Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Martin confirms he is willing to buy vaccines off UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

From my family and friends whatsapp - over 80 ppl currently - the vast majority are resigned to another few months of restrictions

Some mild grumblings but lots of positive comments towards MM - contrary to some other posts the govt has not “lost the people” what ever the hell that supposedly means

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Any mention of 'meaningful' holidays?

matt cooper had some expert on earlier apartments are abt 200 euro a night down clare also camp sites now have shower facilities :P
    all that in the p1ssing rain and windy nights

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Yet the first thing we're reopening is schools. Either they're being reckless or they're playing up the impact of the variant. My money is on the latter.

Actually younger children (those in early years primary school at least) transmission isn’t as high as in other groups, so it’s understandable that schools would begin to reopen.

The reason why they were closed was because they wanted to avoid mobility, as community transmission was rampant.

If people actually listened to what was being said you’d actually sound like the experts you’re portraying yourselves to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

How did Sleepy & Dopey escape from Wonderland???

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭CoronaBlocker

Mehole so out of his depth in the press conference.he looks so disinterested and is still sulking cause he can’t go to the White House for the photo op

Was it just me or did he looked like he was trying to smile every time he spoke of opening up? It looked like his communications people thought that would be a good idea. Positive attachment or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Arghus wrote: »
      Donelley doesn't even get an invite to these anymore.

Acknowledging what a liability he is

1. Registered Users Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Why can't they give us stimulus cheques?

2. Registered Users Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

From my family and friends whatsapp - over 80 ppl currently - the vast majority are resigned to another few months of restrictions

Some mild grumblings but lots of positive comments towards MM - contrary to some other posts the govt has not “lost the people” what ever the hell that supposedly means

My 80 person family and friends WhatsApp says the opposite so my made up thing cancels out yours.

3. Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Turtwig wrote: »
      Your guess is as good as mine. Two weeks between phases is short and I know the unions aren't the most popular bunch but their concerns aren't without merit. It's very unclear what the plan for controlling and detecting outbreaks in schools is. Often times schools would get very delayed assessments and contacts from the HSE.

Foreign travel is the tortoise. Actually that's probably disrespectful to tortoises. The tortoise won too!

The messaging and communication has been abysmal since the current coalition formed. The original trio were actually fairly ok in my book. Least you knew where things stand. This is a haphazard mess.

Agreed completely on the original crowd and I wouldn't be a big fan of any of them normally.

4. Advertisement
    5. Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

This. People are frustrated and rightly so, but if the vaccine rollout can hit its targets (like it did last week) then there’s plenty to look forward to.

It takes conversations with normal people to remind you that boards isn’t representative of the population.

6. Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Faugheen wrote: »
      Actually younger children (those in early years primary school at least) transmission isn’t as high as in other groups, so it’s understandable that schools would begin to reopen.

The reason why they were closed was because they wanted to avoid mobility, as community transmission was rampant.

If people actually listened to what was being said you’d actually sound like the experts you’re portraying yourselves to be.

You must be one of the few people who think communication is satisfactory. It would be a lot easier to listen to what's being said if there weren't constant contradictions.

7. Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Has MM said takeaway pints are bad yet?

8. Registered Users Posts: 23,539 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Apparently the patriots are trying to organise a protest for Saturday. Hopefully the Gardai deal with them. They stopped some Dublin hairdresser looking for publicity earlier today at least.

They need stricter fines to stop that rubbish if we are to ever get things open, just strip the business from her for good.

9. Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Mam of 4 wrote: »
      Can't multi quote on phone Leahyl and Atlantic Dawn , I know it's not enough , but being honest I'm actually surprised they gave MH services anything at all so twenty million is better than nothing imo.

Watch it dissapear into a galaxy sized black hole in the blink of an eye..no exact details given of where it will go.. for example the training of extra counsellors and psycologists... And look at the futher in the publication on data of damage already done. Wont cover that let alone help those already waiting for mental health services.

4.3.2 Wellbeing & Mental Health
      Supporting physical and mental wellbeing aligns closely with Government priorities such as Sláintecare, which has an emphasis on empowering people and communities to keep well.

We will continue the Government Wellbeing (Keep Well)/In This Together/Resilience campaign and continue to make information about resources and supports available via gov.ie and a range of other platforms.

Local Authorities will promote awareness of and participation in local programmes, initiatives
      and amenities and continue to support the Community Call helpline.

A programme of "citizen empowerment" wellbeing activities and initiatives will be delivered by Local Authorities with local partners, including activities supporting healthy living, physical activity, community food, creativity, managing chronic diseases and positive ageing.

Given the importance of being active, particularly outdoors, for physical and mental wellbeing, Healthy Ireland and Sport Ireland will continue to deliver a campaign to promote this over the coming months.

Auxiliary mental health supports will continue to be offered remotely to ensure those in isolation
      can access assistance when needed, with access to online information, provision of digital
      counselling and the roll out of a national 24/7 crisis textline ensured that individuals and
      families can gain access to supports immediately.

10. Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

seamus wrote:
      There's that hairdresser in Balbriggan ...

OK so there's a hairdresser in Balbriggan... I won't be allowing that to impact on basic common sense in the midst of a pandemic.

11. Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

pjohnson wrote: »
      Apparently the patriots are trying to organise a protest for Saturday. Hopefully the Gardai deal with them. They stopped some Dublin hairdresser looking for publicity earlier today at least.

They need stricter fines to stop that rubbish if we are to ever get things open.

Agreed there.

12. Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Offaly Express:

Offaly company issues statement amid concerns over Covid-19 outbreak

Nelipak Healthcare Packaging in Clara have issued a statement following a significant outbreak of Covid-19 at their plant in recent weeks.

It's understood up to 20 members of staff at the plant have tested positive in the last two weeks, with other cases confirmed among close contacts of workers.

This news comes as Offaly has the highest 14-day incidence rate of the virus in the country with cases clustered in the Tullamore Municipal District, which takes in the town of Clara, according to Department of Health data.

341 cases have been confirmed across the county in the last two weeks with Offaly's 14-day incidence rate standing at 437.4 per 100,00. The national average is now down at 240 per 100,000.

13. Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

You must be one of the few people who think communication is satisfactory. It would be a lot easier to listen to what's being said if there weren't constant contradictions.

Absolutely not. Government communications have been a shambles.

However same isn’t said for NPHET. Especially the last couple of weeks with Ronan Glynn leading the way.

14. Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

pjohnson wrote: »

They need stricter fines to stop that rubbish if we are to ever get things open, just strip the business from her for good.

The finest won't be paid.

15. Advertisement
    16. Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Martin could allow the public some relief by sacking Donnelly.

17. Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

However same isn’t said for NPHET. Especially the last couple of weeks with Ronan Glynn leading the way.

I've stopped regularly watching the briefings but you make a fair point, might start watching them again to get a better idea of what's going on.

18. Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Martin could allow the public some relief by sacking Donnelly.

Followed swiftly by himself, ideally.

19. Registered Users Posts: 23,539 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The finest won't be paid.

Then cut their dole or jail them they have to have some earnings that bùll**** just tricks the vulnerable.

20. Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Ah well that confirms the mood of the nation if your friends and family on WhatsApp say it's grand so.

21. Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I'd be of the more "we need to keep most of these restrictions, and sort out some more properly" persuasion, and I think the clamouring for dates seemed pointless at best, but I'd agree that the gov't communication is crap.

And any one of the NPHET team would do a better job (even the lovely signers), despite many people's aversion to being told when things are crap.

22. Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

The vaccine figures put us just a few weeks behind the UK in terms of progress (yes the AstraZeneca mess is accounted for)

We should be in a position to open in full around 5-6 weeks after them. They will be a very useful guinea pig for us

23. Posts: 220 [Deleted User]

In Scotland, Nicola Sturgeon has announced that restrictions will be eased gradually, but certainly no earlier than April. This has been greeted with general relief and a sense of optimism, and that the worst is over.

In Britain, Boris Johnson has announced that restrictions will be eased gradually, but certainly no earlier than April. This has been greeted with general relief and a sense of optimism, and that the worst is over.

In Ireland, Micheál Martin has literally delivered the exact same message, and it's been greeted with disgust and outrage.

Why the difference?

Well, the first two delivered it as "the roadmap to easing restrictions, starting after next month".

Our buck stood there sneering at us, painted it negatively as "another two months of lockdown", and generally gave the impression that he's thoroughly enjoying every moment of having the power to tell people what to do.

Our government has delivered an earlier reopening of the economy than in Scotland or England but because of the utterly contemptuous attitude of the Taoiseach, his doom-and-gloom messaging, and the transforming of restrictions from something we're doing into something we're ordered to do, he's caused a collapse in morale.

There's a reason why, when invited three times to elect Micheál Martin as our Taoiseach, the Irish people politely demurred each time. We're seeing it now.

24. Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

In fairness nphet have been clear, cases are going up, lock everything down for months, any other ideas, no just lock everything down for months. So thats all you have, yes lock it all down. What a pointless waste of money that group is and the worst thing is they are seen as hero's by so many, bit like the Catholic Church for many.

25. Advertisement
    26. Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Funny under the new 'plan' at Level 1 which is something we didn't even achieve last year

Only allows Up to 10 visitors from up to 3 households in gardens
      Up to 100 guests for wedding ceremony and reception
      Up to 100 patrons; Up to 200 patrons permitted for larger indoor venues.

Up to 200 patrons for majority of venues; Up to 500 patrons for outdoor stadia or other fixed outdoor venues with a minimum accredited capacity of 5000

So with a fully vaccinated country even in the best case scenario this is the scale of ambition for the country

What absolute joke of figures