Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proper old school Dublin pubs thread

• Registered Users Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

humberklog wrote: »
    Now I know I put in Hogan's but I'm struggling to see how The Snug fits in. It's a relatively new pub, its decor is like a small drab pub you'd find under a multi-storey car park on the outskirts of Birmingham city. The Lithuanian mother and son and Thai wife of the owner (I believe they've moved on a few years ago) , whilst ran a tight enough ship, weren't exactly overly friendly or helpful and I understand the new management aren't much better. I think it's got even rougher since. The varying degrees of loudness of the euro-bass-trad music mixed with the mono blare of the 4.30 from Haydock scratching away from the TVs is disconcerting.

They only connection the clientele have with proper old school pubs in the city is that they've been barred from most of them.

Still a cheap pint all the same.

Been a few years since I was in it but used to drink in it regularly enough for a while.
    Was usually early in day when I'd be in ,no music on .
    Few auld lads supping pints , racing on TV and often a fire in a stove.
    Good pint and it was cheap.

Obviously was rough enough as the day went on but I never seen any real trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

dobman88 wrote: »
    4 of us used to meet up almost every Friday for pints in Nealons. We became pro-like at getting that little table in the corner on the way to the jacks. No need to move and a little space for the bar staff to throw the pints out to you. Used to time it to be there after the work crew were finished their few pints but before the evening crew got in, sit there until closing happy out.

Jaysus I miss the pub

I've gone in there a good few times after work on Friday with some mates and it has been jammed with students and refugees from the Pantibar since before lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

Birneybau wrote: »
    I've gone in there a good few times after work on Friday with some mates and it has been jammed with students and refugees from the Pantibar since before lockdown.

What an odd comment. Can't say I took much notice tbh or noticed if any were students or had come in from across the road. Its just a nice boozer, in a good location for us all to meet, with generally nice staff.

Also, I did say we got in after the people that had finished work so maybe there was a different crowd in for the evening/night. Have never seen it jammed with students tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

Great thread. It has made me very very thristy. My top faves that fit the bill:

- The Lord Edward
    - O'Connell's, Portobello
    - Cleary's, Amiens St

With honourable mention to the following places when they're quiet:
    - Neary's (especially upstairs)
    - The Stags Head (upstairs or snug downstairs)
    - The Long Hall

I would add Delaney's, Smithfield but hate the refurb job (bright lights, loud music last time I was there etc) - no longer a dark/cosy place.

One place that I don't think has been mentioned - Cumiskey's, top of Dominick St. Great friendly boozer.

Not anything like a regular visitor but I've always liked
    - The Windjammer, Townsend St
    - The Yacht, Ringsend
    - Liberty Belle, Francis St

Outside of DC:
    - O'Loughlin's, Dún Laoghaire
    - The Blue Light, Barnacullia
    - The Pebble Beach, Conquer Hill (Clontarf)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭YoshiSays

Was Peter's pub mentioned.
    Can be nice on a quiet night.
    Or maybe it's all changed!

Probably not "old school". Not sure what it would be considered to be. A music venue? A dive bar? I'll let ye tell me. But Frank Ryan's in Smithfield. Only there a handful of times but the bar man is definitely of the old school variety. Asked him once who was in a cool photo behind the bar, he said to guess so I said John Dillinger. He just tutted in disgust and said "ya fcukin gob****e" :pac: that was enough for me to want to go back when a lad doesn't give a shìte like that, great craic. Photo turned out to be young Sinatra lol.

Bonus points cos they have a resident dog too.

My regular joint and I'm friends with the owner, Tadgh. They've started doing amazing pizzas now so don't think old man pub.

Tadgh is such a character, old school bohemian. He used to be Jerry Lee Lewis's unofficial driver when the wildman was in town.

What an odd comment. Can't say I took much notice tbh or noticed if any were students or had come in from across the road. Its just a nice boozer, in a good location for us all to meet, with generally nice staff.

Also, I did say we got in after the people that had finished work so maybe there was a different crowd in for the evening/night. Have never seen it jammed with students tbf.

What an odd comment on my comment. Wasn't disagreeing with you, just saying it can get uncomfortably jammed as the evening progresses. Different crowd than it used to be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

YoshiSays wrote: »
    Was Peter's pub mentioned.
    Can be nice on a quiet night.
    Or maybe it's all changed!

A great pub for pulling posh grungy birds, single types with small dogs and laddered tights.

Overpriced beers also. In fairness it has nice facilities , I think that must be why the fancy birds drink there?

No music, great for chat. Those 30 something failed models are sponges for spoof.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,293 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

1968 wrote: »
    Great thread. It has made me very very thristy. My top faves that fit the bill:

- The Lord Edward

Oh yeah, forgot about the lord edward. Was there once about 3 years ago and remember thinking it was proper old school, good call

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Superb thread. I've a n'awful throat on me after reading it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭dazberry

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    A great pub for pulling posh grungy birds, single types with small dogs and laddered tights.

Overpriced beers also. In fairness it has nice facilities , I think that must be why the fancy birds drink there?

No music, great for chat. Those 30 something failed models are sponges for spoof.

The only thing about Peter's Pub is that if it's not too busy and the proprietor is there - he'll direct you where to sit, you sort off don't get a choice. Now maybe he wants all the failed models in the prime positions - who knows - but it sort of p1sses some of my friends off and they don't want to go in ... and we're all good looking too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭YoshiSays

Doing a pub crawl in my head now .... Hairy Lemon ?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,798 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Hairy Lemon is overrated and not really old-school.

dazberry wrote: »
    The only thing about Peter's Pub is that if it's not too busy and the proprietor is there - he'll direct you where to sit, you sort off don't get a choice. Now maybe he wants all the failed models in the prime positions - who knows - but it sort of p1sses some of my friends off and they don't want to go in ... and we're all good looking too :D

Yeah, that wouldn't wash with me either. I can't stand bar staff who are hell bent on organising / ruining my night for me. I want drink served with a smile and all my jokes politely laughed at, it is not too much to ask.

McDaids an honourable second choice for houndy failed model types. It is all that LSB nostalgia and the dark lighting - the vampire effect. They tend to purr away in the corner under the TV looking for rich older men prey.

I personally adore some of the younger goths across the road in Bruxelles. Plenty of if she smokes she pokes types hanging around the Phll Lynott Statue there. Like moths to a flame. The foreign ones are best, I usually tell them I am Bono's cousin or I was in school with the lead singer of the Script - you would be amazed.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭mayo londoner

Never understood the hype about Tom Kennedys, it's a sweatbox and Guinness is only decent despite all the credit it gets, Liberty Belle round the corner much nicer pub. Big fan of O'Connells in Portobello, McNeills on Capel St, Slatterys in Rathmines, Dame Tavern and The Terenure Inn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Is there anything (good) to be said for The Celt on Talbot St? I dont like it as much since they extended it into a tourist trap, but the front bar can be alright at times

No love for The International I see?

I love that pub, a great place a for pint from 10.30 am onwards. A smashing comedy venue upstairs. A really cool small venue downstairs. A lovely bar sandwiched in between. Top spot.

8b8d335ca8fcdd96825a49a69829dc9a.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Had a run in there with the switch over of the rugby while I was watching after being in there for a few hours and had a load of grub as well.

Never gone back. Assholes.

Of the 3 "older bars" [Slatts, Nealons, Boar] on capel, Nealons is the best of the lot
    You can fling McNeill's into the sun.

Someone who wanted Burnley vs Swansea instead of the local team Leinster playing in a Heineken semi?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,798 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The Metro once changed from a (League 1, admittedly) match that had six people (out of the eight in the pub) watching it to the golf for one of the two regulars. The six headed to the Shakespeare/Hop House

Not sure if a sign of a good locals pub or a sign of commercial suicide. The pubs closed down since, so possibly the latter!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

L1011 wrote: »
    Hairy Lemon is overrated and not really old-school.

It was ****e 25 years ago so I doubt it’s improved.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    No love for The International I see?

I love that pub, a great place a for pint from 10.30 am onwards. A smashing comedy venue upstairs. A really cool small venue downstairs. A lovely bar sandwiched in between. Top spot.

There's bars around that are cool old school bars but are in unreal locations, so they're always busy, but it also meant they never had to gut the bar. Now they can trade off the traditional look they have. McDaids, Keoghs, Stags Head etc. No reason not to include them because they're always busy. Think The Bailey is one that was gutted in the 90s and would have been cool now.

Cienciano wrote: »
    There's bars around that are cool old school bars but are in unreal locations, so they're always busy, but it also meant they never had to gut the bar. Now they can trade off the traditional look they have. McDaids, Keoghs, Stags Head etc. No reason not to include them because they're always busy. Think The Bailey is one that was gutted in the 90s and would have been cool now.

Not mad about the fit out in Davy Byrne's either...

Every time I go into the Duke there is a smell of Carvery. Not good. There is only so much Bacon and Cabbage I can smell in one sitting. I never hang around.

I like Hartigans on Leeson street. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere yet bang in the middle? Decent prices for town and no frills, I like that sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭doughef

Is there anything (good) to be said for The Celt on Talbot St? I dont like it as much since they extended it into a tourist trap, but the front bar can be alright at times

No way ...it’s a spill over for the restaurant!
    And I’ve often got a pint of Guinness in there in a beamish / Murphy’s an/other glass .

There is an awful whack of Paddy whackery off it? I don't like Irish Pubs blaring out Irish music too loudly on the stereo, it's phucking cheezy. The reality is that your average Irish person can't stand trad and is more likely to be found dancing to Prince or the Eurythmics? Or AC/DC and Dire Straits ... the irony.

Too many pubs around town with copies of the proclamation and pictures of Sackville street blown to pieces. I don't mind the odd bit in the corner, but I don't want to be looking at a picture of Kevin Barry every time I head to the jacks either, sitting there crossed legged in his Belvo Rugby jersey.

We need more pictures of Irish icons like Chris De Burgh, Johnny Logan, Tony O'Reilly and Panti Bliss... or Ger Ryan.

More Maureen Potter and less Raglan Road please. If I hear another urban myth about Pat Kavanagh telling poems to strangers... It is no wonder artists and poets don't drink any more, they lost the will to live, poor bastards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've had some serious nights there.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I've had some serious nights there.

I don't doubt it, place is full of head the balls townies who are barred from their locals.

No thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

Cienciano wrote: »

Another list could be once once lovely Dublin city pubs who had horrible 90s/00s Celtic Tiger refurb jobs

The Bailey
    Davy Byrne's
    Slattery's, Capel St?
    The Foggy Dew?

The Dark/White Horse (now Starbucks) which was described in 1999 following their makeover

"(It used to be) dank and dingy, full of bibulous hacks from the doomed Irish Press – many of whom took advantage of the fact that it was an early house and started boozing at 7am – and housed upstairs a creaking venue for rock bands who couldn’t get a gig anywhere else.

The new incarnation is completely unrecognisable. It’s spacious and airy, full of immaculately polished wooden tables and shiny metal trimmings; above all, it’s suffused with light, pouring through from every angle of its largely glazed exterior.

Back then, the White Horse had atmosphere. Can you say the same for the new place? The jury is out.

New decor, new clientele. Gone are the old men, the plastered journalists and the spotty, long-haired teenagers. In their place are smart folk, dressed in suits and designer leather jackets. "

• Registered Users Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

The Dark/White Horse (now Starbucks) which was described in 1999 following their makeover

"(It used to be) dank and dingy, full of bibulous hacks from the doomed Irish Press – many of whom took advantage of the fact that it was an early house and started boozing at 7am – and housed upstairs a creaking venue for rock bands who couldn’t get a gig anywhere else.

The new incarnation is completely unrecognisable. It’s spacious and airy, full of immaculately polished wooden tables and shiny metal trimmings; above all, it’s suffused with light, pouring through from every angle of its largely glazed exterior.

Back then, the White Horse had atmosphere. Can you say the same for the new place? The jury is out.

New decor, new clientele. Gone are the old men, the plastered journalists and the spotty, long-haired teenagers. In their place are smart folk, dressed in suits and designer leather jackets. "

The horse was a right good spot,great for an early pint .An awful shame it's now a Starbucks,many a good day I had in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Another list could be once once lovely Dublin city pubs who had horrible 90s/00s Celtic Tiger refurb jobs

The Bailey
    Davy Byrne's
    Slattery's, Capel St?
    The Foggy Dew?

I love the Foggy Dew! But it probably doesn't belong under "Proper old school Dublin pubs" anymore, if it ever did

I often meet people in there as it's a good location. I start thinking "this isn't a bad spot" then the DJ sets up so we have to leave