Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

I suppose people will be free to speculate in the boards SF thread about why SF engage in this strange behaviour in managing their activities online, particularly where people observe SF online activity to be strange

Posters that arent SF supporters- definitely not!- are likewise free to respond to every such speculation by demanding a file for the DPP be attached to each post.

Itself imo a strange online behaviour but that's their business

• Registered Users Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭maccored

I suppose people will be free to speculate in the boards SF thread about why SF engage in this strange behaviour in managing their activities online, particularly where people observe SF online activity to be strange

Posters that arent SF supporters- definitely not!- are likewise free to respond to every such speculation by demanding a file for the DPP be attached to each post.

Itself imo a strange online behaviour but that's their business

people wonder why SF are so popular, then accuse them of having bots - all because they know how to run social media accounts effectively.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,931 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Has anyone unearthed the crime here?

I love the way the Indo has with language that starts these wild goose chases. They have been doing it for years.

'It has been confirmed by SF' giving the impression that this is a scoop, when the info is freely available at the click of a button on a page called 'Page Transparency'
    Nice work for a hack, if you can get it.

:):)

Are you dismissing this as nothing to see?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,879 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    Are you dismissing this as nothing to see?

No...I am, as usual, asking...what is it you are seeing?

I doubt that will be the end of that. :)

https://twitter.com/BBCJayneMcC/status/1376852551421861891

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

maccored wrote: »
    people wonder why SF are so popular, then accuse them of having bots - all because they know how to run social media accounts effectively.

I suppose every party needs a good online army ? :D:

is there a difference between knowing how to run social media and having the huge cash reserves to pay for someone else to run it for them for a different country

its a wonder that the likes of violet ann and paddy the hooligan and all the other social media screw ups didn't get the benefit of some social media training

is there a difference between knowing how to run social media and having the huge cash reserves to pay for someone else to run it for them for a different country

its a wonder that the likes of violet ann and paddy the hooligan and all the other social media screw ups didn't get the benefit of some social media training

When you look across the spectrum of political input into social media in this country, from 'stupid tweets' to unashamedly suggesting that anonymous accounts be used to promote your party, advice and expertise is worth sourcing wheresoever it is.

once again id like to draw your attention to the title and subject of this thread

I am saying SF maybe aware of the misuse of social media and are going to wherever the expertise is.

Fully on topic.

wasn't there an issue in America about foreign controlled social media accounts and their effect on national politics ?
    given where so much of sf money comes from ( as far as we know anyway )

fully on topic too ,

wasn't there an issue in America about foreign controlled social media accounts and their effect on national politics ?
    given where so much of sf money comes from ( as far as we know anyway )

fully on topic too ,

Two folk in Serbia and one in Germany...foreign controlled?

Ok. :)

I am saying SF maybe aware of the misuse of social media and are going to wherever the expertise is.

Fully on topic.

Are you saying there might be specialised social media skills available in Serbia and Germany that aren't available in Ireland? And that it just happens that these skills are present in Irish Republicans who have emigrated to Germany and Serbia, and therefore have been given admin rights to run social media accounts for all the parties top brass?

No, Francie, something not adding up here. There's a bad smell off this one. I'm sure all the journalists who have received wretched abuse from SF supporters on Twitter especially are now going to keep digging.

Two folk in Serbia and one in Germany...foreign controlled?

Ok. :)

as far as we know at this stage ,

the bots on twitter are trying very hard to shut up further investigations

of course you missed the point ,

ill have to assume by accident , again

Are you saying there might be specialised social media skills available in Serbia and Germany that aren't available in Ireland? And that it just happens that these skills are present in Irish Republicans who have emigrated to Germany and Serbia, and therefore have been given admin rights to run social media accounts for all the parties top brass?

No, Francie, something not adding up here. There's a bad smell off this one. I'm sure all the journalists who have received wretched abuse from SF supporters on Twitter especially are now going to keep digging.

What you are suggesting here is that a 'journalist' has uncovered a conspiracy to control Irish politics from a foreign field...by clicking on a page that says 'Page Transparency' on Twitter.

Maybe SF should get lessons from somebody on how to cover up your conspiracies for better world domination?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Any links to this wretched abuse or have you rang the gardai?

How did they get huge cash reserves? by being intelligent and using their heads. a couple of people arent based in ireland - yet you know for fact it seems they arent irish. plus theres plenty of others involved in social media for sinn fein who arent based abroad.

What exactly is your point because I've obviously missed it. A big case of the wha whas if you ask me.

this will be forgotten about when the storey funeral gets dragged up again.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Any links to this wretched abuse or have you rang the gardai?

I have been looking for it myself. The Independent's original tweet on this has plenty of comment...not seeing much in the way of abuse.

I see their own FB was called into question...'Media being controlled by sinister outside forces?' :)

ExrVAZ7WUAAcga-?format=jpg&name=medium

maccored wrote: »
    this will be forgotten about when the storey funeral gets dragged up again.

SF made a huge mistake, like others have with the funeral.

I understand why there isn't enough evidence to prosecute, I suspected there wouldn't be, but hopefully now the apologies can be accepted as other apologies were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    I don't have a party. I voted Green for the last few elections, and as far as I recall they didn't get a mention in Moriarty.

There are repeated serious issues relating to Sinn Fein and political funding from abroad. Dismissing them does nobody any favours. SIPO is certainly concerned.

Like what? And what is the problem with two people in Serbia working on the SF social media?
    All reads like looking for dirt.

There is a FF/FG thread if you want to raise those issues.

Funny how it's straight to look over there at FG when accusations come up against SF.

And the SF lads spend their days accusing everyone here of whataboutery when a story breaks about FF/FG.

Ironic that.

I didn't post what FF/SF/FG spend on social media I commented on it after I asked those questions nobody or any FG lads will address.

What accusations? If you have issue with Serbians please elaborate.

SF made a huge mistake, like others have with the funeral.

I understand why there isn't enough evidence to prosecute, I suspected there wouldn't be, but hopefully now the apologies can be accepted as other apologies were.

No-one can deny the stupidity. then again we do have a fella who wanted to run off to america earlier in the month

All these connections that Sf have to suspicious locations have me wondering, how much help they get from a 'certain quarter' in managing their image. I sure do hope their supporters realise what they are actually supporting as opposed to what they think they are supporting.

You alluding to Putin oil concerns laundering their money in Ireland while the Irish state froze the assets of a Putin rival? Or Putin oil concerns having post office box type companies registered in Ireland for tax purposes? I don't think that's on the shinners TBF.
    But yeah two people in Serbia, (Irish/Serbian/Dutch?) working on SF social media is pretty nefarious :rolleyes:

Like what? And what is the problem with two people in Serbia working on the SF social media?
    All reads like looking for dirt.

We are going to go full on Bond villan cliches I fear. 'A Serbian....hmmmm' (strokes beard, raises one eyebrow)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I think people might be missing the point here. Hopefully it is all legitimate, but having your social media run from abroad sure doesn't have a great look to it for a party that is being heavily scrutinised recently regarding foreign donations and whether they are benefiting the party in ROI. The issue comes down to where the funding is coming from for these Serbian/Germany based social media managers - if it is coming from genuinely allowable Irish donations then there is no story. If it is being funded by Friends of Sinn Fein in the US, for example, then they could have an issue.

I'm sure Sinn Fein will be quick to confirm the source of the financing if there is nothing to he seen here.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    I think people might be missing the point here. Hopefully it is all legitimate, but having your social media run from abroad sure doesn't have a great look to it for a party that is being heavily scrutinised recently regarding foreign donations and whether they are benefiting the party in ROI. The issue comes down to where the funding is coming from for these Serbian/Germany based social media managers - if it is coming from genuinely allowable Irish donations then there is no story. If it is being funded by Friends of Sinn Fein in the US, for example, then they could have an issue.

I'm sure Sinn Fein will be quick to confirm the source of the financing if there is nothing to he seen here.

The 'accounts' aren't being run from aboard. 3 people not currently based in Ireland are helping to run the accounts. What extent, what nationality they are, and what they are contributing is not known.

But lets quickly escalate it to something sinister.

Where are the rules on funding this BTW as you seem to know them?

Managers? Levels of access are set. These people, whose nationality we don't know, might only have access to posting or moderation. They might be volunteers, they might be students etc.. Companies and organisations don't have their top men maintaining or curating social media.
    Someone having some level of access is not the same as Spectre operating from the belly of a dormant Volcano.
    If you are in Finland and set up a SF supporter facebook group, that's legal and not of much note IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 hiptobesquare

The 'accounts' aren't being run from aboard. 3 people not currently based in Ireland are helping to run the accounts. What extent, what nationality they are, and what they are contributing is not known.

But lets quickly escalate it to something sinister.

Where are the rules on funding this BTW as you seem to know them?

It would explain why they never challenged the government on anything in the shambolic lockdown response. I.e., maybe they've outsourced everything in terms of policy. Not saying i agree with the notion, but has anyone got any better ideas?

https://freepress.ie/2021/03/proof-that-sinn-feins-social-media-like-their-party-is-run-by-foreign-entities/

Proof-That-Sinn-Feins-Social-Media-Like-Their-Party-Is-Run-By-Foreign-Entities-pn.png?ssl=1

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I think you have both completely missed the point in my post. Their nationality is completely irrelevant.

The implication was that these individuals could be funded by foreign donations, which as we all know is not allowed in ROI politics.

I'm not suggesting that this is the case, simply pointing out that that implication is why it is in the news (nothing to do with nationality or whatever ye seem to be tying it to).

I'm sure Sinn Fein can clear up the financial questions swiftly anyway and confirm they are funded via legitimate donations.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 hiptobesquare

I think you have both completely missed the point in my post. Their nationality is completely irrelevant.

The implication was that these individuals could be funded by foreign donations, which as we all know is not allowed in ROI politics.

I'm not suggesting that this is the case, simply pointing out that that implication is why it is in the news (nothing to do with nationality or whatever ye seem to be tying it to).

I'm sure Sinn Fein can clear up the financial questions swiftly anyway and confirm they are funded via legitimate donations.

Absolutely, it doesnt matter what their nationality is. But, we must know who they are, and where they are based exactly - agency etc. IP addresses would be handy for verificaion. One thing freepress are definitely right on - they drove this country mental with their facebook posts in February and march with the reach they had.... who they were is seriously important