Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you catch it?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

agoodpunt wrote: »
    With no cold or flu for over one year from the extra attension to hygiene is noticeable

Its just 15mins + getherings in badly ventilated indoor enclosed settings homes, factories and hospitals imo

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00251-4

This 15 minute thing has me baffled- if your there 13 minute your grand or 10 - once over 15 your fecked !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

sporina wrote: »

I only popped onto this thread cos I thought my mate might have the virus - thankfully she doesn't .. not really interested in discussing the matter any further.. no offence

Well you were saying that they could have picked it up from using a bus and were dismissing their workplace because they're spaced out.

All I was saying is it's hard to tell, even if you are spaced out because it's airborne.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭SnrInfant

TP_CM wrote: »
    I'm not sure how anyone aged 60+ is getting it. I understand how 100s of under 30 year olds are getting it. The reason we're all here is because of mankind's undying need to get the shift in their late teens and 20s. Even through the black plague there were teenagers and young people dry humping each other behind whatever shed was available to them. When it comes to procreation, logic rarely prevails. Our ancestors courted through a lot worse than pandemics.

My mam (73) has caught it in hospital,she went in for a hip operation. So heartbreaking after minding herself so well throughout this whole pandemic

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I've posted this in other threads but worthwhile repeating it here as I haven't heard it aired on any Irish media. According to a UK documentary I saw, presented by Dr Ronx Ikharia, men as born with XY chromosomes, irrespective of age or other health issues, are 44% more likely to die than women of Covid. The program says that is to do with the Y chromosome that dictates how the biological gender responds to viruses in first line defence. It holds that the reason XX women are more likely to suffer autoimmune diseases lies in their more efficient immediate response to viruses. COVID takes particular advantage of this. It's a trade off that means women are a bit more likely to survive longer, but maybe with some chronic autoimmune disease.

If this is overall scientifically verified, then it would mean XY males should be prioritised for vaccine. I say this as somebody who would stand to wait behind in the queue.

So you never actually tested positive for it?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    So you never actually tested positive for it?

What has your response comment got to do with mine about the BBC documentary which suggested that men are more prone to getting a worse infection than women

• Registered Users Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭sporina

sporina wrote: »

Well you were saying that they could have picked it up from using a bus and were dismissing their workplace because they're spaced out.

All I was saying is it's hard to tell, even if you are spaced out because it's airborne.

she works in a warehouse.. so had she tested positive, the bus wudda been more plausible than her workplace..

there is one guy on her bus who keeps closing the windows - the driver had to have words with him.. signs up everywhere and yet he continues to close them
    that and other passengers taking off masks and chatting across the isle etc..

anyway.. must keep up to date with the relevant sources.. WHO etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What has your response comment got to do with mine about the BBC documentary which suggested that men are more prone to getting a worse infection than women

I quoted the wrong post! But did you actually test positive? If you haven’t, make sure you take all precautions as if you never had it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

biko wrote: »
    Close range droplets are the new leading theory

Supporting this theory, most people catch the virus from someone they live with and presumably are in frequent close contact with.

In one study from China an infected person had a 17.2% chance of spreading the virus to a family member who lived with them, but just a 2.6% chance of giving it to someone outside the home.

That said, an uncle of mine got the virus but did not pass it on to anyone in his family.

https://elemental.medium.com/the-most-likely-way-youll-get-infected-with-covid-19-30430384e5a5

How do they know this? The test is only a snapshot in time and people will only test positive for a few days. They may have had it and be asymptomatic but were not tested during this time frame.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

The colleges being opened is definitely a huge cause of spread regarding students.

Not because we're drinking like mad and having house parties, but because we live on top of each other. Im in a house of 6, most my friends live in houses of 5-8 people. In a typical family unit / house there might be 4 people, with two constantly working from home or schooling from home. But me and my house mates are intermittently required on campus, each go to the shop, each get public transport, and each go to our "essential" retail jobs. If any one of us pick it up then the whole house goes down. So far I've known two houses that were completely over run with covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Best to assume that it is airborne and also on surfaces. Of the people I know of who got it, 2 in hospital with some other condition before, 2 through work, 2 through family contacts and 3 from travel.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I quoted the wrong post! But did you actually test positive? If you haven’t, make sure you take all precautions as if you never had it.

The test last Wednesday proved negative, but in spite of taking antibiotic for presumed bacterial infection I continue to be symptomatic as if I have a flu-like thing, so I'm taking every precaution I can and self-isolating in my apartment. Was symptomatic since Tuesday when I woke up very shaky. Weathering it through just fine, whatever it is. Had something similar, but a lot worse, travelling in Africa last March. Wasn't tested then.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The HSPC publish stats from their contact tracing. The two big spreaders are hospitals/care homes (last I checked 33% of cases relate to hospitals) and transmission in social settings/homes. There is a big drop before the next highest setting which is schools/universities.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Tig98 wrote: »
    The colleges being opened is definitely a huge cause of spread regarding students.

Not because we're drinking like mad and having house parties, but because we live on top of each other. Im in a house of 6, most my friends live in houses of 5-8 people. In a typical family unit / house there might be 4 people, with two constantly working from home or schooling from home. But me and my house mates are intermittently required on campus, each go to the shop, each get public transport, and each go to our "essential" retail jobs. If any one of us pick it up then the whole house goes down. So far I've known two houses that were completely over run with covid.

I was under the impression that university and
    Most higher education institutes are teaching through a mixture of online and very limited campus based classes under level 5.

It is also with bearing in mind that in shared households amongst younger age groups - many of those infected are likley to be asymptomatic.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭threescompany

Got Covid 4 months ago when numbers were considerably lower & we were in level 3.

I don’t know where I picked it up, complete shock. I was deemed a community transmission case. I assume work or the shops although I regarded myself as being very very careful. Limited contacts, constant sanitising etc. Bad luck I suppose :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

gozunda wrote: »
    I was under the impression that university and
    Most higher education institutes are teaching through a mixture of online and very limited campus based classes under level 5.

It is also with bearing in mind that in shared households amongst younger age groups - many of those infected are likley to be asymptomatic.
    We're a mixture of final year and post grad students, mostly hard sciences, so we're prioritised for practical classes. I know some people might be giving out that it's "non-essential", but without hands on lab experience most science degrees aren't worth the paper they're written on. Anyone I know doing humanities or commerce type courses are fully remote though.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,080 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

I know 4 very careful people who caught it, the type who wore masks outdoors before they were suggested. They live together, all students learning remotely, all out of work except one who worked in a no-food bar when they all caught it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

My friend and her husband and kids caught it when the youngest got it in creche.
    Another friends' two kids got it from school so the two parents also caught it.
    An elderly relative caught it in hospital when she was in for something unrelated and passed it onto her kids in their 60's and their spouses(one of which died) and three grandchildren in their 20's and 30's when she was released (no social distancing at all in the family).
    A colleague (we work in a residential setting) caught it socialising at Christmas (which she admits to) but thankfully did not pass it on to anyone in work.
    I know three people who were really cautious and still caught it.

Just got retested this afternoon after a negative Wednesday last week when I had fairly mild symptoms. Presumed to be a bacterial respiratory infection, likely from gastric reflux, I was given a week's amoxicillin. However a couple of days ago, before finish of that, I got much worse with a sensation of proverbial "elephant on chest", and the pulse oximeter I once got in Aldi/Lidl showed oxygen dipping to 91% for several minute periods, so I contacted GP. A taxi was sent to bring me for a test less than two hours later, which is what I call service :)
    Hope it was well sanitised after, because whatever I have wouldn't be great for an already sick person to catch. I live alone have been scrupulously careful to avoid contact with people apart from doing essential shopping. There is one particular supermarket I go to which can get uncomfortably crowded, with a high ratio of staff to customers, and they always seem to be huddled together in the narrow aisles. I have worn double masks a lot of time when in there, but it is in my catchment area and keeps the stuff I need.

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Warbeastrior

Just got retested this afternoon after a negative Wednesday last week when I had fairly mild symptoms. Presumed to be a bacterial respiratory infection, likely from gastric reflux, I was given a week's amoxicillin. However a couple of days ago, before finish of that, I got much worse with a sensation of proverbial "elephant on chest", and the pulse oximeter I once got in Aldi/Lidl showed oxygen dipping to 91% for several minute periods, so I contacted GP. A taxi was sent to bring me for a test less than two hours later, which is what I call service Hope it was well sanitised after, because whatever I have wouldn't be great for an already sick person to catch. I live alone have been scrupulously careful to avoid contact with people apart from doing essential shopping. There is one particular supermarket I go to which can get uncomfortably crowded, with a high ratio of staff to customers, and they always seem to be huddled together in the narrow aisles. I have worn double masks a lot of time when in there, but it is in my catchment area and keeps the stuff I need.

Get well soon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Just got retested this afternoon after a negative Wednesday last week when I had fairly mild symptoms. Presumed to be a bacterial respiratory infection, likely from gastric reflux, I was given a week's amoxicillin. However a couple of days ago, before finish of that, I got much worse with a sensation of proverbial "elephant on chest", and the pulse oximeter I once got in Aldi/Lidl showed oxygen dipping to 91% for several minute periods, so I contacted GP. A taxi was sent to bring me for a test less than two hours later, which is what I call service :)
    Hope it was well sanitised after, because whatever I have wouldn't be great for an already sick person to catch. I live alone have been scrupulously careful to avoid contact with people apart from doing essential shopping. There is one particular supermarket I go to which can get uncomfortably crowded, with a high ratio of staff to customers, and they always seem to be huddled together in the narrow aisles. I have worn double masks a lot of time when in there, but it is in my catchment area and keeps the stuff I need.

Wearing two masks? I can't believe how careful you were being and still caught it. Do you wear goggles at all? I think the eyes are a route of entry for the virus.

Hope you get better soon.

Wearing two masks? I can't believe how careful you were being and still caught it. Do you wear goggles at all? I think the eyes are a route of entry for the virus.

Hope you get better soon.

No evidence of virus on 2nd swab. Alas it's no passport to "freedom" as I still have cough and fever of just over 101 and have been advised to consider myself potentially infectious until 2 days have passed symptom free. Trouble is I occasionally have got some episodes of lung infection from reflux association with large hiatal hernia, so in times of Covid this could be mistaken for it. A 7 day course of amoxicillin had no effect at all. If absolutely necessary GP will arrange chest X-ray, but that would mean a trip to a Covid area, kind of Catch 22. Fingers crossed it will just all go away :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

I wear goggles at work and If the south african/ brazilian strain becomes the dominant strain I might consider wearing goggles on public transport for the meantime I just open windows.