Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1 pubsy_boy

eddie73 wrote: »
    It depends what our expectations are regarding return of our boozers.

If people think it will be the same as it was before covid, then they are delusional.

Living in England, really felt the need to reply to this :)

The pubs are re-opened here fully. What are my experiences? Well the Wetherspoons are the only ones really adhering to the rules (table service etc). Every other one (proper country pubs) are back to normal. Sure there's a QR code plastered up on the door, but no-one bothers with that. And why wouldn't it be? Vaccines are out there, people are fine and the demand is there!

Tbh with you, it's great. I daresay the delusional ones are those who reckon pub-life has gone for good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

pubsy_boy wrote: »
    Living in England, really felt the need to reply to this :)

The pubs are re-opened here fully. What are my experiences? Well the Wetherspoons are the only ones really adhering to the rules (table service etc). Every other one (proper country pubs) are back to normal. Sure there's a QR code plastered up on the door, but no-one bothers with that. And why wouldn't it be? Vaccines are out there, people are fine and the demand is there!

Tbh with you, it's great. I daresay the delusional ones are those who reckon pub-life has gone for good!

I doubt that Pubs are gone for good but some won't be back and many will have to change to keep up with the new drinker. More food, more outdoor, better toilet facilities etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

saabsaab wrote: »
    I doubt that Pubs are gone for good but some won't be back and many will have to change to keep up with the new drinker. More food, more outdoor, better toilet facilities etc.
    I don't get this at all, who is this "new drinker"? The one who ridiculed the ridiculous €9 food rule last year, which is now gone? The one who is now going to sit outside in the pissing rain for a few weeks, until indoors re-opens? I think people are reading far too much into temporary short-term measures which are in place until the country is vaccinated.

People will reinvent ways of socialising regardless of bars. Within weeks, bars will open, under severe TEMPORARY restrictions.

https://failtecdn.azureedge.net/failteireland/Guidelines-for-Re-opening-Hotels-and-Guesthouses.pdf?fbclid=IwAR3ixoNr5yDLwfEH50lTAlJiqw4zcdnfMa0rRZ46qKDRWTMInAe35vVRhEw

I don't have your confidence in survival of bars or the new bar that we will experience in the months to come. Regardless of the minority who are afraid to go out again, there are also those people who won't want to. There is a big difference between these categories.
    All these measures are temporary, you seem to be under the impression that they are indefinite. Why would they be?

I don't get this at all, who is this "new drinker"? The one who ridiculed the ridiculous €9 food rule last year, which is now gone? The one who is now going to sit outside in the pissing rain for a few weeks, until indoors re-opens? I think people are reading far too much into temporary short-term measures which are in place until the country is vaccinated.

The new drinker is coming for a while now. I have seen him, not for them the pints one after the other. A few glasses of wine or whiskey, early home to take away foreign food. Generally younger accompanied by girlfriend or partner who is particular where she drinks and will rule out several places because of the poor toilet facilities.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Operating under a controlled system will be temporary. How long it lasts no one knows but we will get back to what we were like before covid.

I hope you are right, but there are 2 problems with the future.

1 The economic damage that has already been done, unfortunately through no-one's fault by the lockdown here.
    2 The length of time we are going to live under continued controls, which will be damaging to the trade, no mater what way you dress it up. Limits on numbers people. Limits on time. Limits on music. These aren't small things. These are huge things when it comes to going out for a night out. The longer this goes on, the more bars will close.

All smaller businesses...it doesn't take a genius to work out what will happen.

Best case scenario. If you like wutherspoons, Make the most of it, because that is the type of bar that will survive.

Originally Posted by podgeandrodge viewpost.gif
    Brenda Power: "I think going forward we will adapt to a more Scandanavian or more continental model where you have tables, with people sitting at them, and having a conversation where they can actually hear each other. A novel idea"

I'd say it's going that way at least in the cities.

Brenda Power: "I think going forward we will adapt to a more Scandanavian or more continental model where you have tables, with people sitting at them, and having a conversation where they can actually hear each other. A novel idea"

Ah the Irish inferiority complex to the fore once more, looking at the utopia that is Europe for a healthy dose of cosmopolitan culture. Of course, it is good to have choice, and there is certainly a market there for what Brenda Power describes, but I don't believe for a minute that these places will usurp the regular pubs. We in Ireland are renowned for our pub culture, and there's nothing at all wrong with that. They're great craic, something which a lot of European institutions are not.

The fact that there's a thread on here discussing the very topic, and the constant references to pubs everytime restrictions are mentioned, is testament to their place in society and the Irish psyche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Her interview was pathetic, basically telling us we dont enjoy packed pubs etc even if we say otherwise. Who the **** does she think she is? Talk about arrogant,:mad:

Attacking the messenger? She is pointing out the way it is going. I like the old style pub but I can see and already have seen many of them going. I doubt many like packed pubs busy yes but packed no. Hard to get to the bar and back without spilling it everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭shadyslimshady

Attacking the messenger? She is pointing out the way it is going. I like the old style pub but I can see and already have seen many of them going. I doubt many like packed pubs busy yes but packed no. Hard to get to the bar and back without spilling it everywhere!

Not see a bit of a paradox there?

No. Can you point it out? The things I like are changing..

A 59 year old women didn't like a pub that she could barely move in due to it been packed?

Many don't and more of them than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,938 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I can't wait to go back to the pub and do think people will flock back. Obv it will be a little different with the 'Temporary' regulations in place and little/no music/sport (tbh a lot of places will still have it) and early closes. Indoor very much my preference

Pre covid opening/closing times will come back eventually (possible end of the year/early 2022) and i think people will just go out earlier instead of pre drinking

As much as i'd love to book a hotel for indoor pints, nah i'll wait and live with outdoor

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I can't wait to go back to the pub and do think people will flock back. Obv it will be a little different with the 'Temporary' regulations in place and little/no music/sport (tbh a lot of places will still have it) and early closes. Indoor very much my preference

Pre covid opening/closing times will come back eventually (possible end of the year/early 2022) and i think people will just go out earlier instead of pre drinking

As much as i'd love to book a hotel for indoor pints, nah i'll wait and live with outdoor

Some pubs will be busy at first others maybe not as people will be nervous. I am good to go (fully vaccinated with the pass) so no worries for me.

Off for the week of the bank holiday. gonna be carnage :)

Im 31 so doubt i'll have even 1 dose by outdoor opening on the 7th June. Should have 1 by the time indoor opens

11pm last orders with the place cleared by 11.30pm, hope i'm wrong but hard to see any change in that when/if Indoor reopens in July

Im 31 so doubt i'll have even 1 dose by outdoor opening on the 7th June. Should have 1 by the time indoor opens

11pm last orders with the place cleared by 11.30pm, hope i'm wrong but hard to see any change in that when/if Indoor reopens in July

Older than you but I got it early due to circumstances I won't go into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,738 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Some pubs will be busy at first others maybe not as people will be nervous. I am good to go (fully vaccinated with the pass) so no worries for me.

What pass?

What pass?

That's what the vaccinator called the signed card he gave me with my two vaccination details. Need it for abroad etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

That's what the vaccinator called the signed card he gave me with my two vaccination details. Need it for abroad etc etc.

That card won't be what gets you abroad, it won't be what gets you anywhere really.

Actual certificate or QR code on app will be the "pass" for travel abroad. There won't be a domestic pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i suppose it all depends on where your local is, when june 7th comes there an awful lot of pubs will be very little restrictions. possibley even quiter ones will have aul lads in at the bar by the end of the week, whos going to enact and inspect all these restrictions, many rural towns you wont see a gaurd or squad car from one end of the year til the other, there not going to appear now. id say it will be normal service in rural areas by the 2nd week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,272 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Then the vaccinator was wrong. They should never have said that.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Then the vaccinator was wrong. They should never have said that.

Maybe but that's what they said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

that would mean 2 or 3 people on a daily basis. This will still make the news. This will still cause mayhem with the public. imagine a town like Athlone where this happens. .

Did you write this in March 2020, when local rumour went wild because an ambulance was seen outside Tom Reilly's house and his brother was over at Cheltenham?

Most of us have worked alongside Covid positive cases at this stage. Some of us have even caught it, and most of them can report it barely registered. Nobody under 60 has been remotely afraid of the virus since circa last May, just afraid of catching it and being forced off work for two weeks.

Hopefully some sanity will prevail and we can get them back before July 1st even, but I wouldn't bank on it. Not one figure in government has explained why these measures must remain in place currently, now that every single elderly and vulnerable person in Ireland who wants a vaccine has been given one.

Maybe but that's what they said.

And repeating it doesn't make it correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭celt262

Relax

celt262 wrote: »
    Relax

Oh I'm extremely relaxed. Don't you concern yourself.

But, pithy reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭celt262

Oh I'm extremely relaxed. Don't you concern yourself.

But, pithy reply.

Not concerned one bit sunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Did you write this in March 2020, when local rumour went wild because an ambulance was seen outside Tom Reilly's house and his brother was over at Cheltenham?

Most of us have worked alongside Covid positive cases at this stage. Some of us have even caught it, and most of them can report it barely registered. Nobody under 60 has been remotely afraid of the virus since circa last May, just afraid of catching it and being forced off work for two weeks.

Hopefully some sanity will prevail and we can get them back before July 1st even, but I wouldn't bank on it. Not one figure in government has explained why these measures must remain in place currently, now that every single elderly and vulnerable person in Ireland who wants a vaccine has been given one.

While I'm thankful we're nearly at the end of this so we can go back to the pub and everything else, I'm nearly more thankful we won't have to listen to horsesh1t like this anymore.

One of our first outings coming up is a round of golf followed by pints in memory of a close friend who died of covid last year aged 49. A colleague of my other half died aged 42 back in October. Neither had underlying conditions or would be classed as vulnerable. A teacher in my daughter's playschool, also in her 40s is in hospital as I write this over it.

So, while I'm happy for you that you clearly haven't been affected in any way by it, frankly, stick your reductive, inaccurate bullsh1t up your hole. This virus doesn't conform to your notions that conveniently suit your agenda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

Great craic the other week in Belfast, plus the pubs are opening indoors from Monday so will definitely be heading up there again,recommended.

The thoughts of scrambling to book a beer garden here when they open and weather like the last 2 days here sounds like a nightmare,you just cant trust the weather here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Great craic the other week in Belfast, plus the pubs are opening indoors from Monday so will definitely be heading up there again,recommended.

The thoughts of scrambling to book a beer garden here when they open and weather like the last 2 days here sounds like a nightmare,you just cant trust the weather here.

As opposed to that tropical wonderland, Belfast??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

hynesie08 wrote: »
    As opposed to that tropical wonderland, Belfast??

every bleedin post i make on here i notice you always chime in with something sarcastic,you never seem to be off here, maybe take a break:eek:
    for the record the days we were there it was sunny enough, that good enough for you :p

every bleedin post i make on here i notice you always chime in with something sarcastic,you never seem to be off here, maybe take a break:eek:
    for the record the days we were there it was sunny enough, that good enough for you :p

You actually post more than me mate, can't be that much craic sitting outside pubs in NI if you spend that much time on here..........

2ndcoming wrote: »

One of our first outings coming up is a round of golf followed by pints in memory of a close friend who died of covid last year aged 49. A colleague of my other half died aged 42 back in October. Neither had underlying conditions or would be classed as vulnerable. A teacher in my daughter's playschool, also in her 40s is in hospital as I write this over it.

Young, seemingly fit people have died of, and been hospitalised by, winter flu from the dawn of time. I personally know of three people who died from, or at least with, Covid (one I knew personally, he was young, albeit overweight, other was old and had other conditions, don't know about the 3rd, mates aunt) - on the other hand I know people who don't even know anybody who ever contracted Covid, let alone got sick or died with it. Mate of mine nearly died of Swine Flu aged 24 and he thinks lockdown is uncalled for. Fact is that pretty much next to no young, fit, healthy people die, or even get seriously ill, from this virus. That your group knows of two is a statistical anomaly, in the same way some people are strongly convinced it doesn't exist at all because they don't know anybody who contracted it. In the UK 23 people under the age of 50 are suspected to have died from the vaccine, yet we are expected to keep our pubs open on the off chance a fraction of this number of young people might die from the virus itself?
    So, while I'm happy for you that you clearly haven't been affected in any way by it, frankly, stick your reductive, inaccurate bullsh1t up your hole. This virus doesn't conform to your notions that conveniently suit your agenda.

Statistically it actually does. 80% plus experience none to very minor symptoms. Death all but unheard of under the age of 70, and even above 70 it is rarely the primary cause of death. People woke up to fear mongering spoofers like Holohan, Ryan and McConkey last summer ffs.

To hear that moron Holohan spoof on today about being concerned about the Indian variant- which is not vaccine resistant, not substantially more contagious, and is no more fatal- is rage inducing. Britain was never afraid of it- Boris threw that one out there so in a few weeks he could boast to the pubic how re opening is going ahead because he had it out with the fear mongering experts who want to ruin their lives.

Young, seemingly fit people have died of, and been hospitalised by, winter flu from the dawn of time. I personally know of three people who died from, or at least with, Covid (one I knew personally, he was young, albeit overweight, other was old and had other conditions, don't know about the 3rd, mates aunt) - on the other hand I know people who don't even know anybody who ever contracted Covid, let alone got sick or died with it. Mate of mine nearly died of Swine Flu aged 24 and he thinks lockdown is uncalled for. Fact is that pretty much next to no young, fit, healthy people die, or even get seriously ill, from this virus. That your group knows of two is a statistical anomaly, in the same way some people are strongly convinced it doesn't exist at all because they don't know anybody who contracted it. In the UK 23 people under the age of 50 are suspected to have died from the vaccine, yet we are expected to keep our pubs open on the off chance a fraction of this number of young people might die from the virus itself?

Statistically it actually does. 80% plus experience none to very minor symptoms. Death all but unheard of under the age of 70, and even above 70 it is rarely the primary cause of death. People woke up to fear mongering spoofers like Holohan, Ryan and McConkey last summer ffs.

To hear that moron Holohan spoof on today about being concerned about the Indian variant- which is not vaccine resistant, not substantially more contagious, and is no more fatal- is rage inducing. Britain was never afraid of it- Boris threw that one out there so in a few weeks he could boast to the pubic how re opening is going ahead because he had it out with the fear mongering experts who want to ruin their lives.

Did they not say today that their was evidence that one strain of Indian V was resistant to those that only got one shot?

Never heard that one said before but I would be confident they would gladly make it up.

In the UK sweet FA of people who received a vaccine have become ill off it.

News reports here cite 70 cases but not one tells us what percentage of total cases in that period this represents. Fear mongering bull as per.

king Tony will not let pubs open june 7th, i can already see what NYPHET are trying to pull off here. Tony desperately scrambling to remain relevant, really is scary with that chap

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭ingo1984

The government have public buy in until the vaccine roll out is complete. Once that's done, the people will take the power back into their own hands and any restrictions will be futile and unenforceable. You can already see it the past few weeks, more people not wearing masks in shops, social distancing falling by the way side. If every pub in July said yo hell with guidelines and restrictions, they'd still be packed with people and there is nothing the guards could do. The government know this. That's why there is a piecemeal easing of restrictions all leading up to end of July when 80% of people have vaccine. Easing of all restrictions will be fast tracked after this. Businesses are not viable long term with any restrictions, and government doesn't have funds to continue to provide supports indefinitely.

just wouldnt trust them at all. Although thank God Leo has come out on live radio and said the meal is gone, time limit gone and no capacity limits bar regular H and S. I also have a feeling someone in government dept messed up with June 7th, id say they thought the bak holiday monday was the week before! then it came out and noone could change it. surely they would have went for tuesday the 8th.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    just wouldnt trust them at all. Although thank God Leo has come out on live radio and said the meal is gone, time limit gone and no capacity limits bar regular H and S. I also have a feeling someone in government dept messed up with June 7th, id say they thought the bak holiday monday was the week before! then it came out and noone could change it. surely they would have went for tuesday the 8th.

What makes a bank holiday Monday any different from a Sunday or Tuesday? People still have work the next day, pubs close at the regular time. Unless you think people can't be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Dickie10 wrote: »

BH Mondays aren't really any busier generally. The Sunday would be. Usually I take the Monday off to go for pints after working a crazy weekend and its only industry staff and nursing/gardai out in force.. It is also an early close than a regular Monday as its Sunday hours so last call is 11, though I dunno how late outside is gonna be anyways.

****ing wish the rovers returned now

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Theres only been about 60 deaths in ireland of people in their 40s. Somewhere between 88-92% had underlying conditions. Let's say 90%, so 10% of people had no underlying condition. Thsts about 6 people in their 40s who died of covid with no comorbidity.

And the person your quoting claims to be personally connected to 2 of those cases ~ or 30% of those deaths.

That really is *unbelievable *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

ShooterSF wrote: »
    BH Mondays aren't really any busier generally. The Sunday would be. Usually I take the Monday off to go for pints after working a crazy weekend and its only industry staff and nursing/gardai out in force.. It is also an early close than a regular Monday as its Sunday hours so last call is 11, though I dunno how late outside is gonna be anyways.

A bank holiday Monday has an earlier closing time than a normal Monday?

It doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,545 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Keith Barry predicted back in February that the boozers would be back opening on June 1st, wonder will he get it right?

https://www.fm104.ie/news/buzz/keith-barry-predicts-exact-date-pubs-in-ireland-will-open/

You’re probably being naive.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/two-metre-rule-set-to-be-halved-forpubs-and-restaurants-40455196.html

Nothing we didn't already suspect, but this could banjax a few places.
    When indoor dining resumes in July, businesses will have to have dedicated entrances and exits, and only table service will be permitted. A maximum of six customers per table will be permitted under regulations to be issued by Fáilte Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Great to see Temple Bar buzzing tonight on the earth cam! Long May it continue