Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Dance Video *Mod Warning in OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Green Peter

murpho999 wrote: »
    They certainly did and shot in widescreen landscape mode.

Now they want it released in the Cinema!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭I regurgitate the news

How do you know if people in the video are benefitting from the situation?

People who have lost their jobs would not be narrow minded enough to blame Gardai for their situation as the Gardai have not caused any of the problems created by the pandemic.

I've been told by a relative who's a guard that most of them think what they are being asked to do is ridiculous. He said around 70% where he is based.

They are benefiting because they are getting Overtime.

Narrow minded? Is that what you call people that are struggling to make their weekly payments while they have to listen to people to tell them to cheer up because people in uniform are dancing in a video?

I actually feel sorry for some of the guards for what they are being asked to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I've been told by a relative who's a guard that most of them think what they are being asked to do is ridiculous. He said around 70% where he is based.

They are benefiting because they are getting Overtime.

Narrow minded? Is that what you call people that are struggling to make their weekly payments while they have to listen to people to tell them to cheer up because people in uniform are dancing in a video?

I actually feel sorry for some of the guards for what they are being asked to do.

Nobody is telling anyone to cheer up.

You're the one who has declared that the unemployed are outraged by a few Gardai dancing in a video.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭raven41

Samsgirl wrote: »
    What's the bigger picture, in your opinion?

Maybe the fact that we really havent got a properly functioning police force in this country and as a matter of priority that should be sorted out instead of making stupid dance videos.
    Pre covid large swathes of our city allow drug addicts to engage in anti social behaviour willy nilly and there is pretty much zero Garda presence on our streets at night. Peoples right to travel and basic freedoms are being curtailed by the lockdown and just maybe a pr stunt like this could rankle ever so slightly with the public. Timing and all that.
    If you ring looking for assistance you're met with "we havent got a car available for another 3 hours" and a lot of relevant complaints are pawned off as being "a civil matter". I think it speaks volumes of the importance of how we are perceived internationally as opposed to actually doing their job.
    If all of the above was rectified, I personally would have no issue with them doing their silly dance.
    For me thats the bigger picture...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

raven41 wrote: »
    Maybe the fact that we really havent got a properly functioning police force in this country and as a matter of priority that should be sorted out instead of making stupid dance videos.
    Pre covid large swathes of our city allow drug addicts to engage in anti social behaviour willy nilly and there is pretty much zero Garda presence on our streets at night. Peoples right to travel and basic freedoms are being curtailed by the lockdown and just maybe a pr stunt like this could rankle ever so slightly with the public. Timing and all that.
    If you ring looking for assistance you're met with "we havent got a car available for another 3 hours" and a lot of relevant complaints are pawned off as being "a civil matter". I think it speaks volumes of the importance of how we are perceived internationally as opposed to actually doing their job.
    If all of the above was rectified, I personally would have no issue with them doing their silly dance.

so you want loads more police numbers and resources , cop on every corner sort of thing ?
    police powers to cover non criminal civil issues in a invasive way
    detached impersonal policing a police force known across the world for that ,

they can learn that from Russia or china . which would you prefer ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

raven41 wrote: »

This is not the fault of the guards themselves. This is cut backs , shortage of guards, awful judicial system , more crime

The video was a harmless bit of fun and I'd dont imagine the whole force was off work to make video

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Feisar

SAMTALK wrote: »
    This is not the fault of the guards themselves. This is cut backs , shortage of guards, awful judicial system , more crime

The video was a harmless bit of fun and I'd dont imagine the whole force was off work to make video

This is pretty much it, it's not as if they were making the vid while neglecting their duties. Gardaí in their own time making a vid, it's not like the opportunity cost foregone was fixing the force in general. People are unemployed, I get that however it's not like the Gardaí in the vid are influencing that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

lucalux wrote: »
    Probably down to the terrible lack of confidence in the irish language we have here, not even that it's all that difficult.
    I think we are almost afraid to lean in to learning it, or allowing ourselves to have a go, as a result of the woeful way it was taught to most in schools?

Was giving directions the other day and was counting houses to give the lad an idea of how far outside the village this house is, and starting counting off in irish to myself, his first question was "Are you a primary school teacher?!", presumably because that's the only people who would bother to count in irish :o

So... what class do you teach?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

Is there an American/French/UK version yet?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

mynamejeff wrote: »
    so you want loads more police numbers and resources , cop on every corner sort of thing ?
    police powers to cover non criminal civil issues in a invasive way
    detached impersonal policing a police force known across the world for that ,

they can learn that from Russia or china . which would you prefer ?

We have loads of police but they are not managed at all.
    The traffic corps needs to be reviewed as the technology is there to change this (ie speed cameras/vehicle recognition) some of this is already in place.
    There are loads of traffic police and be better if deployed as proper Gardai...

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Government buildings

The thing about these dance videos is that once you've seen one you've seen them all.
    They are just boring to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

buried wrote: »
    Is there an American/French/UK version yet?

Not just yet. Too busy policing

The thing about these dance videos is that once you've seen one you've seen them all.
    They are just boring to watch.

Seems a lot of folk don't find them boring at all, there's about 55 billion of them up on tiktok.
    Seems to me to be some new 15 second pop music magick gimick for the masses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭lucalux

So... what class do you teach?

Na naíonáin sóisearacha*

*(most definitely not true, twould be like the blind leading the blind, though they might be more mature than me, the doteens :))

Don't look now, but there's more :eek:

lol

lucalux wrote: »
    Don't look now, but there's more :eek:

....and even more.

Is anybody working at all for the state?

How can they be allowed near a beach?

If the videos were reduced to one minute in length it would be a big improvement!

Nah if you want to see people making fools of themselves better you have a good few minutes of it

Yeah the enjoyment for me is mainly marvelling at the lack of rhythm or coordination from most of the dancers. Can't rush that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

....and even more.

The Swiss police did it. Grand well done
    They probably have the cop on to leave it at that.
    The Irish on the other hand. Every eejit the length and breadth of the country will have to have had a go at it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

....and even more.

They're the Coast Guard?

Some socially bubbly member of a group decides it would be a good idea to do the dance.

I think there's a certain amount of compulsion involving the others, judging by some of the dancers' enthusiasm.

Main problem for me is the actual track. It's f**king terrible. If they were trying to dance to some real good forward pushing dance music actually being created today from the continent of Africa like from artists such as '1127' or 'Duama' I might be able to get with this sort of shtick

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If you've lost your job and you see people benefiting from this situation getting overtime and then dancing in places you are not allowed visit it is most definitely not raising spirits.

Just a mad theory, but bear with me. What if, all the Gardai in that video worked together, and then made the dance in their own time at the end of their shift or a day off? Remembering that not all Gardai are on the 7-7 shift (some units finish at 3, 5, 7, 9, sometimes 2 if they've a half day, etc...).

Just because it's not raising your spirits (it's not raising mine either), doesn't mean there's any harm in it.
    We have loads of police but they are not managed at all.
    The traffic corps needs to be reviewed as the technology is there to change this (ie speed cameras/vehicle recognition) some of this is already in place.
    There are loads of traffic police and be better if deployed as proper Gardai...

You're a bit late to the party, but the Traffic Corps has been changed to the Roads Policing Unit and they are now actively involved in non-traffic related cases they previously wouldn't have been. There may be technology, but the state is too cheap to roll it out to all stations/vehicles. I think it's the station based Gardai you need to get on to. Still too many of them imo.

....and even more.

They're the Coast Guard?
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 16,253 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Just a clumsy line dance thing if it wasn't for the scenery. Getting boring now that everyone is copying.

Agree.

The initial Garda was fun but leave it at that.

There's even a brutal one going around now from An Post workers in Clonmel.

Also, Coast Guard have instructed members not to make any more.

Link

• Registered Users Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Irish Coast Guard have ordered members not to do any such dances for social media. Citing, among other reasons, that any unnecessary gathering of any kind, increases risks associated with this deathly pandemic everyone is supposed to be taking so seriously.

Seems fair to me. When you look at the Rugby teams at the weekend, all separated in stands, masked in their rugby gear it really highlights that gathering is a privileged thing to be able to do and so should not be undertaken for unnecessary craic. No matter how bored you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Has the video of the "Dry Robe ****érs" doing it at Sandycove/40ft been posted yet?