Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭BlaktainPicard

2/10

I'd even say that's generous

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I have to say my experience with the gards have been positive. The 5km for most part doesn’t apply to me due to my work. I drive 1k -1.5k a week and since the begining gone through quite a few checkpoints. I get the “ purpose of your journey” i tell them and it’s “ no problem go ahead”. They are always pleasant and never even asked for proof.

My partner lives 10km away from me. They regularly have checkpoints in her village. I tell them I’m visiting my partner and always get the “ no problem go ahead”.

Now she lives alone so she would qualify for the support bubble anyway but the gard never asks for details so for all he/she knows there could be 20 people in the house.

Oh I agree, I’m not dissing them and most guards are sound and just as sick of this as you and I. As in all walks of life you get the odd wan*er on a power trip but I drive quite a bit and only once have come across a pr*ck at a checkpoint!

But it’s important that the few bad apples out there know their limits and don’t abuse them!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Did I say I expected it ?

I merely asked why the change in traffic and movement of people seen as we are supposed to be in level 5 which last year saw roads practically empty.

I understand that people have had enough at this stage, we all have,

The other side is that as long as we say we have enough and will meet up , move beyond our 5k we must also accept that the restrictions will not be lifted anytime soon.
    sorry wasnt anything personal against you, just badly phrased.
    ive no clue what else can be done to be fair, yes ive seen same picture some days would have a lot of traffic, some days could be less.
    are people breaking limit of course no sane mobile person will sit in 5km range for a year and live to tell it. every minute sun has been coming out in past few weeks id see grandparents coming over to see their grand kids around estate, now if they choose to do so whos there to tell them otherwise, as sure theres 0.2% risk someone might die, but at the end of day its a small number that been blown out of proportion world wide, as seems many more are dying from harsh restrictions around the world then from covid itself, the further this nonsense continues.

LameBeaver wrote: »
    Totally wide of the mark chief. Time for a 2km limit and night curfews to be implemented and the army/Gardai and any other forces required to enforce it with zero tolerance.

Is that you Tony :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I drove 3/4 the way from Cork to Dublin and back this weekend on an essential journey and the motorway and roads were practically deserted. One car every 20 minutes or so. This is way less than before. I don't know where you live but if it's Dublin then that explains a lot as Dublin is the main driver of COVID in Ireland right now (apart from a few counties with meat plants)

It's the weekdays i see this on the way to and from work

It just seems like more business are open this time . The traffic is early morning and late evening which seems to coincide with work hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Totally wide of the mark chief. Time for a 2km limit and night curfews to be implemented and the army/Gardai and any other forces required to enforce it with zero tolerance.

What other forces do we have?

Not sure if tasking the St John’s ambulance crew to uphold martial law is a wise move

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

scamalert wrote: »
    sorry wasnt anything personal against you, just badly phrased.
    ive no clue what else can be done to be fair, yes ive seen same picture some days would have a lot of traffic, some days could be less.
    are people breaking limit of course no sane mobile person will sit in 5km range for a year and live to tell it. every minute sun has been coming out in past few weeks id see grandparents coming over to see their grand kids around estate, now if they choose to do so whos there to tell them otherwise, as sure theres 0.2% risk someone might die, but at the end of day its a small number that been blown out of proportion world wide, as seems many more are dying from harsh restrictions around the world then from covid itself, the further this nonsense continues.

I get what you're saying but I can't see the government lifting much restrictions based on their way of thinking. If we're kept in level 5 when numbers are 500 ish there is no hope of a change when numbers are rising

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Look at this headline from The Irish Daily Mirror....

'Very worrying news'

20 Covid cases confirmed in huge and 'frightening' outbreak at Irish creche

Oh my goodness how terribly frightening. Level 6 right now!

Shut the airports! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Not sure if tasking the St John’s ambulance crew to uphold martial law is a wise move

The Order of Malta are on standby!!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

RobitTV wrote: »

'Very worrying news'

Childcare and schools are safe places remember

Definitely a mistake and that surge was because of Paddy's day protests and cans

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

'Very worrying news'

Surprising, they are usually the bastion of journalistic integrity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Childcare and schools are safe places remember

Definitely a mistake and that surge was because of Paddy's day protests and cans

I had this debate this morning.

Apparently the increase in cases are down to paddys day and mothers day and couldnt possibly be anything to do with schools going back and increased mobility associated with that cos NPHET didnt say that was an issue!!

Logic eh!!

Boggles wrote: »
    Surprising, they are usually the bastion of journalistic integrity.

Well I don't know about you, but I'm terrified after reading that headline.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

I would say there are still a good few boyos of a certain leaning around from before the Good Friday agreement who would be happy enough to be brought back into active service to do their patriotic duty for the state.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I would say there are still a good few boyos of a certain leaning around from before the Good Friday agreement who would be happy enough to be brought back into active service to do their patriotic duty for the state.

Oh by Jeasus

Covid has really brought them out

Well I don't know about you, but I'm terrified after reading that headline.

They want you to be.

You went one further though, you became their personal push notification.

Well done, you just got played.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I somehow or other think you've missed that boat in relation to these "Boyo's"..

Like many of Ireland's brightest & best,they've had to try and forge new avenues of interest & income.....

https://www.facebook.com/gerryadams.sf/videos/183413853380522/

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

the kelt wrote: »

Apparently the increase in cases are down to paddys day and mothers day and couldnt possibly be anything to do with schools going back and increased mobility associated with that cos NPHET didnt say that was an issue!!

Logic eh!!

It's a pity we didn't have proper journalists around in this country who could question nphet about things like this?

Do nphet even allow questions at the daily press conference?

Oh by Jeasus

Covid has really brought them out

Your friend Risteard might be able to explain a few things to you about the "cause". You should ask him.

They want you to be.

You went one further though, you became their personal push notification.

Well done, you just got played.

Now I'm terrified that I have become their personal push notification.

Make it stop it's painful :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Gerry Killeen with his hurley maybe :)?

Now I'm terrified that I have become their personal push notification.

Make it stop it's painful :pac:

Maybe stop being outraged by Tabloids and then rushing to spread that outrage.

They don't care what reaction you have, but if you spread it, it's all win for them.

Maybe stopped being outraged by Tabloids and then rushing to spread that outrage.

They don't care what reaction you have, but if you spread it, it's all win for them.

Nah I'm not outraged. Just concerned that It's another headline that people will see on Facebook and across social media and it will genuinely worry some people in our country.

The Irish Daily Mirror should stop spreading their headlines to the masses. Would be a great start.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Logic eh!!

Might actually be nothing to do with schools but general apathy from public and increased restrictions breaking from public.

No plan or communication from government so last few weeks people have given up on lockdown and are just cracking on with their lives.

More mobility and socialising etc. which i can completely understand.

Government/NPHET have lost the people for sure and I've really noticed it the last 2-3 weeks.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I’m travelling to Dublin this week for an essential medical appointment. The public waiting list for my issue is far too long so I am paying out of my own pocket to see a consultant at a private clinic.
    I have been given a letter stating my appointment date and time, confirming that it’s essential.

My question is, if I am stopped at a checkpoint am I obliged to disclose the nature of the appointment if I’m asked? I don’t feel like discussing my personal medical issues with a guard, as if it’s up to him to determine whether it’s necessary or not.
    I have no issue with them ringing the clinic to confirm the appointment actually exists but I just don’t think my private medical issues are anyone’s business but mine.

What information am I required by law to disclose, if asked by a guard?

This is one of,if not THE saddest post I have read during this current period of uncertainty.

I do wonder if it has yet sunk in,just how much of our long established freedom and normality terms of living,we have now apparently voluntarily surrendered ?

Twelve months on from C-Day,the fact that we have been reduced to,even discussing,this on a Public Forum really does impact on me.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Logic eh!!

Its not just the schools. There is hair dressers opening at homes across the country, people doing nails for others etc.

21st party down near home, 40 cases from it in the last week.

Government are shooting themselves in the foot in how they are managing it.

Schools can are only getting the virus from the community!!

G'wan oua dah...Right Wing scumbags de lorra dem...specially dem Swiss !!

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

AlekSmart wrote: »
    G'wan oua dah...Right Wing scumbags de lorra dem...specially dem Swiss !!

It was incredibly obvious at the french 'mostly peaceful riot' that they were a bunch of right wing racists, especially when the women with burkas were used as human shields from the 'peace' officers. :rolleyes:

AlekSmart wrote: »
    This is one of,if not THE saddest post I have read during this current period of uncertainty.

I do wonder if it has yet sunk in,just how much of our long established freedom and normality terms of living,we have now apparently voluntarily surrendered ?

Twelve months on from C-Day,the fact that we have been reduced to,even discussing,this on a Public Forum really does impact on me.

Covid doesn`t give a flying fcuk about your freedoms and rights Alek. Not very smart of you to think otherwise.