Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the greatest waste of money you've seen?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭notabogsnotion

Car Insurance isn't expensive at all.

Em? Based on what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Andy Carroll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

Em? Based on what?

Getting a car, Fuel and maintenance are the biggest costs.

600 for insurance and 200 to tax it isn't bad. You could do it monthly and pay 50 a month on it.

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Andy Carroll

Nicholas Pepe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,290 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I now cook for myself, live alone, lockdown means I can't got out to drink, I still smoke, but I haven't driven in 6 years.

1017642.jpg?b64lines=IFNtb2tlcnMgYXJlIGpva2VycyE=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

Anything the DCC is involved with.

The Spire hands down! €4.6 million to build. €2.5 million spent on maintenance as of 2016:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/contract-valued-at-200-000-agreed-for-maintenance-of-spire-1.2621451

At that maintenance cost I think it does deserve to be torn down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,334 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

L1011 wrote: »
    That actually brings people up to the Barrio Alto. Dublin's flat. Are you proposing a waterslide off the top or something?

If I was proposing that I’d have typed that. Seeing as i didn’t ?!

The top floor is a lookout, with panoramic views of the city, it doubles as an observation deck and a means of transportation, i was suggesting something similar could be suitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭smilerf

Nicholas Pepe
    Nathan Jones
    Shodran Mustafi
    The NCH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,547 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The dole and social housing. If you cant afford a child then don't have one.

Yes, I too miss the good old days of the Mother and Baby Homes when we could punish children for the sexual sins of their parents.

Where do you expect minimum wage workers to live btw? The people who care for your toddlers and your elderly parents? The people who clean your toilets and stock your supermarket shelves?

There seems to be a lot of overspending for what we get when it comes to public spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

is there any chance they will change the location of the childrens hospital at St. James? And just cut their losses. Terrible decision back then. but cost is 2 billion now. and can see more overruns to bring it to 3 billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,547 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

is there any chance they will change the location of the childrens hospital at St. James? And just cut their losses. Terrible decision back then. but cost is 2 billion now. and can see more overruns to bring it to 3 billion.

Presumably you have deeper expertise on hospital location choices than the highly qualified national and international experts on the Dolphin Committee that recommended the St James site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Presumably you have deeper expertise on hospital location choices than the highly qualified national and international experts on the Dolphin Committee that recommended the St James site?

NCH is the greatest waste for sure

BAM and the budget is gone !

Laya will just come along and build a better one

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,983 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Has anyone mentioned the KLF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Marriage Equality Referendum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,709 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sneed wrote: »
    Why? If you nut inside the chick, she can just get the pill.

Have you considered writing for Mills & Boon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

The National Children's Hospital.

"Street Enhancement" works in towns and villages which made them much worse than the were.

National Broadband Plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I photographed weddings for years. Even the low-budget ones were full of stuff like that. Almost every wedding couple I met were fully in the mindset of "sure we can spend X amount, because we have Y amount of guests, and therefore will get Z in cash gifts".

Chocolate fountains, ice cream vans, multiple photo backdrops (like your flower wall example), enormous initial letters, or the word LOVE, all this kinda stuff that was costing an arm and a leg, and then invariably the couple wouldn't "make" as much money off the guests, so they'd be under pressure and in enormous debt.

I must be hanging with the wrong crowd because I've never seen hardly any of that sort of crap!!

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Even if it does look awful, its in a graveyard, its not like they built it in your back garden, how often will you see it? That wouldn't bother me in the slightest. first world problems really. if I go to a graveyard, it is to visit a grave of someone I know, I wouldn't let a huge gravestone bother me.

Would you not think though that its a bit tasteless and out of place? That he/she was a great man I am in no doubt what so ever, but I'm suspecting he/she wasn't or of any form of great and noble descent, or lived a life so worthy of such a tribute.

I'd be leaning towards the possibility that he deserved a headstone of the equivalent of your faithfully departed brethren and nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Car Insurance isn't expensive at all.

Well, you're either lying, or... living in another country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Sneed wrote: »
    Why? If you nut inside the chick, she can just get the pill.

Nut.. chick? ....

Radical, dude.

The fact that the Children's hospital will ultimately treat sick children is neither here nor there - with the money wasted on it, a 2nd/3rd/4th/5th hospital could have been built/upgraded/revamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,783 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Would you not think though that its a bit tasteless and out of place? That he/she was a great man I am in no doubt what so ever, but I'm suspecting he/she wasn't or of any form of great and noble descent, or lived a life so worthy of such a tribute.

I'd be leaning towards the possibility that he deserved a headstone of the equivalent of your faithfully departed brethren and nothing more.

who cares, its just in a depressing graveyard. it actually brightens the place up a bit id say. if the family can afford it and want it, more power to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Only €780 for this tasteful piece of polyester:

toiletpaper-collection-rug-two-of-spades-381929.jpg

https://www.amara.com/ie/products/two-of-spades-round-rug

rugby just looks like fat blokes rolling around in the mud,and given the amount of concussion injuries,our youth shouldnt be playing it (adults are free to do as they wish)

There's no doubt that some GAA athletes are at near professional levels of fitness but not all squads. It was noticeable just how much bigger, fitter and faster Dublin were against Cavan in the semi-final. Cavan looked like an underage side competing with an adult side at times.

Likewise, I've heard comments that the Limerick side (my own county) are a manufactured side because they (seemingly) are so much fitter than the other sides. Thought it was very noticeable in the second half v Clare and the second half of the All Ireland final that neither Clare or Waterford were physically able to handle the power that Limerick could bring to the game at that point of the game.

So are Limerick and Dublin the only elite sides (hardly), or are Cavan, Clare and Waterford not as elite as other counties? When you say inter county players are elite, what counties are you including in your analysis?

Anyhow, Furlong would probably batter any inter county player for sheer strength. I've seen him up close, he is a massive, massive man and a fair bit of it is muscle. Likewise Larmour or Earls would out jump and out sprint most inter county players, imo. They are fast, fast men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There's no doubt that some GAA athletes are at near professional levels of fitness but not all squads. It was noticeable just how much bigger, fitter and faster Dublin were against Cavan in the semi-final. Cavan looked like an underage side competing with an adult side at times.

Likewise, I've heard comments that the Limerick side (my own county) are a manufactured side because they (seemingly) are so much fitter than the other sides. Thought it was very noticeable in the second half v Clare and the second half of the All Ireland final that neither Clare or Waterford were physically able to handle the power that Limerick could bring to the game at that point of the game.

So are Limerick and Dublin the only elite sides (hardly), or are Cavan, Clare and Waterford not as elite as other counties? When you say inter county players are elite, what counties are you including in your analysis?

Anyhow, Furlong would probably batter any inter county player for sheer strength. I've seen him up close, he is a massive, massive man and a fair bit of it is muscle. Likewise Larmour or Earls would out jump and out sprint most inter county players, imo. They are fast, fast men.

You are measuring only 1-2 of the matrix's. A rugby player covers about 7km in a match 70% if it walking, 25%jogging and 5% sprinting. While back cover more ground than forwards few rugby players will sprint more than 500 meters on a match. The time it takes is over 90 minutes. A GAA player covers 9.5km on average, sprints 20% of that. Highest lads are covering up to 12km and over 2km in sprints. And that is in less than 80 minutes if game time

I am not too sure if Earl's or Labour would out sprint the likes of McCafferty who recorded 2.8seconds fir a 20m sprint at an AFC combine in 2013. Gavin White for Kerry would not be beaten by a rugby player either. All the high jumping in Rugby is assisted by lifting.

Slava Ukrainii

You are measuring only 1-2 of the matrix's. A rugby player covers about 7km in a match 70% if it walking, 25%jogging and 5% sprinting. While back cover more ground than forwards few rugby players will sprint more than 500 meters on a match. The time it takes is over 90 minutes. A GAA player covers 9.5km on average, sprints 20% of that. Highest lads are covering up to 12km and over 2km in sprints.

I am not too sure if Earl's or Labour would out sprint the likes of McCafferty who recorded 2.8seconds fir a 20m sprint at an AFC combine in 2013. Gavin White for Kerry would not be beaten by a rugby player either. All the high jumping in Rugby is assisted by lifting.

What average is that? Across all inter county games or all Championship games etc?

I've no issue with with the idea some intercounty players are at near pro level but not all, and not even close to all, imo, if you go by last year's Championship. Again there was daylight between Dublin and Cavan physically.

Very hard to compare across the sports but the idea that the rugby players aren't maximising their physical potential for their respective position is bizarre. There's no doubt stats that GAA players will beat rugby players in but probably because those stats are not valuable for playing rugby.

You can't discount Furlong's stats for strength just because it would be worthless in football, he doesn't need to sprint but he'd outlift David Clifford in any weights test you set.

sheer strength deos not equal skill....its the essential problem with rugby,better more skilful players will be cast aside for those with brute force

I personally dont think it should be on free-to-air tv anyway or if it must be,shouldnt be allowed on before 9pm,its too dangerous for kids to be playing and like smoking,it shouldnt be encouraged for our youth

Define skill though? Tony Kelly was probably the most skilful player in Munster this year, doubt he was the most physically impressive though.

Tony kelly was awesome this year!

Skill roughly defined as the ability to do something well or what requires technical ability to master

(hurling with 99 different strikes on the ball,whereas your average outfield rugby player cant kick the ball in a straight line)

Rugby is so shít,people cheer when their own team kicks ball out-of-play ffs,so they can watch lads scrap and roll around on ground trying to take ball back again.....

Its over hyped nonsense,people have been sold a pup as regards it ...passing off brute strenth as skill,will never work for too long

Furlong is (supposedly) very skilled as a tighthead prop, it's not just about strength but how you use that force etc. It's supposedly akin to wrestling or judo in terms of holds and weight placement.

You shouldn't let your dislike of the sport blind yourself to the skills of the various positions, especially since it's closely linked to an ancient gaelic sport of caid, that the English learned in Tipperary and codified.

Crashing into people at different angles isnt a skill :pac:

I dont dislike the sport,

i just feel children shouldnt be encouraged to play it,and see kids queing up every saturday to "train" and the irfu are using hype to induce those kids into a life of drug taking,severe injuries and likely early dementia

The irfu years ago banned any critical/non complying jourmalists from its press conferences,hence why no hard qs get asked of it,and why everyone thinks all is rosey with it

I can see the kicker (or which ever of the 17 buzzwords rugby uses to describe this position) is skilful position....but has to resort to kicking ball upfield out of play, for "territory" in a vain hope his teammates can try and win it back and crash/force their way to the line....it simply isnt skilful nor entertaining

Tbf, the way Ireland play it is fairly rudimentary (no doubt an echo of our fierce caid origins....) but the way France or New Zealand can play it is pretty skilful. You should read Murray Kinsella's breakdowns of games on the42.ie, things that look easy only look easy because the lads doing them are very skilful.

Anyhow, leaving aside your subjective views of the entertainment value of the sport, the Munster squad would beat the Waterford squad across most fitness metrics, imo, going by the All Ireland final... (I know, I know, mean spirited comment, i do hope ye win an AI soon)

Ireland shouldnt be playing it full stop (was there even 10 irish born players for us the last day?).....its hype built on buzzwords with zero substance and its ruining people who get sucked into the playing side lives

Its not subjective,rugby simply entertaining.....its "supporters" have been sold a pup.....quite how people think its elite is beyond me....

The oreland v france match last saturday was close,but it was neither entertaining nor exciting and deeply frustrating to watch buzzword after buzzword thrown out to cover up this fact.....do people honestly lap this up?

(We're realistically unlikely to win an all ireland in the next 20 years :/)

Ah lad, it's a global sport, lot more people love it than even know of the existence of hurling. Literally millions of people watch its biggest games. To say it's not entertaining is just trolling. just cause it's not for you doesn't mean loads of people don't love it.

Anyhow, I think Waterford have a fairly decent chance this year. De Burca going off and the missed goal chances cost ye, even though the young lad who came on was very good. Yourselves and Galway pushed Limerick close last year (especially Waterford in the Munster final), people will believe Galway can win, no reason Waterford can't win, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,411 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Strumms wrote: »
    If I was proposing that I’d have typed that. Seeing as i didn’t ?!

The top floor is a lookout, with panoramic views of the city, it doubles as an observation deck and a means of transportation, i was suggesting something similar could be suitable.

Capacity as an observation deck alone would be halved (or more depending on how long people linger), so you'd then have something costing rather a lot in subsidies.

The previous observation deck - Smithfield - didn't cover its costs enough for the lifts to be sorted. Only open for those who want to take the stairs in recent years after a decade or so of being totally closed.

Its immaterial.whether people love hurling or not....i just feel rugby isnt entertaining....(which is why there is such drunkeness at matches)

Its biggest selling point among its fans is the pure strenth of its players,which would say to me,thats an admission it isnt skilful

Like people are free to enjoy it/watch it away....its just i feel children shouldnt be encouraged to play it,and as such it shouldnt be on before the watershed....hyping it up through complient media and utterly pointless buzzwords is inducing kids to play a sport that will ruin their health in long term

That being said...im going to try get into it again this weekend and see can if i find some entertainment in it...im sure they can beat italy,everyone deos :D (if i feel its entertaining,or no buzzwords used il gladly say so here)

Think it's a break weekend in the 6 nations?

Anyhow, you'll be glad to know one of the best young rugby talents in Ireland is a Waterford man called Thomas Ahern. Second row, seriously skilful too (about 6 foot 8 but used to play fullback so has good hands and is surprisingly fast for a guy that tall).

I know of him,....afaik a 2nd waterford player knocking about too

Yeah, there's a few decent Waterford players in and around the Munster squad atm, great to see really. Jack O'Donoghue is from Waterford and has captained them a few times, afaik. There's another young Waterford player in Munster's academy but I'm drawing a blank on his name. That journalist I mentioned, Murray Kinsella, is also from Waterford (and was in the Munster Academy a decade or so ago, iirc).

What average is that? Across all inter county games or all Championship games etc?

I've no issue with with the idea some intercounty players are at near pro level but not all, and not even close to all, imo, if you go by last year's Championship. Again there was daylight between Dublin and Cavan physically.

Very hard to compare across the sports but the idea that the rugby players aren't maximising their physical potential for their respective position is bizarre. There's no doubt stats that GAA players will beat rugby players in but probably because those stats are not valuable for playing rugby.

You can't discount Furlong's stats for strength just because it would be worthless in football, he doesn't need to sprint but he'd outlift David Clifford in any weights test you set.

The study was by Athlone institute of technology. I posted the link earlier in this thread. The stats were from a Connaught final a few years back so I imagine that they have improved since. Roscommon Galway match I tnink. Losing team cover more ground and sprint more than winning teams usually. Bigger teams such as Dublin, Kerry and Mayo are more reluctant to release there figures I imagine.

Even the level of fitness required at club level in GAA is astonishing. Teams are doing 2-3 team session a week and a friendly. A lot of players then do recovery session and gym sessions on top of that.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Pretty much everything you can buy in Brown Thomas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Fake lips on women - what on earth is it all about. So daft looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

The study was by Athlone institute of technology. I posted the link earlier in this thread. The stats were from a Connaught final a few years back so I imagine that they have improved since. Roscommon Galway match I tnink. Losing team cover more ground and sprint more than winning teams usually. Bigger teams such as Dublin, Kerry and Mayo are more reluctant to release there figures I imagine.

Even the level of fitness required at club level in GAA is astonishing. Teams are doing 2-3 team session a week and a friendly. A lot of players then do recovery session and gym sessions on top of that.

Bonkers level of commitment for club level. Must be serious amount of lads burning out after a couple of years of that.

A lot of them racking up serious time on the road to go from where they work in Dublin/Cork etc to go to training sessions back home.

Define skill though? Tony Kelly was probably the most skilful player in Munster this year, doubt he was the most physically impressive though.

Don't just jump into the boat!

Mimon wrote: »
    Bonkers level of commitment for club level. Must be serious amount of lads burning out after a couple of years of that.

A lot of them racking up serious time on the road to go from where they work in Dublin/Cork etc to go to training sessions back home.

I agree entirely. It is being driven by paid coaches and Managers IMO. Because they are being paid and in the drive to protect there reputations they are ecpecting what many semi pro's in Soccer are hardly doing.

As well they are paid for by the session. I have heard of teams coaching costing 20k at intermediate level now. There are senior club teams costing 50k++ in coaching costs

Slava Ukrainii

Read the article there, thanks. It's interesting but it doesn't include stats for other sports or even what stats are common between the various sports.

Going back to Furlong again, he is great at what he needs to be great at. If it was just strength we'd see a lot more just strong lads playing that position.

Well, you're either lying, or... living in another country

Got fully comp this year for 450 odd. It's from just for women,no frills service, all done online. I'm sure their customer service would be rubbish if I ever needed it but not really too bad.

Read the article there, thanks. It's interesting but it doesn't include stats for other sports or even what stats are common between the various sports.

Going back to Furlong again, he is great at what he needs to be great at. If it was just strength we'd see a lot more just strong lads playing that position.

If you Google it the rest of the stats for other sports are available as well.

Slava Ukrainii

If you Google it the rest of the stats for other sports are available as well.

Do those stats matter though? Different sports rely on different skills.

Back earlier in this thread I challenged the assumption that Furlong and Rugby players in particular were better athlete than GAA players. I just pointed out that GAA players under many different Matrix's compared more than favourable with many different professional players in different sports. The only that really outpreform them are Aussie rules players

Slava Ukrainii

Back earlier in this thread I challenged the assumption that Furlong and Rugby players in particular were better athlete than FAA players. I just pointed out that GAA players under many different Matrix's compared more than favourable with many different professional players in different sports. The only that really outpreform them are Aussie rules players

But they are better athletes at what they need to be better at, imo.

Obviously some GAA teams very near pro, Dublin for example, but others like Cavan, clearly aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,302 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

NDSL has been outsourced to private sector companies for about ten years now.

Yes and they are absolutely useless. But they are incumbent, they just need to play their few rounds of golf with the minister every year and they'll keep their contract

Man uniteds transfers for the last 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Shut up about sport, more money wasting please!

Going to festivals. Staying in a tent, no sleep, mud to the knees and the majority probably don't even know who is playing nor care but they have to say they were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

The difference our TD's, top civil servants, Taoiseach and President are paid, above the average industrial wage.

Don't get me started on their pension deals.

Non-vouched expenses paid to any of above.

Even as I type, I visualise pigs feeding from a trough.