Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Have you ever known a "serious" criminal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

No but I had a weird experience where I attended a weekend party with people who found out, while we were there, that a terrible crime had happened to their friend. We had to switch on the news and hear all the bulletins. Even as someone with no connection to the victim, it was very upsetting to see everyone's reaction around me. They were devastated.

Then, literally the next day, I went to stay with some other friends, and it turned out many of them knew the perpetrator. They were shocked about it, and telling stories of strange interactions they had with him over the years.

It was very surreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Snipp

In the house I grew up in, our neighbour from a few doors down stabbed his wife to death in their kitchen. He immediately showed remorse and called an ambulance but was inevitably and deservedly convicted of murder. Last year I attended his father's funeral in which he also attended under the supervision of a garda escort.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

Also met and slightly knew the Border Fox through my parents. Seemed nice but was on garda watch at a funeral

Snipp wrote: »
    In the house I grew up in, our neighbour from a few doors down stabbed his wife to death in their kitchen. He immediately showed remorse and called an ambulance but was inevitably and deservedly convicted of murder. Last year I attended his father's funeral in which he also attended under the supervision of a garda escort.

East wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

A bloke I knew when I was younger, he ended up killing his wife and children in a notorious case in the early 2000's.
    When we used hang around he went out with several girls but each relationship always ended because he was overly possessive of them. He was time bomb even back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Also met and slightly knew the Border Fox through my parents. Seemed nice but was on garda watch at a funeral

They reckoned the number of people he killed, mainly completely innocent farmers and pensioners along the border, runs into double digits, a complete psycho, all 5ft 5" of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Anyone who's a member of Carlisle Gym knows at least 2.. The Viper's still a member then there's this guy. The latter owns Babylon (Cambden Street)the reviews for which are essentially just a list of people telling stories of being assaulted by staff there, including the owner Tony.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Meathcat

Went out with a guy for 18 months back in 2005-2007. Found out several years ago that the name he went by wasn't his real name, he had stolen the ID of a convicted murderer in the UK - he had known this guy and took his birth cert after he was arrested. Came here to Ireland. Turns out he had been sentenced to life in prison himself on explosives charges in the UK, among other things. Had been released from jail as a judge on appeal decided the sentence was too severe. He then got himself involved in more explosives plus a suggestion of drug supply to a minor (magic mushrooms). He then absconded from the UK to Ireland with his 'new ID' - back then, a birth cert was all you needed to get photo ID - and established a business.

I wasn't even sure all the above was true until it wound up in the papers a few years ago when the Gards broke into his flat and inside, found the largest magic mushroom factory ever found in the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

A sports coach that used to train us at my school, who himself was also a teacher was jailed for raping a child. Kind of freaky because this was going on when he would have travelled overseas with us. After release he was done again for child porn. We always knew he was a bit odd but never expected that.

Another guy I knew ended up on Irelands Dumbest Criminals, arrived home to find all of the drugs he was storing gone from his apartment so reported a break in, turns out the Guards had raided when he was out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭bullpost

Knew a very sweet and eccentric and highly intelligent guy - mensa etc. - who blasted a love rival to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he wasn't that sweet then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

fryup wrote: »
    he wasn't that sweet then

Intelligent enough to appear sweet. A sociopath perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

gmisk wrote: »
    Thankfully no.
    A few people in my secondary school year were caught with bomb equipment etc and charged with membership of the IRA. The trial collapsed.

same here but he got 25 years and served 22 big stretch for a 20yo

psycho, he did some "security "work for a dublin ex hotelier and got another 6 years

micar wrote: »
    1) Knew a lad who lives a few mins walk from home, killed his nephew who was a infant

This guy had serious physiological problems.

Found guilty but insane.

2) A lad i played football with was done for murder.

soldier?

Grayson wrote: »
    Westmeath? I lived close enough and the guys kids were in the same school as me.

I'd rather not say, but no, not Westmeath or anywhere near it.
    gary550 wrote: »
    If it's the same chap I'm thinking of then he's out, 23 years for killing two people.

If it was a just society he would have rotted in the ground a long time ago.

If we are talking about the same "B**s", the details of the other case are a bit sketchy after 25 years but I believe it was a separate incident for which he "got away" with just a manslaughter charge. I can't remember exactly, prefer not to speculate since I've no idea if we are even on the same page here.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 War ensemble

Went to school with a lad who raped 2 women. Went to jail. Released after about 8 years and then murdered another woman. He was mad in school but was still shocked to hear what he'd done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I'm aware of a "smooth" criminal, but he is dead now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

Just thought of another....lad who was a few years behind me in school... always in trouble, punched a teacher etc... ended up leaving school at 14 and got mixed up in drugs,
    legged it to England and was dealing there, fell foul of the yardies and his body was recovered from 3 or 4 different wheelie bins...what a way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭FR85

Was there a phone involved and did the murder take place in a field?

DG, think it was over a phone and a hammer was used. On or close to a playing pitch. Sick prick

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Walking_Wolf

This chap used to run a security company

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eamon_Dunne

Well rather his dad (who was a tough cookie) did.

Construction company I worked for during the early 2000s used them for our Dublin sites. Eamonn was on my site several times.

We had stuff stolen off 3 sites in a short time frame and I, in my youth and Innocence, had a go at the 2 of them over one theft where the security man was either asleep, missing or in on it.

In fairness they were professional throughout and reimbursed us for that theft.

I know you said he was professional when you dealt with him but what was your impression of Eamon Dunne? Did he come across as a guy not to be messed with? He was after all suspected of ordering up to a dozen murders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,653 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

We had trouble with some local teenagers around halloween.
    2 of his security guards were attacked. Gang of teenagers armed with all sorts jumped the gates and the 2 lads had to baracade themselves in the office and call the guards.
    The night after Eamonn stayed on site and a few of his mates were about the town.
    Last bit of trouble we had.

Another time a piece of plant was lifted off a Dublin site. Eamonn got it back! 2 lads dropped it overnight to the yard of our subbie.

Can't say he came across particularly scary or as some lunatic.

I dealt more with his dad. Eamonn seemed to only be about when we had trouble.
    As per OP his dad is/was a tough nut.
    Fella tried robbing a site he was watching one night and came off the worse for wear (Dunne Snr was in his 60s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

I know you said he was professional when you dealt with him but what was your impression of Eamon Dunne? Did he come across as a guy not to be messed with? He was after all suspected of ordering up to a dozen murders.

strange line of questioning ....are you writing an article or genuinely have an interest in a dead persons personality when he was alive.

if you genuinely have an interest - most criminals are decent people to talk with but can change quickly if they feel you have done wrong by them - or they don't trust you.

strange line of questioning ....are you writing an article or genuinely have an interest in a dead persons personality when he was alive.

if you genuinely have an interest - most criminals are decent people to talk with but can change quickly if they feel you have done wrong by them - or they don't trust you.

I'd have a similar curiosity to Wolf's. There are some who I'd love to sit down with and look inside their minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

givyjoe wrote: »
    Anyone who's a member of Carlisle Gym knows at least 2.. The Viper's still a member then there's this guy. The latter owns Babylon (Cambden Street)the reviews for which are essentially just a list of people telling stories of being assaulted by staff there, including the owner Tony.

I remember reading the Google and Trip Advisor reviews of that Babylon place on Camden street and yeah, lots of assaults on customers by the bouncers. It seems if you werent eating your kebab fast enough for them they would tell you to hurry up and get out and that started lots of rows which would end up in the customer being physically removed with a few digs thrown at them for good measure. Hard to believe they are still in business, plus the owner being a murderer full of rage, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I remember reading the Google and Trip Advisor reviews of that Babylon place on Camden street and yeah, lots of assaults on customers by the bouncers. It seems if you werent eating your kebab fast enough for them they would tell you to hurry up and get out and that started lots of rows which would end up in the customer being physically removed with a few digs thrown at them for good measure. Hard to believe they are still in business, plus the owner being a murderer full of rage, no thanks.

Sounds like a rougher version of Nandos.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

I had a neighbour when I lived in holylands many moons ago, helpful chap to me when my dog got ran over. he must of had a lot of friends in the Gardai, they were always visiting him, even when he wasn't there.

was it the late Larry Dunne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Went to school with a guy who murdered someone in Dublin on a night out. He wasn't one of "The Poors" so he served a short sentence and is probably respected by the people on here who do nothing but **** all over anyone they consider working class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Muahahaha wrote: »
    ...plus the owner being a murderer full of rage, no thanks.

Shocking that he got away with just a fine. Absolute disgrace.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

givyjoe wrote: »

Is it Tony Mekhalfia or his nephew is the serious criminal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

A fellow I would have gone to school with got elected for fianna fail.

I know you say this jokingly, but I knew a guy who would overtly sell stolen merch around the town: jeans, aftershave, runners etc. He is now a FF councillor.

kowloon wrote: »
    Went to school with a guy who murdered someone in Dublin on a night out. He wasn't one of "The Poors" so he served a short sentence and is probably respected by the people on here who do nothing but **** all over anyone they consider working class.

Your shoulder seems a bit chippy Kowloon :)

I don't like the way people are called scum when they're poor but add a bit of money into the equation and they can get away with all sorts and be accepted back into society's upper echelons. But I guess you're okay with it?

It was an odd comment to make. Even the assumption that I would be ok with it.
    You posted about somebody you knew of who murdered another. Sure so what if he was wealthy? And who are the "people on here" who refer to those who are working class as "scum"?

I've come across the term alright to describe awful behaviour but not class.

It was an odd comment to make. Even the assumption that I would be ok with it.
    You posted about somebody you knew of who murdered another. Sure so what if he was wealthy? And who are the "people on here" who refer to those who are working class as "scum"?

I've come across the term alright to describe awful behaviour but not class.

You've been on this site long enough to know there is no shortage of snobs on AH. Not saying it's everyone.
    There's a strong element of class in the justice system. I'm sure I wouldn't get the same punishment as someone from a rough area relying on a public defender. If you have a bone to pick with me take it to PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

He's right though. The forum is infested with extreme reich wingers. An opportunity to do down working class/welfare recipients is never missed whereas you never see them put the boot into white collar criminals, corporate welfare recipients or large farmers etc. (the latter benefit from massive welfare in the form of the CAP) Ironically most of them seem to be in make-work jobs themselves as they always have free time to post on here, day and night.

You've been on this site long enough to know there is no shortage of snobs on AH. Not saying it's everyone.
    There's a strong element of class in the justice system. I'm sure I wouldn't get the same punishment as someone from a rough area relying on a public defender. If you have a bone to pick with me take it to PM.

There will always be those who look down their noses at others. Again I just thought it odd that you mentioned it in your post, it seemed like you had an axe to grind and were angry with the posters here. You are right, it isn't everyone.
    I don't have a bone to pick with you
    *confused face*

tdf7187 wrote: »
    He's right though. The forum is infested with extreme reich wingers. An opportunity to do down working class/welfare recipients is never missed whereas you never see them put the boot into white collar criminals, corporate welfare recipients or large farmers etc. (the latter benefit from massive welfare in the form of the CAP) Ironically most of them seem to be in make-work jobs themselves as they always have free time to post on here, day and night.

Of course. The post just seemed a bit like the poster had a chip on their shoulder when it came to those who are not "the poors". That's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

More likely a “tall tale”.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

Local guy, had it all, captain of Gaa team, public service employee.

Convicted of serious crime, now going to serve 7 years in jail. Only convicted this week. Nobody can understand why he did it.

Such an unusual one. The family must be in bits. (Obviously victim also )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

It's not even (directly) about money. If a person with a certain accent and/or address commits a crime (or, let's be totally honest here, hasn't committed any crime), they're more likely to be described as 'scum' by people who always need someone, anyone to look down on. They're an easier and more obvious target than your murderous classmate. And it's always easier to punch downwards. I'm actually doing it right now, tbh, because I think those people are quite thick.

.anon. wrote: »
    It's not even (directly) about money. If a person with a certain accent and/or address commits a crime (or, let's be totally honest here, hasn't committed any crime), they're more likely to be described as 'scum' by people who always need someone, anyone to look down on. They're an easier and more obvious target than your murderous classmate. And it's always easier to punch downwards. I'm actually doing it right now, tbh, because I think those people are quite thick.

I would have thought the “scum” tag would only apply to the type of person who, when convicted of a crime, has their history of convictions, along with the different categories, read out in the news?

Although, some will attach it to anyone convicted of a serious, violent or sexual, offence. I wouldn’t be arguing their corner in that instance.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

More likely a “tall tale”.

No, afraid not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Lockheed

tdf7187 wrote: »

It always amazes me how anti-poor the general population of Boards is, people digging into dole recipients and social housing as wastes of money is something I see quite often. God forbid somebody were to fall on hard times and needs a hand up in life. The biggest con our criminal government ever pulled is making believe the people trying to scrape by on 250 a week were the problem, and not the retired politicians with vast land portfolios on 6 figure pensions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Lockheed wrote: »
    It always amazes me how anti-poor the general population of Boards is, people digging into dole recipients and social housing as wastes of money is something I see quite often. God forbid somebody were to fall on hard times and needs a hand up in life. The biggest con our criminal government ever pulled is making believe the people trying to scrape by on 250 a week were the problem, and not the retired politicians with vast land portfolios on 6 figure pensions

A lot of is with people with a low sense of self-worth and self-esteem. People who know their wife would leave them and she'd get the house and kids if they lost their mediocre job in whatever grey industry they're wasting their life in.

It's important for a lot of people to know there are people below them on the social hierarchy, and they like reminding themselves that they are there and are somehow morally and ethically superior. Because their own grip on life is fragile in the first instance.

I have a few acquaintances like this. A pint and a half in and they're off on rants about the povs, scroungers and council houses. They all have a few things in common: they are unhappy in their careers, they are overburdened with debt they took on to act out the middle class life, are frequently in slowly collapsing marriages and are mourning the mediocrity of their own life.

I fully expect this post to trigger some users, but I've found it to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

When I was a child my parents immigrated to the US and we started off in a rather rough part of an east coast city. Lots of fights and bullying but one kid was especially mean. During play fights he always tried to really hurt you, etc. Had a mean pit bull he used to try and train to attack people. Would throw slaps at you for no reason if you weren't looking. Hated the sight of him. Used to get a sick feeling in my stomach whenever he was around, just felt pure evil emanating from him. Even his name, Anwaar sounded evil to me.

Googled him out of interest a few years ago, he's in jail now after he helped burn the body of a 15 year old girl his mate had raped, killed, chopped up and put into a steel drum.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Lockheed wrote: »

It's the same sort of way you'll find a lot of skinny people have a disatin for fat people or pretty people have a disdain for ugly folk, I'm sure the same goes for a lot of middle class people having an opinion on poor or working class people.

Honestly I think a lot of people want to identify themselves as superior to some other group and maybe they use it to fill a gap in their own sense of self worth.

I also don't think boards is any way representative of the general populace, there is some f*cking nutty people that post here and I think it amplifies ideas more than they actually are, I think most people in real life are fairly reasonable.

gary550 wrote: »
    I also don't think boards is any way representative of the general populace, there is some f*cking nutty people that post here and I think it amplifies ideas more than they actually are, I think most people in real life are fairly reasonable.

Most certainly not. If boards.ie were representative of “real life” Peter Casey would be president and The National Party would be closing up our borders and cutting welfare spending.

Lots of, very, angry men with very little going on in their lives on this site, a vocal minority.

Well that escalated quickly. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Most certainly not. If boards.ie were representative of “real life” Peter Casey would be president and The National Party would be closing up our borders and cutting welfare spending.

Lots of, very, angry men with very little going on in their lives on this site, a vocal minority.

Not a bad summation Emmet, but you are assuming quite a few people's gender ;)