Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in OP [Updated 01 March 21]

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,342 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

De Gea yet again gifts a goal.

• Awful from De Gea

Game on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,885 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

How slow is Maguire

Credit to Bruno great strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Maguire at fault as much as De Gea, I’ve seen 40ft with more pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Great comeback by Everton.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,342 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great 5 mins for Everton

• Thoroughly deserved
    Awful from Utd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

UTD still in the dressing room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Super James good finish!

De Gea poor for 1st goal should never have gotten it.

Only half watching here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,372 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Thoroughly deserved
    Awful from Utd

That defence will never be good enough.

Forgive the comparison, but this is Liverpool four years ago.

• SlickRic wrote: »
    That defence will never be good enough.

Forgive the comparison, but this is Liverpool four years ago.

You wont find many Utd fan disagree with the defensive frailties

We won't be winning leagues with defenders of this calibre but we have been saying this

Maguire just isnt good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

You wont find many Utd fan disagree with the defensive frailties

We won't be winning leagues with defenders of this calibre but we have been saying this

But he's never going to be dropped because the money spent, his English and ye made him captain...an absolute disaster of a signing on all counts!

• But he's never going to be dropped because the money spent, his English and ye made him captain...an absolute disaster of a signing on all counts!

Oh for sure. Utd are Boxed in because of the price. English inflation.
    He is good enough for top 4 that's the peak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Esse85

Oh for sure. Utd are Boxed in because of the price. English inflation.
    He is good enough for top 4 that's the peak.

I wouldn't take him in the villa team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

It's frustrating that he is the only one never taken out for a tactical reason. He is the one constant. The things he does well are documented, and he's a nice guy. His weaknesses amplify those of others around him though imo and there is rarely a game where he doesn't make a mistake that leads to unnecessary pressure on the team.

The forum would have you believe Lindeloff is making mistakes week in, week out, and he's not without blame (nor Bailley, AwB and Shaw) but it's Maguire that's the issue for me.

Terrible from GK, couldn't move his feet, possibly slipped.

• McSauce you beast yesssss

Another keeper error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,159 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Glad we didn't let Romero join Everton now tbh. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Another keeper error

Looked like he slipped (not sure if or if not that would be considered an error).

Ahhh Olsson :(

Referee doesn't look fit.

Keeper is actually worse than Pickford

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭MurDawg

Surprised its this close tbh, United been all over Everton for 90% of this game

Let off there for McGuire.

• Maguire as I said

Not good enough

Comical by Maguire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Just saw the Soucek red card.. .... Fvcking hilarious. No way is that a sending off! Mike Dean and VAR are having a laugh. No intent, no violence, (very little impact) no common sense, no place in the game at any high level.

Mitrovic didn't cover himself in glory either.

Not watching the late game, but is Harry doing his shoulder shrug with that confused frown on his face every 15 minutes when he fvxks up and doesn't seem to know what's going on?

Sigurdsson wimped out of that header.

I actually think a win tonight will cement United into 2nd place,obviously they still have a slim chance of first spot

I cant see Liverpool winning tomorrow and iv been saying for a month now i expect United to have a 10 point gap on Liverpool come March 1st, 2nd place looks wrapped up

Oh well

All is forgiven Sig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Brutal from De Gea again

He's a coward.

Fully deserved

• Well deserved against this Mickey mouse defending

Sickened but a good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,967 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Great finish from Calvert-Lewin there, great delivery though!

Big DCL! Will take that all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

Haha, comical from man u. :-)

I actually think a win tonight will cement United into 2nd place,obviously they still have a slim chance of first spot

I cant see Liverpool winning tomorrow and iv been saying for a month now i expect United to have a 10 point gap on Liverpool come March 1st, 2nd place looks wrapped up

Nothing written on stone, or cement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭doc_17

That’s all down to AWB giving a brutal ball down the channel to Cavani. It was a simple pass. I know some think he’s brilliant but he really is average.

You'll never win a league with a poor keeper. De Gea is a serious weak link. Maguire another.

Excellent stuff Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,372 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

That's as well as I've seen Utd play this season.

Never should've drawn.

But you've always got a chance with that backline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

doc_17 wrote: »
    That’s all down to AWB giving a brutal ball down the channel to Cavani. It was a simple pass. I know some think he’s brilliant but he really is average.

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

De Gea's best days are a distant memory. Utd will eventually need to make a choice between him and Henderson. And Olsen wouldn't inspire confidence in the Everton goal. As for Pickford; well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,444 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

United had a great chance to put a bit of extra pressure on City before they play Liverpool tomorrow and absolutely made a balls of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Don't worry lads, I'm sure Liverpool will get a result tomorrow to keep ye in the title race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,012 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Choked when they had a chance to put pressure on City.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

the added extra time came from Ole trying to waste seconds by bringing on Tuanzebe for Greenwood (who took ages walking off). Tuanzebe then gave away the free kick which led to the goal lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    Don't worry lads, I'm sure Liverpool will get a result tomorrow to keep ye in the title race...

Sure utd will be supporting City tomorrow