Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England vs Italy 6n 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Another crooked throw and obstruction. This is atrocious officiating.

I said it last week as unlikely as Italy are to win these games the referees really don’t give them any help at all. There’s a bit of confirmation bias going on at least I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

razorblunt wrote: »
    What is Joy Neville doing ?

Looking after the big teams as usual

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

First scottish referee in the six nations in something like 18 years. Can see why...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,163 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Another crooked throw and obstruction. This is atrocious officiating.
    It isnt.
    Joy Neville is TMO. If you watch pro14 games she's regularly getting involved and probably gets involved a lot more than TMO usually do so i dont see how its atrocious refereeing
    Most crooked throws dont need to be pulled.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Thomasirl123

What is Joy Neville doing ?

A terrible TMO even at pro14 level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭adam240610

Another forward pass? What the hell is going on with the officiating?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

I said it last week as unlikely as Italy are to win these games the referees really don’t give them any help at all. There’s a bit of confirmation bias going on at least I think.

It's hard to know whether it's confirmation bias from the officiating team or just plain incompetence. Policing the lineout is as simple as you can get. No excuse for missing the ball being thrown on the outside arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Italy crying out for some box kicks

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Yeah they are regularly held to a different standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Both passes for the last England try were forward .... Italians being ridden here... an unobstructed view right about 8 meters from the touch judge, he could detect neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

Billy V was on the mince pies all chirstmas by the looks of it. Looks out of shape and not half as impactful as he normally is

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭testtech05

While I do think a lot of decisions are going against them, italy's 10 kicks down the middle to the english back 3 are killing them aswell. No chance to chase and lets england build momentum.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 backcamslua

TMO proving out of depth I'm afraid!

almostover wrote: »
    Billy V was on the mince pies all chirstmas by the looks of it. Looks out of shape and not half as impactful as he normally is
    Not playing much with Sarries in championship etc so no surprise.

It isnt.
    Joy Neville is TMO. If you watch pro14 games she's regularly getting involved and probably gets involved a lot more than TMO usually do so i dont see how its atrocious refereeing
    Most crooked throws dont need to be pulled.

If a throw is taken on the outside it definitely needs to be called. If a maul comes out of it, it's easier set up and if it's off the top it gives the attacking side an advantage in getting it out wide. The touch judge or the ref needs to call it. Also, the hooker cannot take the throw opposite his front lifter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

A lot of giving out about the TMO, the ref himself is hardly blameless..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

almostover wrote: »

Well he just made a perfectly timed tackle on the nine to turnover the ball.

Italy being ridden bareback by the officials here, no knock on there. Itoje scooped it back

Poor ball security by italy there but didn't think billy v ever got back onside there either.

Billy V in at the side twice , not caught either. Not the hardest to spot, he’s bigger than all 4 props.

Ref even catching non existent knock one by the italians

Italy could feel rightly aggrieved here, no knock on there. Robbed by Curry and Itoje scooped it back

Italy playing somewhat sloppily but they’re getting ridden by officials, there’s been a number of forward passes from England permitted.

Is there a review process of some kind in place for officials? TMO in particular has been useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Why can't Italy ever get a ref who is fluent in Italian? How the fcuk are they gonna be able to understand a Scots man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Scratchly

If an out of shape Billy Vinipola is able to charge you down you're not doing good. Italian kicking has been brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

10 is killing them more than the ref although he is doing a good job of it too

If a throw is taken on the outside it definitely needs to be called. If a maul comes out of it it's easier set up and if it's off the top it gives the attacking side an advantage in getting it out wide. And the touch judge or the ref needs to call it.
    It doesnt. If no one in air or how the opposition contest comes into it and it doesnt need to be called. Just like you dont immediately blow for all or many offsides.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Italy are strangled in this game. Their kicking game loses them territory and their ball carriers can't give them a platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 backcamslua

Ref won't be getting another international game soon -if the assessor is doing der job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Never a penalty

Boscoirl wrote: »
    10 is killing them more than the ref although he is doing a good job of it too

Yeah he looks poor very slow to kick and most of them are going nowhere that helps italy

There wasn't much wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Ffs
    Penalised for that and england flying over the top at every ruck

That’s a killer of a penalty.
    Lawes has done that all half.

Knock on and a jump in the tackle. So so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

England's breakdown technique can be best summed up as, flop over the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Eh? You cannot jump into a tackle like that

Scratchly wrote: »
    There wasn't much wrong with that.

I thought 10 went to his knees as he cleared out but was another tight call. Would have been interesting if it would be given the other way.

Just a question on mays jump there. How does tgat count as a dive for the line? Surely more of a jump into the tackle in the scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Surely he jumped over the tackle?

That wasn't diving it was jumping into a tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Magnificent touchdown.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Italy are awful

AdamD wrote: »
    Eh? You cannot jump into a tackle like that

No, you can't. Doesn't seem to matter though.

Knocked on again by the scrum half, and you can't jump over a tackle. You can hardly call that a dive for the line. A high jump olympian would have been proud of that

This is an absolute disgrace of a game, bad for the sport

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Ah Jesus lads I know we all love Italy but you have to appreciate that's an outstanding finish from May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Can you jump a tackle like that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Thats ridiculous...Ben Kay is right, you can dive for the line, but he didn't dive for the line...he jumped over the tackle...absolute nonsense from the ref and TMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Deub

Half time. England 8 - Italy 8 - Ref 12

Dive for the line Monye says, that’s ridiculous, it’s jumping a tackle.
    Not one legitimate try scored by England.