Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are 'anti racist' NGO's so racist to the Irish? *Threadbanned user list in OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's a bit like how Joey made up the claim that the far-right carried out the attacks on the hotels. A lot of stuff being made up here, but of course you'd want us to believe that it's only one 'side' doing it.

I saw that. Tried to attribute someone else’s quote to you as a massive gotcha. When you pointed out it wasn’t actually your post and challenged him to prove his claim, we get got the Houdini act. It’s a cowardly way of going on and total bad faith posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,347 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What have you been smoking, and can I have some please?

Why you saying it's BS?

Have you given money to poor chaps

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Howard Beale

Why you saying it's BS?

Does he have a private plane??

These people are unbelievable

He did anyway when CEO. Now of course he said it was for "work purposes": hmmm sure it was

• Registered Users Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It's a bit like how Joey made up the claim that the far-right carried out the attacks on the hotels. A lot of stuff being made up here, but of course you'd want us to believe that it's only one 'side' doing it.

I did ask for any evidence to support the claim that these were 'false flag' attacks on the DP centres, but no-one came back to me. Is there anything you'd like to share on this?

Or is 'false flag' just the kneejerk response to try to avoid any responsibility or blame for violence now?
    Even though you've posted a loaded question, both of those industries generate revenue, so I've no problem with them receiving subsidies. A bit like how I've no problem with the arts generating subsidies as ultimately it brings in more than it gets in subsidies. The same cannot be said for overseas aid.

You may have missed the 'aid' part of overseas aid. It's not really designed to 'bring in revenues'. Unless you'd like to add a slave labour requirement to overseas aid perhaps?

Do you believe everything you read here without ever looking for any reliable evidence?
    If only. Do you ever listen to yourself?
    You even posted a photograph of Justin Barrett of the National party holding a sign saying National party and you said oh thats the Freedom Party hardly the most observant now are we? Any self awareness at all? You have been making stuff up all thread same with joeytheparrott. Its incessant.

Lying that your new language?
    Why break the habit of a lifetime.

Lying indeed. It's funny to be accused of lying by a liar.

Let's take a look at the post you mentioned. As you can, I didn't mention any party in the post. So your claim above that I " said oh thats the Freedom Party" is a lie, a pure invention.

Presumably when you hang around in these circles all the time, you are fine tuned to the differences and connections between the different parties and their events and their in-fighting. Most of the rest of us don't follow these matters in huge detail, given the electoral irrelevance of the parties involved.

So let's summarise; you got four out six NGOs wrong; you got your Tommy Tiernan claim completely wrong, as confirmed yet again by last night's show; you directly lied about what I said in a post from about 12 hours ago, presumably hoping that no-one would actually bother to read it.

You're really not good on attention to detail, are you? It's almost as if attention to detail unravels your grossly exaggerated claims.
    Why you saying it's BS?

He did anyway when CEO. Now of course he said it was for "work purposes": hmmm sure it was

I'm saying it's BS that John O'Shea has a private plane because it's BS that John O'Shea has a private plane.

But please do feel free to post a reputable source that proves me wrong, and I will humbly apologise.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

No,no no, remember a few years back the Vuture funds were masking as charities? Throw a few thousand at a problem while using laws not to pay tax? That is well known tricks. Most of the money donated gets consumed in rents, pensions salaries, advertising, etc etc

Anyone remember a few years back Every CEO of a charity was surveyed? The least of them were on 80k, most were on 200k and the one at UNHRC Gerry Ryan ex girlfriend was on about 300k and she was doing it at a "bargain price". My missus cancelled her Trocaire one and they were back on her like white on rice. The charities share information with each other, my uncle gave a generous Donation to John of God and Saint Vincent De PAul were onto to him the following month to make a donation in his will. That killed that golden goose.

Who wants to talk about Angela Kerins or the National Children's hospital shennigans?

the capuchin centre is the only charity i give to , you wont see brother Kevin on tv like the socialist priest Mcverry who believes all evictions should be illegal and travellers should be allowed squat where they like , Brother Kevin stays out of politics and just helps people

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,552 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Howard Beale threadbanned until they show me, via PM, proof of certain claims they have made in this thread

The only reference to 'plane' in that article is;
    It had a reputation for efficiency, agility and, critically, speed. “They are extremely nimble. They’ll have people on the plane, on the ground and on the radio back here when everybody else is just waking up to an issue. They are remarkable,” says a senior figure in another aid organisation.

It doesn't say anything about John O'Shea having a private plane. You've made a very serious, potentially defamatory claim about a named individual.

You really need to back up your claim with evidence, or withdraw it.

The article did give some interesting context to the ****show that you mention.
    In Goal’s case, The Irish Times understands, inquiries are focused on one person and on one instance of procurement for items valued at $170,000. No potential loss was found from the remainder of the €147million Goal spend in Syria, sources say.

So concerns around 0.12% of their spending in one particular country.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    the capuchin centre is the only charity i give to , you wont see brother Kevin on tv like the socialist priest Mcverry who believes all evictions should be illegal and travellers should be allowed squat where they like , Brother Kevin stays out of politics and just helps people

Yes, he stays out of the politics that would actually have a chance in stopping the same problem happening year in, year out, decade in, decade out.

People need rights, not charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

I did ask for any evidence to support the claim that these were 'false flag' attacks on the DP centres, but no-one came back to me. Is there anything you'd like to share on this?

Or is 'false flag' just the kneejerk response to try to avoid any responsibility or blame for violence now?

We don't know who it was. The initial claim was that it was carried out by the far right, and this was posted as of it was a fact. You have liked posts that have claimed this. Do you suggest that it was the far right? If so, what is your evidence?

As always, both 'sides' making claims, neither 'side' backing them. Two cheeks of the same arse. You want us to believe otherwise though.
    You may have missed the 'aid' part of overseas aid. It's not really designed to 'bring in revenues'. Unless you'd like to add a slave labour requirement to overseas aid perhaps?

The point, as always, goes over your head. You are talking of cutting funding to industries that actually bring some benefit to Ireland, benefits that the overseas aid budget does not bring. So when it comes to funding surgeries for people in Ireland, why would we cut subsidies to industries that benefit people in Ireland, therefore giving with one hand and taking with the other?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

We could have a Metro North and a light rail system for Cork,Galway and Limerick for the amount we hand over to NGOs every year.

This may have already been covered, but are there any figures online to back up this claim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/how-much-does-giving-really-cost-26654663.html
    Many big salaries have been cut -- Goal's top pay packet used to be near €125,000, but Goal says no one there is paid more than €100,000 now, and CEO John O'Shea's salary is €98,320 ..... Some major charities surveyed won't divulge top earners' pay, even where our taxes contribute to it through government funding.

eleventh wrote: »

If he managed to buy a private plane out of a €125k gross salary, we should make him Minister of Finance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

If he managed to buy a private plane out of a €125k gross salary, we should make him Minister of Finance.
    I didn't say anything about private plane. That figure was given to a journalist. Article is from 2010. There is secrecy & controversy around salaries if you read the article.

eleventh wrote: »
    I didn't say anything about private plane. That figure was given to a journalist. Article is from 2010. There is secrecy & controversy around salaries if you read the article.
    True, you didn't say anything about a private plane, but another poster did.

You could double or quadruple that salary and still not be in 'has a private plane' territory.

I'm guessing that the other poster got the wrong end of the stick somewhere along the line. I'm guessing that it is possible that O'Shea used a private plane at some stage, probably travelling around parts of Africa or Asia where there is no public plane service. Maybe this was justified or maybe it wasn't. This is pure speculation on my part, but it makes a lot more sense than the 'has a private plane' claim.
    Effects wrote: »
    This may have already been covered, but are there any figures online to back up this claim?

I suspect that the €10 billion figure quoted by Howard includes much of the disability services and probably other health related services procured by the HSE from Section 38 and Section 39 bodies, bodies like St John of God, Brothers of Charity, Sisters of Mercy. These are sometimes technically described as NGOs, but are not part of the 'activist/lobbying' NGO sector that Howard is railing against. Unfortunately Howard ignored the request to clarify the source of the figure he quoted.

Yes, he stays out of the politics that would actually have a chance in stopping the same problem happening year in, year out, decade in, decade out.

People need rights, not charity.

McVerry is in favour of a ban on evictions , beit tenants or mortgage defaulters

that hurts both honest mortgage payers and honest renters as it causes landlords to exit the market

McVerry is in favour of a ban on evictions , beit tenants or mortgage defaulters

that hurts both honest mortgage payers and honest renters as it causes landlords to exit the market

So that would mean more supply on the market for those who want to buy a home?

2+2=5

rental properties tend to house more people than a couple who just bought

add to that , for many , purchasing is not even on their horizon , they desire a rental for whatever reason due to perhaps the stage of life they are at which is more temporary etc ?

its now so difficult to evict rogue tenants , it has had the effect of landlords both leaving the market, reducing supply and increasing rents for people who rent in good faith

McVerry is a defender of both rogue borrowers and renters , people like him are part of the problem

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

One of the nice things to see in these threads is people clinging onto the hope that their left/right divide is still valid. "But the BBC isn't socialist" like that actually matters.

The bias you see in the media is that of an elite versus ordinary people, woke versus non woke. patriotism versus internationalism. Whatever you're having yourself

Obviously Marr and others have seen a market opportunity for a news channel thats not stuck in the straight jacket of appeasing the professionally offended.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

2+2=5

add to that , for many , purchasing is not even on their horizon , they desire a rental for whatever reason due to perhaps the stage of life they are at which is more temporary etc ?

its now so difficult to evict rogue tenants , it has had the effect of landlords both leaving the market, reducing supply and increasing rents for people who rent in good faith

McVerry is a defender of both rogue borrowers and renters , people like him are part of the problem

Back in the day when McVerry was starting out with his gig for helping poor homeless strays and waif, his first shelter was full of little knackers who were terrorised the neighborhood, locals wound up in hospital after being beaten by those poor marginalised lads and McVerrys attitude was that if the corporation would give him more properties than it would all be sorted, and he got his new shelters. As with all social justice heroes, you are a sacrifice they're willing to make

2+2=5

Lots of couples that purchase their first house will rent out a room or two to cover the costs in the early days. There are many, many people stuck in rentals who would have purchased ten or more years ago in any kind of functional housing market. We have a large overhang of people looking to buy.

You might want to distinguish between the views of PMcV himself and the views of the PMcV Trust, given that we're talking about NGOs here, and it has its own board and senior management now.
    Bambi wrote: »
    One of the nice things to see in these threads is people clinging onto the hope that their left/right divide is still valid. "But the BBC isn't socialist" like that actually matters.

The bias you see in the media is that of an elite versus ordinary people, woke versus non woke. patriotism versus internationalism. Whatever you're having yourself

Obviously Marr and others have seen a market opportunity for a news channel thats not stuck in the straight jacket of appeasing the professionally offended.

Did you post this in the wrong thread? We're talking about NGOs here.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Omackeral wrote: »
    I saw that. Tried to attribute someone else’s quote to you as a massive gotcha. When you pointed out it wasn’t actually your post and challenged him to prove his claim, we get got the Houdini act. It’s a cowardly way of going on and total bad faith posting.

What exactly do you know about what's happening in Ireland?

We have our own Andy NGO's over here (pardon the pun)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

10.5 billion per year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

I guess the evidence for it being the 'far-right' setting a hotel on fire will never be forthcoming. Who'd have thought it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

I guess the evidence for it being the 'far-right' setting a hotel on fire will never be forthcoming. Who'd have thought it!

It's clear that the term "far right" is used on Boards to denigrate anyone with views to the right of the mainstream political parties. There's little evidence that a meaningful far right exists in Ireland; even the 0.2% who voted for the National Party are more likely to be anti-abortion and pro-borders than goose-stepping neo-Nazis.

10.5 billion per year

Source please.

So your entirely logical conclusion is that burning of the hotels is unlikely to be connected to those who were opposing the DP centres?

Invidious wrote: »
    There's little evidence that a meaningful far right exists in Ireland; even the 0.2% who voted for the National Party are more likely to be anti-abortion and pro-borders than goose-stepping neo-Nazis.

That's true enough, which makes it all the more strange that 20%—40% of boards posters seem to take far right positions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

That's true enough, which makes it all the more strange that 20%—40% of boards posters seem to take far right positions.

You're claiming with a straight face that 20 to 40 percent of Boards posters are the far right. That has to be the craziest thing I've read on here in a long time.