Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

https://www.thejournal.ie/paddy-holohan-sinn-fein-3-5386485-Mar2021/

The idea that Sinn Féin themselves didn’t remove this sexist, racist, dangerous dunce is a damning self-indictment of their policy towards who should be seen representing them. He should have been booted out months ago.

an oxymoron if ever there was one

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Beatty69

I can't believe he's still a councillor, should have been sacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

did not pass the purity test

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭dontmindme

He was nominated for mayor ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,440 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

DerekC16 wrote: »
    I think hes a great representative of Sinn Fein voters in Tallaght.

did you mean he was a great representative or that he was very representative?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

SFs stance on immigration is vastly different to a lot of their supporters.

They just haven't realised it yet.

I think a lot of supporters realise it but they agree with more of their other policies than the other parties in Ireland that have the possibility of electoral success.

He looks and talks like what I imagine a Sinn Fein supporter to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I think a lot of supporters realise it but they agree with more of their other policies than the other parties in Ireland that have the possibility of electoral success.

How do you know what the electorate like and don't like about any party?

I would suggest that's how the majority of people vote whatever the party they end up voting for. They pick the best option suits them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

maccored wrote: »
    paranoia will destroy ya - where are you getting this reds under the beds crap from?

From listening to it at Sinn Fein Youth events actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,879 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I don't like FG but I don't know why you think everything do wrong automatically justifies Sinn Féin acting the maggot?

It seems that if there was a paedophile ring in FG you'd be using it to justify if there was one at SF as well.

I thought your problem was with the "power swap" - surely there is no point breaking the power swap if SF are doing the exact same thing as the two you're mad to take power from? Surely SF should be expected to walk a higher path?

Where did I justify?

Somebody invents a 'visit' totally unaware that other parties have actually done the 'visiting'.

I was pointing out that, not excusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Where did I justify?

Somebody invents a 'visit' totally unaware that other parties have actually done the 'visiting'.

I was pointing out that, not excusing.

That was a grand one alright. He knocked around and the woman in question had to come out and say she wasn't intimidated because FG were playing fast and loose with reality again.
    By the way McNeil black mailed that FG chap.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,931 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Not too sure Paddy's views are ones that a lot of SF supporters disagree with, especially with the visceral hatred of Leo V. Even a quick dip into the cesspool that is Twitter show a lot of profiles with a pirate flag, #think32, a Bobby Sands or similar background pic, and some vile opinions. Lots of anti-vax, anti-lockdown, anti-establishment sorts.

There were plenty of Sinn Fein (and Social Democrat) supporters and voters on here who defended our Paddy from accusations of homophobia and racism for weeks on end.

They haven't gone away, you know.

It is incredible really, the lengths that people will go to excuse a man like him. Very few politicians have sunk to such lows as Holohan (maybe Ming dropped his trousers lower) but few inspired such devotional defenders.

Yes, a woman like Jennifer offers the same or more menace that a trio of say, Dessie Ellis, Jonathon Dowdall and O'Snodaigh?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I see Paddy Holohan has packed up being a Shinner.
    They must be might relieved to see him go!
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40247663.html

blanch152 wrote: »
    Yes, a woman like Jennifer offers the same or more menace that a trio of say, Dessie Ellis, Jonathon Dowdall and O'Snodaigh?

Is that a defence of bullying? Wow.

There is bullying (see aforementioned SF trio) and there is gentle persuasion.

It is important to know and understand the difference.

Wow again. How low will you go to defend FG?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,289 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

Wow again. How low will you go to defend FG?

Let me see, I won't defend racism, or homophobia, for example.

However, I will defend people from mindless allegations of bullying.

Let me see, I won't defend racism, or homophobia, for example.

However, I will defend people from mindless allegations of bullying.

You just did that, magnificently.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

It was not gentle persuasion it was blackmail and bullying. But it's ok because its FG:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

In relation to the above few posts...
    Sf will only notice and understand something when it suits them.
    All other times its fluster, bluster, and whatnot.

Dan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Handy that they had 180k in cash lying around to buy an office. Hopefully for the seller it wasn't in coins :)

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/watchdog-probes-sinn-fein-finances-over-officebought-for-180k-in-cash-40218402.html

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Handy that they had 180k in cash lying around to buy an office. Hopefully for the seller it wasn't in coins :)

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/watchdog-probes-sinn-fein-finances-over-officebought-for-180k-in-cash-40218402.html

Why can't you read the article...it most certainly wasn't lying around. It is detailed as to how the money was raised.

It was a joke Francie about coins, hence the smiley face. Why so serious?

Hopefully the SIPO investigation will be thorough and resolved swiftly.

It was a joke Francie about coins, hence the smiley face. Why so serious?

No, jokes are funny. ;)

It's a shame that nobody has given Gerry a late night talk show yet since his retirement from politics. I'd say it would outdo the ratings of the Late Late Show quite easily.

"Even the Unionists like Easter Eggs" :pac:

https://twitter.com/GerryAdamsSF/status/1373260624663359494?s=19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

good to see Gerry still has a sense of timing .

I doubt there are having the craic in warrington today mind

https://twitter.com/PoliceWarr/status/1373213583451033605

• Registered Users Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the office was bought in 2015 and issue was reported on as far back as 2018

Yup, the scrutiny around the office purchase is not new. I believe the watchdog probe into it is though, hence the article published today.