Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Clearly a lot of people here aren't familiar with the court pages. Names addresses and photos regularly printed.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,551 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Can you point to previous national media stories of someone being named and shamed after being charged for not giving their name to a Garda? As it's "standard practice" there should be plenty of examples.

I think you misread his post.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,222 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Clearly a lot of people here aren't familiar with the court pages. Names addresses and photos regularly printed.

Except we're not talking about the courts pages. We're talking about the headline article on RTE.ie where the vile crime of not giving your name to a Garda is headline news. Jesus lads, do ye ever take a day off from unrelentingly defending the government/national media narrative?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Kiith wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0321/1205220-lockdown-protest-dublin-court/

Is this RTE's new way of trying to scare people away from protesting? Name and shame on their website? Can't think of any other time where they'd list the names and addresses of people accused like this.

It’s further proof democracy is suspended

Imagine heavy handing a pair of 68 & 72 year old ladies

Unsettling

What worse is the usual suspects here cheering it on

pjohnson wrote: »
    I think you misread his post.

Still waiting for previous examples of headline news for the crime of failing to give name and address to a Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Benimar

Can you point to previous national media stories of someone being named and shamed after being charged for not giving their name to a Garda? As it's "standard practice" there should be plenty of examples.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gemma-odoherty-arrested-live-stream-22595561

A name that may be familiar to one or two around here I’d assume.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Unsettling

Link?

Still waiting for previous examples of headline news for the crime of failing to give name and address to a Garda.

See above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 DTownD

hynesie08 wrote: »

Exactly - most people don't bother with the court pages in their local newspaper.

A national newspaper, in a main news story
    printing the names of those arrested like this is new.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Why the **** was there a special court sitting for people not giving their name and addresses. I thought special court sittings were for serious crimes.

Unsettling

Small cohirt of posters here continuously belittle contrarian opinions and cheer on the lockdown at every turn. It's genuinely disturbing where elements of our society has gone, however for closet authoritarians this is a great time to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭17larsson

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Yeah its because the place is dangerously crowded with drinking and fights happening everywhere. Cheap flights and people wanting to let loose after possibly being under restrictions in their own states have led to people flocking there. It's not strictly covid related. And even if it was, it wouldn't be Florida "folding". it would be one city putting in restrictions

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/miami-beach-declares-state-emergency-over-spring-break-crowds-n1261673

Oh man, this is by far the scariest story I've read since the whole thing started.

They're now using lockdowns for crowd control. The precedent has been set. There'll be a lockdown here for the flu in the winter.

This new toy is too much fun to give back

Benimar wrote: »
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gemma-odoherty-arrested-live-stream-22595561

Gemma O'Doherty is a well known figure.

Any example of other regular Joe's being arrested for protest and their names and addresses published ?

Have absolutely zero time for her. She's an awful eejit but this article only further highlights the point being made. People with contrarian views get named and shamed. It's that all you have? Gemma O'Doherty?

Any examples of ordinary punters making national headline news for the crime of failing to give their name and address?

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

niallo27 wrote: »
    Why the **** was there a special court sitting for people not giving their name and addresses. I thought special court sittings were for serious crimes.

Probably works out better for the criminals though, quicker bail?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Unsettling

Heavy handing? You have proof of this surely?

What difference does it make what age they are, if they are out parroting anti vax nonsense in the middle of a pandemic do you think they should get preferential treatment because of their age?

I imagine they were told to move on several times and then engaged with what these idiots usually engage in, abusing the guards whilst belting out about their fraydumbs.

Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

Also Gemma's address is not included in the article.

Boggles wrote: »
    Heavy handing? You have proof of this surely?

What difference does it make what age they are, if they are out parroting anti vax nonsense in the middle of a pandemic do you think they should get preferential treatment because of their age?

I imagine they were told to move on several times and then engaged with what these idiots usually engage in, abusing the guards whilst belting out about their fraydumbs.

Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

This is comical. You demand proof on the one hand and then immediately engage in your own imagined scenarios. Christ almighty, the lack of self awareness is unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

But why ?
    You can do what you will with your own imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

17larsson wrote: »
    There'll be a lockdown here for the flu in the winter.

Yep, this is the norm now

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭jusvi2001

Unfortunately our government is acting as a slave to NPHET masters instead of taking their advice and framing policies considering others factors affecting wider society. latest was NPHET saying lock down will last until June. they don't have authority to make such an announcement in media. its a job of an elected government and they didn't even made an announcement about April 5 yet .

M.M is pathetic in his job and only thing he says that he is ' disappointed' with everything. he has no plan or vision. we are yet to start mandatory hotel quarantine for people travelling from risk countries. Countries like Australia and New Zealand have this mandatory hotel quarantine since last year and so citizens are enjoying freedom that we are only able to dream now.

This is comical. You demand proof on the one hand and then immediately engage in your own imagined scenarios. Christ almighty, the lack of self awareness is unbelievable.

One claimed fact, I gave an opinion.

You do know the difference right?

Have absolutely zero time for her. She's an awful eejit but this article only further highlights the point being made. People with contrarian views get named and shamed. It's that all you have? Gemma O'Doherty?

Any ordinary punters making national headline news for the crime of failing to give their name and address?

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wicklowpeople/news/motorist-refuses-to-give-garda-his-name-27843072.html

Oh look, the first thing that comes up when I do a google search.

Random enough person for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Kiith wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0321/1205220-lockdown-protest-dublin-court/

Is this RTE's new way of trying to scare people away from protesting? Name and shame on their website? Can't think of any other time where they'd list the names and addresses of people accused like this.

In other news, front page of the Sunday Times reports reports a "covid bounce" in profits for RTE last year.

It backs up what myself and others have been saying for the last year, RTE and other media outlets are financially incentivised to ramp up the fear and hysteria in their reporting. They are also receiving huge advertising revenue from the Government.

The abdication of journalistic responsibility and integrity has been absolutely shocking. The tens of billions that have been flushed away without any oversight or questioning.

Boggles wrote: »
    One claimed fact, I gave an opinion.

You do know the difference right?

He said "imagine", just as you did. Do YOU know the difference? Clearly not. Other than one aligned with your fantasy and the other is an opinion you dislike

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wicklowpeople/news/motorist-refuses-to-give-garda-his-name-27843072.html

Oh look, the first thing that comes up when I do a google search.

Random enough person for you?

January 2009 in the Wicklow People! Stop please, you're absolutely embarrassing yourself. Did that make national headline news by the way or is that it, the "Wicklow People"?? :pac:

The fact that the first result you could find from Google was a story from a regional newspaper 12 years ago only further underlines that this isn't the "normal standard practice" you and others claimed it to be.

niallo27 wrote: »

That’s the Special Criminal Court. A special sitting of a district court is merely an unscheduled sitting, as it doesn’t normally sit on Saturdays. It meant those charged could be bailed and not have to be locked up for the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

17larsson wrote: »
    Oh man, this is by far the scariest story I've read since the whole thing started.

They're now using lockdowns for crowd control. The precedent has been set. There'll be a lockdown here for the flu in the winter.

This new toy is too much fun to give back

There is a risk of lockdown every Winter in Ireland if we apply the same metrics as we currently do to implement lockdown

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/first-week-of-2020-worst-ever-for-hospital-overcrowding-1.4135852%3fmode=amp
    The first week of the new year has been the worst ever for hospital overcrowding, according to figures from the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation.

Some 3,143 patients went without beds during the week, as trolley numbers hit a new daily record of 760 on both Monday and Tuesday.
    The HSE has said that although trolley numbers peaked at record levels at the start of the week, they have fallen off sharply thanks to above average levels of discharge of patients from hospital beds and a reduction in flu levels.

That report is from before Covid, we have since added 10’s of billion’s to our debt and thousands of business will close further depleting the tax take and all of this without health service improvement since the above report.

Yep, either the metrics change or our future does

He said "imagine", just as you did. Do YOU know the difference? Clearly not. Other than one aligned with your fantasy and the other is an opinion you dislike

Nope.

Claimed a fact

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

That’s the Special Criminal Court. A special sitting of a district court is merely an unscheduled sitting, as it doesn’t normally sit on Saturdays. It meant those charged could be bailed and not have to be locked up for the weekend.

So people get locked up now for not giving their name and address.