Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Terrible names

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

It hasnt been our native language in centuries though. The Irish names seem to be a middle class thing. You dont get Astraids and Sadbhs in de flats.
    I like most of the Irish names, I have one myself.

There's another class of rural Gaelic girls games that woudn't be found in D4 either.

I've never or very seldom met a Dublin born Bronagh, Mairead, Aine, Cliona (always reminds me of a good name for a bathroom cleaning product, or a soft drink) Brid/ Breege (the last one there probably the most awful name out there. Just gives me an image of a tall, aggressive, GAA obsessed teaching student from Monaghan or thereabouts).

I said this before, but there are names very common in Dublin men born pre 1990s that in the country would only be found among Protestants (Wes, Clive, Derek, George and a few more. And Audrey for women)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Gobnait
    Leslie (male or female)
    Dympna
    Concepta
    Terence
    Margaret

A Welsh friend has an aunt called Val-my

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I went to a Gaelscoil in Dublin and there were most certainly Aine's and Maireads anyway. There was a girl called Iseult, the only instance of it I've been aware of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I really this it is unfortunate to be called after a fish.

Kai. Or suchlike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

Dude

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

ari101 wrote: »
    California tried to get Elon Musk and Grimes to see sense but they still called their kid "X Æ A-Xii" :eek:

https://www.firstpost.com/entertainment/elon-musk-grimes-tweak-their-sons-name-to-comply-with-californias-naming-laws-and-yet-it-remains-weird-8409381.html/amp

OMG and I thought Tallulah Plays The Hoola was bad.

Any idea on how they are going to pronounce that? Or are they just going to use ‘hey you’ for his entire life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭ari101

OMG and I thought Tallulah Plays The Hoola was bad.

Any idea on how they are going to pronounce that? Or are they just going to use ‘hey you’ for his entire life!

I read they are going to call him X with the rest like a middle name :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Gobnait
    Leslie (male or female)
    Dympna
    Concepta
    Terence
    Margaret

A Welsh friend has an aunt called Val-my

Gobnait :D you just made my day with that one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭heretothere

I don't like the name Majella. But I think that's mostly because the only Majella's I've meet were wagons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Gobnait

That's the second time that name has came up. I thought it was a piss take the first time. Surely thats not an actual name is it :o

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭blackvalley

SO . What names have all the smart ass posters on this forum given to their kids .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That's the second time that name has came up. I thought it was a piss take the first time. Surely thats not an actual name is it :o

It’s the Irish for Deborah, I believe.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Antares35 wrote: »
    No one name in particular but there seems to be an explosion of certain girls names being horrendously over used the last few years. If you Google say the top twenty names, it's all Ava, Olivia, Isabella, Sophia, Fiadh etc. With the exception of Fiadh, I think they are all really nice names in fact, but I wouldn't use one because I don't want my daughter to be in a class with six other girls the same name. I don't understand why parents pick them to be honest.

I notice that a lot in south Dublin among people of a certain class (the type of people who queue for coffee in places like Sandycove on Sunday mornings, wearing those ridiculous looking Dryrobe things). Their kids are all called Ava, Emily and Rhys.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

People "Gaelicising" their surname is bad enough. We never had a written Roman alphabet before the Brits arrived- you have no idea whether your ancestors were referred to as O'Raghalloidh or O'Reilly, it probably depended on where in the country they lived how the name was pronounced.

The most ludicrous however is people with surnames of blatantly British origin making up a Gaelic version of it. Gerry Adams or Gearoid Mac Adhaimh as he calls himself comes to mind. Imagine in 100 years a 50 year old whose grandparents came here from Poland in the mid 2000's named Pawel Lewandowski going around calling himself Pol O'Loudonchoi. It's equally as daft.

The ignorance on display in this post is remarkable.

The Irish language has been written in the Roman alphabet since the 6th century. English began to be written in the Roman alphabet in the 8th century - in a script based on that of the Irish missionaries who introduced the English to it.

"O'Reilly" is an anglicisation of the Irish "Ó Raghallaigh".
    Gaelicisations of originally non-Irish surnames which became common here have been in use for many centuries.
    To be completely accepting of anglicised forms while criticising and rejecting gaelicised forms is obviously inconsistent.

P.S. Where did you get the notion that the Roman alphabet was brought to Ireland by "the Brits"? Did you simply assume it?

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

SO . What names have all the smart ass posters on this forum given to their kids .

Blessings, Nelson & Aretha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,907 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Hornibrook as a surname. I know you'd have no choice if it was your surname but it's fairly unfortunate.

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Tristian.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭pipelaser

I live in London, and know a girl that works in the maternity ward of a hospital.

She told us last year that a baby had the registered name of ABCD

Pronounced Ah-Ba-Cee-Dee!

DopeTech wrote: »
    Hornibrook as a surname. I know you'd have no choice if it was your surname but it's fairly unfortunate.

I went to school with a girl with that surname but I thought nothing of it as we also had a classmate with the surname “Treblecock”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Dean.

Usually followed by "previous convictions" and "known to Gardai".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Any of the ridiculous Irish names like Saoirse, Aoibheann, Caoilfhionn etc.

It's terrible the way so many posters are ashamed of their own native language names.

BTW, it's not difficult to spell your name for people. It's not a big deal & it doesn't destroy your life!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I went to school with a girl with that surname but I thought nothing of it as we also had a classmate with the surname “Treblecock”

A community school i can gaurentee you did not attend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Theodore.

Big black lad or one of the Chipmunks.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 teabag1993

What takes the cake has to be Americans who give their children surnames for names, and the worst part is it's starting to pop up here, met this poor child the other day whose parents had called him Addison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Fergus and Tadgh. No offence to anyone who shares these names, I’ve just never liked them. Although, any Fergus who goes by ‘Gus’ is fine.

Also, the way Americans pronounce the names Craig and Graham render them “terrible”.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Hank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Pity we were not like native americans where the parents gave a name based on the babies personality. But a persons name can be fluid and change over time.
    Half this country would be called Grumpy once they passed puberty though.

Krystal Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There are some Thai names that dont sound too well in English

Thithiporn
    Wacheraporn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

bubblypop wrote: »
    It's terrible the way so many posters are ashamed of their own native language names.

BTW, it's not difficult to spell your name for people. It's not a big deal & it doesn't destroy your life!

I have an unusual Irish name , i got hell over it in school from a shower of pox bottles called Kevin , Philip , Sean etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Some celeb ones
    Moon Unit, Dweezil and Diva Thin Muffin Zappa.
    Zowie Bowie.
    Kristofferson Kristofferson.
    Fifi Trixibelle Geldof.
    Heavenly Hiraani Tiger Lily Hutchence.
    Pilot Inspektor Lee

The boxer Wayne McCullough has legally changed his name to Pocket Rocket :confused:

I have an unusual Irish name , i got hell over it in school from a shower of pox bottles called Kevin , Philip , Sean etc.

Ah feck them!
    I spell my name automatically whenever I'm asked my name. (Not in ordinary conversation!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Eaney
    Theady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I thought Hank was a shortened name for Henry.

The same way that chuck is a replacement for charles

Breaking Bad/Better Call Saul have taught you well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭IrishLad90

Alexa search Wayne McCyllough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

There are some Thai names that dont sound too well in English

Thithiporn
    Wacheraporn

Any Thai girls going? Haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

It’s a real name though admittedly, I’ve never actually met a Gobnait. AFAIK, it’s pronounced ‘gubnet’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Any of the ridiculous Irish names like Saoirse, Aoibheann, Caoilfhionn etc.

Don’t be ridiculous. They’re beautiful names, particularly Aoibheann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

It’s a real name though admittedly, I’ve never actually met a Gobnait. AFAIK, it’s pronounced ‘gubnet’.

It is pronounced ‘Gubnet’. I met one in real life when I was a teenager at the Gaeltacht in west Cork for the summer in the late ‘90s.

The poor girl got a terrible slagging. Even the teachers were taken aback when calling out the attendance sheets at the start of class..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Dympna
    Tadhg
    Paschal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Plastic Sheeting.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It is a surname but Bum is quite popular in Korea.

Fergal. It sounds like a furry animal.

Did you watch Dr Who when you were a kid ?

Exterminate , exterminate...

Nope, never seen it! And I don't think I've ever even known any Derek's so I really don't know where it came from. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭The Wizards Sleeve

Augustine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Fergal. It sounds like a furry animal.

I can see that as in "The Fergal has escaped again".

Wake me up when it's all over.