Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

pottokblue wrote: »
    Got my vaccine, got my Irl passport, I dont have a health passport I'm itching to travel within Europe but cant face the fines or quarantine time so roll on 2022...

What do you mean by travel? Many countries are open for business.

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

antix80 wrote: »
    What do you mean by travel? Many countries are open for business.
    Imagine they are on about the 500 euro fine and the risk of being forced in to 14 day hotel quarantine on their way back, not to mention cost of pcr tests, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

It must be the only law ever passed that, if you are not explicitly caught during the act, you can never be penalised for breaking it

Well not really. When was the last time you heard of someone being arrested for having done drugs in the past? That would mean at some point they were in possession of drugs.
    Will have to remember that if I go 80km "for a burger" .... "nah nah nah, I'm on me way home now guard. Can't do me" :pac:

I don't know the reason but I imagine that there is a reason for the wording being the way it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭TobyHolmes

Golfman64 wrote: »
    Great to see some progressive forward thinking from the Germans. Unsurprising really. I suspect the Brits will also be able to travel this summer although they probably won’t announce that for another month or two. There’s very few oppressive states around the world that fine their citizens for trying to leave....But then I guess when you’re desperate to cover up your own failings, it serves as a great distraction.

what are the countries fining people for leaving? Ireland, UK ...any others ?

seriously this drip drab feeding through the media is unshockingly awful - what is wrong with this government - do you think it would be better if Leo was Taoiseach - when is he back in. SOMEONE SAVE US

Not looking likely to be honest. They’ve extended the border closure between Canada and US for another month.

What does the border between Canada and the US have to do with anything? the poster is asking about US and Ireland

IQO wrote: »
    https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/united-states-of-america/

So unless you have a US passport it's hard to get into the US at the moment. See also https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/

I've heard of workarounds by flying to Mexico/Colombia/Turkey first, stay there for 14 days+ and then go to the US. You'd probably need an already issued visa for the US.. can't vouch for it if this actually works.

as a spouse he can travel with his wife who is a us citizen

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭DubLad69

What ever happened to the €2k fine?

DubLad69 wrote: »
    What ever happened to the €2k fine?

if it was in the Health Amendment Act 2021 it was approved by cabinet but dont know if it was included (and couldnt be bothered looking lol)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,132 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Sure look. It's always the same in any walk of life. Some people are responsible and others are leechs who don't do their bit and "life goes on" for them, and they actually benefit from others making those sacrifices.

So let me get this straight Donald, you think that the citizens of any country who have managed to get This virus under control as “LEECHES”?

TobyHolmes wrote: »
    if it was in the Health Amendment Act 2021 it was approved by cabinet but dont know if it was included (and couldnt be bothered looking lol)

nothing new since the 500 fine was brought in. The 2000 hasnt made it to paper yet

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

smurfjed wrote: »
    So let me get this straight Donald, you think that the citizens of any country who have managed to get This virus under control as “LEECHES”?

It might be no harm to brush up on your reading skills there smurfjed

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    Imagine they are on about the 500 euro fine and the risk of being forced in to 14 day hotel quarantine on their way back, not to mention cost of pcr tests, etc

€99 pcr and a very reasonable requirement.

€500 fine isn't the end of the world and the hotel quarantine is 5 days, including subsequent negative pcr, from most countries. But for someone "travelling" longterm it's highly possible traffic light system will eliminate the need for quarantine.

My advice, map out what you want and see if it's possible.
    It may be the risk (avoidable) of a 500 fine costs less than distressed flights and hotel accommodation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭dan786

Anyone in favor of having a separate thread of just airport experience etc? This is all about everything travel related so hard to track posts of actual experience people had at the airport.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

We should ok there, all of my family are us citizens and as a spouse of a citizen I would be allowed in also.

American passport holders can travel direct from EU or any of the black listed countries. I am 'pretty' sure that spouses of american citizens can also travel direct too.

"Non US nationals including Irish nationals who have visited, or are resident in the countries listed above Ireland or the UK for 14 days or less prior to their travel to the USA will be denied entry, unless they are legal permanent residents of the US, or the spouse or child of a US national. This extends the coverage of the restrictions the US Government introduced on Friday 13 March restricting the entry to the USA of non-US nationals and permanent residents who had visited or resided in Schengen Area countries over the same period. The US Government has indicated that this is a temporary restriction that will last for 30 days."

From: https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/united-states-of-america/

If you are NOT an american you can get entry into the USA via a third country after 14 days such as Turkey, Mexico, Croatia...these are the popular ones...you can travel on an ESTA.

I had a clarifying question for anyone: If someone was coming back into Ireland I assume the hotel quarantine doesnt apply to them if they are Irish passport holders? I tried looking for clarification but could not find...

Thanks, this applies to us, my wife and kids hold us passports. We just want to be sure we can leave ireland without the gardai turning us around at the airport.... How do we ensure that? We're willing to do what ever the rules require re quarantine , just need to know what that is, if it's allowed at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Yapamillias

tails_naf wrote: »
    Thanks, this applies to us, my wife and kids hold us passports. We just want to be sure we can leave ireland without the gardai turning us around at the airport.... How do we ensure that? We're willing to do what ever the rules require re quarantine , just need to know what that is, if it's allowed at all.

Seems like only red countries require people to quarantine. USA is not on the list. Im going to USA soon so ive checked the regulation (or at least I hope i have correctly). When I come back ill have a PCR test and quarantine at home.

Gardai do not turn anyone around. They can fine people, but considering most of your family hold American passports, you should be grand

dan786 wrote: »
    Anyone in favor of having a separate thread of just airport experience etc? This is all about everything travel related so hard to track posts of actual experience people had at the airport.

Maybe the travel forum is a better place.

Mods may have a hard job policing it.. If ppl start posting how to avoid restrictions eg borrow a pilot's uniform,fly from belfast on a separate ticket to avoid hotel quarantine, scrape a name from the spanish version of rip.ie and say you were at the funeral etc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,913 ✭✭✭✭josip

antix80 wrote: »
    Maybe the travel forum is a better place.

Mods may have a hard job policing it.. If ppl start posting how to avoid restrictions eg borrow a pilot's uniform,fly from belfast on a separate ticket to avoid hotel quarantine, scrape a name from the spanish version of rip.ie and say you were at the funeral etc

Thanks for the suggestions, 2 there I hadn't seen before :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Seems like only red countries require people to quarantine. USA is not on the list. Im going to USA soon so ive checked the regulation (or at least I hope i have correctly). When I come back ill have a PCR test and quarantine at home.

Is that people coming from red countries or is the the UK model of people who have been in red countries in the last 10 days I'd wonder? Not sure if the first one would make much sense as we have very few direct flights to red countries (if any?)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

UDAWINNER wrote: »

So even a negative PCR test AND a ****ing vaccine isn't enough for this individual to be allowed travel? Jesus Christ this is getting comical from our "government".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

pottokblue wrote: »
    Got my vaccine, got my Irl passport, I dont have a health passport I'm itching to travel within Europe but cant face the fines or quarantine time so roll on 2022...

Health Passport??

No such thing, Danes were talking about something like that, lots of talk on here and in the media about such. But just that, talk.

Not noticed it here, media don't seem to mention it but the Council of Europe pretty have much put a stop to the notion of "vaccine passports" last month, since involuntary medical experiments are prohibited by the Nuremberg Convention.

Council of Europe Resolution 2361, basically, vaccinations in EU Member States should not be mandatory and persons who have not been vaccinated may not be discriminated against in any way.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭Tazz T

EU agreed on guidelines for vaccination certs last month for travel purposes.

https://news.gtp.gr/2021/01/28/eu-states-agree-covid-19-vaccination-certificate-guidelines/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Tazz T wrote: »
    EU agreed on guidelines for vaccination certs last month for travel purposes.

https://news.gtp.gr/2021/01/28/eu-states-agree-covid-19-vaccination-certificate-guidelines/

I don’t think it’s for travel purposes? (I’d like to be wrong though)

Will Ireland adopt it though? Even if Ireland does it won’t matter because it will be 2028 by the time people get their vaccine :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

RTE: Nolan predicts 'outdoor' summer with domestic holidays

This summer will be one where people socialise outdoors as much as they can and continue to limit the number of social contact, the chair of the National Public Health Emergency Team's epidemiological modelling advisory group has said.

Speaking on RTÉ's This Week Professor Philip Nolan said social contacts in the summer would not be as limited as they are now, but warned it will be a summer of holiday and recreation at home.

RTE News

What a great summer we have to look forward to after a winter of endless misery for people. Can Professor Nolan promise us good weather for these outdoor gatherings?

Thank god I wont be here from July.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Gardai do not turn anyone around. They can fine people, but considering most of your family hold American passports, you should be grand

Thanks, good to know. And is there any legit way to get permission so if stopped the fine can be avoided? We'd like to do this right, rather than dodge the rules, work with them. We don't mind if it costs us staying in hotels, or having to prove we're in quarantine, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,913 ✭✭✭✭josip

Thanks, good to know. And is there any legit way to get permission so if stopped the fine can be avoided? We'd like to do this right, rather than dodge the rules, work with them. We don't mind if it costs us staying in hotels, or having to prove we're in quarantine, etc

Common advice would be to have as much printed out as possible supporting your case and if questioned, "yes guard, no guard, three bags full guard".

• Registered Users Posts: 11,242 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

RobitTV wrote: »
    Speaking on RTÉ's This Week Professor Philip Nolan said social contacts in the summer would not be as limited as they are now, but warned it will be a summer of holiday and recreation at home.

This is just an invitiation IMO for people letting their guard down and deciding to have house parties in the Summer.

No hospitality open, told there will be recreation at home, potential for decent weather, back garden BBQs where social distancing will go out the window rather then in controlled environments.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I recommend calling your local Garda station. They’ll tell you what you need to bring. That’s what I did in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

This is just an invitiation IMO for people letting their guard down and deciding to have house parties in the Summer.

No hospitality open, told there will be recreation at home, potential for decent weather, back garden BBQs where social distancing will go out the window rather then in controlled environments.

They will probably try to do the vaccinations during the core holiday period with no notice so people cannot book anything. Maybe allow people to change dates if they have an Irish hotel reservation but that’s about that....