Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you really miss doing ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭josip

I miss my Thai massage. I'm as stiff as a poker at the moment.

Don't worry, I'm sure this will eventually have a happy ending.

Being able to order sh|t online.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

josip wrote: »
    Don't worry, I'm sure this will eventually have a happy ending.

Nice...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I miss hopping in the car on a Sunday and going where we please , in for coffee when we choose and on to some random beach .Then into somewhere nice for a lunch and a sit down .

I miss my family so badly and would love to hop on a plane tomorrow and see them

I miss taking grandchildren to the National Stud, or cinema , or to a petting farm or simply out for the day and find somewhere exciting

I miss my friends popping over for a coffee and a chat and I misss my nights out with my friends with dinner and chats and laughs

I miss so many moments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Chatting and flirting with random people on a night out.

I miss the air of expectation and the craic that goes with it.

I want my basic personal freedoms back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

Playing football/5 a side.

Ireland is a country rich in outdoor activities, in which there is very little risk associated,a nd would be great for mental and physical health

The 5km rule is an absolute killer

I would agree with this. I see the logic is a 5km rule, I guess it avoid the risk of crowds at popular spots but it makes life alot harder in certain parts of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Living.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

jrosen wrote: »
    I would agree with this. I see the logic is a 5km rule, I guess it avoid the risk of crowds at popular spots but it makes life alot harder in certain parts of the country.

Also minimal risk, especially in this blustery weather
    https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-55680305

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Captain Pillowcase

I miss being in charge of my own life.

I miss the circle of friends I have, miss seeing them and as someone who was not a hugger, I miss the hugs from those who mean the most to me, how much it made me feel safe.

I miss going for a coffee and sitting down with the paper on a Sunday and taking my time.

I miss not feeling fearful every time I leave my house and not fear of covid but fear of getting stopped, getting quizzed even though all I am doing is going to work.

I miss life not being a rinse and repeat.

I miss watching TV without every ad break telling me to look in peoples eyes, stand back, stay at home etc etc etc.

I would honestly rather live a short life with my freedoms than a long life with this bare existence we have now.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

I miss people and all that goes with it.

But of course according to numerous genii on here "pffft, people just want to go to the pub"

Everything i miss is all to do with people:

I miss family and friends
    I miss old members of family i havent seen in months
    I miss new members of family ive never got to meet
    I miss seeing my kids happily playing with their friends
    I miss my kids birthday parties
    I hate seeing my kids crying through a lack of social interaction with friends
    I miss seeing them being happier (was praying for snow to give them a release lately)
    I miss the dressing room banter
    I miss the office gossip
    I miss talking to friends i know are struggling more than me but wont answer the phone
    I miss fish and chips in Kilmore Quay steaming up the windscreen as we park at the harbour looking out to sea
    I miss being a literal hurler on the ditch
    I miss my adventure races
    I miss selling club lotto tickets using it as an excuse to call in and have an old chat
    I miss sunday day trips to wherever
    I miss "whats for dinner? sure feck it we'll go out and get something for a change"
    I miss being able to buy clothes in a shop even though i hate shopping!
    I miss the roar of a crowd and how it can make the hair stand on the back of your neck
    I miss running the forest in the Raven, Curracloe, Wexford and darting to the left out of the forest on to the most glorious golden beach, stopping to catch your breath and just taking it all in.
    I miss there being a bit of hope in the country rather than wall to wall misery!

And yes i miss a pint too, sitting off in a quite corner with a few friends watching the Guinness settle knowing for a few hours the deeds of the past will be greatly exaggerated by all for our own enjoyment and that everything is possible in the future, for that few hours of laughing and having the craic every other worry just evaporates.

But i miss people and all that goes with it and i miss hope because in reality its hard to come by these days with the 24hr wall to wall misery in this country.

Ironically ive probably never been better off in terms of having money to spend etc but practically speaking in terms of life ive never been poorer.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Having a job.
    Talking to people.
    Scoping out cheap flights abroad.
    Pints.
    Golf.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭Goodigal

The Kelt - your list almost made me cry...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭prunudo

the kelt wrote: »
    I miss people and all that goes with it.

But of course according to numerous genii on here "pffft, people just want to go to the pub"

Everything i miss is all to do with people:

I miss family and friends
    I miss old members of family i havent seen in months
    I miss new members of family ive never got to meet
    I miss seeing my kids happily playing with their friends
    I miss my kids birthday parties
    I hate seeing my kids crying through a lack of social interaction with friends
    I miss seeing them being happier (was praying for snow to give them a release lately)
    I miss the dressing room banter
    I miss the office gossip
    I miss talking to friends i know are struggling more than me but wont answer the phone
    I miss fish and chips in Kilmore Quay steaming up the windscreen as we park at the harbour looking out to sea
    I miss being a literal hurler on the ditch
    I miss my adventure races
    I miss selling club lotto tickets using it as an excuse to call in and have an old chat
    I miss sunday day trips to wherever
    I miss "whats for dinner? sure feck it we'll go out and get something for a change"
    I miss being able to buy clothes in a shop even though i hate shopping!
    I miss the roar of a crowd and how it can make the hair stand on the back of your neck
    I miss running the forest in the Raven, Curracloe, Wexford and darting to the left out of the forest on to the most glorious golden beach, stopping to catch your breath and just taking it all in.
    I miss there being a bit of hope in the country rather than wall to wall misery!

And yes i miss a pint too, sitting off in a quite corner with a few friends watching the Guinness settle knowing for a few hours the deeds of the past will be greatly exaggerated by all for our own enjoyment and that everything is possible in the future, for that few hours of laughing and having the craic every other worry just evaporates.

But i miss people and all that goes with it and i miss hope because in reality its hard to come by these days with the 24hr wall to wall misery in this country.

Ironically ive probably never been better off in terms of having money to spend etc but practically speaking in terms of life ive never been poorer.

The government, nphet or whatever civil servant makes the calls needs to have a read of this post before they introduce their next living with covid brainwave.
    They should print it off and read it every day and before every media appearance where they proceed to tell us we're not doing enough and they are worried about compliance.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭JojoLoca

Not having freedom of travel - I used to travel a lot, holidays, family/friends visits (all live abroad)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Everything.

This isn't living

But if I was to pick three I'd say
    • Travel
    • Dating/the Ride
    • Doing everyday things that used to be normal without worrying you'll pick up an appalling virus or pass it onto loved ones
    On the upside, we'll never take things like this and more for granted again

• Registered Users Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Homelander

Honestly while I miss loads of things, too many to mention, the most simple thing I miss most is probably going to the cinema with friends.

Thankfully I live very close to family so I do see them regularly at least, and while I don't see friends, we do make an effort every week to arrange to watch movies on Netflix together as a group, or play games, or whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

I miss bat and pangolin soup.

Oh yeah, and pints with friends. Still plenty of pints on my own.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Gigs and playing football. Freedom to go where I want too. Looking forward to trips away. There's just a general lack of things to look forward to especially when it sounds like normality isn't going to return when the vulnerable are vaccinated

The travel is one thing I'm dreading happening again when this is all over (is there a thread for that?). This will be my second year in a row getting out of going on holidays and it's bliss. Never want to see an airport again ideally.

Brace yourself , because as soon as travel ban is lifted every adult over 18 will be forced to travel at least once a year
    You will be escorted to the airport and forced on a plane with a cattle prod

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Brace yourself , because as soon as travel ban is lifted every adult over 18 will be forced to travel at least once a year
    You will be escorted to the airport and forced on a plane with a cattle prod

That's not far off what the wife will do, and I'll have to go because she wants to. The one blessing from all this is that we couldn't go anywhere and it wasn't my fault.

That's how these things work smart hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Only time I was forced to travel away was when I was a child. Mummies and Daddies can be terrible. I feel your pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Rx713B

Stepping off the plane in Tenerife mid day about 4 or 5 pints on board and the heat hits ya in the face knowing that for the next 2 weeks its sun / sea / good food & pints.

Another thread derailed purely for attention

“ rolls eyes “

Only time I was forced to travel away was when I was a child. Mummies and Daddies can be terrible. I feel your pain.

OMG you're going to get so many Thanks for that hilarious joke. It's going to be like awesome!

Anyway, enjoy the misery I'll leave ye to it. Don't forget to "Roll those eyes" like the other lad.

Mostly I miss people , the hugs , the chats , the gathering for lunch , my brother , my sisters , my friends , my baby granddaughter who I haven’t seen and all that people bring into my life

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I miss hopping in the car on a Sunday and going where we please , in for coffee when we choose and on to some random beach .Then into somewhere nice for a lunch and a sit down .

I miss my family so badly and would love to hop on a plane tomorrow and see them

I miss taking grandchildren to the National Stud, or cinema , or to a petting farm or simply out for the day and find somewhere exciting

I miss my friends popping over for a coffee and a chat and I misss my nights out with my friends with dinner and chats and laughs

I miss so many moments

Very similar here.

Just the freedom of hopping in the car and going to visit family, browse in the shops, meet a friend for lunch or dinner, going away somewhere, either here or abroad.

I also miss going to the hairdresser. And going to shows or occasionally to the cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: ReginaldSmythV - banned from the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭Patsy167

Miss getting the random free samples of new products in supermarkets (cocktail sausages etc.) - There's just something about the novelty of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I miss stories.

If anyone has news or a story to tell you these days, it's rarely not bad news.

I miss just hearing someone tell a tale of some bizarre interaction they witnessed, or endured, as they went about life. Public transport horror stories, a night out, a friend doing something absolutely daft that we can all laugh at, an awkward date, or even an amazing one. I miss these stories.

And I miss moments. Marking an occasion.

Man, I had only just gotten used to celebrating moments in recent years such as birthdays, life events, and shaking off the typical Irish passiveness to these and really helping my friends and family embrace them. The majority of my friends have turned 30 this year, and not a thing but a text message was shared to celebrate it.

Stags cancelled, weddings forever postponed. Babies born, still yet to see a visitor beyond their parents. A first home moved into without a single housewarming. I miss celebrating these moments with others.