Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I access my long-dormant pension?

• 11-02-2021 8:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭

Hi.

I'm 49 years old. Up to 6 years ago, I had been contributing to a work pension for around 15 years, every month. Then, 5 years ago ago, I left the company and joined another, where I began contributing to a separate pension.

I have two questions.
    1. Is it possible to gain access to my old pension, to continue contributing to it, to withdraw some of it or to move it to a safer or more controllable position?

2. Why is the insurance broker, who handled my new employment pension set-up, be really keen for me to get access to my old pension. To the point where he has been calling me every second day?

I would appreciate some help with this as there is a family emergency and I am trying to figure out a few things. I'm very much in the dark when it comes to.pensions.

Thank you,

Paul.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Covid19 wrote: »
    Hi.

I'm 49 years old. Up to 6 years ago, I had been contributing to a work pension for around 15 years, every month. Then, 5 years ago ago, I left the company and joined another, where I began contributing to a separate pension.

I have two questions.
    1. Is it possible to gain access to my old pension, to continue contributing to it, to withdraw some of it or to move it to a safer or more controllable position?