Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

Any more on that case law reference?

Or an answer to the question of whether you would pay for a passport?

I'm liking your 40.4 quote. This deprivation of liberty craic also extends to travel within the country - no? Because I might start driving on the oul' green diesel. Can't have the state depriving citizens of their liberty to drive around the country by imposing high tax on fuel.

Will you represent me in the SC if I am stopped and sipped? Constitutional right to liberty your honour :pac:

I'll be happy to do legal research for you if you'll pay me an hourly rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

gozunda wrote: »
    People are allowed to exercise outside. People may meet even with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise. I've no idea why sone seem to think otherwise.

The OP mentioned 'outdoor activities' - he probably means golf, tennis, hiking etc.

'I've no idea why people think they aren't allowed to exercise' doesn't address that.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hellrazer wrote: »
    And I actually thought Ronan Glynn had a bit more cop on than Tony. This is disgraceful. That protest next week might get bigger numbers than we think regardless of whos organising it.

I read the article and its saying pretty much what has officialy been said already . From the article
    His advice is understood to cover at least up to Easter, on April 4, and possibly until the end of April, when restrictions would be reviewed again.

Read an article this morning that has since been disappeared that nphet want to keep the country in lockdown until waiting lists are down. Something like 600,000 people waiting on treatment for various issues.
    What?It's time to give them the boot and open up. This is beyond insanity.

See above. The case numbers are still high but declining at a rate of between 2%- 4% per day. Looks like it will take till beginning of April to get numbers down to manageable levels. And no that doesn't mean the current restrictions will be held forever.
    Parachutes wrote: »
    End restrictions now.

So you would want a return to the peak of infection with 8000 cases just over a month ago?

Not prepared to actually wait until the infection is properly under control which has been estimated as the beginning of April.and no thst doesn't automatically mean all restrictions
    will be held until then btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

Cheltenham is trending on twitter, a quick scroll through it and I'm seeing bunches of Irish people complaining that the Cheltenham festival should be cancelled this year in solidarity with the hospitals.

People going spare saying that infections are going to spiral after the festival.......which is behind closed doors. There's also people saying that it should be cancelled because folks will gather to watch it in houses with and I quote "Drink taken''

Make no mistake about it - society is ****ed. People have lost the run of themselves altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

nj27 wrote: »
    The coast along Clontarf today is probably the busiest I have ever seen it, including the height of summer. No sign of the rozzers anywhere. Didn’t feel much like January’s level 5.

St Annes and Dollymount are mobbed today.

And for the first time in months I am seeing people meeting in their gardens.
    Great to see.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Cheltenham is trending on twitter, a quick scroll through it and I'm seeing bunches of Irish people complaining that the Cheltenham festival should be cancelled this year in solidarity with the hospitals.

People going spare saying that infections are going to spiral after the festival.......which is behind closed doors. There's also people saying that it should be cancelled because folks will gather to watch it in houses with and I quote "Drink taken''

Make no mistake about it - society is ****ed. People have lost the run of themselves altogether.

Sounds like typical twittery, not to be confused with most of the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Apes.

Although I am planning to do exactly that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

RTE: Nolan predicts 'outdoor' summer with domestic holidays

This summer will be one where people socialise outdoors as much as they can and continue to limit the number of social contact, the chair of the National Public Health Emergency Team's epidemiological modelling advisory group has said.

Speaking on RTÉ's This Week Professor Philip Nolan said social contacts in the summer would not be as limited as they are now, but warned it will be a summer of holiday and recreation at home.

RTE News

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

robbiezero wrote: »
    Apes.

Although I am planning to do exactly that.

As am I. It'll be the first year since 2014 that I haven't travelled over.

While we're at it we may as well cancel Eastenders and Coronation street as these shows are watched by old folks so they may gather in houses with Tea taken. We should start a boards sweepstake on when the first government minister claims a spike of infections linked with Cheltenham has been identified.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭User142

RobitTV wrote: »
    RTE: Nolan predicts 'outdoor' summer with domestic holidays

This summer will be one where people socialise outdoors as much as they can and continue to limit the number of social contact, the chair of the National Public Health Emergency Team's epidemiological modelling advisory group has said.

Speaking on RTÉ's This Week Professor Philip Nolan said social contacts in the summer would not be as limited as they are now, but warned it will be a summer of holiday and recreation at home.

RTE News

This was a given bare minimum until the government decided to start purposely screwing with the people the last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

That has to a f*cking joke and reading this the vaccines are useless so basically because last summer we caould dine inside but now even with a vaccine and months of administering it, we can’t dine inside. So basically I’m going to read as the vaccines are a load of sh*t if we have to live under more restrictions than we did last years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

fin12 wrote: »
    reading this the vaccines are useless so basically because last summer we caould dine inside but now even with a vaccine and months of administering it, we can’t dine inside.

The vaccine program isn't likely to be completed by the summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

That has to a f*cking joke and reading this the vaccines are useless so basically because last summer we caould dine inside but now even with a vaccine and months of administering it, we can’t dine inside. So basically I’m going to read as the vaccines are a load of sh*t if we have to live under more restrictions than we did last years.

Ye that's what it looks like. Somehow we are worse off with vaccines.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Patches oHoulihan

Graham wrote: »
    The vaccine program isn't likely to be completed by the summer.

There was no Vaccines last year and now we have a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Agreed regarding the vaccine See below article regarding the usefulness of said vaccine.

Where we going with this .. Who knows but restrictions should be reducing not increasing a year on.

According to the medics, and governments...

If I get vaccinated: 💉💉💉

* Moderna Vaccine
    * Pfizer BioNTech Vaccine
    * Astra Zeneca Oxford Vaccine
    * Johnson & Johnson Vaccine

1.- Can I stop wearing the mask?
    Government Response - No

2.- Can they reopen restaurants, pubs, bars etc and everyone work normally?
    Government Response - No

3.- Will I be resistant to covid?
    Government Response - Maybe, but we don't know exactly, it probably won't stop you getting it

4.- At least I won't be contagious to others anymore?
    Government Response - No you can still pass it on, possibly, nobody knows.

5.- If we vaccinate all children, will school resume normally?
    Government Response - No

6.- If I am vaccinated, can I stop social distancing?
    Government Response - No

7.- If I am vaccinated, can I stop disinfecting my hands?
    Government Response - No

8.- If I vaccinate myself and my family and friends, can we hug each other?
    Government Response - No

9.- Will cinemas, theatres and stadiums be reopened thanks to vaccines?
    Government Response - No

10.- Will the vaccinated be able to gather?
    Government Response - No

11.- What is the real benefit of vaccination?
    Government Response - The virus won't kill you but you might need a vaccine boaster injection for a few years.

12.- Are you sure it won't kill me?
    Government Response - No

13.- If statistically the virus won't kill me anyway ... Why would I get vaccinated?"
    Government Response - To protect others.

14.- So if I get vaccinated, the others are 100% sure I'm not infecting them?
    Government Response - No

So to summarise, the Covid19 vaccine...

Does not give immunity.
    Does not eliminate the virus.
    Does not prevent death.
    Does not guarantee you won’t get it.
    Dont prevent you getting it.
    Does not stop you passing it on
    Does eliminate travel bans.
    Does not eliminate the need for business closures.
    Does not eliminate the need for lockdowns.
    Does not eliminate the need for masking.

So...what the hell is it actually doing?

Lockdown needs to end ASAP

The debate isn’t whether it needs to end as soon as pointe, it’s how soon that is

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Imagine last summer you were told we would have vaccines in a year. Wow that's amazing. But you will have more restrictions. Huh?

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Patches oHoulihan

Agreed regarding the vaccine See below article regarding the usefulness of said vaccine.

Where we going with this .. Who knows but restrictions should be reducing not increasing a year on.

* Moderna Vaccine

Government Response - No

Government Response - Maybe, but we don't know exactly, it probably won't stop you getting it

Government Response - No

Government Response - The virus won't kill you but you might need a vaccine boaster injection for a few years.

Government Response - No

13.- If statistically the virus won't kill me anyway ... Why would I get vaccinated?"

Government Response - No

Does not give immunity.
    Does not prevent death.

I have no clue but its just another reason to open the ****ing place up and let us get on with it.
    We just cant live like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Between NPHET and government they must be intentionally communicating this badly. Do they have a cunning plan or are they that incompetent? Hmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Ye that's what it looks like. Somehow we are worse off with vaccines.

i mean you have to give the government credit for taking the miraculous news of several vaccines being approved and somehow turning it into a negative. it wasn't easy but somehow they did it. they've not stopped pissing on the vaccines as a means to return to normal since the first planeload landed and they've been turned into another stick to beat us with

* Moderna Vaccine

Government Response - No

Does not give immunity.
    Does not prevent death.

brilliant post, it summarizes the government mindset towards vaccines. franz kafka himself couldn't have written the government's attitude these past weeks

thebaz wrote: »
    if these variants were so dangerous why did they not close down travel from these Hotspots ? The Brazilian variant was well known before Christmas,

Stopping flights from hotspots would be "undemocratic", as Simon Harris said last year.

Prolonged lockdowns, on the other hand...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Hubertj wrote: »
    Between NPHET and government they must be intentionally communicating this badly. Do they have a cunning plan or are they that incompetent? Hmmm

Baldrick's plans were more cunning.

Stopping flights from hotspots would be "undemocratic", as Simon Harris said last year.

Prolonged lockdowns, on the other hand...

those flights can't be stopped otherwise ff and fg's pals in the food production industry wouldn't be able to fly in their slave labour and pay them half nothing rather than give workers in Ireland a decent wage

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

That's not an article, it's a terrible Facebook post that gets regurgitated with no context and a flag emoji for whatever country its being shared in.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Does not give immunity.
    Does not prevent death.

It drastically decreases the chances that you will prematurely and unexpectedly end your days on earth, lying face down and intubated in an ICU somewhere.

When other people are vaccinated, it also decreases their chances of needing admission to hospital. That will allow for other healthcare to continue.

Lockdowns are one way to decrease the numbers in hospitals, the other way is to decrease the proportion of people needing hospital if they catch it. Vaccines do the latter.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

ypres5 wrote: »
    those flights can't be stopped otherwise ff and fg's pals in the food production industry wouldn't be able to fly in their slave labour and pay them half nothing rather than give workers in Ireland a decent wage
    Remind me how many Irish applicants keelings got when they advertised? Less than 40 wasn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

ypres5 wrote: »

It's all down the "the man".

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Remind me how many Irish applicants keelings got when they advertised? Less than 40 wasn't it?

what was the pay like for the jobs? remind me again

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They will have to relax restrictions very quickly. Otherwise the rumblings about an insurrection on Easter Weekend won't be pretty.