Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North inner city turning into war zone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭dmigsy

I've seen assaults, been assaulted myself few occasions, threats, scum running wild, drug dealers openly dealing, people peeing and sh1tting everywhere, thefts, much much more.
    I don't live in the city, never did but work there and around years.

Sounds like you've only been to Coppers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I've seen assaults, been assaulted myself few occasions, threats, scum running wild, drug dealers openly dealing, people peeing and sh1tting everywhere, thefts, much much more.
    I don't live in the city, never did but work there and around years.

Never been assaulted myself (although came close once) but everything else you say is the norm around the Connolly end of Talbot Street and adjacent/parallel streets. I remember a guy in the accomodation forum once asking if the Steelworks on Foley Street were worth buying in and a funny (yet accurate) reply was that 'when people say there are worse places it is places like Foley Street they are referring to'. :pac:
    Kip of the worst kind.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I lived on the Connolly end of Talbot Street for about a year, not so long ago. It's not great, it's inner city, it's right beside a big (Ireland's biggest?) inter-city transport hub.

But it does make me kinda happy to see it referred to as the worst we've got. It was grand. I never had any issues nor felt particularly unsafe.

Might not go and hang-out on the street by myself at 11pm at night... but I'd probably be okay if I did.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Goodshape wrote: »
    I lived on the Connolly end of Talbot Street for about a year, not so long ago. It's not great, it's inner city, it's right beside a big (Ireland's biggest?) inter-city transport hub.

But it does make me kinda happy to see it referred to as the worst we've got. It was grand. I never had any issues nor felt particularly unsafe.

Might not go and hang-out on the street by myself at 11pm at night... but I'd probably be okay if I did.

Well you are in goodshape so at least you have that going for you....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Yes people talk a lot of rubbish. It's not dangerous but there are some addicts around the place and homeless people, but they don't go near you.

If you genuinely believe that you must either be living in a plastic bubble, or you are completely away with the fairies.:)

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

Is it in such a bad way because of drug addicts or is there another reason?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mules wrote: »
    Is it in such a bad way because of drug addicts or is there another reason?

It is the Hutch heartland. Alot of the murders have happened around the area and the locals do not seem overly interested in keeping the place in any kind of condition. To be fair neither do the council or the Gardai (although the Gardai had pushed the dealers out of the park on Foley Street) since Smartbox opened.
    The area reminded me of Hamsterdam in the Wire. Gardai knew what was happening but just accepted that there was not much to be done about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭HansKroenke

What is the reason for the roaming feral youths now? Did they run drugs while the economy was open and now are just lacking "work" for want of a better word? Were they always just roaming but too afraid to do anything since the city was swarmed with workers, students, tourists and other people?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Caranica wrote: »
    I think the issue around the city centre is that nobody is around, relatively speaking. I worked on Marlborough Street until last year and yes the area was spicy. I saw people up to no good but no assaults or muggings. I never felt unsafe, but at the same time I never felt comfortable.

Before Covid, the dodgy element was very well diluted by others. Take almost all the workers, shoppers and tourists out of the area and it looks like they're everywhere.

It is like a nature program, when they go to a now deserted town/city and the animals have taken it back..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    It is the Hutch heartland. Alot of the murders have happened around the area and the locals do not seem overly interested in keeping the place in any kind of condition.

Yeah, think one of them lives in the estate bedside the secondary school on Sean McDermott Street, there was an almost permanent Garda car in there and regular Garda checkpoints on the street.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

1/3 of irish and some eu homeless citizens are housed in the north inner city in converted old buildings run buy some charties and funded by DCC.
    The drug treatment mets clinics are pharmacies as well and cater for all of dublin inc suburbs local business have asked for mobile units to stop the extra influx coming in on dublin bus ex.
    With everywhere shut they are more obvious but also less.
    Society is more comfortable with this in the city centre because it keep them away their areas
    they can be watched on cameras and guards or an ambulance are there when a problem arises
    There is no evidence of any upsurge in mugging i frequent many times and feel safe but alwas guarded.
    The acceptance of this vagrancy in our capitol is well and truly solidified though not shared with any other capital i have been or lived in, dont see anything changing as many are in need of specialist supervised care we have gone with the cheapest option and its a disgrace

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

What is the reason for the roaming feral youths now? Did they run drugs while the economy was open and now are just lacking "work" for want of a better word? Were they always just roaming but too afraid to do anything since the city was swarmed with workers, students, tourists and other people?

Sh*t parenting. Same as it ever was.
    Much more mobile now on their scooters/bikes. Swarms of them from all parts of the city congregate elsewhere. Lockdown me arse. Much sport (and easy pickings) to be had with the deliveroo guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Esho

Her Facebook and Instagram were taken down, she was live streaming it...

https://twitter.com/Nicole_Cummins1/status/1366497664016265221?s=20

Looks like all the guards were chasing an easy stat

• Registered Users Posts: 14,220 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If you genuinely believe that you must either be living in a plastic bubble, or you are completely away with the fairies.:)

Well I've been in town all my life and never had any trouble. You see down and outs and heroin addicts and whatnot, but it's no worse than it was when I was a teenager in the 90s. Probably worse then, kids seemed rougher.
    People just get carried away with saying it's so bad and awful, often people from the country sh*t themselves because a 12 year old shouted at them once. I mean I don't even know anyone who has ever had any issues in the north inner city apart from witnessing something dodgy.

I do agree though that there are bigger gangs of kids that's more common. I think it's down to all of them having bikes and being able to meet up via social media.
    To think when we were 14 or whatever we must have said ok let's meet at X at X time, and then you'd actually show up. I can't even remember how it worked.

I live in town and its grand during day, but i avoid going out at night unless its essential.
    Before covid i loved the area and talbot street, but since covid most people are staying indoors and now the social issues are more visible. Its uncomfortable yeah, and you do notice more violent or antisocial behaviours but its generally grand during day if you keep to yourself. However after it gets dark the streets are so so empty apart from drug users so you do feel more vulnerable to an attack.
    I dont think people have lost the run of themselves or anything, i just think covid has emptied the streets, closed all buisnesses and it just feels bit depressing and dystopian.
    Must say though, the weather has improved things, people around d1 are all a bit happier atm with sun out ☀️

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 89 ✭✭startrek56

I'm 52 years living a mile from the city centre and there have always been stories about how bad it was. Other than having a bicycle stolen from beside Eason's in the 80's Ive never seen anything bad.

rife with drugs and drug dealers operating in plain sight

startrek56 wrote: »
    rife with drugs and drug dealers operating in plain sight

It's just addicts selling each other benzos and heroin. It's a big problem with inner city communities and the rougher parts of Dublin, but what is the point in the Garda arresting these low level people and addicts?
    Even in the richest countries in the world you have this going on, Zurich has heroin addicts, it's just that it's something you notice more in Dublin city centre for various reasons, but they are mostly harmless.
    There but for the grace of god go I, is what I remind myself when I see these broken people.

It's just addicts selling each other benzos and heroin. It's a big problem with inner city communities and the rougher parts of Dublin, but what is the point in the Garda arresting these low level people and addicts?
    Even in the richest countries in the world you have this going on, Zurich has heroin addicts, it's just that it's something you notice more in Dublin city centre for various reasons, but they are mostly harmless.
    There but for the grace of god go I, is what I remind myself when I see these broken people.

if they are breaking the law, why should they get a free pass? they cant just go as they please, if they are selling/taking drugs in public, they should be arrested

What's the point in punishing people for being addicts? Whether people like it or not, they need help, and certain areas need investment and better social services.
    I know they already get loads but it's not working, it would take a long time to change attitudes and outlooks in these areas.

What's the point in punishing people for being addicts? Whether people like it or not, they need help, and certain areas need investment and better social services.
    I know they already get loads but it's not working, it would take a long time to change attitudes and outlooks in these areas.

where do you think these addicts get money to buy drugs in the first place?

Wheeling and dealing, that's why you always see them trading methadone and prescription pills and begging and what not. Some of them resort to petty crime yeah but most of them dont look like they could do much harm.
    I think it's only 20 euros for a Q of heroin anyway.

Wheeling and dealing, that's why you always see them trading methadone and prescription pills and begging and what not. Some of them resort to petty crime yeah but most of them dont look like they could do much harm.
    I think it's only 20 euros for a Q of heroin anyway.

and that heroin needle is left on a bus then or you see them scattered on the street and people get hurt

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/25-000-for-teen-punctured-by-needle-1.681728

https://www.thejournal.ie/toddler-dublin-bus-2348906-Sep2015/

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/horror-as-little-boy-jabbed-by-syringe-needle-on-city-bus-30912613.html

Yes, heroin isn't a good thing really. But locking up addicts doesn't seem to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

... if they are selling/taking drugs in public, they should be arrested
    Yes, in an ideal world but in reality, they probably have been arrested and released countless times. It just wastes Garda time and isn't a deterrant for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

If we are talking about helping these people, we need to move the clinics out of Dublin. Its neither a good look for the city, nor helping them, to have them in the surroundings that they know only too well when they need help.
    I would love to know if moving them to a drug-free facility in the middle of nowhere somewhere while they were treated/counselled, might help.
    Certainly, falling out of a methodone clinic and seeing their friends off their head can't exactly be helping them get clean.
    I do admit to not knowing much about addiction services but to me, they need to be moved to a facility away from all this stuff to be helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

I live and work in the area so i would have been around there a lot before lockdown. I don't go into the city from the point area much these days if i can avoid it as its seriously depressing now to see the state of the place.

The Guards seem to have just given the city center to the scum and vagrants since covid started. They probably make up 20% of the people you see now when you go into the city.This has lead to more issues starting around there as they have no fear now.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

The heroin could be solved quicker but the gardai dont want to deal with it, nor do prison officers or officials.

Dope addicts when jailed get very physically ill without any gear. Which means someone has to clean up that vomit. Also, someone has to pay for the jellies or whatever to keep them from getting sick. Prisons don't want to do that either.

The gardai would much prefer go after people for weed. Stoners are a lot less scummy, less aggressive, dont carry needles and knives. And in the eyes of the fellas who decide who gets promoted, a drug bust is a drug bust.

I think we should see if any LAPD and NYPD officers fancy coming over and sorting out the junkies here. They wouldn't need to be armed, mace and tasers and batons would be enough, the wee skangers here aren't armed either and would be a cakewalk compared to the gang members they deal with over there.

But no, it's all about cannabis that they say is worth a gazillion euros when it's really about 50k worth, half that in the countries where it's legalized and they're not in draconian lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

There is a guy goes around with a husky, he has drugs down his crotch, openly deals no bother....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

The gardai would much prefer go after people for weed. Stoners are a lot less scummy, less aggressive, dont carry needles and knives. And in the eyes of the fellas who decide who gets promoted, a drug bust is a drug bust.

Why so did I walk through unavoidable clouds of smoke from weed on North Earl and Cathedral Streets on a regular basis to get to Marlborough Street pre pandemic? The Gardai were never bothered, even when the smokers were in school uniforms.