Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Govt to replace Direct Provision with protection system

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Jizique

Mick Barry is the person who sponsored the bill to get the referendum result overturned about birthright citizenship.
    He would never vote for anything which restricts any form of immigration. He claims to represent the working class on the Northside of Cork City, roaring and shouting about Debenhams workers rights, unfortunately people seem to fall for his tactics.

Was really hoping he wouldn't get in at the last election but if memory serves me right he scrapped in the last position

Edit to say, that's hilarious he now calls himself a "socialist and internationalist" :)

Mick is too thick to realize that this is a big bail out for landlords, a group most true socialists detest

Jizique wrote: »
    Mick is too thick to realize that this is a big bail out for landlords, a group most true socialists detest

I've heard him speak once or twice, he's definitely not Einstein :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 BoilerNooB

Mules wrote: »
    I heard back from my local independent TD. It was a response from a secretary that said my email has been received and the contents noted. I also got a few automatic replies from other TD's saying that my email had been reviewed. I'll update when they get back to me

Do you have an example of the email that you sent? Wouldn't mind robbing some of it id you could PM. I emailed my local FF TD's about the regularisation of the 17,000 last week. They got back very quick with absolute pathetic responses "it was in the PFG we have long wanted to regularise undocumented migrants" - they didn't use the words illegals at all of course. I asked questions around expenditure and social implications etc they did not address it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

BoilerNooB wrote: »
    Do you have an example of the email that you sent? Wouldn't mind robbing some of it id you could PM. I emailed my local FF TD's about the regularisation of the 17,000 last week. They got back very quick with absolute pathetic responses "it was in the PFG we have long wanted to regularise undocumented migrants" - they didn't use the words illegals at all of course. I asked questions around expenditure and social implications etc they did not address it

There's an attempt to try and normalize all this, illegals become undocumented migrants or asylum seekers depending on the situation, just in need of some TLC... Here have a house

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

https://dublinpeople.com/news/dublin/articles/2021/03/01/burglar-is-jailed-for-sexually-assaulting-a-woman-as-she-tried-to-escape/?fbclid=IwAR21lust-iUK0XRuOj7sd2hL5mf2mjJXQNzi1TezNFwHMUyZ1fmqDohNPKA

"The court heard today that Elghynaoui came to Ireland in 2017 and first appeared on the PULSE system in August of that year.

He has no immigration status to be in Ireland and a deportation application was submitted by gardai in January 2018.

He was in custody on foot of charges in April 2018 and applied for asylum"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't mind genuine refugees but i wouldn't say the same of some enconomic migrants who would take advantage of the state and countless appeals.

I wrote an email to Mick Barry and this was the reply from his secretary

XDz8eYj
    https://imgur.com/XDz8eYj

He might be whistling a different tune when the folks who voted him in are shoved down the housing list in favour of AS.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

They're getting my vote, enough is enough of this nonsense. With the current shower and parties there could be 5 terrorist attacks in a day, widespread racial strife and they'll still insist multiculturalism is a great idea and it's nothing to worry about

I'm not a racist but.......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I’m in the Laois Offaly constituency and I sent an email based on a template from this thread.

Only Carol Nolan (Independent) replied (well a representative) and she stated:

I can assure you that Carol shares your concerns and will raise this matter directly with Minister O’Gorman.

As you rightly observe; this state already has an endemic housing problem and chronic levels of homelessness.

It would appear only appropriate and just that we address those issues as a matter of the utmost priority.

Needless to say no reply from
    Barry Cowen / Sean Fleming (FF)
    Charlie Flanagan (FG)
    Brian Stanley (SF)

That will be remembered come election day.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

BoilerNooB wrote: »
    I’m in the Laois Offaly constituency and I sent an email based on a template from this thread.

I can assure you that Carol shares your concerns and will raise this matter directly with Minister O’Gorman.

As you rightly observe; this state already has an endemic housing problem and chronic levels of homelessness.

It would appear only appropriate and just that we address those issues as a matter of the utmost priority.

Charlie Flanagan (FG)
    Brian Stanley (SF)

That sounds good from Carol Nolan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Mules wrote: »
    That sounds good from Carol Nolan.

Definitely. Fair play to her.

Here's a template of the email I sent if anyone wants one.

"Hello, I'm contacting you about the government's decision to give 'own door' housing to asylum seekers. I'm very disappointed about this decision. Public services are stretched. There are people I know personally who have been on the housing list for 10 years. It is wrong for foreigners to be given preferential treatment over Irish people and this will lead to massive resentment. 

This policy will lead to a big increase in numbers seeking asylum as anyone with any sense will now choose to come to Ireland rather than any other EU country.
    The media and the NGOs who are advocating for this do not represent the Irish voter.

I'd appreciate it if you would get back to me about this and make the feelings of voters like me known to the Dail.
    Thanks"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Definitely. Fair play to her.

Updates on my end:

Jack Chambers: his office has acknowledged my concerns and will ensure that they are communicated to Jack directly. They have invited me to call them to discuss my concerns. I plan to have that telephone conversation mid-week.

Leo Varadkar: his office acknowledged my concerns and committed to passing them on to both Leo and to Roderic O'Gorman (surprisingly). They have agreed to pass on the responses from both to me. I'm almost certain that it will be vague, political waffle, but I plan to send O'Gorman a fairly blistering response regardless.

No response from my Sinn Fein TD, which has been duly noted for the next GE.

Looking forward to engaging further with Jack Chambers' office.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭jelem

Ah cmon they need mosnia reopened for staycation irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

https://dublinpeople.com/news/dublin/articles/2021/03/01/burglar-is-jailed-for-sexually-assaulting-a-woman-as-she-tried-to-escape/?fbclid=IwAR21lust-iUK0XRuOj7sd2hL5mf2mjJXQNzi1TezNFwHMUyZ1fmqDohNPKA

"The court heard today that Elghynaoui came to Ireland in 2017 and first appeared on the PULSE system in August of that year.

He has no immigration status to be in Ireland and a deportation application was submitted by gardai in January 2018.

He was in custody on foot of charges in April 2018 and applied for asylum"

There is and was no war in Morocco, so why was he even here in the first place?

And it seems he did the rounds of Europe before rocking up here.

Hamachi wrote: »
    Updates on my end:

Jack Chambers: his office has acknowledged my concerns and will ensure that they are communicated to Jack directly. They have invited me to call them to discuss my concerns. I plan to have that telephone conversation mid-week.

Leo Varadkar: his office acknowledged my concerns and committed to passing them on to both Leo and to Roderic O'Gorman (surprisingly). They have agreed to pass on the responses from both to me. I'm almost certain that it will be vague, political waffle, but I plan to send O'Gorman a fairly blistering response regardless.

The response from Jack Chambers office was very encouraging. It will make a big difference talking over the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Charlie Flanagan (FG)
    Brian Stanley (SF)

Well done Carol nolan. She was only one of a few who spoke up for workers at the bord na mona factories too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Updates on my end:

Great work

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

I wrote an email in Cork South West, only Christopher O'sullivan's (FF) representative has replied to me to say they would pass my email on to him.

They're getting my vote, enough is enough of this nonsense. With the current shower and parties there could be 5 terrorist attacks in a day, widespread racial strife and they'll still insist multiculturalism is a great idea and it's nothing to worry about

Not one single mention of race in his post. You're a broken record, slinging the term racist at anyone who disagrees with you. It's pathetic.

The sad thing is that you're part of the problem. The group of people who seek to shutdown others concerns, to the extent that we're left with the politicians bringing in ridiculous virtue seeking notions, without any real consideration for how the country will be afterwards. People who behave, as you do, are a major reason why there's so little discussion about immigration and multiculturalism in this country. The fear of being labelled racist, bigot, whatever.

Not one single mention of race in his post. You're a broken record, slinging the term racist at anyone who disagrees with you. It's pathetic.

Indeed. That epithet has become so diluted that it’s been rendered virtually meaningless.

Personally, I feel energized in exercising my democratic right to express with my deep unease with Roderic O’Gorman’s ill thought-out white paper.

If that’s perceived as ‘racist’, so be it. Water off a ducks’ back. It’s a mindset that’s becoming increasingly common.

Indeed. That epithet has become so diluted that it’s been rendered virtually meaningless.

It is for us, although, I'll be honest and admit it just annoy me when i'm hit with it. All the same, it's lost the meaningfulness that the phrase used to have... but it still has the power to shutdown the average punter.
    Personally, I feel energized in exercising my democratic right to express with my deep unease with Roderic O’Gorman’s ill thought-out white paper.

If that’s perceived as ‘racist’, so be it. Water off a ducks’ back. It’s a mindset that’s becoming increasingly common.

Actually.. no. We need to take back our language, and return to accuracy. Language structures consciousness. As long as these muppets, can manipulate our language to suit their intolerant (yes, RobbieTheRobber, I view you as a bigot) agenda.

The time is coming to stand up against this rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

Here's the thing... I don't care if you have green skin and purple hair i'll waffle away to you like anyone else, what I do have an issue with is the impact this will have on this country, its social cohesion and the knock on effects to the Irish people who have a right to call this place home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Has this being discussed on any Radio or TV show today, the only thing I've heard being discussed is the bank closures and horse trainer sitting on a dead horse.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The right is usually more inclusive than the left.

The right wants to have a good strong stable country for all citizens, regardless of who they are.
    The left would shoot the right into space if they could.

Change my mind :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

biko wrote: »
    The right is usually more inclusive than the left.

The right wants to have a good strong stable country for all citizens, regardless of who they are.
    The left would shoot the right into space if they could.

Change my mind :D

The problem with the left is that most of them only get elected on the last count and people vote for them for more of a protest vote than their policy's.

That why the jump on every populist bandwagon going.

He might be whistling a different tune when the folks who voted him in are shoved down the housing list in favour of AS.
    Oh for sure. I was one who voted for him(not much choice but it was tactical against FF/FG) but reading that reply i got then next time he won't even get a preference off me. You're right, it's other low wage workers who will be put on the backburner just so these people can get a warm fuzzy feeling in their heart as they won't have to compete in housing, jobs etc.

EDIT: I also messaged Thomas Gould of SF but received no reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Charlie Flanagan (FG)
    Brian Stanley (SF)

She replies, she shares your concerns, but what is she actually going to do ? She will send an email alright and when she gets a reply she will forward it back to you... she will empathize and spin and claim that she will be diligent in continuing to represent your views and those of her constituents ...

The sad thing is that you're part of the problem. The group of people who seek to shutdown others concerns, to the extent that we're left with the politicians bringing in ridiculous virtue seeking notions, without any real consideration for how the country will be afterwards. People who behave, as you do, are a major reason why there's so little discussion about immigration and multiculturalism in this country. The fear of being labelled racist, bigot, whatever.

Ah sure imaginary stories of five terrorist attacks a day and racial strife.
    And a promise to vote for the national party. An actual racist political party.
    No nothing about race intended with that post.

You are right klaz I'm the problem. I fly my private plane to Africa twice a day to pick up a plane load of refugees and on the way back I teach them how to replace the thick Irish racists steal their women and claim their doles.

Awoooooooo scary stuff.

mgn wrote: »
    The problem with the left is that most of them only get elected on the last count and people vote for them for more of a protest vote than their policy's.

That why the jump on every populist bandwagon going.

It's a better approach than hating people because of the colour of their skin and inciting riots in the middle of a pandemic though eh.

You are right klaz I'm the problem. I fly my private plane to Africa twice a day to pick up a plane load of refugees and on the way back I teach them how to replace the thick Irish racists steal their women and claim their doles.

Awoooooooo scary stuff.

You manage to do all that, as well as identifying and silencing online ‘racists’?

You really are a trooper.