris got an awful doing yesterday on this. Cannot help himself.

Selecting victims to make political points. They're a disgusting lot. And then he ran after deleting the tweets apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

[QUOT
    E=Fann Linn;116505156]Selecting victims to make political points. They're a disgusting lot. And then he ran after deleting the tweets apparently.[/QUOTE]

rather than actually selecting people for execution.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

[QUOT
    E=Fann Linn;116505156]Selecting victims to make political points. They're a disgusting lot. And then he ran after deleting the tweets apparently.

rather than actually selecting people for execution.[/QUOTE]

I know. The honour in just inflicting a kneecapping or murder.....like a Good Republican would do.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,487 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I know. The honour in just inflicting a kneecapping or murder.....like a Good Republican would do.[/QUOTE]

Plenty of good Republicans here, Natter.

Humming around the edges.

[QUOT
    E=Fann Linn;116505156]Selecting victims to make political points. They're a disgusting lot. And then he ran after deleting the tweets apparently.

rather than actually selecting people for execution.[/quote]

Oh I fully agree. I'm just making the point however that FG and FF haven't exactly been great in their treatment of women either.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The good IRA that are lauded and celebrated in various state commemorations, thankfully never selected anyone for execution.

We can at least be thankful for that.

Plenty of good Republicans here, Natter.

Humming around the edges.

You do realise there was a conflict/war? Which is now over.

As Mairia Cahill herself would tell you, that is what happens when the responsible state stands over and supports a sectarian, bigoted and untrusted police force, supported by local British Army militias and the British Army itself.

It would happen again tomorrow if the government were not held to account and would be a similar tragedy to the last time it happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭drdidlittle

As Mairia Cahill herself would tell you, that is what happens when the responsible state stands over and supports a sectarian, bigoted and untrusted police force, supported by local British Army militias and the British Army itself.

It would happen again tomorrow if the government were not held to account and would be a similar tragedy to the last time it happened.

Always someone's else's fault

No...it is just not one sides fault. War/conflict should be avoided, at all costs, sometimes it isn't. FF FG and the Irish people know this, all too well.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

No...it is just not one sides fault. War/conflict should be avoided, at all costs, sometimes it isn't. FF FG and the Irish people know this, all too well.

'War/conflict' here, is a euphemism for terrorism.

McMurphy wrote: »
    The good IRA that are lauded and celebrated in various state commemorations, thankfully never selected anyone for execution.

We can at least be thankful for that.

they did it so we can too ?

'War/conflict' here, is a euphemism for terrorism.

That you are using the word is your own concern.
    To a nationalist in the north it is a redundant term, the terrorists were the oppressors.

You need to make that journey Jack.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

blanch152 wrote: »

Bridget McCole?

they did it so we can too ?

Shows how your mind operates, it was unfortunate at the time, and ideally shouldn't have happened in either conflict, but it did.

None were more morally correct or wrong than the other.

What you lads are at constantly, is pointing at someone else accusing them of farting, while your own y-fronts are plastered in skidmarks.

"come out ye black and tans" at election counts

"oh it was all very regrettable, everyone did it, we dont want to talk about it" the rest of the time

something rings hollow

"come out ye black and tans" at election counts

"oh it was all very regrettable, everyone did it, we dont want to talk about it" the rest of the time

something rings hollow

The IRA that fought the black and tans were made up of the type of men adorning the walls of the Taoiseachs office.

I know we look back at them romantically, with nostalgic eyes etc etc, but those men, members of the IRA were no shrinking violets who bombed and maimed their way through the island to achieve their aims.

This keeps getting overlooked, does no harm to remind people occasionally.

At elections counts, i said.

Very relevant to the point.

She really is a thorn in the side of Sinn Fein.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/mairia-cahill-the-guardian-writer-the-ira-and-a-hatchet-job-on-me-too-40169014.html

"You don't get much lower than former journalist and secret IRA supporter Roy Greenslade's attack on my motivation in going public, says Mairia Cahill"

Shows how your mind operates, it was unfortunate at the time, and ideally shouldn't have happened in either conflict, but it did.

None were more morally correct or wrong than the other.

What you lads are at constantly, is pointing at someone else accusing them of farting, while your own y-fronts are plastered in skidmarks.

only one faction killed a bunch of people and then either forgot where they buried them or continues to hide the body's from their family's

its the ongoing nature of it that sticks n a lot of craws you know

only one faction killed a bunch of people and then either forgot where they buried them or continues to hide the body's from their family's

its the ongoing nature of it that sticks n a lot of craws you know

You obviously have not one breeze about what you're talking about stevo.

Old IRA disappearances ‘off the scale’ compared with PIRA
    The old IRA disappeared almost four times as many people in Cork alone as the Provisional IRA did throughout the whole of the Troubles, new research claims.

This moral high ground shyte is really unbearable tbh.

Does anyone know whether they have managed to get rid of Holohan yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

That is like say, we should excuse the Germans and their various atrocities committed in the 2nd World War, as 'Ah sure there was a war on' when the Germans themselves invaded Poland.

The primary aggressors here were the PIRA. They were the major instigators of the conflict. That is just a fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

This moral high ground shyte is really unbearable tbh.

No moral high ground.

Personally, I think the Easter rising and war of independence was a mistake, a mistake we are still paying for, as we laud one group of Republicans over another. I would have liked to have given Home Rule a go.

There is a difference though that the Old IRA did have a democratic mandate, while the PIRA had none.
    Also, the first war of independence was a short affair in contrast to the bloody 30 years war. Collins sought peace at the first opportunity, while the PIRA were hell-bent on keeping going for no valid reason because the leadership were maniacs.
    These are very very big differences between the two.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

markodaly wrote: »
    That is like say, we should excuse the Germans and their various atrocities committed in the 2nd World War, as 'Ah sure there was a war on' when the Germans themselves invaded Poland.

The primary aggressors here were the PIRA. They were the major instigators of the conflict. That is just a fact.

Pira didn't exist in 1969

No personal abuse