Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COVID-19: Vaccine and testing procedures Megathread Part 3 - Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Polar101

Russman wrote: »
    Possibly. My own mother is 69 and was mad keen to get a vaccine but likely won’t take AZ. She has a history of clots and a brain aneurysm and is terrified of it.

My mother is of a similar age (and has underlying conditions), she got her first AZ dose a month ago, and didn't have any issues yet. Since it's been a month, she's got some protection by now, so one less thing for me to worry about I guess. 8 weeks to go until Jab #2.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,559 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

When does the online portal launch live, as I'm fed up waiting or trying to find info about my place in the queue for cohort 4. Actually I'm confused, my sister was in cohort 4 with heavy asthma and she had her first inoculation in early April. I have emphysema myself but I'm not even sure if I am in cohort 4 or cohort 7. My doctor said I was severe high risk so I should be cohort 4.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Jane1012

I really need to drive to the shops today but I heard 60 people per day in the EU die in car accidents. This has really shaken my confidence in cars. I can’t wait to get the food I need to eat, but I just can shake the lack of confidence in cars.

But lucky the alternative of a bicycle exists which does not carry the same risks of travelling in these cars, so I will get to the shops after all but will take the alternative safe option for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Jane1012 wrote: »
    But lucky the alternative of a bicycle exists which does not carry the same risks of travelling in these cars, so I will get to the shops after all but will take the alternative safe option for me.

The risk of a cycling accident while carrying heavy loads...

You might have had a point if online deliveries (vaccines without deadly side effects) didn’t exist

And let those deadly delivery drivers(mRNA), near my property (cells).

I believe that equivalent point was made by someone else. Someone will always exaggerate risk. Maybe the vaccine campaign could do with the shot in the arm of saying - only j&j or Pfizer for women under 50, however the risk is tiny, and now that it’s known, those impact can seek treatment rapidly. It’s not something that lies in wait for weeks or years. The impact will be visible within days if it is going to happen.

Anyone who is worried, and have other medications around the house - look at the side effects of those and associated risk and you will see that you regularly accept far greater risk with everyday medications. Because the vaccination programme is so high profile and the numbers being administered so high, the apparent risk far exceeds the real risk

• Registered Users Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭Russman

I really need to drive to the shops today but I heard 60 people per day in the EU die in car accidents. This has really shaken my confidence in cars. I can’t wait to get the food I need to eat, but I just can shake the lack of confidence in cars.

I often agree with your posts Raind, but ridiculing a legitimate worry someone has won’t do anyone any good. No matter how irrational someone else might think it is, someone’s fear isn’t easily dispelled.

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭JPup

Polar101 wrote: »
    My mother is of a similar age (and has underlying conditions), she got her first AZ dose a month ago, and didn't have any issues yet. Since it's been a month, she's got some protection by now, so one less thing for me to worry about I guess. 8 weeks to go until Jab #2.

It’s much better than some protection. A month after getting her first dose, your mothers chances of getting seriously ill from Covid have been greatly reduced. As in, it is extremely unlikely. Someone might be able to give you a link to some stats, but that is my understanding of the experience in Britain.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The Swedes seem to have updated their "prognosis" for vaccine deliveries.
    https://www.folkhalsomyndigheten.se/smittskydd-beredskap/utbrott/aktuella-utbrott/covid-19/statistik-och-analyser/prognos-av-vaccinleveranser/

In April, AZ are down (no surprise there), J&J is becoming a token delivery in April, Moderna are actually marginally up in April and Pfizer unchanged.

Curevac hope to wrap up trials in 3 or 4 weeks and get approval by early June. As they are already producing and as the EU has first dibs then perhaps the Curevac volumes in June are actually realistic.
    https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/08/covid-vaccine-maker-curevac-hopes-shot-will-get-eu-approval-in-june.html

• Registered Users Posts: 12,559 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

When does the online portal go live.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 797 ✭✭✭eoinbn

The Swedes seem to have updated their "prognosis" for vaccine deliveries.
    https://www.folkhalsomyndigheten.se/smittskydd-beredskap/utbrott/aktuella-utbrott/covid-19/statistik-och-analyser/prognos-av-vaccinleveranser/

In April, AZ are down (no surprise there), J&J is becoming a token delivery in April, Moderna are actually marginally up in April and Pfizer unchanged.

Curevac hope to wrap up trials in 3 or 4 weeks and get approval by early June. As they are already producing and as the EU has first dibs then perhaps the Curevac volumes in June are actually realistic.
    https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/08/covid-vaccine-maker-curevac-hopes-shot-will-get-eu-approval-in-june.html
    Those numbers seem to be closer to the previous estimate of 860k. The Moderna figure seems to be jumping around a lot.
    That figure for Curevac has been in the German press. They had planned for more in June but recently cut the forecast by 60%. Their production won't really kick into high gear until Q4.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Qrt

Cillian De Gascun says he doesn't expect COVID vaccines to become an annual thing, he thinks it will be more likely we may need boosters every few years

When did he say that? I don’t dispute it and it’s what I’ve always thought but I’d like to see someone corroborate that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thanks... Will try in am

Now all siblings vaccinated

And wrecking my head talking about side affects

Then the clotting stories..and I not worried by them as I have low platelets count..,so less chance of clottng...normally...only for more details yesterday how the AZ clotting stories relate to low platelets!!

And a parent died from covid19

So not a great few weeks.... Hopefully will sort it out

Sorry for your loss .
    You do need to talk to either your consultant or GP ,so email as well as phone .
    I know this is long shot but have you tried the HSE callsave 1850 241850 number ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

When does the online portal go live.

19th April . But as far as I know that is for age cohorts 65 to 69 group 6 not highrisk.
    Groups 4 and 7 are being booked in by Consultant or GP as there is medical verification needed on booking , unless this has been changed on the portal
    If you are group 4 you should be being booked in now so you need to check with your doctor , group 7 are meant to be being vaccinated concurrently with group 6 according to Paul Reid today .
    Posted re contact on the other thread to you .

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Jane1012

Turtwig wrote: »
    The risk of a cycling accident while carrying heavy loads...

Much lower than the car thankfully!

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

When does the online portal launch live, as I'm fed up waiting or trying to find info about my place in the queue for cohort 4. Actually I'm confused, my sister was in cohort 4 with heavy asthma and she had her first inoculation in early April. I have emphysema myself but I'm not even sure if I am in cohort 4 or cohort 7. My doctor said I was severe high risk so I should be cohort 4.

Cohort 4 is still being worked through. If your doctor says you are in a severe risk category then you’re likely cohort 4. From the cases I know it has been condition specialists and not GPs that have organised the cohort 4 jabs, but this may not be universal.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭JTMan

These vaccines have many unsung heros including those who worked on mRNA for decades ...

https://twitter.com/cliffordlevy/status/1380325640960892937

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

https://www.thejournal.ie/over-70s-first-doses-5403560-Apr2021/

Mid-April vaccine target for over 70s won't be met as GP rollout struggles with delivery delays

“We were always aiming to get certainly all first doses for this over 70 age group by mid or the second half of April. I expect we’ll have covered all those first doses certainly within the month of April. "

Unless I'm reading this wrong, it's gone from mid-April to the end of April. Not really a big deal. The journal commenters and twitterati need to calm down.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,357 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

funnydoggy wrote: »
    https://www.thejournal.ie/over-70s-first-doses-5403560-Apr2021/

Unless I'm reading this wrong, it's gone from mid-April to the end of April. Not really a big deal. The journal commenters and twitterati need to calm down.

Shock and faux anger sells papers, not good news

• Registered Users Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭Russman

Qrt wrote: »
    When did he say that? I don’t dispute it and it’s what I’ve always thought but I’d like to see someone corroborate that.

He said it at the NPHET briefing last night on TV. Can't remember his exact words but he also either mentioned or alluded to potentially it being every 3 to 5 years for a booster. Nothing definitive as they were at pains to point out that nobody has enough data to know for sure, but he mentioned it in the context that the coronavirus mutates much more slowly than flu hence he felt it was unlikely it would be an annual jab.
    Think he was replying to yer one from the Indo.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭1huge1

Sanjuro wrote: »
    That'd be great. Because, and with all due respect, the thing is absolutely going to crash as soon as it goes online.

Hopefully not, perhaps if its hosted by AWS it may be ok, also it'll probably only be open for certain age cohorts so the demand won't be a big as you'd think.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Vicxas wrote: »
    Shock and faux anger sells papers, not good news
    And it's the headline for the day, the HSE are talking up to 200K a week for next two weeks. If that transpires the over 70s will be done very fast.

1huge1 wrote: »
    Hopefully not, perhaps if its hosted by AWS it may be ok, also it'll probably only be open for certain age cohorts so the demand won't be a big as you'd think.
    Yeah, it's likely to follow the patterns of other countries with blocks of certain ages at a time.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

As far as I understand it the first cohort ( 65-70 ) will be invited first to register . It seems that they will work their way down the groups as one group is registered

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

JTMan wrote: »
    These vaccines have many unsung heros including those who worked on mRNA for decades ...

60K is a meagre wage by US standards. Why was her compensation so poor if she was so instrumental? Can't read the NYT link due to paywall.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,913 ✭✭✭✭josip

It won't stop everyone under 65 clicking into it as far as they can to see how it looks.
    In order to prevent fake bookings it will need some kind of authentication mechanism.
    PPS with its check letter would work for that, but then that would mean anyone who doesn't know their PPS number won't be able to register.
    If they use name and address to match up against IHI, what's to stop me signing up a few neighbours?
    Or using it to check which neighbours I can make a booking for?
    I'll be very interested to see how this version is designed after the previous version was so easily misused.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Big uptick in Germany! Bodes well for us when they’re ramping up!!

https://twitter.com/coronavirusgoo1/status/1380441037047533568?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 13,913 ✭✭✭✭josip

60K is a meagre wage by US standards. Why was her compensation so poor if she was so instrumental? Can't read the NYT link due to paywall.

She never had direct funding for her work and wasn't great at self PR.
    eg.
    Universities only support low-level Ph.D.s for a limited amount of time, Dr. Langer said: “If they don’t get a grant, they will let them go.” Dr. Kariko “was not a great grant writer,” and at that point “mRNA was more of an idea,” he said.

So she relied on other budgets and needed the support of superiors.
    And then Dr. Langer left the university, and the department chairman said he was leaving as well. Dr. Kariko again was without a lab and without funds for research.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

JTMan wrote: »

Wonder does Doctor Langer have any relations in Cork ??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Micky 32 wrote: »
    He should not be inserting himself into this at all. Let the parties who need to, do their work and report.